Image of Ixian Grand Hotel

Ixian Grand Hotel

6 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
Ixia Beach, Rhodes 85101, Greece

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel itself is right on the beach, at the end of a short lane, yet it is only a 5-10 minute stroll to Ixia or Trianda, and a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
Not a lot to say other than the Ixian Grand Hotel in Ixia exceeded all my expections. It was a cracking holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
I started this forum in jan 06 to see if i could find anything about the ixian grand hotel!! if you have been follwing the forums you will know i have been and here is my opinion!!!!!

wait for it!!!


Hi all
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Mike
11 years 8 months ago
Before travelling we checked out the hotel website and we were very impressed if not unsure as to whether it would live up to our expectations. I am pleased to say that it did although, we seemed to be the only people arriving who were not offered a check in drink.

At the time we did not miss it though, as we were taken aback with the fact that it looked exactly as it did on the website and the views from the lobby, across the main pool and across the Ageaen sea are fantastic. If you would like to get a good idea as to what it looks like you must check out its website.

This is the first time that i have been to an all inclusive hotel and i have to say it was a good introduction. My usual excuse was that it would be untidy and unkept due to holidaymakers drinking and eating all day however, i am pleased to say that the hotel staff were excellent and kept on top of the overendulging holidaymakers and all the public areas were tidy at all times of the day and night.

The breakfasts were not particulary exciting with the usual buffet style rubber eggs etc however, a member of staff made fresh waffles or pancakes on alternate days, there was also a good choice of fresh bread and various meats and cheeses for fillings. The food provided at lunch were either at the ethnic resturant which provides a different cusine from different continents each day, although the main restaurant provided good standard of food we did find you got similiar dishes, one day pork in gravy the next day chicken in gravy. Again this was the same for the evening menu and we chose to break it up with nights out to the local resturants which provided a good choice and very reasonable prices.

Dont let this put you off though as the food in the hotel was of a good standard but we prefared to go out and have some traditianally cooked meals as apposed to the mass produced meals in the hotel.

Our advice would be if you do stay for 2 weeks make sure you take a visit down to Trinada where we found streets bustling with holidaymakers and locals which we fully enjoyed and had a few good for value meals and in gorgeous scenery.

Pool area was very clean with loads of sunbeds and parasols, although i will advise you to remember your alarm clock as to get yourself a good bed you have to be up early to get a nice space.

There are many different nationalities at the hotel, and what we found was if you join in the animation team games you get to mix with everyone and i have to say everyone was really friendly that we met.
The animation team were really friendly whom we enjoyed having a good time with and were not too pushy to get you involved.

We had a great time and would consider going back there in the future. We are jealous of anybody that is going there in the future.




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lewis
11 years 9 months ago
Beautiful hotel, very clean, the maids were excellent, staff always smiling and helpful. Food suited adults not really childrens ideal choice. Located right on the sea and a short walk to restaurants and bars and a few shops to buy presents. The Animation Team were lovely and not too pushy but the evening entertainment was a bit of a let down.

Would visit hotel again for a lovely relaxing holiday but wouldnt take my children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
Hi, I have never wrote a message on this before but we have just come back from the Ixian Grand yesterday and after reading mixed reviews I thought I would write something!

To start, I thought the location was great! It is right on the beach and many other hotels in Ixia are on a very busy road - we heard no traffic noise at all.

When we arrived (at 7am after a late flight and no sleep) the receptionist noticed on our slip from the travel agents we had requested a sea view, she said the room we had had a 'side sea view' and if we wanted to change we could. The room was good but the view was poor, 5 hours later we were in a new room with a great view. We were told our new room would be an 'older' one, but apart from some dodgy flowery curtains and a smaller bathroom they were much the same and of a very good standard and clean.

We asked our rep about the refurbished room situation - he said all the rooms were being refurbished one at a time (althought there was NO building work going on!) so I think it is pot luck if you get one or not!

The food was OK - what I expected really for a buffet style. We were a bit dissapointed with the A La Carte but it was free!

The staff were nice, one bloke on reception was a but usless but I think his English was not great. Most of the vistors were German or Dutch.

We loved sitting outside after dinner on the big white sofa's that were about 30 foot from the sea with lots of free wine and beer just playing cards and talking. It was quite romantic with the soft background music, candles and the sun setting over Turkey!

Overall, I agree with other people that it is not quite 5 star and could do with a lick of paint in some places. It is a great hotel for relaxing but would not go there with children.
I am very surprised at the bad reviews on the site, everyone we met at the hotel said they liked it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
We got back from the Ixian Grand last week. We did stay in one of their suites but we were part of a wedding group who all stayed in the standard rooms. I have been to greece about 10 times and I would say that the standard rooms where between average/above. They are very clean.

The food was fine - Breakfasts were complained about by some but to be honest they are catering for a lot of nationalities so you can't please everyone. The only thing I would say is they don't really cater for children. There is always chips and potatoes and a different meat, fish and pasta everyday.

There is only one bar man alot of the time and there can be quite a queue for drinks - This was at the main bar in the reception area - the pool bar was always quite good for service.

The only problem we encountered was that the suite we booked was supposed to have its own pool but we got there to find them being built. They were due to be finished by the end of this week though and the building noise only affects those in the suites. We spoke to the manager, who was a lovely man and they have arranged suitable compensation for this so I can't complain too much. We are going back in October due to an arrangment with the manager so it isn't that bad AND WE ARE REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING BACK.

Just remember, people are more likely to post comments when they have had a bad experience (and some people are never happy!!)

All I would say is don't worry about the bad comments posted - I am sure that you will have a lovely holiday.

Oh yes - A word of warning, the head waiter in the main resteraunt is lovely but DON'T TOUCH HIS TOASTER MACHINE!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct with hotel

Recommended
Boyds
12 years 4 months ago
There is no childrens menu.

The food is aimed at the Germans our children ate soup or chips for the fortnight.

The snacks are cheese and gammon sandwiches.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Fergeson
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel is very nice .

Day staff excellent, very helpful. Shame the evening staff not got same manners.

The annimation team all excellent! Food not nice. Not even a childrens menu. Snacks cheese n ham sanwiches which got boring after 2 weeks on the whole great holiday.

Only food let it down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

David Froggatt
12 years 8 months ago
From arriving at the hotel the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was exceptional, with a good choice of food, we never got bored with the choice of dishes which were on offer and beleive me it's very hard to believe because I'm a picky eater.

The entertainment staff were great and wasn't to pushy when you didn't feel like joining in. there was plenty of bars for you to get a drink from serving branded beers all spirits are local brands, around the pool during the day you just when upto the refreshment pumps and help yourself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympia

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum