Image of Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Gillieru Harbour Hotel

1 of 10 hotels in St Pauls Bay

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
Church Square, Qawra SPB 3256, Malta
As the gently lapping waves lull you to sleep each night, the twinkle of the harbour lights dancing with the fishing boats, you'll be glad you chose the Hotel Gillieru in old St. Paul's Bay. Enjoying an idyllic location right at the water\'s edge.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
TB
11 years 2 months ago
The only word I can find to describe this place is BAD.

Wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. Cockroaches abound, Chefs feed feral cats by hand rooms dirty, staff either very thick or not properly trained. There are lots of nice places to stay in Malta, choose one of them. Not this place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Manos

Sandralivingstone
12 years 1 month ago
going back to gillieru for new year food very good to my taste cleanliness top class location out of this world staff brill reception resturant bar chefs maids everyone makes you feel so welcome that is why we return twice per year no entertainment no worrys about that plenty outwith hotel i will be back 26th dec hope to be back summer 2010 but sadly no flights from scotland with air malta so we have to travel to england 3 hour journey same in winter
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: malta direct

Recommended
Sandra
13 years 2 months ago
gillieru harbour st pauls bay have used this hotel twice per year for last ten years going back for christmas i like size of hotel not to big location perfect meals very good nice bar although no entertainment does not bother us all staff very friendly hotel and rooms very clean in ten years have seen changes maybe needs updated a bit which they are doing bit by bit in my opinion its nothing major cannot wait till 23 dec when we go for 7 days
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: husband

Recommended
Dave
13 years 11 months ago
I agree with the other comments regarding the cleanlines of the hotel, the breakfast was a bit basic and definitely the aircon and fridge needs updating as soon as possible.
The only bad part was when it became checkout time, as with many package holidays the flights can be late at night and ours was midnight so we were collected at 9.00 pm and had to check out the room at 12 noon. We were told the hotel was fully booked and although we offered to pay extra to keep our room we were told it was not possible. After arguing we were told a room would be made available for 30 minutes so we could shower and change prior to departure. This room was not a room at all it was a shower room and toilet and not big enough to swing a cat. Apart from that the hotel was fine and in a lovely position in St. Pauls Bay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson Holidays

Recommended
14 years 2 months ago
We went back again to this hotel and once again had a great time. The air con could do with updating and again the fridge was pumping out hot air but the view is so fantastic it's hard to complain. The sheets are old but always clean as are the towels. But you do get what you pay for!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: choiceholidays

Recommended
Tracie
14 years 3 months ago
Just got back from fabulous week at this hotel. Maybe I am a little biased about Malta itself as I use to live there from the age of 2-6 and am now 41. It was my first trip back since then so quite emotional and although I was young I remembered a lot. I revisted my old home in Tigne, Sliema and actually met the new occupant which was a real honour.

I really couldn't stay whether this hotel deserves it's 4 star rating as I am sure the ratings in our country differ to theirs. What I will say though is the staff here make up for any small shortcomings the establishment itself may have. Rose Marie during the day on reception and Adrian at night, the waiting staff in the restaurant and the general manager all went above and beyond the call of duty on many occasions. Some reviews have mentioned the bedding, towels and breakfast not being up to scratch. I personally loved the breakfast; 3 choices of cereal, white and brown bread rolls and sliced bread that could be toasted, marmalade, butter, jam, coffee, tea and cheese, salami etc. Yes the juice provided is cordial not fresh fruit juice but that is such a little thing. You can opt to pay a little more for scrambled egg etc. No there are no huge fluffy white towels and scorched/bleached bed linen however both were very clean and changed daily. One of the things I could not have tolerated would have been a dirty room.

The pool area is lovely on the roof looking over the harbour and immaculate. There is a little bar that serves drinks and midday snacks as well as showers. I didn't try the fish restaurant after reading the reviews here but I must recommend the bar opposite (Capriccio) which we visted every evening for a nightcap. Get a bus map from the tourist information centre in Valetta as well as a free guide to Malta. Buses are usually about 50cents a trip and Valetta is about 35 mins away. You will learn to love the rickety old orange buses beleive me!

If the fridge in your room doesn't seem cold like ours just call reception and they will get someone to come and have a look at it straight away. We bought a large bottle of water every day and just decanted it into smaller bottles so they would fit and therefore had cold water whenever we set out for the day. There is a mini bar but we didn't use it and there is a bar inside the hotel but we prefered to sit with the locals over the road. We had 2 cockroaches on our first 2 nights but I have to say this is nothing to do with the hotel being dirty. Cockroaches come out in extreme heat in Malta and they were having August tempretures in June! The first night I called reception and the manager came immediately and killed it as it was a little too fast for me but the second night I surprised myself with my speed! My personal feeling is that they were testing the newcomers and as soon as we had defeated two they put the word out in the cockroach community saying 'we better not go into that room anymore, some of our community are not coming back!'

The hotel is about a 10-15 min walk from Bugibba which I don't recommend unless you are a teenager or someone who likes loud music, loads of people getting drunk, partying and tacky souveniers. But back at the hotel seemed like a million miles away from that - peaceful, pretty and handy for bus stop, little supermarket, newsagent etc. Go to Sliema if you like trendy shops like Diesel, Monsoon, Next etc and some lovely restaurants by the sea. Valetta is full of museums - art, archeology etc and the cathedral with the wonderful Caravaggio painting of the beheading of John the Baptist. The Blue Grotto is a must as is a trip to the little fishing village of Marsaxlokk on a Sunday as they have a market. Do visit Rabat and Medina - beautiful old cities and San Anton Gardens (where I use to visit as a child) if you love nature as is full of lovely flowers, trees, terrapins, dragon flies, ducks and of course plenty of Maltese cats. The Ta Qali Craft Centre is a good trip too if you wish to buy a quality souvenir as several businesses have clubbed together here selling the famous silver filagree jewellery, pottery, art works, leather goods and glass. The prices are better here too but take your calculator! The exchange rate was about 1.68 maltese lira to our british pound, they don't go over to the Euro until 2008.

If you have children there is plenty to do in Bugibba - fun fares, bouncy beds etc and of course there are lovely beaches in Mellieha and Golden Bay. So all in all I think there is something for everyone and you can go as slow or as fast as you like pace wise so ENJOY!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: BookMalta.com

Recommended
Karen And Tim
15 years 3 months ago
This was an internet bargain through an excellent company Choiceholidaysdirect,so we were nervous as we did not know what to expect for the unknown deal, but we should not have worried as it was a wonderful experience with no problems.

Arriving in the middle of the night we were well received and placed in a room over the main road, so were disappointed in the morning not to have a seaview.

However on request we moved room the next morning and the room was clean,more spacious and view superb, so ask for a seaview, it is worth it.

The linen and towels were clean and comfortable,room serviced daily and any requests for extra items dealt with quickly.

The breakfast room was bright with a seaview and staff pleased to help.The continental breakfast included was a little repetetive,although fresh and well presented. Alternative cooked breakfast available at extra cost was freshly prepared and enjoyable. Seafood restaurant excellent.

If you enjoy the sea,seafood, good service and relaxed location at a very reasonable price, book this hotel with Choiceholidaysdirect.

Entertainment not an issue for us as we like to plan our own.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Choiceholidaysdirect

Recommended
Evans
15 years 3 months ago
Breakfast was very basic and after 7 days couldnt face it! Dinner choice was excellent. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels. The fridge was warmer than the weather, this made the room even hotter! The air conditioning needs a complete revamp this would indeed then make it a 4*.

Most of the staff were ok but the bar staff definintely favoured maltese customers. If the bar prices weren't double everywhere else I'm sure the bar would do better. no entertainment but we didn't need it as the view was brilliant and a short walk from Buggiba. We would go again but would hope that the fridge and air con were. updated!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: choice holidays

Recommended
15 years 10 months ago
It was our first trip to Malta and after reading some reviews of hotels etc., like some, were not sure what to expect, but we needn't have worried.

We stayed at the Gillieru Harbour Hotel, St Pauls Bay. We had a seaview room overlooking St Pauls Island and the harbour.

The room and ensuite were kept very clean and tidy on a daily basis and the room was also very nice and airy. The hotel itself was clean and welcoming and all the reception staff and other members of the hotel were very polite and helpful.

We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was a case of helping yourself unless you wanted a cooked breakfast (you need to pay for this at the end of your stay) - I had an omelette on a couple of occasions and there was no problem with requesting this.

The breakfast was good. We did, but only on one occasion, have dinner in the evening a the hotel which again was good. We ate out all the other times(hence B&B) and found that the quality was exceptional. The Gillieru Fish Restaurant, Mick at Harleys, Angeloes, Da Rosita, the Family Restaurant up the top (I'm hopeless) before you turn right and left to walk up to the bus station, do a lovely full english when you get up too late! some others - all exceptional - hence my size 12 is not a size 12 anymore!! Dolcino Rose - WOW!!!!! Hic Hic.

The location of the Hotel was great. Easy to get around the island by bus. Very peaceful.

As to entertainment at the hotel - we weren't particularly bothered about this as there is much to see and do on the island. Malta is a lovely place.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

Recommended
Jane
15 years 10 months ago
Location excellent, however seaview rooms receive NO sunshine in the winter, and in December the heating was not switched on we were uncomfortably cold. Towels are a disgrace unless you are lucky and bribe to get white ones rather than the thin greyish white ones. Bed linen see through as the sheets are so old, NO mattress covers and this 4 star!!! no way.So you have a microscopically old sheet between you and the previous guests UGGGH

Food poor quality and little choice, choice of ONE hot vegetable and ONE type of potato(often Croquettes! 4 * ! NO)Heated in trays not on a proper bay-marie, so therefore only warm.

Swimming pool area---- sunbeds are filthy shoud be blue but are black-there are numerous broken tiles.Swarms of flies even in December they probably like the grime.

Staff are pleasant although they are fobbing you off.

LIFTS-- continully breaking down, often with people in them.
This hotel could be 5 star if managed in a postive way and given some TLC. Would not advise anyone to go there, unless you like 2nd 3rd or 4th best! We should have stayed longer but could tolerate no more and transferred to another hotel which was lovely
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Chevron

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.