Image of Sun & Sea Apartments

Sun & Sea Apartments

8 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
2 stars
25 Martiou Street, Crete 70014, Greece
The Sun and Sea is a small traditional complex of simple yet comfortable apartments set on a main road in the outskirts of Hersonissos. With its friendly atmosphere and great location it is an ideal choice for families wanting to be close to the beach.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    22
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Victoria And Stuart
7 years 7 months ago
We have just come back from one of the best holidays we have had. George and Poppy make the atmosphere at the apartments feel really relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for them. (I had an ear infection which started to be really painful on a Sunday. George drove me around Hersonisoss to find the only pharmacy that was open - very very helpful)

The hotel rooms are small, but very clean and tidy with the beds and towels changed regularly. Location wise - 20 minute walk to then harbor, which was fine for us.

George was a fab barman and found that most nights he was giving away the shots of Rakki - YAMAS. Good conversation with him as well.

Caitlin, Stuarts 8 year old daughter, had a fab time in the pool, and as its an all English hotel, she made friends very easily. Oh, and its so nice to get a sun lounger without having to put your towel down before 8am! We strolled out of bed a 11am most days and we still always got the sun loungers we wanted - fantastic!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Sufan Uddin
7 years 8 months ago
We booked this holiday with no idea of what to expect and we were very suprised, we found our hosts George & Poppy to be excellent nothing was too much trouble.
The apartments although basic had everything we needed and were very clean and well maintained, pool area was great for the size of the complex and good quality food was available anytime at a reasonable price, location wise we think this is perfectly sited as you are only 10mins walk into the heart of Hersonissos but far enough away for peace and quiet would definately recommend this place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Irish Boys
7 years 8 months ago
hotel is jus 10min walk out of main strip an right beside star beach.

The apartments were cleaned every morn apartments are small an basic but grand as most of the day is spent at poolside were there is a bar an music all day.

george is the barman an his wife poppy will cook food throughout the day at your request. food is lovely we cant fault these apartments or staff we had a great holiday thanks george an poppy
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: tomas cook

Recommended
Anne Muirhead
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed at Sun & Sea apartments in Hersonissos, Crete from 12 - 25 May 2010 and had a great holiday thanks to George & Poppy who run the apartments.
Our stay there was great and have no complaints.
Very friendly & helpful hosts with good food and bar entertainment which we sung along to. We met a lot of nice people while there and although we would like to see them there next year,we have decided to holiday in Britain from now on,and as we are a couple in our 60's and a trip to Heraklion hospital was required,I'm afraid that is the reason we have opted for uk holidays from now on.
We wish you every success George & Poppy for the summer ahead,you are lovey people.
Thank you for a great fortinght.
Anne & Bob
xxxxxxxxxx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Directline holidays

Recommended
Paul
7 years 9 months ago
Rooms very acceptable, Hotel food that we purchased while there very good and good value. Location not far from the beach, next to Star Beach. Bus stop outside hotel easy access to other resorts. George and Poppy are fantastic hosts will do anything for any of their guests. We have been to the Sun and Sea 2008, 2009, and 2010 and our now planning 2011. The BBQ is a must.
Paul, Pam, Ray & Lena
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
The Plumber
8 years 6 months ago
Sun Sea is run by George & Poppy who I cannot fault in anyway, When we arrived I thought the apartments looked dated,however there is a nice pool area where the towels clearly claim the sun beds by 8am although there are few people around till nine and they are not german !!. The rooms are small the double measures just 2.0m x 2.6m, the shower room consists of a shower hose that you hold whilst using it and is wrapped with tape to stop it leaking, the shower tray fills with water because the drain is partially blocked to overflow onto floor, the toilet seat was loose,The floor mop is in bucket next to toilet. The main room consisted of two beds, matresses on stone slabs, the glass in the door was broken, this room is the only one with air con which is available for 6 euro per day. I realize now that self catering does NOT include a kettle. (The rep stated "No kettle in 2 star apartments", strange that's not mentioned in brochure)
The apartments are on the main road which is very busy and noisy all night, they also back on to Star Beach resort which is noisy from about 1pm when the drunks wake up untill 4.30AM when they sing their way to bed! The food Poppy prepared was lovely and George as barman is great. When i read the reveiws I thought this would be a nice basic accomodation, frankly I thought I'd gone to the wrong place!. This is an ideal spot for the teenagers who like to get drunk and don't care where they stay, I prefer the luxuries like a kettle,unbroken toilet seats, showers fixed to the wall,and quiet from 1am, like I say "The Luxuries"!!! If you want to sleep at night go else where, if you're a party animal stay here.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Willis Family
8 years 6 months ago
we picked the sun and sea apartments based on the excellent reviews we had read which unfortunately was a mistake on our behalf. the apartments were small and in very poor repair - our bathroom sink was hanging off the wall - the shower was a shower tray on the floor (no curtain) but with a dirty mop and bucket provided. the self catering facilities were virtually non-existant - a ceramic hot plate, two saucepans, a selection of cutlery (not enough for us all to eat at once), a couple of mugs and a few shot glasses. george and poppy were civil hosts - only friendly if you were spending money at the bar. the food was very good. the cleaning lady was very helpful and changed towels when you wanted clean ones. the beds were changed every 3 days. the pool was clean - not enough sun beds for the amount of people there and the pool is not at all child friendly. the apartments are next to star beach village which is very noisy day and night and the main road which runs just outside of the apartments is a nightmare !! the main part of hersonissos is about a 10 minute walk away and there are several excellent tavernas within a 10 minute walk of the apartments. i would suggest that you visit these apartments if you are on a young persons holiday and not with a family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mike
9 years 6 months ago
We have recently returned from a two week stay at the sun and sea apts in Hersonissos and had a fabulous holiday.We had a problem with our luggage which Scott, the rep, and the backroom staff of Thomas Cook sorted very quickly(thanks a lot) The apartments were clean and quite large.

The location, for us, was great as star beach was only a couple of minutes walk away, a really good supermarket was across the road and it is located on the outskirts of Hersonissos and it wasn,t that far to walk for anything, but was far enough away to be quiet in the evenings.

George and Poppy are really nice people and I would definately go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jodie And Kev
9 years 6 months ago
we have visited sun and sea on many occasions..
we have been back time and time again to see manos and freedom and after the last holiday will be back to see george, poppy and nan!
we love the apartmants, the food and the atmosphere!
the bbq is fab .. just dont get too dressed up - everyone ends up in the pool fully clothed by the end!!
a fun ,, sunseeking ,, happy holiday :)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Katie Helen Aisling And Vicky
9 years 7 months ago
The rooms are excellent, in great condition and are cleaned frequently. The beds are comfy and i would definately advise air conditioning, its a great price for the week and makes the hat more bareable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum