Image of Amathus Beach Hotel

Amathus Beach Hotel

5 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
5 stars
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Ixia 85101, Greece

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 4 months ago
Our hotel was changed on arrival to this one, after spending a week here i am glad it was changed.
The cleaners work about 18 hours a day making sure both inside and outside the hotel is clean.
Food is excellent. Breakfast and dinner are served buffet style, which means you can try something to see if you like it. Theres a very good choice at meal times, breakfast is everything from croissants to a full english with every other nationality in between. Dinner is the same standard, choice of around 7 or 8 main courses with a choice od veg. Theme nights in the restaurant include Greek, Italian and an international night when some very diverse offerings were there including East European. All in all a very good choice, all well prepared and served. Staff were excellent. If you stay here go to the far end of the resaturant and get a table in Socrates area. He is very friendly, concerned that everything is ok, efficient but above all he makes you feel special.
There are a choice of 2 bars in the hotel. The first is by the pool outside and is ideal to sit in for an after dinner drink or cup of tea. The other is on the 11th floor, if you go here make sure you meet Stevikos, he is a fantastic blok, very friendly, even bought us a few drinks through the week. We have swapped email addresses with him to stay in touch which is not like me at all.
Prices, its a 5 str hotel so expect high prices. " pots of tea, around 6.5 euros, beer and a coke, about 7.5 euros. Yes, its cheaper at the bars down the road, but if you want to stay 5 star be prepared to pay 5 star prices.
The hotel is well maintained. We had no problems in the room but i did see the maintenance man on the go all day. The decor is neutral colours but is all clean and tidy.
I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, a lot in the UK and this compares very well. Greek 5 star may be slightly below UK levels but in reality you pay a lot less when abroad so its expected.
Entertainment, only on about half the nights we stayed includin an ABBA night, Greek dancing and a selection of Charles Aznevour style singers.
The only thing i can critisise the hotel for is a lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. As non drinkers this meant a large bill to have tea in the bars. Take a travel kettle with you ig its a problem however after talking to the staff at the hotel this may change for next year as they are thinking of putting facilities in the rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
A Gadsby
8 years 8 months ago
We have just spent 14 wonderful days at this hotel. The hotel is brilliant. The staff cannot do enough for you and are very friendly. The choice of food is wonderful and there is something for everyone. You have a good choice between meat, fish and vegetarian. The rooms on the front of the hotel have wonderful views over the Bay of Ixia as does the dining room and bar area on the 11th floor. There are two pool areas which get very very hot. We always prefer the beach and the hotel has its own private beach area which you approach via an under road tunnel. Again this area is kept very clean and tidy. The entertainment is a bit limited but everyone tries hard. People complain about the cost of drinks etc in the hotel but you have to expect higher prices when staying at a 5 star hotel. The service of the bar staff certainly makes the cost of the drinks etc worth it. We would certainly stay at this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Chris
9 years 6 months ago
Firstly, this isn't a 5-star hotel, and isn't of the same standard as the other two hotels in the chain on Cyprus [I haven't stayed at either of the two Cypriot hotels, but have been in them both several times over the years]. I believe the hotel was called the Rhodian, was then called the Rhodian Amathus [following, I presume, purchase by Amathus Group], and is now called the Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes. The logos, towels, stationery etc in the hotel are in a bit of a transitional state and all the re-branding hasn't completed. By the look of the construction work adjacent to the hotel I suspect Amathus Group are trying to get the hotel up to full 5-star standard.

The construction work involved the development of some luxury suites on some land next to the hotel - the other Amathus hotels have these also. The construction is relatively low-key and didn't overly disturb us.

Overall the hotel is very nice and of a good 4+ star standard. The rooms are nicely appointed, but the bathrooms are only 3+ star standard. We chose a carpeted room, because we don't like the noise of people scraping their furniture around and waking us up. However, the floor above had tiled floor, so we still suffered some neighbour-noise. Having said that, we were in a nice quiet area of the hotel [we requested quiet rooms] and other guests weren't too noisy, so it wasn't so problematic. I wouldn't want a room near the lifts, though, as many people use the fire escape stairs [see later] and the fire doors slam shut with an almighty bang.

The foyer is very nicely appointed, however, nothing *ever* happens here, as the bar, restaurant etc. is up on the 10th/11th floor [because the hotel is set into a hillside], so there is no reason to be in this part of the hotel. There is a coffee shop and a jewellery shop and general store in the foyer but, as I said, no-one pays them much attention. I suppose that it is a nice relaxing space to be in, though.

The reception leads to a small terrace at the rear of the hotel with a waterfall. This appears in all the brochures, but is a rather unused area. The waterfall is rather tatty and unmaintained. At one end of the terrace there was a pile of tools and broken glass stacked [you see now why the hotel is not 5-star] for the whole two weeks we were there.

There are three lifts, which aren't really enough, given the amount of travelling up and down required. While we were there one lift was broken for a week, so most people were using the stairs [see above re: banging fire doors].

The pool area to the front of the hotel is nice, but it seemed you can only access it by going through the hotel and out of the hotel front door - hence lots of people all day walking through reception in their wet swimming gear. Perhaps there is another way through? This pool area is rather small for a hotel this size. There is a grass area, but hardly any parasols on it, which isn't anywhere close to good enough. While we were there this pool had a detached underwater lamp floating around [tethered by its cable]in the children's pool - I reported this, of course, but didn't see it get fixed. Leading from this pool area there is a tunnel to the beach. The tunnel is nice and clean and tidy, as is the beach.

The pool on the 11th floor is where we spent most of out time - it is a little quieter up there. adjacent to this pool are the bungalows.

The restaurants are very nice - we only ate breakfast, but this was very nicely presented, and the service was excellent.

The animation programme seemed rather good - quite a lot to do but in a relaxed way.

The hotel maintenance and cleaning is a little suspect. There is paint peeling off all the exterior walls. Much more needs to be done here.

Drinks in the bar are ridiculously priced - I do have the money, but there are people starving in the world and I would rather give the money to them and walk to the nearest shop/bar than pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jill
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Rodian Amathus hotel for one week, The hotel was lovely and clean and the pool areas fantastic. The food was excellent with plenty of choice for everyone including my 11 year old son who is quite a fussy eater. Only complaint was that we specifically booked and paid extra for a sea view room but on arrival we where told we had been upgraded to a junior suite, however on going to the room we did not have a sea view, when I stated that I would rather have the sea view than the upgrade I was told that there where no sea view rooms available as they had been overbooked, the rep said that they had no control over reservations which did not help. After a lot of rather heated discussions we where eventually moved to a lovely sea view room on our second evening but since we where only staying for six nights I felt that this was very unfair. The customer services manager offered to compensate with a 'free lunch voucher' which I declined. Had it not been for this incident I would have had no complaints about this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jill & Nick H
11 years 9 months ago
We were allocated the Roadian Amathus on arrival in Rhodes - what a treat! We stayed on a half board basis and the food got better as the week went on - on some days you could choose your main course from a menu or eat from the buffet whichever you preferred. The desserts were lovely - wear elasticated trousers!

The hotel and our room was clean and tidy, with maid service every day. A nice touch was the chocolate left on our pillows every night with a message saying 'sweet dreams'

We had a side view which was nice as the sun was on our balcony mid/late afternoon and as it didn't face the road it was nice and quiet - perfect for chilling out.

There are 3 pools (one on the roof) but when we were there they were a little on the cool side so we only went in once. There are plenty of sunbeds but as usual there were the thoughtless who left towels out all day and never appeared - why do people do that?!

Hotel is situated on the main road set back from the beach. Shops and restaurants are withing easy walking distance in either direction.

Hotel staff are excellent!

Entertainment not brilliant and not on every day but that suited us.

Would we go back? Yes!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Carol
11 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from a half term break at this hotel and I would gladly recommend it to anyone.

It was very clean, the staff were very polite and all spoke English. The food was buffet style and varied to suit anyone but the most fussy (even my daughter found something to eat!)

Even in half term the other holidaymakers were mainly in their 50's and I would say that the hotel was aimed at them but we met a couple with a little boy of 6 and the staff adored him so you wouldn't feel awkward with young children.

In fact it made the environment feel very safe. My teenagers complained that there was nothing to do, but then that is what teenagers to best and probably wouldn't have joined in if anything had been arranged for them anyway. The swimming pools were lovely especially the one in the garden (lots of trees making nice cool shady places) the beach is not very big or pretty but you can lie on the hotel's sunloungers in a strip of private garden which is right on the beach.

All the sandy beaches are on the other side of the island. Entertainment was a man on a piano or a Beatles tribute band but we don't like hotel entertainment anyway so that didn't upset us much.

You can get a taxi from the hotel to Rhodes town for 6 Euros and there is lots to watch and do there and it is much more interesting. We hired a car from the hotel next door (Oceanis) and it was much cheaper than our hotel which uses Hertz and was very expensive.

We visited Lindos (lovely) and Tsambika beach (gorgeous) and even Faliraki wasn't that bad (I've definitely seen worse on the Spanish Costas). The whole family loved Rhodes, the people were really friendly, it felt very safe. Weather was very hot (unusually for time of year)but we loved it.

All round good hotel and resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Suzanne & Joy
11 years 9 months ago
I spent a week in the Rodian Amathus with my Mum and had a fantastic holiday. Even on first impressions, I didn't envy any other holiday makers being dropped off at other hotels. Grand looking lobby with outdoor seating area and waterfall.

Our room was great. It had a 'lounge' area as well as a sleeping area which was a real bonus. My Mum and I could finish every night off with a chat and a glass of wine in comfort and about 10pm a lovely chamber maid brought us goodnight chocolates which were normally left on pillows but as we were in I answered the door and had a sly handful given to us, being ladies on our own!

We loved the food. Buffet starter and dessert, but for main you had a choice from the menu which was finer dining, but still with a choice of buffet if there was nothing to your taste or you were still hungry. We found the more modest portion the menu choice gave you saved us from stuffing ourselves too horrendously.


The shops are a bit samey, but have a better choice of gifts to buy than from many other islands I have holiday'd, plus we love to shop.

Do take advantage of taxi's, they are cheap and have a fixed price tariff, depending where you go which all taxi's have to adhere to, so you shouldn't be ripped off. Would also STRONGLY recommend not booking your tours through your travel operator. There is a tourist agency set in a parade of shops half way along the main road who are cheaper and very friendly (on the beach side of the road).

Rhodes town is great, as was Lindos...tho it does get hot there, and would recommend the island tour. All in all the safest place I've been, least heckling by shop and restaurant people. You do get approached but are quickly left alone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travelcare

Recommended
Simon
11 years 9 months ago
We went to the Hotel in May with our little boy aged 6 at the time, the staff absolutely loved him, especially a waiter called Socrates. He was wonderful the best service you could imagine.

The food was amazing we all put on at least 4 pound in weight. The accommodation was clean and well maintained. Most of the staff spoke english and were very attentive.

We went back again in September for our honeymoon with the kids, and they were even better, as they knew us they gave us even better service than when we went in the May time. The catering manager made sure we had the best seats at the evening entertainment and even bought us a round of drinks. We took our daughter who has Aspergers & ADHD, to the hotel in the September (she was in disneyland paris with her grandparents in the may) and the staff went out of their way to make her feel welcome.

We are going back again this October (2007) with our new baby which was concieved in the hotel in the May.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going PLaces

Recommended
Steve
12 years 6 months ago
This hotel is excellent. We have stayed in many top hotels around the world and have become accustomed to 5 star treatment.

The staff at this hotel really do go out of their way to spoil you, especially Nico's at the restaurant by the pool at the front of the hotel.

The view from the 10th floor restaurant is magnificent and is really worth spending time in - 14 nights does become a little tiresome though.

After a couple of days we got into a routine of cashing in our evening meal for vouchers and using these for lunch at the restaurant ran by Nico's at the front of the hotel.
Evenings were then spent going into Rhodes Town, where these is a lot of good restaurants to choose from and a great atmosphere.

Advice for First Choice travellers - do not book the Greek night with First Choice, they host this in the hills about an hour away on a Tuesday evening - the hotels Greek night is far better and is on the same night and it's free !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs Casey
12 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Rodian Amathus for a week in August 2005. The hotel was very clean and the staff polite and helpful.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and were cleaned every day. We asked for a seaview room and had a beautiful view from the 8th floor.

Whilst over there, we both celebrated birthdays and were given complimentary bottles of champagne and birthday cards left for us in our room.

The pools are lovely, especially the rooftop pool which tends to be a bit quieter and less breezy!

There is an underground tunnel which leads to a private section of the beach which saves having to cross the busy road.

The hotel is within walking distance of some lovely family run bars and restaurants which are very friendly and welcoming, and Rhodes Town is only a short taxi ride away.

The only downside of the hotel was the food. We went on a half board basis, but were disappointed with the evening buffet style meals and preferred to go out in the evenings and explore, but this was just personal choice.

There isn't much in the way of entertainment in the hotel, but we managed to make our own entertainment by exploring the various other bars in Ixia.

There weren't many children there in the middle of August, which was good for us as we wanted a quiet adult holiday.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum