Image of The Mediterranea Suites & Hotel

The Mediterranea Suites & Hotel

5 of 10 hotels in St Pauls Bay

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
St. George's Street, St Paul's Bay, Malta

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ellie Cockburn
Exactly what it says on the tin
8 years 10 months ago
What can I say, if you book a budget hotel, you can't expect a Presidential Suite, can you? We got exactly what we paid for, no more, no less. Friendly staff, comfy beds, air con (thank the lord), and lovely bathroom facility.

Rooftop pool and Jacuzzi were a LOT of fun; a bottle of Rose and a dip in the Jacuzzi at 10pm overlooking the sea....what more do you want from a holiday?!

Would recommend highly if you don't mind the basics, would venture elsewhere if you have the addition of kids etc. Could not be better situated if it tried fab taxi services and restaurants/shops within walking distance. Makes a lush change from the UK!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
First of all the positives - the hotel is in a good location at the top of a hill with beautiful views over St Pauls Bay from the promenade. And that's about it!

The room we were allocated had no external view at all - the window opened out to a view of a ventilation shaft. Despite numerous requests for a room change we were only offered a similar room with the same view - an upgrade was offered at a charge of 50 euros a day - for that we could have gone to another hotel!

The only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast, which was plentiful - a choice of cereals, occasionally fruit salad, maltese and 'British' bread and rolls, cheese and cold meat along with a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast consisted of sausages, strips of fat (supposedly bacon), baked beans and something which looked like scrambled eggs but had no taste at all.

The bar was supposed to be open until 11.00pm at night - but we never saw it open. The pool was small and the jacuzzi was out of action.

If our room had been better we might have considered a return visit, but we're not prepared to take the risk. We will certainly return to St Paul's next year, but will stay in a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

R Stokes
13 years 9 months ago
Hotel staff extremly helpful on arrival and throughout the stay
Minor problems were dealt with immediatly.Swimming pool is small but the children loved it,apart from the temporary drilling rig in the bay the view from the roof was lovely.
Bus stop to anywhere directly outside the hotel.Shops were within easy walking distance.Room was clean and tidy and had all the right equipment for self catering.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: British Airways

Recommended
Lauren
13 years 10 months ago
The food was not for me. The breakfast was made up of cooked breakfast, cereal, toast and fruit. The cooked breakfast included bacon, sausage, egg and beans. The bacon was pure fat so i choose to eat toast throughout my stay! There was quite a good choice of evening meal but again, not for me.

The hotel was very clean and fairly modern compared to some places i have visited previously. The staff were very friendly, especially the bar staff.

A phone is provided in the rooms but i would advise you not to use this! I made 3 short telephone calls which cost a lot of money. Phone cards are available in most shops on the main street in St Paul's Bay.

The pool was not that great for relaxing in, it measured 1.5 metres deep and was not that long. You could have a little swim in it but that's about it. There is also a smaller pool/jacuzzi which you could relax in which faced the sea but could become overcrowded in busy periods.

The hotel location was good, the view from the top of hotel was excellent but it was a good 10 minute walk to the main street which included a lot of steps which cannot be avoided and were quite steep.

The hotel did not have that much entertainment apart from the fact that a film was put on each night in the lounge. There was also a BBQ on the Thursday night on the roof which was very good. I would recommend this.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Rebecca
13 years 11 months ago
I was a bit worried when I saw the negative comments - but when we arrived we just loved the hotel.

We got a fabulous room overlooking St Paul's Bay with a view to die for. The room was clean and quite tastefully decorated.

The kitchen was small, but well equipped; plenty big enough for us to make basic meals.

There was a rooftop pool and sunbathing area, as well as a sauna, a small games room, and internet access available in the lobby.

St Paul's Bay is in the quiet part of town, only a short walk to Buggiba and Qwara - which are the places to go for eating/drinking and the nightlife.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Mr Adams
14 years 8 months ago
Unfortunately, the review section does not permit a negative score rating.

In the interest of fairness to others who may make the same mistake as ourselves, I feel obliged to record that this hotel is the worst hotel we have stayed in.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Belle Air

Jones
14 years 11 months ago
we were issued the top floor penthouse. upon inspection we found the furniture to be worn out,beds
disgusting and kithchen facilities dirty missmatch of old cupboards and the fridge was rusty. Large front balcony over looking the bay was the only advantage but we could not live on the balcony. we have been to malta many times and didnot kno that these places exsisted. We moved out within the hour and found alternative accomodation in Sliema for ourselves. we were not charged however we had to forgo the taxi fare we had paid for a return transfer to the airport, worthit in my mind. Advice to first time visitors ther are lots of cheap hotels in malta but for a little extra you can find first class accomodation do not look at anything under 4 star and 5 is better. I donot understand people eho go on holliday all inclusive and say they did not eat in the hotel,it was dirty and facilities were unsatisfactory,did not use the entertainment facilities and could not get drinks when they have paid for them and say they had a good value holiday? you may as well go self catering at half the price.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant

15 years 4 months ago
We were a party of 2 couples and 2 singles and requested rooms on the same floor. This was not done but it didn't cause any problems. The 2 singles ended up with a double room each. The rooms we had were self catering apartments although we were half board. The were clean and quite spacious with side sea views. (one was at the back with no view as such).

The breakfast was adequate. Self service with hot and cold buffett. The evening meal was self service anti pasta and puddings and waiter service first and main course. We found the main courses bland and boring. Next time we would go B and B to this hotel.

The location was right on the front over looking St Pauls Island with a short walk downhill to the Harbour and onto Buggibba front.

The hotel staff were nice and helpful.

There was no entertainment in the hotel and the bar was a bit of a letdown but there are plenty of bars in the vicinity.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Recommended
Richard Greenwood
15 years 6 months ago
Hotel was up to a decent standard, food was good on most days when the English chef was on. Room was cleaned most days. Pool on the roof was fine views were tremendous, if you wanted a sunbed you had to be up early. Would recommend going just watch out for timeshare touts.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.