Image of Grand Holiday Resort Hotel

Grand Holiday Resort Hotel

10 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
DRAPANOS HERSONISSOU, P.O BOX 104, HERSONISSOS 70014, Greece

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dawn
8 years 8 months ago
We travelled with our 4 year old daughter and had a fantastic time.
The hotel was first class right from the start, friendly reception staff on our arrival, and happy helpful reataurant team. My husband had a birthday whilst there and they surprised him with a cake at dinner on the day. (I had not arranged this).
The annimation team were great not too pushy but always polite and friendly, wanted to chat with us and our daughter. Shows were great for us, may not suit everyone but good tribute shows and a great "Mystery" show not to be missed. Luca, Veronika and the 5 others work thier socks off!!
Real mix of nationalities here Brits, Germans, Dutch, French and Russians but never met rude or gready people. Bit of sunbed saving going on but you really didn't need to in June. Season was picking up as we left.
Rooms were good.(Took our own travel kettle), we were lucky to be in 126 which was not far up the hillside but a bit of a treck to the kids club which our daughter loved. Veronica who ran it opened 30mins longer than advertised in the mornings too. Think she loves her job!
We had a problem with our shower one evening which I reported at Dinner time, it was repaired by the time we got back to our room!

We would love to go back some time, have recommended to our friends.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos/Monach

Recommended
Stella And Mick
9 years 6 months ago
food good , good choice of breakfast and evening meals.
hotel very clean , rooms cleaned daily , pool cleaned every night, staff friendly, average entertainment. hotel has a small beach opposite, a few shops and bars , for a better beach and more livlier bars and atmosphere its a short walk away about 15 mins. we would visit hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
I must say the best part of our holiday was the food which was excellent. The hotel itself was very clean but our room in particular was not a typical 4 star standard due to the fact it was totally shaded and got no sunshine whatsoever, resulting in damp beds and mouldy patches unfortunatley.
The staff were all really pleasant and welcoming.
I must say though, the entertainment was really disapointing, apart from one on the animation team the others were more interested in going home! Having a 5 year old who really looked forward to joining in for an hour in the evening this we felt was a real let down.
Probably my own fault for booking late when the season is all about over. Will definatley stick to spain or canaries for October in future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

10 years 6 months ago
Where to start....well A Fantastic Hotel! Ideal for Families especially if the children like waterslides (as my 10 year old did). There are only 2 small(ish) slide but they seemed to keep him happy and if you want a little extra then Star Beach is a 30 min walk down the road and
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/MyTravel

Recommended
Dave
10 years 7 months ago
On arrival we were very impressed with the hotel appearance and staff all very efficient. Our room was immaculate and very well located as near to lower pool. Room service was excellent for entire visit. The rooms are basic for a 4 star no kettle which is a pain. Spent very little time in room so not really a problem.
3 pools all very clean. large main pool always had sun beds despite the people booking them in the usual way. The hotel food was excellent both breakfast and evening meal although drinks are expensive. The price of drinks does not pursuade you to stay in the hotel but there is plenty within a walk.
The hotel is on a steep slope not ideal if you struggle particularly given the 90 degree + heat. It does however have some great views out to see and around stallis. Hotel entertainment was poor.
We purchased lunch and drinks from local shop across the road which was excellent with good service and great value. Nice beach run by hotel across the road we had no trouble and swimming was fun loads of fish.
We would definetly return and reccomend it. Personally I hired a car but driving was manic so would probably catch bus or plan trips with hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
L Bigwood
10 years 8 months ago
Stayed at the Grand for 1 week with my boyfriend and thought it was a great choice.

It took around 25mins from the airport and costs between 30 and 40 euros in a taxi. It is located between Stalis(10-15min walk) and Hersonissos(15-20min walk).

We arrived at the hotel at 9pm-left our bags at reception and had our evening meal in the buffet restaurant which we didnt expect!

When we had finished were driven to our room with our cases waiting in the room.

Rooms very nice, had pool and sea view which was lovely and aircon which was needed as first 3 days were nearly 40 degrees!

Three pools on site-we only used the quiet pool and never had a problem getting a sun bed.
All the pools are saltwater.

My boyfriend used the gym,had treadmills etc while i swam in the lovely cold fresh water indoor pool.

Evening meals were very good with lots of choice and breakfast was also good with everything including fresh fruit and pancakes!

The snack bar was very reasonable-omlette and chips 3.70 euros.

All staff were very friendly and worked very hard.
Didnt stay in to watch entertainment.

Hotel Grand was excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
Hotel
The Grand Hotel is ok nothing flash it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomascook

Elaine Simpson
10 years 9 months ago
The hotel is spotless.

The food is very good.

The three pool areas and sunbeds are kept tidy and are hosed down on a regular basis, we never had any trouble finding a sunbed no matter what time of the day, in fact the "no reserving" actually worked in this hotel, we never once in our 2 weeks there saw sunbeds with towels on - which makes a very nice change.

You have a choice of sitting inside or outside in the restaurant.

The main downfall to this hotel is the slope the rooms are built on, we unfortunately were on the top, yes the views were great, but the walk up was a nightmare. When you arrived they take you up in a van along with the cases, we arrived at midnight and didn't realise just how steep the incline was until we awoke the next morning, by this time I had unpacked so we put up with it, but if we returned to this hotel I would definately ask for a room nearer the bottom of the slope.

There is a fridge in the rooms and the air-con is very modern (remote control). We had plenty of draw space plus two wardrobes, but not many hangers (8 or 10 hangers in total).

You can hire pool towels from reception, they are 20Euros each, of which you only get back 10Euros, at other hotels we have always been refunded the full deposit, but not here, you can change them as often as you want to. The safe in the room was 35Euros to hire to 2 weeks (I think it is 20Euros for 1 week).

The hotel location is fine, a 10-15 min walk to Stalis and about 20 min walk to Hersonissos. The bus stops are right outside the hotel and run regularly. There are two supermarkets to the left of the hotel, I recommend the one across the road "Gortys" it is better stocked and he makes his own wine, which is quite palatable it costs 3Euros for 1.5 litres, especailly nice after it has been chilled in your fridge for a while, we used to mix it with either tonic or soda for a more refreshing drink. The bar prices in the hotel are quite expensive, the wine we used to have with our meal was 11.50Euros, a very pleasant Rose, but not really worth that price! Also beware if you order water with your meal, the still water is about 2Euros, which you expect to pay but the fizzy water is nearly 5Euros - a bit of a rip off.

We never went to any of the entertainment in the hotel so couldn't comment on it. There are two bars within easy walking distance of the hotel, one to the left, a karaoke bar, with a couple of happy hours 20:00 - 22:00 all cocktails 2.80Euros and then 22:00 - midnight large beers 2Euros. The other bar was across the road to the right, this had no entertainment but music was playing and the staff were exceptionally friendly and the drinks reasonably priced, they also used to give you shots of ouzo/peach schnapps, crisps, nuts & fruit along with your drinks, we were in there till late one night and were given prawns with noodles !!

I will definately return to Crete it is a lovely island and I would not hesitate in staying at the Grand Hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Bob Nevins
11 years 7 months ago
Hotel was kept very clean and tidy, main hotel and rooms. Staff are excellent.

Food self service plenty of it and I am a fussy eater, but had no trouble find something to satisfy me.

Beware the hotel is on a slope and not to good for the less able. My wife had a hip replacement in Feb and we were up the slope a little, but is was no problem for the hotel to swap rooms for us. Your bags are transported to and from your rooms for you.

Drinks in the hotel are a bit expensive but just pop along the road to gortys super market. and get you drinks and his own wine produced from his own vineyard he is a friendly guy.very nice spot good bus service to get you around the local towns. would have no problem going back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Alan Ward
11 years 8 months ago
The hotel is modern, spacious, spotlessly clean and capable of catering for 800 guests. The hotel was only half full when we stayed there.

The hotel was split into four levels the basement housed a small shop, reps area, and in another part of the hotel the fitness room and indoor cold water pool, on each of the other levels contained a outside pool and pool bar. The largest of the pools and containing bar and snack food/bar was located on level 1.

Plenty of sunbeds abound which were high pressure water cleaned regularly, surrounded all the pools. The hotel itself is made up of bunglow type accommodation only, we had a family room which comprised of a large double bedroom and a small bedroom containing two narrow single beds.

The bathroom was spacious and the room maids cleaned the rooms daily changing all of the towels leftin or around the bath. The food was self service which always leaves you with that canteen feeling but it was well prepared if not a little similar each day.

The restaraunt staff were brilliant. On the down side the hotel is built into a side of a hill which makes the second level onwards very difficult to get up to. We only had to do partial climbs for the entertainment and gave up after two night (mainly due to the quality) We played tennis once and found the court at the very top of the complex a very hard tiring climb.
The court was substandard in quality, no protection from the wind and we felt expensive at 15 euro an hour although they did offer us racquets and balls if we needed them.

The hotel is situated between two towns and you have to cross the highway to access a very small beach by a bar. The star beach is approx one and half miles away and caters for all ages and beach sports. Given its location the hotel lacks character and atmosphere at night. Given the size and seating available, a good evening bar and quick service would go a very long way to rectify this.

We frequented the Kareoke bar 60 years from the front of the hotel. The hosts were very pleasent and although not that busy but we talked to other groups and couples frequenting the bar. We had a week and enjoyed it mainly for relaxing.

If we felt we needed to get away from it all we would consider returning to the Grand.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum