Image of Luna Forte da Oura Hotel

Luna Forte da Oura Hotel

41 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
Praia da Oura Apt. 859, 8200-182, Portugal

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
great beach location
5 years 5 months ago
My wife and i have stayed at Luna Forte da oura Hotel many times and i have to say we never had a problem everything is on your ddostep beach five minutes walk the strip ten minutes also you have plenty of nice bars and places to eat in the oura area i always book with yellowfish tranfers they pick us up at faro airport and are always on time and the drivers are so helpful if it is your first time the driver will be happy to answer any questions about Albufeira.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 11 months ago
Just returned from Portugal, The hotel is very nice, and clean the only problem that I had was the bed sheets where only changed once in two weeks as where the towels. I had to ask a few times for clean ones,
The pool area is not very big, but it was nice as the hotel was not full so you could still get a sun bed.

The entertainment was ok, but didn't see it all as we went to the old town or new town, would stay again at the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Alan&moira
9 years 10 months ago
lovely hotel in great location,hotel staff very helpful and friendly, cleaning staff should be very proud of high standard of cleanliness rooms cleaned every day,really a 5 star service,entertainment was very basic but a few good singers,I would strongly recommend this hotel for couples
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: freedomdirect

Recommended
Todd
9 years 10 months ago
This is one of the cleanest hotels we've ever stayed in, it was spotless. The cleaners were really friendly too and work really long hours! We stayed in one of the junior suites which was really big. All the facilities you would require for self catering are there and there is even a TV with a few English channels. Our room was at the back of the hotel facing onto a new hotel which was being built but the majority of it had been done so there was no noise. The only tiny critism is that we had requested a high room, pool view and double bed and we didn't get any of these! It didn't matter though as the room we got was great. I see a couple of people on here have mentioned the noise from the bar but we didn't hear anything.

The pool isn't huge but big enough and we could always get a lounger. We had lunch in the hotel a couple of times and it was always really nice. Very reasonably priced too.

We've given the entertainment a low score because, although we didn't see much of it, it didn't look good and each night seemed to be a worse singer than the night before.

The location of this hotel is great. There's a supermarket a couple of minutes walk away which has everything and the Strip is only five minutes away. There's a couple of good bars there and some really nice restaurants. The reason we've only given this hotel 4/5 for location is really just because it's quite far from the old town. We walked in about 20-30 minutes but when it's hot it's no fun and there are a few steep hills! The beach is five minutes walk downhill and is lovely.

We would definately return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Sleepless
9 years 11 months ago
Cleanliness of room by cleaners first class,
All staff at hotel most helpful and friendly
entertainent, no comment, not used.

One big minus concerning the hotel is at nighttime,if you want a good nights sleep this is not the hotel for you,noise from the bar during entertainment,drunken drinkers returning shouting at night sometimes until after 1am, which echoes all round the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holiday Direct

Stuart
9 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the Forte Da Oura hotel for 8 nights at the end of September & have to say we could not find fault with anything.
When we arrived we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel facing the building work that was going on. However, after speaking to the staff at the check in desk, we were offered 3 rooms to choose from to move to. We chose a room overlooking the gardens & the sea which was perfect.
The room was absolutely spotless & cleaned everyday. The facilities in the room were more than adequate for a self catering holiday. However, because of the plethora of good value for money restaurants in close vacinity, we only had 3 breakfasts in the room.
A hidden surprise, which we did not discover until the day before we left was the quality (& quantity) of the mid day meals that were on sale in the hotel. The hot baguettes were superb.
I cannot comment on the entertainment as, because the hotel was only 5 minutes walk from the strip, where there is a multitude of bars, we did not see any of it.
We normally have a break like this late in the year to chill out, having had our main holiday earlier in the year & we never go to the same place twice. However on this occasion, we have already decided to return to this hotel next September as it is superb quality for the money we paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
10 years ago
The previous reports are very much the same as I found. Really like the position - very handy for the strip but very quiet. Also, not too far to walk to the old town (20-30 Mins). Always walked in and usually got the train back but it dropped you off the top end of the strip. The rooms are excellent, but think some have better balconies than others, some had shade, some not and some larger than others. Ours was facing the road but never heard much noise. I loved the pool but found the sun beds a problem,they had pushed too many beds into a small place, you could usually get a bed but I did not like playing sardines! The hill back up from the beach was not too bad but maybe a problem if pushing a childs bugy! Some good restaurants within a few mins walk. Got some good recomendations off this site. Would recommend if you prefer to go to the beach or dont mind feeling like a sardine round the pool, I used the balcony more cause we had the sun from about 10.30 till it went down.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Karen
10 years 10 months ago
Just returned from Forte Da Oura and must say had a lovely time. Booked last minute and got an huge one bedroomed appartment. We found it to be very clean and it was cleaned and towels changed everyday.

The pool area is small but were always able to get a sunbed when we needed one, but prefered the beautiful beach just five minutes away.

The weather was wonderfully hot so sometimes instead of going up the hill to get back to the appartments we went by the side of the pool area in the Club Praia da Oura appartments and took the lift to floor nine which brought you out at a road level where the Forte da Oura was.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The building work at the back is still going on but should be finished for next summer.

Our room was at the side at the back overlooking the pool of some other appartments but it was fine as not in the apartment very much as too much to do in the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Williamson
11 years ago
The hotel is clean and the maid came daily.The towels were changed daily and the bedding once in the week we were there. But this is definately not a 4* accomodation more a 3. The pool area is far too small for the size of the hotel and not enough sunbeds. If you want to sunbath round the pool you have to be up and reserve and stay with your sunbed from 7am. By 7.30 all sunbeds are gone and lots of people were complaining to the rep whose answer was go and sunbath round the pool in the hotel next door! The entertainment is rubbish and it does echo round the hotel so very noisy in the rooms. Although it does finish at 12pm. The location of the hotel is good and there are some excellent restaurants near by. The old town is worth a visit and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. I wouldnt visit again purely because of the sunbed situation
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Stephanie
11 years ago
stayed in the hotel for the first two weeks in august and enjoyed it mainly because of the location to the beach. crazy trying to get a sunbed on a morning we rarely got one. too many people not enough beds. maid service great they came every day and made it ever so clean. staff in onsite supermacado were great. poolside bar was very expensive. evening entertainment was pants. the staff at the front desk were not very child friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum