Image of Cerro Alagoa Hotel

Cerro Alagoa Hotel

21 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
Rua Do Municipio. Lote 26, 8200-916 Albufeira, Portugal
This stylish hotel has an international atmosphere and excellent facilities. It has a wonderful 'tropical jungle' indoor pool, and a quirky, British theme pub called the Dog and Duck.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Debbie
7 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. The hotel is lovely and clean on first impressions, great reception area, didnt have to wait too long to check in, our cases were taken from us by a porter to our rooms. The rooms we were first allocated looked out onto the main busy road which we weren't very happy with so for a few euros extra we upgraded to pool view rooms which were excellent. We were on a BB board the breakfast was really nice, streaky bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes all the norm for a good fry up plus fresh fruit, cereal, hams and cheese, pastries couldnt really fault it. The location of the hotel is halfway to the strip and the old town, about a 10 minute walk to the beach, or you can jump on the wally train which stops outside the hotel for a fee. The hotel staff were all very friendly and could speak good english, the entertainment in the hotel is not very good there is not much going on around the pool for the children although there is a kids club available, the evening entertainment is centered in the Dog and duck pub which is not very enjoyable better off going down the old town which is really lively always something going on down there. I really liked this hotel, the only downside ive got is that round the pool area there were lots of seagulls, which actually swam in the swimming pool,and you can imagine the mess they made lots of bird poo all around the pool area the staff did clean it off daily with a big hose. I did complain to the staff but there is not a lot they can do, so that is the reason i wouldnt visit this hotel again because of the Seagulls, not very hygienic. Apart from that had a great holiday and would definately return to the Algarve.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
David & Mark
8 years 9 months ago
Superb hotel which is modern, bright and exceptionally clean. Rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday. Very friendly. No need for a courtesy room on the last day because there you can shower and change in the basement gym without paying (around 4 showers in total and plenty of space to change). The hotel staff will give you fresh towels and shower gels for this. The hotel is well built so you don't hear anyone dragging luggage down the corridors at night, slamming doors or anything else!
Fantastic hot and cold buffet breakfast - loads of choice, fresh fruit a plenty, fresh breakfast juices (and not the awful watered down juice from a vending machine!). Gorgeous pool which is huge. Loads of sunbathing areas which are not too cramped. Loads of sunloungers and parasols although if you want to sunbathe around the pool area and not the extensive terraces then you have to be up early as when we stayed everyone seemed to reserve their beds (although for the biggest part of the day they had swanned off somewhere else - very annoying!)
Next door to the hotel is the fantastic Riviera Restaurant. Loads of choice of food and fresh cream cakes and pastries to die for! I was in heaven!
I think the hotel is closer to the old town than the new but it was only an 3 euro 90cent journey in the taxi to The Strip which worked out cheaper than two return tickets on shuttle bus that stopped outside the hotel every 15 minutes or so.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Beadi
9 years 11 months ago
Very good hotel. Situated half way between Old and New Town. Food for breakfast catered for all types (Full english, Bacon, Eggs, e.t.c) Continental with all the hams cheeses, melons and cereal. All to good quality and hot. Hotel has heated indoor pool. (You need a swimming cap). Rooms were OK, towels changed everyday. Outdoor Pool at the hotel is excellent (but cold) and people were not nicking the sunbeds early as normally happens. Overall a good hotel but we will try to get one situated a bit nearer to the new town to reduce the amount of walking!!!!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mrs Mary Moore
10 years 7 months ago
this was our second visit and are booked again for next year. we travel with seguro travel and found them great even after all the hasstle they had this year with there flights. the hotel is superb my only complaint is some of the staff could do with learning some manners and the entertainment wont make you want to stay in the hotel. this aside we love the place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
This was the second time we have been to this hotel and it is just as good as it was the first time, the hotel had been refurbished but not all rooms had been done, the foyer was bright and modern with lots of leather settee's to sit on.Clean towels every day and the maid service was to a high standard with rooms cept spotless, always plenty of hot water at night for a shower, you do have to pay extra for a pool /sea view room.
We stayed B & B so can not comment on the meals at night, but the breakfast was spot on with plenty of hot and cold food and nice coffee for a change.
The entertainment was in the Dog and Duck pub and was so so with Singers/Karaoke and Dancers, with the price of drinks being on the high side.(as with most 4* hotels)
They have had a new pool since our last visit and as last time the water was again very cold when you first get in,there are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas but as with most hotels now days people were going down early to put there towels on and then leaving them for sometimes hours before they use them, this is a major fault and perhaps the hotels only fault.
I would go back to this hotel it is in just the right place to visit the Old Town and the Strip about half way to both, and about a 15 minute walk to the new bus stop.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Penfold
11 years 7 months ago
Arrived late afternoon, beautiful modern lobby, very clean. Plenty of staff on hand to book the party in. Cases taken to our room by the bell boy.

Rooms a good size, tastefully decorated and very clean. Air conditioning a welcome addition, as was the fridge. We paid extra for a room that overlooked the pool, which was a blessing as the rooms that face the front of the hotel overlook a busy main road.

Food in the hotel was fantastic. A huge variety for breakfast ranging from yoghurt and fruit to bacon and eggs. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and were very impressed. Hotel prices for food and drink were reasonable, staff friendly.

There was evening entertainment whilst we were there, however not to our taste, but the older generation seemed to like it!

Hotel located between the old town and new strip, 15 min walk to either that is downhill on the way there but uphill on the way back. Taxis were cheap if you didn't fancy the walk.

Pool was very clean with lots of umberellas and palm trees for those who like the shade. Plenty of sunbeds, no need to reserve.

Beach at Albufiera is lovely. This hotel is good for families and couples looking for a quieter holiday in a lively resort.

Would highly reccomend this hotel and shall be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro travel

Recommended
P Elliott
12 years 6 months ago
The whole hotel was very clean and our room was was cleaned daily to a high standard by friendly staff. The staff in reception were very helpful as was the person in charge of the breakfast room. The bar staff were slow and the restuarant staff were helpful but distant.

The indoor pool was one of the best I've seen in a hotel. The outdoor pool was a good size but cold (early October).
The entertainment varied in quality, but most nights the bar had a good atmosphere.

The drinks were more expensive than most of the local bars.

The hotel is in a good location inbetween the old town and The Strip, both of which were about a 15 minute walk. The road train stops right outside the hotel.

The breakfast was good but repetitive. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and enjoyed a five course self service meal for under 15 euros.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
Just Got back from the Hotel had a lovely week there and enjoyed it. I have kind of mixed feelings about the Hotel and Staff.

Before we arrived I emailed the Hotel and asked if I could have a room which had a sea and Garden view which they kindly provided at no extra charge. The hotel is lovely inside and very clean. The rooms are a decent size and are well cleaned everyday.

The location is handy as the Tourist train stops right outside and take you to the strip and old town as you are in between both. The pool area is a little on the small side and I can imagine in peak time getting very busy although it wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
MacDonald
12 years 9 months ago
Stayed for 2 weeks. Choice at breakfast was excellent.

Room was very spacious the biggest we've ever had as a family, and was spotless with towels and linen changed daily. We did not pay extra for a garden view and we overlooked the jungle pool we were never disturbed by noise as I have read from other reviews.

Hotel is excellently situated for the old town and the tourist train stops right outside which will take you to the strip or down to the old town.

The staff from the children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Lorraine
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed in a Junior Suite with a roadside view. The hotal was in an ideal location between the old town and the strip. The room had a massive balcony with sun loungers, table & chairs. The rooms were larger than expected with plenty of storage space and had a small hob, grill & sinkunit hidden behind two wardrobe doors. Our rooms was cleaned and clean towels provided every day.

The public areas in the hotel were spotless and well laid out. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good, offering a wide variety from full english to continental. We did not eat in the restaurant on an evening as we found the menu limited, but we did not hear anything detrimental about the food during our stay.

The indoor pool was fabulous, great for kids and adults, the outdoor pool was adequate but I would imagine it could get a little overcrowded in season. The outside bar and snack hut was very good and reasonably priced.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum