Image of Semiramis Village Hotel

Semiramis Village Hotel

27 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Limin Chersonissou, Hersonissos 70014, Greece
Set in an elevated position above the outskirts of Hersonissos, this traditional Cretan style accomodation is perfect for exploring both Hersonissos and the nearby resort of Stalida. Located 1.5 kilometre from the centre of Hersonissos and its many shops,

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alison
9 years 1 month ago
We were sold this hotel on a 4 star basis, having travelled with Olympic on a 4 star basis previously i was very disappointed with what we found.
Location between Hersonnisos and Stalis, advertised as Hersonnisos but 10 min walk into Stalis and 30 min to Hersonnisos. Was aware of the hill to the hotel but wasn't as bad as i expected. Was difficult for the elderly and infirm.
The food was very repetative same thing every day and the hot food was never hot. Breakfast was fried egg on the 1st day with bacon. After that it was frankfurter sausage, scrambled egg, Beans and some sort of sweet pastry? No croissants or toast available just bread rolls and jam. Melon for both breakfast and evening no other fruit. The salads in the evening were very nice but by the end of the week i became very bored with eating salad. No cold meat so had to have parmesan cheese or the hot meat which was cold. Arrived for eve meal as soon as the food arrived and dining room opened but the hot food was never hot.
One eve i had Lazzani which turned out to be fish lasagna. No mention that this was a fish dish, luckily my friend who is allergic to fish never got this dish. Should have been labelled.
No entertainment available day or night only bar music which wasn't always on.
I didn't have any issues with the staff other than that there was no offer to take our cases to our rooms and the lift only went to the 1st floor.
The rooms were very tidy and clean with 4 single beds even though only 2 of us travelled.Towels were changed every day and bedding was changed twice. I was disappointed with the bathroom, very small with what we nicknamed a mini me shower as it was only 3 feet tall. Very difficult to stand under. Were informed this is standard in Crete but having spoken to people in other hotels this wasn't the case. No extras like shower gel, shower cap etc which you would expect from a 4 star
We were aware before we went that we had to pay for the air con but not the fridge which was 10 euros for the week. The safe deposit boxes were in the reception area and not private. Anyone walking past could see what you had in there.
Was advised by the rep at the end of the hol we would receive a questionaire to complete. Insisted at the welcome meeting that we fill them in as our comments would be used when reviewing the hotel rating and be used to make changes where necesssary. We never received this questionaire it was given to another guest along with their own which they filled in. The rep didn't have anymore to give us??
At the welcome meeting no drinks were provided which is unusual for a welcome meeting. Found the meeting very informative and booked 2 trips which were very good but very expensive with hidden costs.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Paul P
11 years 2 months ago
I had read many of the reviews on this site prior to going and thought that it wasn't all that bad! How foolish both me and my wife were. This hotel is not in any way set up for people from the UK. Stay away unless you want to waste your money. We were sold the holiday on a half board basis, though the hotel is set up for full board only - so if you have bought an half board holiday you will need to up grade to full, (10 euros a person a day) - i/e water at your evening meal (Not included on half board!!!) is well expensive. Below is some of the overview of the holiday.
I originally booked the holiday on a half basis but upgraded to all inclusive because I could not have a drink of water at the evening meal? and had to buy it from the bar staff at what was extremely expensive. You were not allowed to bring in your own!

I only found this out because I got a glass of water from the drinks machine which everyone else was doing and then whilst sat at my table a waitress aggressively began shouting at me that I was not entitled.

The brochure and hotel signs all say snacks are included i/e as per the bar menu
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Matt
11 years 4 months ago
Well where do I start. My friend booked this hotel, stating that he had been there before.

It must have been the worst holiday ever. If you enjoy continental food covered in oil, catered for mainly greeks or Germans...then this hotel is ideal. However, I did not agree with the food options at all.

In the morning, disgusting boiled eggs, with a slimey frankfurter sausage. Lunch was salad, mouldy bread, dry pasta with no sauce, dried up meat, that they again cover in oil. After lunch - dry sandwichs with one slice of cheese and ham..No toastie maker as specified!

Evening meal...Again, same dishes mainly, but with a few new alternatives...shrivelled up what looked like burgers, very chewey beef, uncooked chicken....revolting!

The staff - well....very rude! Didnt like my mate at all..He made that clear.

Drinks, well they said that drinks in the evening were help yourself until 11...but 9 times of out 10 they would pull out the barrell 20 minutes before..even though it was all inclusive and you could pore your own. Ouzo, Raki, Wine.....get very sick of those!

Entertainment....None at all! Also they have a greek night with over 250 people on a thurday...Very nice if you like that sort of thing...the evening dance was ok..but, do not go into restaurant on that night...They are very expressive which is fair enough....but very rude.....they barge you out the way..are very unpolite. No manners!
Plus, they take all the food that is avail on there one plate!

Location - Too far away for me...Wlaking distance to stalis was 25-30 minutes.....I want to be close to Malia, so this was the wrong hotel for me...

If you are looking for a nice break...Believe me, you will not come back satisfied with this accomodation....Rating out of ten....would even give it one..It was that bad!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympics

Mrs Klein
12 years 2 months ago
Well what can I say, a thoroughly relaxing holiday.

We stayed all inclusive at this hotel and was well aware that the choices were limited on the all inclusive but this wasn't a problem. The drinks were self service so never had to wait to be served and only queued near 11pm when all inclusive was about to finish. The meals were spot on and my 2 and a half year old enjoyed trying a variety of things, it was a pleasant change not to see chips everyday. The food was always piping hot and refreshed frequently. To say most of the reps from other hotels ate there everyday has to say something!!!!

The rooms were immaculate and my daughter even began speaking Greek with our maid who was very very friendly.

The hotel is ideally place between Stalis and Hersonissos, a really refreshing walk after filling up on the all you can eat (although the hill back up to the hotel can be tiring in the heat!).

As the brochure said there would be occasional entertainment we weren't really expecting any but the Greek night that they put on was spot on and got everyone involved in the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic voyages

Recommended
Jo And Stu
13 years 2 months ago
We went all inclusive again after a splendid break at the Oceanis (Semiramis sister hotel) the year previous.

The hotel is lovely building with spacious rooms (for a couple) and basic amenities. The building was kept to a good standard of cleanliness.

The hotel food was nice on day one and then the novelty factor wore off. Each day you could guarantee that 80% of the food was identical to the previous day. The Pasta and meat in tomato sauce was present every day, however, meat was lacking. The Hotel did not appear to cater for children and were often left eating stuff that was not very pleasing for them, on the flip side I did hear that one couple bought their own food for their children and the hotel gladly cooked it for them. There is always plenty of food but with a lack of variety, the desire was to eat out more.

The hotel seemed to be clinging to what could be described as a rock face. It's a good 30 minute walk into Stalis and a good 50 minute walk into Hersonissos (using the safe coastal path), the desire not to be run over by halfwits on mopeds/quad bikes was overpowering.

The hotel staff on the whole were pleasant enough with the odd exception, one in particular patrolled the food section and monitored the all inclusive bands, he didn't smile once and was on hand on occasion to throw a temper at a few guests in full view of remainder of hotel.

Another seemed to have the compassion of a sledgehammer who was devoid of any feeling, not the best CV for one who works on the reception.

The entertainment is non-existent. If you have kids aged 14 and under I would strongly recommend you go elsewhere. The hotel has a multi-cultured client
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Leanne
13 years 2 months ago
My self and two friends have just returned from a 2 wk holiday at this hotel. After reading previous reports on this site we were little worried but was pleasantly surprised!

Although this hotel was a walk up hill and away from Hersonsis and Stalis there were 3 shops and two tavernas very closeby. The walk uphill wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Sharon
13 years 3 months ago
This was our first All inclusive holiday. We thought we'd try it as the price we paid was a really good deal.

The hotel is built in the side of a mountain, and from what I could see, all rooms have a sea view.

The reception was welcoming and all staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and basic, but had everything needed (a fridge would have been nice though - take it you don't get those on All Inclusive?) We paid extra for the luxury of air conditioning.

We normally don't like to be 'tied down to one place' so to speak, therefore we had already agreed to prior to going on holiday to have our evening meal out and about.

Breakfast was ok. The continental choice was the same every day, it could have been better had they served a variety of fruit, instead of just tinned peaches and water melon - which is great if you love it, but it's available breakfast, lunch and dinner. The cooked breakfast varies each day, but don't expect a traditional English.

Lunch was debatable, some days were better than others. There was a different selection everyday however, always pasta and a bolognaise sauce (sauce though, not much meat) And something that looked and tasted like mousaka everyday, but with a different name.

We checked out the evening meal and to us it looked pretty much the same. (We weren't missing out on anything) The menu wasn't really child friendly for a 6 year old.

As most people have said, you can't complain for the price paid.

We walked to Hersonnisos, Stalis or got a taxi to Malia for our evening meal. The food was cheaply priced (compared to the UK) and so much more favourable. A perfect end to the day.

We would go to Crete again, but we would go somewhere a bit quieter on the Island. The downfall was there was a lot of people riding around (sometimes dangerously) on quad bikes and moped things around Hersonnisos and Malia. Especially later on in the evening. (Hope they hadn't been drinking!)

Would we go All inclusive again? Only if the price was good otherwise, we'd go Self catering again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Paul
13 years 4 months ago
Here's the lowdown:

All inclusive - not quite, no ice cream during the day except at meal times (even though the brochure said ice cream was included). Drinks available 11am-11pm are beer, wine, ouzo, raki (go on try it!) and soft drinks, everything else has to be paid for. Also all inclusive drinks are self service. Between meal snacks are somewhat limited, ham and cheese or just cheese sandwiches between 2-5pm. Cakes at 5pm.

Meals were OK - breakfast was actually not great at all, but at least filled me up. Lunch and dinner were better, the usual salads, soup, some meat dishes and a bit of veg. The choice was never great but what there was always quite nice. I read elsewhere that there were chips everyday, but we only had them twice during our 7 day stay. Desert consisted of either fruit or cake and ice cream.

Location - Is down as Hersonissos in the brochures but was actually closer to Stalis. It was a 20-25 min (1-1.5 miles) walk into Stalis and about a 45 min walk (2 miles) into Hersonissos (30 mins to Star Beach). The road in and out of the hotel was also quite a steepish hill of about 100yds off the main road. It was about 5 mins (400 yds) to the sea, although there was no immediate beach there.

Hotel itself - Always clean, rooms a decent size, staff always polite and friendly (esp Manuel in the bar).The pool was quite large and always very clean, there was always enough spare sunbeds available too. There was also no entertainment or kids activities.

I would say that if you are looking for a basic but comfortable hotel to stay in and not too bothered about location. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended
Tamaryn
13 years 4 months ago
Myself and my boyfriend who are both 20 just got back from Hersonnisos today, we were very pleased with the hotel and think that most people who have put complaints in are being very fussy.

While it wasn't delux it had a very good selection of foods and drinks of which you can have as much as you like.
As for the distance from the town, I myself read reviews on this and was a little worried however it's not at all bad, in all honesty you get what you pay for and I was more than pleasantly surprised.

The beach is within walking distance, the hotel is very clean and rooms are cleaned everyday, staff are friendly and while the food isnt gourmet cooking it's substantial and you get what you expect with a lot of choice, anyone expecting differently would need to up their budget as its all well within the price. I would definitely recommend!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic

Recommended
Kathryn Powell
14 years 2 months ago
The Semiramis Village Hotel is situated between Hersonissos and Stalis and taxis to either resort cost approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum