Image of Royal & Imperial Belvedere Hotel

Royal & Imperial Belvedere Hotel

15 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
4 stars
Limenas Hersonissou, Pano Chersonissos 70014, Greece

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M
9 years 9 months ago
jet2 rated this hotel as a 5 star I can only assume they don't get out much, the hotel itself has a grand reception area, it goes down hill after that, the rooms were very basic with a built in settee which required recovering (stains etc) TV, en-suite with hairdryer. The walls were very thin,but we eventually slept well, our room with balcony had a sea view. We went all inclusive which I don't recommend, some of our international friends don't know when to stop drinking, I cannot name them, but they like vodka!!. The entertainment team work their little socks off, personally I would rather work at Butlins on no pay, each to their own. Only one child really spoilt themselves with an alarming hissy fit, of course she was english. I did complain to Jet2 when I got back to which they replied and I quote, 'all countries have different standards' gosh I never knew that having only travelled the world for the last 20 years, thanks for pointing that out jet2. Must say that the food was not all bad and the Greek Yogurt and honey is superb but I suppose it should be in Crete. My advice to all is stay away.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2

Steve
10 years 6 months ago
Stayed in Belvedere for 2 weeks in August with our 2 boys hotel was rated 4* which in my view is incorrect its a 3*.the hotel guests were a mix of europeans but mainly German, for which the hotel catered for ie food, childrens entertainment,evening entertainment.

I found the food a poor standard small cuts of meat plonked in a sauce,by the second week we were bed and breakfast. Hotel location and facilities were good placed between a village(koutouloufari)which was beautiful and would recommend staying there self catering as the food in the tavernas and bars was really good.

And the new town next to star beach which was more for the teens.reading this review you would think we did not have a good holiday but we had a wonderful time lovely weather met some really nice people chilled out and had plenty of fun.on the whole would not recommend this hotel or all inclusive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunescapes

Steve
10 years 7 months ago
I have just returned with my wife and two young children 4 and 6.

First impressions of Crete were not very good, on route to hotel we seemed to pass nothing but half built houses and hotels, but were relieved when we arrived at the Royal Belvedere.
We were placed in a bungalow at the rear of the hotel, but after a couple of days were put nearer the pool at our request this made the holiday a much better stay.
The room was basic but had everything you needed, at the end of the day we only slept and got changed there (if you want to spend your time watching English TV-stay at home). The room was air conditioned, had a fridge, safety box and plenty of wardrobes. The room service was tip top and she earned her 100 euro tip.
The resort is made up of 2 hotels and boasts 6 outdoor pools and 1 indoor (all salt water), the Olympic pool is just that 50m long 25m wide and 4m deep with a diving board. We only discovered in the second week we had free roam around the Imperial hotel which pool was by far the best for adults.
We spent most of the holiday around the clown pool which suited us because of the 0.4m depth; the children could order their own food and drinks. we were given a green wristband which meant we could get any local drinks except cocktails (we were promised gold bands by sunescapes and despite phoning them from the hotel on arrival didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunescapes

Recommended
Lisa
10 years 8 months ago
Just got back from a week at the Royal Belvedere, Here's my comments:

Hotel: Very opulant, very nice large reception area, with plenty of comfortable seating, with panoramic windows to take advantage of the fantastic views. Small shop that caters for all needs: papers, toiletries, clothes, cigs, sweeets etc. Jewellers shop that sells fantastic Cretan jewellery. Reception staff pleasant and polite.

Pools: All pools were salt water and quite cold, the cold we could cope with but the children hated the salt water. Pool areas were kept clean (but bins could have been emptied more often as the were covered in wasps) pool beds were your normal white plastic ones, and yes you had to pay for bed cusions but i bought 4 lilos fron Asda before we left at 97p each and passed them on to other holiday makers when we left so this wasnt a problem.

Food: Breakfast was much the same as any hotel,normal fried foods, fruits, cereals, bread and rolls, hams, cheeses, also they make waffles and pancakes while you wait which the kids loved! Lunch was a choice of meats and vegetables again with a very wide range of everything, As a lover of greek food i cannot really fault the food at this hotel, there was so much choice that it should please all tastes, always plenty of meats, salads, vegetables, potatoes, pastas and salads. As the review before had said the food can be warm but thats how many Europeans eat their food. If my memory serves me right there was always at least 12 choices of desserts, plus 4 flavours of ice cream!

Snack bar: served salad, fruit salad, chips, pizza, pasta, toasties, slush, popcorn and ice creams, as wll as hot and cold drinks and at about 4 o'clock there was sponge cakes for afternoon tea.

Entertainment: The entertainment crew worked constantly
from 9 in the morning till 11 at night, with water polo, volleyball, darts and billiard tournaments, water aerobics and lots more at night they do a kids disco followed by the teams show which on the whole was quite good.

My only gripe with this hotel was the Germans, who i find a very rude, ignorant group of people, but that is only my opinion!

Star beach which is at the bottom of the road has a small beach with water sport. the surrounding area is a water park which has about 5 slides and a pool with a bar, you do not have to pay to get in, but it costs 8 Euros for a wrist band to go on slides and 3.50 for sun bed and 2.00 for umberella. But word of warning families, we arrived at 10 in the morning and all was fine until about 4'clock when the clubbers were partying around pool bar in full sight of the children with some very suggestive dance moves which my 3 teenagers found totally rivetting........ exit one bemused family.

All in all a very good hotel that definately warrants a 4 star rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic

Recommended
John-doe
10 years 8 months ago
Hi all just returned from a great weeks holiday at this hotel.

Everything was as previous posters have said so I won't go over the same points. Enough to say ........what a fantastic holiday at this hotel.

Would I go again .............yes I certainly would. Do I reccomend this hotel yes I sure do.

Regards...........john-doe
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hays travel

Recommended
fwh
10 years 9 months ago
I can only echo the previous comments about this hotel with one exception.

Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Room
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunescapes/Hellenic Voyages

Chris
11 years 5 months ago
What can I say! Awsome, great hotel, great staff, pools were spotless, rooms spotless. For kids they have pools for all ages so you can sit back and relax.

Food was great every thing for adults and children, plenty to drink, BE CAREFULL make sure you get all Inclusive PLUS or you have to pay for vodka and all white sprits? Why I have no idea!

The downside is GERMANS and lots of them, and lots of steps, but apart from that its awsome.

We have booked for early next year just for a week, we went for 11 days last time and that was perfect! If you read the rest of the comments on here about this hotel and people moaning about it, forget them and trust me on this it's a great holiday....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel city direct

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
We were allocated 2 family rooms at the top of the complex which were well out of the way but with a very restful feel to them. No carrying of cases as they were put on a Buggy along with us.

Arriving at 9.30 at night, the restaurant was closed, but by the time we got back from the rooms a full buffet was laid on along with snacks for the kids.

There are 3 bars. The main bar within the hotel is very quiet with little atmosphere, but is the only bar that drinks are served in glasses. Setaing available on the veranda with a constant cooling breeze.

The main pool bar is where the International entertainment takes place. Quite a lot of queuing for drinks but plenty staff to deal with the crowds. Drinks in small paper cups, even beer. A kids meeni- deesco takes place every night. You will know the music played in the same order every night. Other entertainment by the animation staff follows - not the best, but get into the spirit.

The bottom bar has other entertainment in the evening but this is run by Alltours reps for their German customers and is all in German. (The Germans DO talk to you as well)
The pools are drained and cleaned occasionally. One complaint was the state of the kids pool with oil and litter on the odd day, but general cleaning is done every day. We complained about the one pool and it was drained the following day when it was seen that no-one was using it.

The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh linen.
The staff were friendly and helpful, even taking out time to teach you a bit of Greek.

The dining room was huge but it was sometime a struggle to get a table for 6, but never had to wait for more than a minute before one was empty. The food was - GREEK and good. I've run out of space now My wife said,"We are coming back." I agree.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic

Recommended
Sarah Merrigan
11 years 6 months ago
Me my husband and two small girls stayed at this hotel at the end of August.

We had a bungalow right near the restaurant and it was lovely no steps to get the buggies up and down the room was really spacious and modern.

The hotel was very clean but we did not go too much on the food, it wasn't awful or anything but have had a lot better and did not expect too much anyway too be honest.

The snack bar was best for us in the day toasted sandwiches and pizza slush puppies and ice creams for the kids, you could get more round the other snack bar but we stayed round the kids pool as they loved it.

Hotel staff was okay a few a bit rude we thought but we didn't take any notice of them. Entertainment was a bit naff very geared up for the Germans but we went out at night a few times for some really lovely meals and just had a few drinks when we got back so didn't have to see too much of it.

Just behind the hotel if you walk up past the imperial through the little gate there and keep walking for about ten minutes you will come to a beautiful little Greek village it has loads of gorgeous little restaurants and shops and if you keep walking there are a further 2 villages we didn't discover this until our last night and were gutted, never mind we will go back to this part of Crete but probably not this hotel as its on a very steep hill and was a bit difficult with the kids, but we had a really lovely time and its certainly worth a visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hellenic voyages

Karen & Paul
11 years 9 months ago
We arrived early hours of the morning, to be met by a very pleasant receptionist and the security man who carried our luggage to the room for us!

Room was not in main hotel block but in the "bungalows" at the front. The view was amazing from the balcony. \the room was very clean with air con.tv,fridge and a newly refurbed bathroom complete with huge bath!Staff were friendly even the cleaners.

Hotel food was not bad considering all nationalities are to be catered for (Dutch,French and German) and was always hot and fresh-you must try the creme brulee! Choice of drinks varied depending on mealtime. Snack bar was good serving chips,pizza,toasties,burgers,hot-dogs,ice cream.slush puppies,beer,soft drinks,fruit and biscuits/cakes.

We had gold wrist bands so could have the cocktails and despite being free were not short of alcohol content!! If you love rock then go see our friend Loukas at the bar by the kids pool-he rocks!!!(say the accept fan in uk says hi) Entertainment at night wasn't brilliant but the entertainers did their bests and some shows were quite good(Backstreet Boys & "No Swimming" are fab)They were very friendly yet didn't force you into joining in.

All in all we had our monies worth and would definately go again. Some Brits weren't happy with the food as chips weren't serverd every nigh but we always found something. the hotel has been refurbished so everywhere is quite new and clean.

Take note though it is on a steep hill but helps to walk off all those extra calories.Hold your nose though when you walk past the resident goats and donkeys as they whiff a bit!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum