Image of Avra Beach Resort Hotel

Avra Beach Resort Hotel

12 of 14 hotels in Ixia

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Ixia 85101, Greece

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John Hardcastle
9 years 3 months ago
This was our third (annual) visit to the Avra Beach Hotel. The first time we visited, we enjoyed it enough to return. It was not A1 wonderful, but for the cost was a good bargain and always clean and tidy with a great location. The second visit saw vast improvement and modernisation, so this made us decide to return for a third time. Alas, this was a disappointment to say the very least. The further 'improvements' we had been told about had not happened, yet the cost had risen considerably.
The rating has gone up to 4 star but don't be decieved, this is NOT a four start hotel. The standard of the food has deteriorated badly and sadly. WHAT HAS HAPPENED.
Breakfast was not worth looking at, let alone bothering with. Only thing worth a mention is a warm cup of coffee. (from machine of course.) Lunch was unappetising and very repetitive. Only thing worth eating was the kebabs. Dinner faired no better either. Also, one visits Greece to be amongst Greeks, who are indeed charming and friendly people, but the owner has 'got rid' of all his Greek staff and instead we have restaurtant staff all Indonesion, bar staff Bulgarian etc. etc. Not that we have anything against these people at all, just that it wasn't "Greece" any more. The entertainment was totally abysmall, as was the daytime animacion team, who tended to try and be very 'pushy' by trying to get us to take part in activities when we just didn't want.
On a positive note (about the only one) the cleanliness could not be faulted.
The rental of the safe was very exccessive, as as the cost of the air-conditioning, especially when we hit a "heatwave" (even for Rhodes). Many people were ill with the heat, yet the owner just refused to make allowances.
All in all, not a very good experience, especially when one of our party 'lost'(inc. his flight tickets) from his luggage whilst it was being kept "safe" in reception after our 12 noon checkout.
We will CERTAINLY never be going back to Avra Beach again (This had been decided long before the loss incidentally. That didn't sway our decisions at all).
Such a shame as the Avra Beach enjoys such a fine location and the gardens are well kept,Pool area is spacious too. It is delightful & peaceful (well, unitl the animcaion team get going with their shouting and very loud music All totally unneccesary). Bye Bye for good Avra Beach. You just lost some good customers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Sally
10 years 11 months ago
The hotel was kept very clean but was very run down, maybe this was because it was due to be closed for the end of the season two weeks after our stay. The food was varied and plentiful. The hotel is at the far end of the hotel run so as such is furthest away from Rhodes town but there is a bus stop right outside so a journey into Rhodes town is quite easy. Being right on the beach is great as most hotels mean that the customer has to cross a very busy road to get to the beach, although calling it Beach is a little misleading as the only bit of beach is about 1 to 2 metres at deep before the sea. Entertainment was not very sparkling but was adequate for the people who did want to participate. We would not choose to visit again but that does not mean we did not enjoy our stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

C Mckenzie
12 years ago
Did not enjoy the food, little selection and never hot. The hotel staff were not very friendly but always polite, it was always kept clean but looked a bit run down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

12 years 2 months ago
Avra Beach Hotel is excellent value for money. Hotel was kept very clean although I was surprised at the amount of 'guests' who didn't bother to put their plastic cups in the many bins dotted around the hotel and was also surprised that glasses were used round the pool for alcoholic drinks.

The food, for an all inclusive, was good quality, plentiful and hot. We did eat out a couple of times locally.

Hotel location is good if you don't mind walking. Turn left out of hotel for a good selection of bars and supermarkets and right, again for bars and a larger a/c supermarket. Keep walking past that for about 10 minutes and you will reach the 'town centre'. Plenty of shops, bars/restaurants to visit. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and happy. You really get the impression that they want you to enjoy yourselves.

Evening entertainment was basic and unless you ate early you couldn't get a table outside where you could see much. Daytime activities were okay, aqua aerobics, volley ball, water polo, darts etc. so plenty to keep you occupied. The beach is a touch disappointing because it is stony, but only for a couple of yards whilst you get into the water when it is all sand. The hotel/local supermarkets sell soft shoes for around 6/7 euros and are well worth it if you like going in the sea (or buy some before you go). Whilst we were there the sea was fairly strong and easily took you along the beach to the left as you are in the water looking at the hotel so it would be a good idea to keep an eye on children, especially if they have lilos etc.

I would definitely visit this hotel again, we had a fabulous time. Rhodes is a must for shopping and eating and if you go during the evening find Rimeos (right spelling!)restaurant where the food is divine. It's a bit off the beaten track in the 'Greek quarter'.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/JMC

Recommended
Doug
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel is in a perfect location, directly on the beach. Just be aware that if you do not get a sunbed in the grounds then you pay E7 on the beach. Although previous reports have claimed that there is a lack of sunbeds, this has obviously now been addressed and there are plenty to go round, but if you want a sea view whilst sunbathing then get down early. You must stay with the beds between 0800 - 0830 since if you don't they will take your towel to the reception.

The cleanliness of the hotel is superb, towels and sheets changed daily and all the drink glasses and cups cleared regularly throughout the day.

The food is excellent with a wide variety of Greek and European food on offer. Just be wary of the restaurant manager, he gets very protective over where you sit and will have no compunction in giving you a serious telling off if you sit without his say-so.. definitely not worthy of a tip at the end of your holiday.

The entertainment is, well to be honest, non existent, occasionally some strange looking dancers and a bit of music, but you're better off going out to the few bars and restaurants nearby the hotel. Be wary of bags / handbags etc. My wife had her beach bag stolen directly opposite the hotel so keep a close eye on your belongings.

This was a fantastic family holiday, apart from the last comment, with good food, plenty of good tasting drinks from all 3 bars, friendly staff and spotless rooms ( all with sea view). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and contrary to previous comments, we found that the Germans were not too much in abundance at all.

If you want to go Jet Skiing, from the pool turn left down the beach for about 20 mins walk, he's a lot cheaper than Ixia beach itself.

Rhodes town at night is an absolute must. E6 by Taxi each way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympus

Recommended
Mike
13 years 4 months ago
Just back from a very enjoyable stay at Avra Beach.
This is an excellent 'value for money' hotel. Do NOT go expecting top of the range luxury. However, you will get a well run, very clean hotel at a great price.

Everywhere was kept clean by an army of cleaners, with our (spacious) bungalow cleaned daily. Staff were very helpful.

Food and Drink were plentiful and very good. Large range of meats, plus salads and pasta. Cocktails were a treat. Reasonable selection of snacks available between meals.

Pool was great for the kids, poolside great for adults to sit and relax. Lovely views from seating area across to Turkey. Pool-side bar very handy.

Entertainment a bit basic, but it was early in the season. Kids disco every night, plus greek dancing, Bingo etc. The animation team work hard providing games for kids and adults.

Some minor downsides.....Think it would get very cramped peak season. Organised trips very expensive...BUT just next door is 'Rhodes Island' shopping centre with a travel agents. go there - it's half the hotel prices.

All in All - 'Did what it said on the tin'. Excellent value for money. Would recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended
Mette Jensen
13 years 11 months ago
We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Avra Beach hotel. Everything was kept very nice and clean.

The food was very, very delicious - lots of Greek specialties, always hot, and beautifully arranged. Also a great variety in the courses: fish, port, lamb, veal, turkey and duck cooked in various ways - loved it all. There was grilled meat every evening and kebab for lunch every day (+ lots of other stuff, of course). The kids loved the free icecream!
The red wine was not very good, though, but it was possible to buy quality wine. I was also told that the coffee was not too good.

Lots of drinks available at the bar; only thing I didn't like was the fact that if you ordered anything non-alcoholic (a mineral water, a Pepsi or an alcohol-free cocktail), you would always get it in a plastic cup. I like my drinks to look inviting, even if do not contain alcohol!

The pool was great, but a bit cold. The sea was warmer, but with too many waves and streams for the kids.

Avra Beach Hotel is situated at a very busy road, but when you're in the hotel garden you don't feel or hear that at all. Many shops and a busstop close by.

We found the hotel staff very friendly, though sometimes the bartenders appeared a bit stressed (which was understandable considering the large number of people coming to get their free drinks!).

Entertaiment - mostly dancers. It was okay, nothing special.

Both the kids and we enjoyed ourselves, and we would certainly visit the place again, if we return to Rhodes.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Dansk Folkeferie

Recommended
Steve Duff
14 years ago
My wife & I vistited The Avra beach for a last minute week in the sun. Please bear in mind that the season was almost at its end, last week of Sept. into August.

The hotel buildings were clean & tidy. The gardens were well kept.
The sunbathing area was an abosolute disgrace. The pebbled area was full of discarded cigarette buts that people had stubbed out. There was no ashtrays for them to use. Smokers might find this acceptable but my wife & I don't smoke & found it abhorent.
Beacause of the large number of ferral cats it was inevitable that cat 'doo doo' would be found in the sunbathing & surronding areas. Not pleasant at anytime & even worse when wearing flip flops.

The hotel food was absolute basic.
Breakfast was so unappetising it was not difficult to skip it. Fried eggs swimming in oil, fried 'what looked like spam', cakes & bread etc.

Lunch & evening meals were a permutation of pork, veal, kebab meat, perch cooked in various sauces & various pasta, & of course chips with everything. You don't need a great imagination to picture the scene. The restaurant was akin to a works canteen & not as clean as some. The tables were packed so closely it was difficult to move about when the restaurant was busy. People were trying to manouvre around others carrying hot soup & food etc. Not the safest thing to do.

The location is very poor, we found it hard to cross the road & we didn't have children or wheelchairs etc. We chose to stay close-ish, to the airport & the noise from planes etc. did not detract from the holiday. It is cheap enough to take a taxi from the airport, cheaper than arranging transfers. It cost us 11 euros each way, just over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Liersure

John
14 years 1 month ago
Here's as full and frank review of the Avra Beach Hotel as I can provide. Hopefully if you are visiting this location sometime in the future it will provide valuable guidance on the venue.

Cleanliness: The rooms were spacious and spotless. The cleaning staff were friendly, helpful and cleaned every day. New towels were provided and the room was always left spotless. We stayed in the 'bungalow' tyoe rooms - beware - there are two types. A 4 bed and a 3 bed. After paying for 2 4 bed bungalows we were very nearly palmed off with one 4 bed and one 3 bed. They would put another bed into the 3 bedded rooms and you would not have been able to swing a cat (of which many, by the way, were there in abundance). After some negotiation with the hotel management we eventually got 2 4 bedded rooms.

Cats: they were everywhere - in the garden areas, by the pool, on the chairs by the pool, we even came back to our room one day to find one under the bed. Fact: they all have huge fleas on them - beurgh. The hotel staff did nothing to move them from anywhere.

Hotel Food: quite honestly this was a disgrace. They do not cater for UK visitors at all. Breakfast was a mixture of often uncooked fried eggs, hard bread (which I suppose after toasting was OK), no bacon - it was fried ham, no sausage, something that looked liked scrambled egg, jam, marmalade, tea, coffee and watered down juice. There were hard boiled eggs that were in two piles - one saying 4 minutes and the other saying 6 minutes - they were both too hard!!! The snack bar - phah... what snack bar??. All that was put there was what was left over from breakfast... dried cake, hard sandwiches, and wafer thin piza. Lunch - again - remnants from breakfast. The fried ham appeared in lasagne, always pork... every day there was pork, boiled pork, roast pork, kebab, baked pork, yuk!! Desert was always either water melon, honeydew melon, a 1" by 1" piece of cake and maybe some grapes. Dinner - same old same as - absolutely no variety at all. Never hot, always the same, boring, greasy, smelly food.

Waiting staff: Men - simply dreadful, quite rude, not friendly. Women - much better. Warning - don't ever sit on a table marked for 8 people if there are only 7 of you in your group.... you will be pounced upon. it's OK to sit 5 on a table for 6 though!!!!!!

Hotel Location: Awful. Nothing around the area at all. The name of the hotel is Avra Beach... well if you like a beach about 10 feet from wall to water and comprising of all pebbles this is your type of beach. Totally devoid of sand and you cannot take your kids there to play at all. The water was always fairly rough and we went in the sea just once in the entire 2 weeks. No chance to do snorkelling as it is always too choppy. Long walks in either direction to get to a range of shops. Taxi to Rhodes town was 6 euros.

Entertainment: errrmmm.... what entertainment...?

Drink: the beer is watered down rubbish. They can't wait to get rid of you from the queue, seeming to throw your drinks at you after putting copious amounts of tap watered ice into the kids lemonade such that there is only about 20% liquid in the plastic cup (saves money you see). Staff very rarely smiled - in fact - this is the only time I have been to Greece out of over a dozen previous visits, when I did not feel welcome at all. I couldn't wait to get away from the resort. After staying all inclusive in Crete during the previous year where even bottled water was included - note - Bottled water is not free in Avra Beach.

Pool: very clean and tidy. Be warned - they have an exceptionally good rule about putting towels onto sunbeds. You have to stay with your towel until 8:00 or they will be removed by the dreaded Garden Man!! I was up around 6:30 to get prime spot in order to keep an eye on the kids when they were in the pool. Another point - for a location that was very hot indeed, the pool was strangely... very cold!!!

Sumamry: Definately would not go back there again. Period. An awful place. Nothing for the kids to do, no poolside entertainment, no kids club, evening entertainment dire, food dreadful (I mean really, really dreadful), location awful, rooms excellent, cleaning staff excellent, waiting staff dreadful ( again, I mean really dreadful), cats everywhere, very few brits (I'd say only about 5% of guests).

So... you go there... you have been warned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Now

Mark
14 years 2 months ago
The Hotel complex is great and cleaned non stop day and night, the pool is very adequate.
The food is basic and seldom changes in variety.
There is a total lack of entertainment and nothing for the kids to do.
Beware when leaving the hotel the main road outside gets very busy.
Cats are also allowed to roam free around the complex.
Some of the staff would benefit from a customer relations course.
Be up early if you want a sunbed and you must stay with it until 8 am or your towel will be removed by the staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum