Image of San Pawl Hotel

San Pawl Hotel

3 of 10 hotels in St Pauls Bay

3 out of 5 from 32 reviews
3 stars
Blacktail Street, Sliema SPB 03, Malta
The Hotel San Pawl is set in an ideal location on a side road, only 100m from the shops, bars and restaurants on the main St. Paul's Bay road.

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jaycee
Hotel was quite good
10 years 10 months ago
Hotel in side street. Fair distance from main part of St.Pauls. No good for any who has disabilities. Pavements very narrow and poorly lit at night. Some parts have very steep hills to get to St.Pauls main section.

Hotel was quite good. Staff mostly pleasant as were most Maltese residents. Dining room staff very efficient in clearing empty plates from tables.

Food for 3 star quite good. You get what you pay for with no frills. Desserts leave a lot to the imagination; usually choice of up to three items mainly gateaux.

Rooms were always kept clean with clean towels and beds made on a daily basis.

Better than some 4 star hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Fisky
13 years ago
we booked this hotel because we had seen it so many times on our visits to Malta and it looked fantastic.it had an indoor pool and a gym.don't make me laugh.the gym was a rusting load of metal with mould on the walls,when it was last used or maintained is anyone's guess.the music at night is so loud you cant sleep,although we were told it finishes at 11 pm.not on your Nelly .we had chronic food poisoning due to breakfasts being cooked and left ,uncovered, underneath the hot food area.both myself and my husband were under medical supervision for over 5 days due to vomiting and diarrhea,and we where attending our nieces wedding,which was spoiled because of this.the first room they gave us was so small ,and we had booked a full 12 months before, people on last minute bookings were getting bigger rooms.the corridor was carpeted and stank of sick and sour milk,which in the high temperature was overpowering to say the least.we initially booked this hotel for the gym and its proximity to all other hotels where guests for the wedding where staying.all the hotels were better than this and also not as expensive.it has totally put me off visiting Malta,which is a shame,because its a wonderful place with great a history and very welcoming people.don't book for this hotel,choose anywhere but here,believe me.if they have not refurbished or demolished shame on the tour operators for advertising it.i informed my local travel agent,with whom i booked,and they weren't interested,told me to contact head office and send the photos i had taken of the gym,but they just fobbed me off.never again.one wasted holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

David Broom
14 years ago
First of Our Three Visits here between this holiday and October 2008 (for our honeymoon) and i will be honest and say at first we hated the place but that may of been due to the room we had which wasn't the best, but to be fair was cleaned well every day all the staff are fantastic including sandra on reception who some on here refer to as a bit of a dragon she isn't at all once you get to know her, and as for raymond the head waiter well hes just totally mad ,our favourite member of staff tho is monica the reservations manager (another member of staff who looks a bit sturn untill you get to know her) who is fantastic and always helps especailly if you email her (as a return guest) she will sort almost any request you have, also the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment (badly needed in parts of the hotel i admit) so next summer it should be even better. the food can be a bit same ish but always well cooked, the entertainment i agree with nearly everyone else needs a big review (something i have suggested to monica myself) and be warned at weekends you won't get a seat for maltese vistors and boy do the maltese know how the enjoy themselves .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Payne
15 years 4 months ago
Booked in as disabled told they were disabled friendly. The ramp to go in is 1in4 not friendly! The first room did not allow my wheelchair in the bathroom so had to pay 31 lire for better room.

Lifts broke down continuously.

Food was passable in the mornings but evening meals were not good for me.

This hotel needs a refurb. Staff worked as a team and were helpful.

Evening music was okay if you were a seventies person and loved repetitive songs. Lots of older people used the hotel and seemed happy. The curbs around were high with rarely a ramp.

The pool out side was very deep and not suitable for children. I would go back if changes were made but all in all Malta is not for me very distressing for disabled people. Would like to thank all staff for the help they gave.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Apollo

Val
15 years 4 months ago
Hotel has had a refurbishment in the past couple of years, It is clean and well kept comfortable roomy but a bit basic. Staff friendly and helpful.

Was worried about the reviews on here but tried it for a week two years ago and was pleasantly surprised. Would recommend you try it may not suit all people but we liked it we are an average family with teenagers who didnt complain.

Have a very fussy eater but she managed to eat well for the fortnight.

Had a few ants but the staff were very quick to act and had no further problems.

Entertainment a bit much the same but hey your on holiday dont we all sing along to Amarillo.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: chevron

Recommended
Gordon Tulloch
15 years 9 months ago
The hotel is hidden on a side street and hard to find,the breakfasts are ok but the dinner was always bland and tastless.The rooms however were clean and spacious,with maid service every day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
DAVID STOCKTON
15 years 10 months ago
Like many others before me who read these reviews I was filled with trepidation. However most claims were slightly exaggerated and I believe I got what I paid for. Yes the rooms were stoically basic and the food average. But..there always has to be a but!

The noise was intrusive. TV/Radio on together in reception for starters. The worst however can only be described as aural pollution. The
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Unknown
16 years ago
Stayed for two weeks as a party of 22 for a wedding within the hotel. Several mix-ups with the rooms including the bride & groom being put in single beds.

Even though had already paid for meals, the majority of the time we ate out as the food was so unappealing. The breakfast turns stomachs just thinking about it.

Hotel itself seems split into two sections - basic & superior, it all seems very run-down, tape holding the carpets together & lots of damp & mould in the rooms. Desperate need of some money spent on it. Would highly recommend upgrading to a superior room.

Staff mostly friendly, ramond is a true star but older lady on reception is a horror.

Considering the hotel is supposed to specialise in weddings they clearly had no idea what they were doing. Bride & Groom were still clueless about certain details on the actual day. Ceremony was delayed by 30mins as the waiting staff had not set up the tables (even though the room had been empty all day). Ceremony was rushed and champagne toast never arrived.

The food was not what we had pre-ordered & waiting staff were useless.

All in all a disappointing experience. Would not return to this hotel & would not recommend staying any longer than a week or having your wedding here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Denise
16 years 1 month ago
After reading some of the reports before we went I was dreading going, but actually it wasnt as bad.

It is a three star hotel after all. The meals were not too bad not much chose but most nights it was more than edible!

Raymond the head waiter was lovely as were cezaer and renato at the pool bar. the rooms were cleaned very well every day and we had clean towels every day.

The pool was too deep for me to go in as Im not a strong swimmer.But on the whole we had a good holiday, basically you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

H Simpson
16 years 2 months ago
Very basic.

Corridor carpet needs renewing. Food average, plates lifted before meal finished. Not a great selection.

Rooms not very clean. Staff ok, entertainment average.

Good location but would not go back to this hotel as it is in decline.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.