Image of Mediterraneo Hotel

Mediterraneo Hotel

26 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

3 out of 5 from 32 reviews
4 stars
Hersonissos, Crete, Greece

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M.Mitchell
Not a 4*
7 years 7 months ago
Hotel is definitely not 4*. Could not fault room cleanliness but public areas especially the toilets left a lot to be desired. Food was very boring and predictable and catered more for Eastern Europeans and Russian.

Location lovely but only side sea views allocated to British guests. We felt the staff were working there under sufferance and very rarely smiled or spoke to guests. While we were there we had school group of 25 teenagers, that wasn't enough the week after 40 kids ages from 8-16 arrived on a school camp holiday. Not good.

Entertainment was non-existent only twice in 14 nights. Would not go back, what a shame. This hotel needs to take a good look at its all-round standards.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Emma & Lee
9 years 5 months ago
Me and my boyfriend went to this hotel in July 2009 for 2 weeks.

Food- the food was terrible, same thing every night. you got sick of the sight of it. so we choose to eat out nearly every night.

Cleanliness- Hotel was clean and presentable. However maids didnt change the sheets everyday or sweep the floor, they did give us new clean towels.

Location: Absoulutely poor. We spent roughly 150 euros for the whole 2 weeks on taxis alone!!!! town centre is 15 mintues walk from this hotel.

Staff were nice especaily the women on reception.

Entertainment: Average. didnt really stay in to watch it.

Alinclusive for 2weeks and there was no VODKA what so ever!!! Such a dissapointment.

Would never vist this hotel again!!



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Roger Gann
10 years 5 months ago
Cleanliness was ok, bedlinen/towels changed daily; what a hike to your room if you're not in the main hotel block. Not suitbale for disabled/elderly. the food menu was average & I felt disppointing for a 4* hotel. I hate plastic glasses for drinks - say no more. It is not a family hotel - no entertainment at night except once when there was a band & some Greek dancing. Staff were ok. It is the first time I have been in a 4/5 star hotel that does not have air con in the public areas - lobby, indoor bar etc. There was air con in the dining room but it was seldom on - no joke in temperatures of 35C. At night the lack of air con meant you had to cross the car park and go to the outside pool bar. Over all impression is poor and I wouldn't return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic/Monarch

Horsburgh
11 years 2 months ago
We were moved to the Mediterraneo from the King Minos as the latter was closing, we were led to believe that the Mediterraneo was a four star hotel as was the King Minos, this move was only for two days but spoilt the holiday completely for us due to the categories mentioned on the left. The King Minos Palace was a beutiful hotel and in no way can the Mediterraneo be put in the same category.
The food was inedible as it was cold, even when we were in the dining room at the start of the service with a very poor selection.
The equipment in the dining room was filthy, especially the hot water urns and jugs, the bedroom had a film of dust that you could clearly write your name in.
The staff were miserable and very rarely smiled, in fact we were made to feel like unwelcome guests. So much so that we chose to eat out rather that face the ordeal of the dining room.
The limited time that we spent at the poolside was also ruined by gardeners using a chainsaw around the pool to cut down some large bushes thus releasing a multitude of insects and dragging the cutting around the side of the pool depositing numerous branches and leaves in the water.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Expedia

Julie
11 years 5 months ago
This was a cheap all inclusive holiday and we were made aware beforehand what was included and what wasnt so there no surprises.

Having read some bad and neutral reviews on here, I was going with an open mind, but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, the food was quite varied, and there was lots of choice (not all of it British.

I liked the location as it was at the end of the resort, rather than in the noisy centre.

It was a fair old trek was from one end of the resort to the other though, but isn't that what taxis are for? The staff were a bit abrupt at times, but for every rude one there was a nice one to compensate.

The bug bear for me was the lack of entertainment, we were there for a week and there was none, so a pack of cards came in very handy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
We only stayed for one night after our tour operator had booked us into a hotel that was closed! However first impressions and all that!

Staff were very friendly and helped us in our hour of need.

The hotel was full of German type youths playing card games-not rowdy though! Meal in the restaurant was a little limited but the waitresses were friendly.

The all inclusive drinks programme was a bit of a come down after going all inclusive in Spain- you had a choice of Ouzo, Brandy, wine or lager. I had to mix the Ouzo with Coke ( sacrilige apparently.) Breakfast limited, however I did try honey balls for the first time ( don't ask!)

Location was basically in the middle of nowhere opposite lovely little coved beaches which could be accessed by scrambling over rocks or creeping through a tunnel( meant for very small people) that ran underneath the road.

Once on the beach it was idyllic, deserted and lots of rock pools to explore.

We were given the chance to stay a few more days, but hand on heart I just didn't like the atmosphere there so we moved on to a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: OTbeach

Eileen
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel Mediteraneo sells itself as a luxury hotel within easy reach of all local facilities. Do not believe it.

Cracked and broken crockery, unimaginative, repetitive menu, stewed tea and coffee served in plastic cups of a disgusting shade of red are just some of the issues we had.

Couple that with the distances you have to walk to get to the local amenities ( the 800m to the town centre is nothing if not a joke) or the "take your life in your hands" scenario to get to the beach which is on the other side of a very busy main road, and you realise that you have to be very fit to partake of what the resort has to offer. You will need to do this as the hotels facillities are basic in the least.

No lifts to the major part of the hotel means much mountaineering, so is unsuitable for those with disabilities or families with children in pushchairs and older people etc.

Entertainment consists of people watching and plane spotting. The games room has very little to offer as most of the equipment is damaged or has pieces missing and the internet often does not work. There is little by way of local information given to guests so you have to make enquiries independently via a walk into town. The taxi driver assured me that the distance was more in the region of 3km, not the 800m given on the hotels website, and as my husband is disabled this was not an easy option.

Would I stay at this hotel again? A definite no is the answer!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aegian Leisure

David&Anny
12 years 7 months ago
Having stayed at this hotel for 14 days I must say that I will go back!! Yes because I read a couple of really bad reviews which I think are unfair and misleading.

This is an all inclusive resort hotel and usually these places have low quality food. Not here!! Food is delicious and I must say there are many dishes too choose from. But then taste is something subjective so I don't think I should insist on it.

Anyway the accommodation itself had been clean and you didn't have to worry for clean towels and sheets. Our room was big enough with a really crystal clear sea view.

Upon arrival staff had been friendly and helpful willing to explain everything and give directions and this attitude lasted till the very last minute!

We got the entertainment they had promised - karaoke & Cretan evening but we also enjoyed staying at the bar during the night. We met some interesting people there - hi Josh/Fran/Torry!

The hotel is 15 min walking distance from the centre of the town but we always used a taxi service - 5 euro only.

The resort is full of bars and pubs.
Well I guess that's the Impression I got.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Ian
12 years 7 months ago
We - me & my girlfriend - visited the resort hotel in the middle of may for 7 days. We had been to Hersonissos before many times and we had stayed mostly at apartments or studios. This time we wanted something better so we booked through internet the Mediterraneo Hotel mostly impressed by the pictures shown.we were not dissapointed at all. We found more than we expected.

Its true that all rooms have nice view since the hotel is built in an amphitheatrical way - make sure you ask for a room on the 2 first floors - and the accomodation is clean.

The staff had been helpful and willing to provide any information. We spent a lot of time in the hotel bar drinking cocktails - summer vacations right??

The food had been of a great variety. Fish everyday and more. They tried really hard to combine different tastes to satisfy different guests from different countries which is a bit hard if you come to think about it. (Dutch, Scandinavians, Germans, British..).

Pool was great - sunbeds, umbrellas for free - really relaxing. Oh and there is a guy there that does massage relaxation therapy really great.

The hotel is also a golf of crete member and this meant reduced golf prices for the guests. So I guess that if you want to play golf all the time you get better prices. Me and my girlfriend went to the golf course twice only though!However its only 5 min driving from the crete golf club which I think is an advantage for golf lovers.

Its also close to star beach water park! Now there's another story. Great park with so many things to do. Don't miss it. Plus the hotel is opposite the only worth sightseeing of the area - a traditional cretan house museum. If you ever go there try it.

Well more or less thats it. I hope we helped.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jiba

Recommended
Hamilton
13 years 2 months ago
All inclusive food was mediocre, the snacks were of a meal type and it was all speciality dishes, so if burgers and chips are what is required for eating forget it, you couldn't even buy this.

The drinks throughout the day were of self service but in plastic beakers the rims of some were fairly sharp / bitty.

Hotel was clean, towels being changed daily.

The location was quiet.

This hotel is not suitable for O.A.P'S as there is al ot of climbing either stairs or slopes to get to rooms.

The resort of Hersonisis being a 30 minute walk one way with Stalis about the same the other. The hotel was situated off the main road and at times it was very difficult to cross unless one walked either way and crossed under the road. The small shrine (someone having been killed) just outside the entrance was a reminder of how dangerous it was!

The hotel was mainly eastern European guests, the restaurant staff were not very friendly and appeared to like the non English guests more. It was off putting to eat in the restaurant as it appears that foreign guests have a bad habit of staring at English people, either whilst eating or fetching food.

The entertainment was non existent, there was table tennis, none of the six bats were of any use as all the rubber backings were either hanging off or had holes in them.

The fitness room was to say the least dangerous! The multi gym had a screwdriver holding up the weights, one of the pulley wires was broke and a piece of boat cord was in its place. None of the treadmills worked or the computers on any of the other items either. Other items like air hockey, pool and the computer games were not in a very good condition and these had to be paid for (not included in the A/I price!) There was internet access but this was 5 euro's an hour.

There was no entertainment, all that there was if it can be called that, was cards, chess and other board games. It was difficult to get a seat some evenings as they were taken early by other guests who sat for the whole evening playing on them, (I don't know if it was a favourite past time of foreigners or it was the fact that there was nothing at all to do!)

Both my son and his friend (both 16yrs old) were completely board from about the first 2 minutes of arriving.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum