Image of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel

Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel

45 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 6 reviews
4 stars
Rua do Municipio, lote 26 | Apartado 2155, 8200-916, Portugal

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Garry Trish & Becky Shaw
9 years 8 months ago
Found the hotel generally clean, the rooms were spotless, we stayed in one of the refurbished rooms, room 120 and this spacious, no tea / coffee which we thought we would have in a 4*, but had AC and TV, nice bathroom balcony overlooking part pool and sea view (just ! over other hotls and partments) but also over the large AC units for the hotel but not noisy at night. Generally a nice clean hotel, a 10 min walk from the Old Town which was fab and 20 mins from The Strip which we found was just like Blackpool, we only went once !!! but its your own prefference really.

Staff were OK, we had no hassles at all with any of them.

Food was OK, cooked breakfast but not to our taste (German sausages and very very greasy bacon !) but eggs beans toms and mushrooms etc were available, we had toast, cereals and loads of fresh fruit which was delicious. Tea and Coffee ere readily available.

Entertainment was very limited, if you want archery, ball games, darts etc then dont come here, all there was was a guy on a organ at night and occasionally a pool side aeroboics class, thats it, buty to e honest we wanted a quite time and thats what we got.

Would not vist this hotel again not becuase it wasnt nice but would try to find one nearer beach as even though its only 10 mins, when its hot its not nice lugging your beach stuff up hill through narrow cobled and mostly pot hole filled streets.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mandy
10 years 7 months ago
I found the hotel to be more like a 3* than a 4*. You have to pay for 2 many extras for a 4* which should be inculded. A service charge of 7.50 E if you wanted room service for breakfast. You have to pay for the use of the fridge in the room and no tea/cofffee making in the room.
Even the in door pool had restriction on using it (had to by a cap) you couldnt use the gym or sauna without charge.
Make sure your up early to get a good sunbed towles start going on at around 7.30
Breakfast was ok but limited choice and got very boring for 2 weeks
If you havnt stayed in A 4* hotel before you will more than likely like it but if you have stayed in good 4* hotels you will see the difference
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Dazza
10 years 9 months ago
Spotlessly clean hotel. Stayed B&B food quality excellent as was choice, very generous on times .(0700-1030).
10 minute walk downhill to older part of town,20 min walk to the strip.
(3 euro's for adult day ticket to ride resort train all day, if you wanted to flit between old town & strip).
Staff when needed were helpful, polite & friendly.
Evevning entertainment low key.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Walter Thomas Farrell
11 years 4 months ago
We travelled on 24/12/06 returning to Liverpool on1/1/07 by Easyjet.

We have been to resort before but not to hotel Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa. We found the hotel to be completely to our satisfaction, and most shops open over the Christmas period but would advise travellers to book a restaurant for New Years Eve as everywhere is very busy.

The weather was excellent, we are both in 60s age bracket.

Special mention for the staff at hotel who were most pleasant and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidayroomsdirect

Recommended
Mark
11 years 10 months ago
Hotel is exceptionally clean, staff very helpful.

Try to get a even numbered room as they are at the back of the hotel and overlook the pool, gardens and sea, odd is at the noisier side the front.

The road train stops outside the hotel 3 euros all day travel, great for getting around the old town is a 10 min walk and the strip is about 15/20 mins.

Hotel has the Dog & Duck bar nice for a late night drink although the entertainment was a little iffy

I would certainly reccomend this hotel you will not be dissapointed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct hols

Recommended
12 years 10 months ago
I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend (friday to monday) and thoroughly enjoyed it, although I am easily pleased it seems compared to some people.

The hotel is a nice 4 star and fairly large with marble everywhere and a nice reception area.

My room had two twin beds with a nice bathroom and a balcony with a view towards the sea/old town.

The hotel breakfast is a typical one with everything you could need but they all have greasy bacon and frankfurter type sausages which I dont like, fried eggs were cooked whilst you waited with plenty of toast / jam / yoghurt / fruit / cheese / ham / rolls etc.

I arrived at 11am and they advised the room wouldn't be ready till 2pm (as usual) and they locked my suitcase in a storage area whilst I wandered around and at the end of my stay I vacated the room by 12 and again they locked my suitcase away until my taxi arrived at 4pm.

Nice pool area with an outdoor bar and grass sunbed area, an indoor bar downstairs by the pool with evening entertainment although I didn't use it for that. All in all the hotel was a very nice place.

The roadtrain stops right outside the hotel as one of its 3 stops around Albufeira and is good value at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum