Image of Santa Maria Hotel

Santa Maria Hotel

6 of 10 hotels in St Pauls Bay

3 out of 5 from 48 reviews
Triq Ir-Ramel, Bugibba SPB 03, Malta
Lively hotel with a good range of facilities and entertainment to please everyone. You'll find the many attractions and nightlife of the seafront and centre of Bugibba less than 1 km away. The beach at Golden Sands is 4.8 km away.

48 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Roger Death
13 years 7 months ago
I read with interest other reviews about this particular hotel but can honestly agree with most people's comments. The cleanliness was very good and the maids were there daily changing towels and sheets and the room was clean. I have no complaints about that part. The hotel is old and very outdated and in need of an upgrade.You do need to be an Olympic ahlete to get to Bugibba and Qawra and it is situated up high. The food was challenging to say the least and I reverted to plain old cornflakes for breakfast and Maltese bread and jam..my stomach could not handle anything else. The dinner selection was just as bad and I lived off bread.You pay for what you get but even so you should get something half decent and here you just did not. I cannot recommend this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: aspro

Ruth
13 years 8 months ago
We went half board but ended up using all our spending money on eating out as this hotel was so filthy and we couldn't bare to spend any more time there than was necessary. I tried the breakfast a couple of times and even the toast was inedible. Our room was disgusting. On the first night we found a cockroach that was al least 6 centimetres long. I rang the rep who was very irritated with me for diturbing him and said that there are always cockroaches in hot countries and it has nothing to do with cleanliness. The location wasn't great. A long way from the sea which didn't really bother is as we are happy to walk but the streets were filled with rubbish and dog mess. The receptionist was miserable and unhelpful. The man who seats people in the dining room seemed nice though. Didn't see any entertainment but we weren't looking for it as we prefer to go out anyway. I would never go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Aspro

Sheila/mal And Family
14 years 9 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for two week's oh my god what a nightmare. Yes it was a good deal. As a family of 8 for 2.500 we thought it was going to be a bargain.

I seriously would not have paid one red cent and would be hard pushed to return for a wage.

The room's...maid visited three times (seriously) for the entire 2 weeks. the bathroom stunk to high heaven. Had a adjoining room with my daughter which was the only way I could use a toilet or shower for the entire two week's as our bathroom was so bad people complained of the smell walking past our door. I am not kidding. Everything you read about ceiling fan's completely true.

In all my family shared 3 apartments, not one safe fan in any. Some staff completely rude, some OK. Often witnessed children been told off inappropriatly by staff.( sworn at) other guest slashed his foot while we were there the attitude of the staff was appalling (cut his foot diving in pool) food was just about bearable.

If they can eat bug's in the jungle they might find eating at this hotel a walk in the park. I swear on my children's lives this is one hotel I would give a wide berth.. loved Malta hated this hotel..

So bad..running joke with guy who cut his foot he only stayed one week took the mick out of us for booking 2. Met some really nice families (mark and Elaine and kid's.. Billy and Collette and Paul and poor Lisa and Darren and kid's who cried for nearly all there stay it was that bad.

If you've booked to stay here try your hardest to change accommodation. Or you'll find out the hard way just like we did.. best of luck to you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Sandra Perry
15 years ago
Hotel room we had was very tired but we couldn't fault the cleaners who cleaned our room every day and changed the towels every day they seemed to be cleaning all public areas constantly.

Food was very English style always with choice and we saw food temperature being checked on many occasions.

An added bonus at this hotel was the roof terrace for sunbathing and did not allow children adults only which is great if you happen to be there when you get badly behaved kids.

I would stay there again provided the price was right you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Chris
15 years 8 months ago
I have just returned from staying in the Santa Maria hotel and I have to agree with alot of the comments I've seen on this site.

If you are booking this hotel on a cheap late deal I would recommend it as for the price you'll pay it is worth the money as long as you don't go there with high expectations.

If your booking your holiday well in advance however I would steer well clear. The rooms weren't spotless but we received a friendly maid service everyday which included clean bed sheets and fresh towels.

The rooms were hot but we knew there wasn't any air conditioning but you are able to rent fans from reception.

You plug your room key into a slot which activates the electricty to the room. A good tip to keep your room cool whilst your away is just sticking two biro pens in the slot and your fans will keep going thus giving you a cooler room.

The food in this hotel is absolutely awful. People who say if you dont like the food your being picky are utter liars and I would doubt they have ever been to a good restaurant in their lives.

When your in such hot weather the last thing you want to eat is curry! the hotel staff are absolutely awful. they are by far some of the rudest people I've ever met. The comments made previously excusing their behaviour in relation to the price their bein paid is the most stupid comment I've heard.

If their so bitter about there wage maybe they should try and acheive a raise by being skilled and able in their proffesion.

Non of the hotel restaurant/bar staff were friendly or polite and i would recommend a change of profession for all of them.

The location of the hotel is good. Its quite near the centre of Buggiba and is near the main road with easy access to the bus stops.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Dave Wright
15 years 8 months ago
The hotel was filthy, if you walked around the pool or your room without shoes your feet were black!!!

The food was reasonable but there was very little choice and this got rather tedious over 14 days!!!

The location was ok but it was quite a hike to the seafront it was tricky walking after dark due to bad pavements, piles of rubbish,concrete blocks etc.

We found the restaurant/reception staff were helpful and friendly but the room maids were sullen and unhelpfull.

We did not use the hotels entertainment facilities due to the lack of seating and the silly double queing system to obtain drinks.

The hotel is mainly for all inclusive clients. We used the bar opposite called spagetti junction which was clean and reasonably priced.

The santa maria is very much a hotel of two parts, the ground floor is air conditioned fairly clean and tidy, but the upper floors are hot, smelly, dirty and very drab.

The pool area is very small and is very dirty, care should be taken swimming in the pool as ear infections are rife!!

We thought that the hotel was reasonable value for money but was more like a 1 or 2 star hotel never 3!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Joe, Jane, Daniel And Cameron
15 years 8 months ago
This hotel was a 70's style 3* star hotel which is now really only a 2* hotel.

Our room was a 4th floor family room with plenty of room, with sheets and towels changed daily, the floors were unmopped though but not a real problem. No air conditioning, only a noisy fan, but we did know this before we went.

The pool area is small and hence a 7.45am sunbed rush every morning - and you can't blame the germans!!! - brilliant for children though. Very friendly hotel, food ok, Tim the restaurant manager was extremely good at his job. Trips extremely expensive - go by bus or hire a car.

Water park excellent, but like the rest of the island a bit rough around the edges. All inclusive good value but heard lots of complaints that other countries deal with it better, only frustration with double queing for drinks.

The more you complain the worse service you get and the bigger the queue gets, just smile and you get served quicker!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ian Ginie Thomas
15 years 8 months ago
Must say stay well clear!!!

Been to Malta for 15 years stayed here before it has totally changed in 12 months. In two weeks room never cleaned or bed changed maid every couple of days.

Think you have clean towels think again I caught maids drying our towels on line folding up putting back on bed dirty. When I told reception maid stayed clear I helped my self to fresh ones out of maids office.

Food totally disgraceful same every day. Entertainment were was that across the road in it sister hotel, which if you check with your brochure it doesn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mercury direct

Janet & Michael
15 years 8 months ago
Some of the people who have reviewed the Santa Maria need to realise that you get what you pay for. In this case you get a hotel that
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Choice Holidays

Recommended
Griffiths
15 years 8 months ago
Very clean, cleaned every day.

Food very good.

Location not bad.

Nice staff.

Entertainment seen better.

Go back again some time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.