Image of Sunland Hotel

Sunland Hotel

13 of 14 hotels in Ixia

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
Ialyssos Beach, Ixiá 85101, Greece
Set in a quiet rural area between the resorts of Kremasti and Trianda are the Sunland Apartments. The atmosphere is relaxed the beachfront is close by.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sandra O'Neill
7 years 11 months ago
The food was quite nice and the dining room was clean and staff very friendly. The rooms were cleaned every day but sunday but fresh towels could be got on Sunday from reception, if required.The location was quite near the beach which was quite stony, beach shoes were needed if you wished to wade out and swim - the water was lovely then. Entertainment was at the Blue Bay Hotel - opposite - and passed the night. Staff at Sunland were very good and any requirements were fulfilled ie More pillows, towels, wake-up calls. Children were welcomed at Sunland. The only thing to remember is Sunland is only 10 minutes from airport so expect overhead planes landing quite regularly. Overall a really nice hotel and remember you can use the Blue Bay for all entertainment and food. Their snacks at night are located in their dining room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years ago
Was booked into the Blue Bay Deluxe Hotel which is 5* rated.
Was told it was full and marched over to the sunland. Wasn't impressed but agreed to take the room for the rest of the night (arrived 2am) but would have to be moved to the main hotel the next day.
On reaching the room and looking around there was no way we would stay there. Filthy doesn't even begin to describe it. I know Greek accommodation is basic, I've stayed in a lot but this was just disgusting. The sunbeds were rusting and falling to bits, there was a power cable hanging a couple of feet above the pool and the place just looked like no-one bothered.
There were things living in the bed (maybe hiding from the cockroaches on the so called balcony), stains and hair on the sheets, the pillows must have been 20 years old and were minging.
We went back to reception, handed back the key and demanded our voucher and passports back. Spent the night in the reception of the hotel we had booked and after much arguing were eventually moved to another resort. I feel sorry for the desk staff as this stunt is pulled regularly.
Most of the staff at the Blue Bay were rude and told us it happened all the time to youtravel customers. Manager and the youtravel rep were useless and not once did we get an apology.
We ended up at the sunshine club which was in a better location and I feel we had a lucky escape from the shambolic Blue Bay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: youtravel

8 years 9 months ago
Well after reading previous reports we were dreading this holiday but to be honest I think they've been on a different planet!!!

The hotel was pretty basic but everywhere was kept clean, bed linen and towels were changed every day (apart from Sunday) and floors swept and mopped.

The staff were all friendly....big up to George who was very helpful and made us laugh!! There were a lot of English there while we were there, also Dutch and German and we saw no favouritism at all. Misha in the international/pay bar was great too....his philosophy is "if you're nice to me then I'll be nice to you.

There is no entertainment as such at Sunland but Blue Bay is only 2 minutes walk away and there was always something going on there. The food wasn't spectacular but it was edible (slightly on the cool side...but a microwave was provided if you wanted it hotter) and there was a good choice of meals...always at least 2 meat and 1 fish dish every dinner and tea time...and plenty of salads to choose from.

The hotel does sit outside of the resort so it's grat if you're looking for somewhere quite but it's only 20 mins into Trianda and 10 mins the other way to Kremasti if you want bars and restaurants...there are a couple around the hotel but not loads. Rhodes is 20 mins on bus (beware, these are like cattle trucks lol) but at only 2 euros each it's worth it for a day out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunset/Thomas Cook

Recommended
Bain
9 years 10 months ago
we arrived at sunland at 3.30am, myself and 2 boys age 16 & 13. we had a nice relaxing few days until the late noise of some other quest which wasnt nice as we always made sure we respected other people that was asleep, rooms were cleaned daily had few ants crawling around. go over to the blue bay for entertainment was very good lots going on throughout the day which made days go in quicker. weather was very hot bit cold on a night time so make sure you have a cardigan with you with the sea breeze on a night time,food was ok just some days it was pasta alot but my kids enjoyed it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomascook

9 years 10 months ago
Food was substandard and mainly cold. The rooms were relatively clean but the beds smelled of stale urine we were in one of the basement dungeon rooms and were bitten all over by big red ants.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere there is nothing to do unless you like wind surfers or kite surfers.

The water park next to the hotel is 10 euros for adults and 5 euros for kids a day. The staff are not very nice at all they seem to pamper the Germans and the Dutch guests and ignore any British.

Bar staff are very slow, entertainment was terrible.

I will on no account visit this hotel ever again even if it were free the hotel is not 3 star its more like minus 3 stars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

9 years 11 months ago
After reading detrimental reports from some visits, we can assure you that they must of been staying else where or fast asleep.
The rooms were more than adiquatly furnished and presented and kept spotless by the competent staff.
The food we found excellent with a wide daily variety of international cuisine.
Aircraft noise was expected but did not prove a problem.
All the facilities were well cared for and staffed.
We would rather have presentable plastic glass than slithers of glass under foot!
The staff were in generally multi lingual and exceptionally helpful.
We would like to thank all the staff for our wonderful treatment we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

WE HAD A BALL! we hope to be back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Christopher
10 years 8 months ago
When we were taken to our hotel i was worried at it was basicly in the middle of no where,,it was surrounded by scruffy land,,with rubbish everywhere! our hotel was basic for a 3* but was nice n quiet. The staff were very ignorent!if you asked a question to them they would make you feel stupid and not helpfull at all. The food was basic,not alot of choice, and was cold alot of the time.my children lived on salad because the food was so poor. The snaks were a discrace. the restraunt was full of germans,, we were the only english in the room!!! was horrible. i would never go to greece again as the people arnt nice at all. The sunland and blue bay hotel was lovely but it was the staff that were not nice. George,,i heard was a nice man,,, he was the same as all the rest of the staff!! the staff would argue with eachother all the time,,verry scarey for my children. i will be making a complaint!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Andrea
11 years ago
We have just come home from a holiday at the Blue Bay Resort.

When we arrived at the Blue Bay hotel we were told they were fully booked so we were taken to the Sunland apartments!!! They were not very clean, towels were old and hard, the bathrooms were tiny,old and we only had a trickle of water through the taps. We did have aircon.

We went with our children and as they were too old to have a family room we asked if we could have two rooms together, but.... they were not.

Food was ok, lots of pasta,fish,chicken and salad which we enjoyed. It was a little bit the same everyday and I would think two weeks of it might be a bit much!!!

We had a very quiet stay as we were the only English there!!!! I would say it is 3* [just] and we did have a nice quiet holiday.

The water park is great fun for the kids, ours loved it[12 and 15 year old boys]overal the Blue Bay hotel 4* as that is nicer,but on the same token its much busier.

Dont get excited about the entertainment its very bad!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: you travel

11 years 11 months ago
What can I say about the food don't eat there. Ants in the cereals, lunch repeats of last nights meal, dinner get there quick if not eat at the Blue Bay it soon runs out. Food transported on the sooty pick-up that takes away all the laundry and the waste from the side of your toilets.

Maids were good, not excellent they are all top show. Under our bed we found things with May dates on them. The fridges were turned off so they stunk when opened then and took ages to chill down.

Location was not too bad if you want peace and quiet no one speaks to you if your English all dutch and German.
200 yards to the road to flag passing taxis down to town centre 6 euros.

Staff were totally ignorant apart from George on the afternoon session what a star. When complained about rooms that we had requested 4 in a row or on the same floor we were told we request was too late in coming we only booked it 11 months earlier so if you want adjacent rooms book now for the year 2010 you might get them.

Toilets were leaking and it got so bad that I turned the water off and it took them 3 days to fix it. When they did fix it it was running all the time so you heard the water going all the time another 3 days to fix

The entertainment was poor if your English everything was toward the Dutch. Night club on a all inclusive was poor Amstel beer 4 euros Smirnoff the same and the place had no air con

Would I visit it again Rhodes Yes, Trianda Yes, Sunland only when hell freezes over and Butlins shut down
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

S And N
12 years ago
Just got back from hols last week, really enjoyed our stay.
hotel is good, rooms are of a very good standard for a 3 star hotel, and the hotel is very clean.

The food was much better than we expected, we all really enjoyed it, i was concerned before we went because i'm a veggie but there was plenty for me to have.

Only issues were the all-inclusive lager is not good, other drinks are fine though, and the entertainment at blue bay is for children.

Nearest good place for entertainment is at ideal kareoke bar about 5-10 mins walk
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum