Image of Dorirose Apartments

Dorirose Apartments

2 of 10 hotels in St Pauls Bay

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Tourists Road (former Dorirose Aparthotel) SPB 05, St Pauls Bay, Malta
Well positioned apartments looking over the mediterranean sea. Entertenmant 3 times a week at the connecting 4* Canifor hotel.There is no air-conditioning.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
14 years 9 months ago
Great holiday just over
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Jean
14 years 9 months ago
We were self catering which suits my family so we didn't really eat in the hotel execpt snacks by the pool.

The staff were really helpful and they cleaned your room every day and changed the sheets and towels.

If you are looking for a cheap holiday and not fussy this is the ideal apartments for families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hoildayandflightcentre

Recommended
Unknown
14 years 9 months ago
I was very worried before I went on holiday to Malta because I had read the other comments made about it. However I still went and it was BRILLIANT!!!!

All the staff were lovely.

The pool sides were clean and nice, and the rooms were cleaned everyday. If you even slept in, the cleaner came back later! That something you don't always see. At night you just came in via the Hotel Canifor's entrance because our's was locked. It wasn't a big deal.

This accomodation was very good and I ask you not to be discouraged by some of the earlier reports. It was GREAT!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday and flight centre

Recommended
Sue Wright
14 years 10 months ago
Post removed.

We do not accept posts from resort. Please submit your post on return, if you are on holiday.

Admin
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Last minute.com

Sue Wright
14 years 10 months ago
Refurbished last year?. I don't think so.

Our room overlooked the ventilation shaft, the balcony was a death trap due to loose brick work and plaster hanging off everywhere. Inside was worse. Sockets hung off the wall, the boiler did not work, the door lock did not exist, the shower curtain looked like it had been mauled by a dog, the bathrooms was also missing lumps of plaster and the mould growing around the bath was a health hazard.

However the sister hotel next door were just great and moved us into one of their spare rooms saving us a holiday from hell. I have photos to back up my claims.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lastminute

Lee Doye
14 years 10 months ago
I feel that strongly about this Holiday complex that I wanted to tell everyone what it was like.

I strongly recommend that you do not stay at this hotel, read all the reviews thoroughly before you book.

The pictures look average, and true, my girlfriend and I did not pay that much for our 2 weeks, but we do expect at least a clean and secure establishment for what we did pay.

Mould in the bathroom, towels smelt mouldy, vents held on with sellotape, cockroaches, a red ants nest, plaster coming off the balcony, wall and front door frame did not meet, and the latch of the front door held on with a lump of wood screwed to the wall.

We stayed in room 411, awful hotel, miserable staff, a youth hostel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lastminute.com

S Hutchinson
14 years 11 months ago
We didn't know what to expect as we paid only
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lastminute.com

Recommended
Colin Budd
15 years 7 months ago
I have just come back from a great holiday in Malta.

I stayed at the Dorirose holiday complex appartments, and have no complaints about this accomodation, rooms cleaned, beds made and towels replaced every day, there is no air conditioning, but I did have use of a desk fan in the room.

The front doors were locked at 5.30pm but it was no problem as you could use the entrance of the Canifor hotel next door, two of the three pools are not very big, the area around the pools were clean and tidy.

Hotel location great for buses, taxis, car hire, shops, shoreline and nightlife.

Hotel staff were pleasent, and did their job.

Entertainment was in the Canifor hotel and was good.

O.K its not the Ritz, but did me fine and I would use this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspen Travel, Airtours

Recommended
15 years 10 months ago
Travel Date: 31/05/2005 - 07/06/2005

Booked accommodation with holidayhotels.co.uk

I stayed in the Dorirose Aparthotel with my 6 year old daughter. The Dorirose is located beind the Canifor hotel. The Dorirose apartments are a small apartment block within the Canifor complex.

There are 2 outdoor pools with kids pools, and one indoor heated pool. The main outdoor pools are corner shaped and are not good if you want to do lengths; also they slope down deep so are not suitable for small children under 8. The kids pools are very small, only really big enough for a toddler to splash around. There are not enough loungers to go around and people are up from as early as 8am to get their sunbed.

I stayed in apartment 502 on the top floor on a half board basis. The apartment had separate living area with dining table, sofa, small TV with a few satellite channels, kitchenette, fully stocked with cutlery, plates, glasses, pans, sink, mini oven with electric rings, fridge and cupboards.

The bedroom had a wardrobe, dresser and 2 single beds. The bedroom also led out to the balcony area which had a seating area and a clothes line. The balcony area could have done with a lick of paint.

The bathroom was clean had bath, shower attachment (very good powerful shower), toilet and sink. The bathroom was very clean.

The apartment was cleaned and fresh towels were given daily. The maid arrives between the hours of 09:00 - 09:30 and unless you leave the "Do not disturn" sign outside your door, the maid will enter with their own keys to clean the room. I found no creepy crawlies of any kind.

The sofa was a PVC sofa, which when you got up from it made funny noises, the wardrobe had to be opened for a day to get the musky smell out, although it was ok after 24 hours airing. The apartment didn't get enough daylight unless you opened the bedroom to allow light from the terrace area and the curtain in the living area, although if you open the living area curtain, I found my neighbours could see me. So if you want privacy you have to keep the light on and the living area curtain closed.

Dining times are strictly adhered to and the food was bland at times but really satisfied my appetite after a long day of travelling. There was no traditional maltese cuisine, but there is something for everyone and a kids menu with the usual junk food and chips. My 6 year old daughter only ate from the kids menu twice and used the main buffet most evenings.

There was entertainment a few evenings, but it sounded like karaoke and I never actually went to any evenings. There is a non-smoking policy within the hotel building (except rooms and sun bathing area), therefore alot of smokers are outside in the evening with their beverages and it can get messy in the evenings around the pool area, although the staff clean this up every morning.

There are alot of senior citizens and middle aged people staying in both the Canifor and Dorirose hotels and I only saw 3 other young children on my visit.

The hotel manager did tell me that there was troule with some German students, who got drunk and rowdy and the police had to be called at 3am. I never heard any noise from my apartment though.

This hotel was clean and basic and a good base to travel from as it is only 3 mins walk away from Bugibba bus terminal and 10 mins walk from Bugibba Square.

I paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: www.holidayhotels.co.uk

Recommended
Devi911
15 years 10 months ago
We have just recently come back from a great holiday in Malta. We stayed at the Dorirose Apartments and have absolutely no complaints about our stay.

Very friendly staff came in everyday and cleaned the rooms and towels and sheets were replaced every 2-3 days. We had a balcony with an ocean view and this was the best part of our stay. Morning coffee on the balcony, over looking the mediteranean, you couldn't ask for more than that.

The rooms as very basic with basic furniture that did the job. there was a kitchenette, a couch and tv, clean bathroom and seperate bedrooms. This is cheap accommodation and if you are looking for some where to hang your hat and sleep at night then this is the place. If you are looking for the Hilton then pay for it!!

We had breakfast included in our deal and the breakfast was basic and pretty much the same everyday. Eggs, sausages, beans, toast, cereal, cheese and cold meat and juice. We heard from other guests that lunch and dinner were also very basic. This was not a problem for us as Buggiba was filled with great cafes and restaurants that catered for all different tastes from seafood to the basic burger, as well as the traditional Maltese cuisine.

The location was fantastic. Two blocks from the bus terminal that will take you anywhere on the Island as well as to Cirkewwa so you can catch the ferry to Gozo.

Entertainment was not great but my idea of a holiday is to not be limited to your hotel so this was not an issue. There are other entertainment opportunities outside the hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medhotels

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.