Image of Calipto Apartments

Calipto Apartments

77 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
Rua Vasco da Gama, 8200-294 Albufeira, Portugal

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
David
8 years 10 months ago
We arrived at the Calipto Appartments on the eve of the 25th june looking forward to a very messy and excting lads holiday. However this what not the case. We booked our apartment through Freedom Direct and calipto apartments told us we cancelled when we arrived. There was noone waiting to hand us the keys and it was midnight. When they eventually got to meet the group they were very rude and told us we had no where to stay. All our money had gone!
However this did not stop the lads from having a good time as one of my mates has an auntie that lives there so everything was good. Make sure you get confirmation from the hotel before you arrive.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Mr Cooper
9 years 8 months ago
We had made our own travel arrangements and arrived in resort on Saturday afternoon.
There is no reception for theses apartments and keys are collected from a newsagents below the apartments fron a Portugese lady who spoke no English.
We were shown to our apartment by a small girl
The apartment given was old dark and in need of refubishment.
The beds were old and creaky and one bed was broke.
The bed settee where our daughters were expected to sleep was dirty and the mattress very thin.
This was so bad they slept on airbeds.
The main problem with these aprtments in the noise from midnight until 7am in the morning.
The internet description states some noise but does emphasize the problem and should state they are unsuitable for families.
During our one week stay we saw a cleaner once and only had towels changed once.
I would never stay in these apartments again.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Style Holidays

Rebecca Lister
9 years 9 months ago
Our apartments were very spacious and clean, although there is the area's busiest nightclub which is within walking distance from the apartments and this can get noisy at 6am.

Generally the apartments were very noisy but this is something that we got use to.

There is plenty of sun lounges available by the pool and on the terraces so there is no need to get up early and reserve any with your towels.

One thing I would say is that one of our neighbours in another apartment got broken into so remember not to leave any windows open.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Style

Recommended
Sarah Halloran
9 years 9 months ago
The 1st apartment we stayed in was to a superb standard, 2 x bedrooms (that we had requested) and 2 x bathrooms which was a bonus. Great facilities within as well, especially the kitchen.
Pool area very good and clean as well as no poolside music so very quiet, like an oasis.
BUT...the noise from the passing clubbers etc every morning is horrendous. People passing from the Strip to Kiss (nightclub down the road)and back again was very disturbing and the weekend was worse. It spoiled what would have been a 10/10 holiday.
As in the last review - we were the people whose apartment was broken into, fortunatley no-one was hurt and nothing was stolen due to my daughter distubing the burglars. As well as ensuring that windows are not left open at night, visitors should also ensure that the security gates are closed properly when arriving and leaving the premises.
If you are a heavy sleeper or clubber, these apartments are great for you.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Style holiday

Recommended
Keith/dianne Bunn
11 years 7 months ago
We booked this holiday with Thomas Cook.

The accommodation and pool area was very clean only problem with the apartment we had was a steep metal staircase to the pool.

A bar and supermarket at the bottom of the stairs was good value. The strip only a short walk away with lots of bars and restaurant the best restaurant we found was the Koala Gardens.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
The apartment was great. Very clean, spacious and had lots of nice homely touches with ornaments and pictures.

The apartment and pool we had no problem with but the noise level through the night was terrible. The Kiss disco which was along the road went on until 7.30 in the morning, and although you couldn't hear the music, the noise from tourists and locals leaving it was truly dreadful. Throughout the night there was just a constant stream of drunken singing and extremely loud talking, which would be fine if it had been a one off but this went on every single night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Style Holidays

Roger
11 years 9 months ago
Just back from 2 weeks at the Calipto. As mentioned elsewhere there is a problem with noise here. It might be an issue with young children. We had a 2 room apartment, our kids were at the back at were not troubled at all. We were on the road-side of the building and were certainly aware of the noise. I had read beforehand so took ear plugs and kept the window shut, (cool enough at night to do this), and it was not much of a problem. Was woken up probably 3 times in the first week and then settled down. It was not such an issue that it was topic of debate amongst holiday makers, still each to their own and you should be aware.

I thought the location was fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Treena
11 years 9 months ago
our apartment was on 2 levels with 2 bathrooms which we didn't expect !It was at the side of the complex away from the road and we weren't affected too much by noise at night.

The staff were very friendly and thorough with their cleaning. ( every other day ).

The pool area and surrounding terraces were cleaned every morning. The apartment was well equipped and very spacious.

Just outside the gate was a supermarket , a newagent/gift shop and a cafe/bar. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

There is also a great coffee shop opposite which had fabulous cakes !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: style

Recommended
Helen
11 years 10 months ago
The apartments were close enough to the strip but far away if needed to be. It does get noisy some nights with locals on the car park and also coming back from Kiss nightclub, however we did manage to get back to sleep, apartments very nice and clean, when we went last week in June quiet but then second week ran into July there did not seem to be enough sun beds for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Style

Recommended
Jackie
12 years 6 months ago
The apartments were cleaned most days and the towels changed.Although no hope of sleeping past 1000hrs as the cleaners would be in in force!
Well furnished.Iliked the personal touch with the flowers and ornaments.

The location was good,but very noisey at night due to close proximity to night clubs/bars etc.Beach a good 15min walk away down a very steep hill.

I had been promised an apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool, but got one with a view of a car park.

Swimming pool very cold and compact, brochure picture misleading. Sun loungers around the pool, peaceful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Style

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum