Image of Monica Isabel Aparthotel

Monica Isabel Aparthotel

98 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

2 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
Forte Sao Joao - Areias de Sao Joao, 8200-325 Albufeira, Portugal

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stephen & Marion Forbes
terrible dont go there
5 years 3 months ago
All inclusive not worth it drinks and food not good. Booked and paid extra for sea view and got stuck in a ground floor flat looking onto a car park. Staff were not helpfull at all to fix this. Lifts not good groaned and bumped and doors shut on you, that is when they worked. Bottled water was warm from bar and resort very hilly. We have been going all inclusive holidays, two to three times a year and this is the worst we have ever experienced.very very poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jet2

Julie
Close to the beach, but hotel needs updating
7 years 5 months ago
Our party consisted of three adults. It was a budget holiday and the quality of the holiday was reflected in the cost.

Cleanliness - the room we stayed in was basic but clean. Maids cleaned the room every day. We had to ask for a change of linen as they were getting quite grubby after day 4.

Food - I suppose you get what you pay for. It's a budget hotel and the all-inclusive food is basic and limited in choice. There were some busy times with queues outside the restaurant and we had to wait for empty trays to be replaced. Some odd mixtures of food. We ate out most nights as the choices were very bland.

Accommodation - The whole property is in need of updating. The accommodation comprises of a main hotel block and a series of apartment blocks. We stayed in Block A which was right by the sea. The apartments are built on a steep hillside and could be difficult for people with reduced mobility or families with little children.

Location - the hotel was very close to the beach and about 15 minutes walk to the Strip or Albufeira. Taxis back from town were easy to find and cost 3.90 euros.

Hotel staff - generally very pleasant, especially the pool bar staff. One complaint - when we arrived the Receptionist asked someone to take us to our room. He appeared briefly to ask us to wait outside, then walked off and never came back. We eventually found the rooms ourselves as we got fed up of waiting.

Entertainment - ok if you like that sort of thing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Vicki Bell
Get what you pay for
7 years 5 months ago
My daughter and I stayed foe 3 nights on a short break. Thought we would be in the main hotel but were put in what was probably a self-catering room even though we were all inclusive. Had to change room immediately even though it was midnight as the smell was disgusting in the room and there was mould all over the ceiling.
The lamp was broken and there were no blankets. Not keen on changing us but eventually did and the room was much better.

The food leaves a lot to be desired but thankfully we only had to put up with it for 3 nights. Location is good, halfway between old town and the new strip.

Would go back on a short break but definitely not for a longer holiday. You get what you pay for as they say. Staff were lovely and worked really hard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
W's
11 years 10 months ago
This hotel would have been fine if it had the facilities which were advertised when we booked.

The animation program consisted of a man playing a keyboard in the foyer and some dancers on one of the nights.

The so called kids club was advertised as open one day and then the next time you looked at the board it said "Day Off". Mind you on the two occasions she went Hedi was very good with her.

Nothing about this hotel was consistent.

The food in the restaurant was diabolical. The rooms were supposed to have a telephone, iron and a hairdryer - these were not there.

There was two electric cooking rings and nothing else, hard to cook a meal if your thinking of eating in. It did have a sauna and gym etc but they dont tell you that you have to pay 10 euro to use them for the week and that there closed for two of the days.

On a positive note the hotel was in a good location for the beach but was quite a walk for the strip and the old town especially if you have kids in tow.

This hotel may be OK in the summer season but dont go in October as the whole hotel was just closing around us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Anita
14 years 2 months ago
Arrived quite late in evening, reception staff very helpful, room overlooking beach area, very nice, clean, excellent location for the beach and not far from the stip really enjoyed time spent there would definately book and stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: monarch

Recommended
Philmill
16 years 1 month ago
Visited in mid-July 2002, we stayed in the main block, in fact the entertainment was just outside of our door! There were mainly German people staying at the hotel, some of whom would speak to me in German (I can't speak German and was wearing my England football top most of the time!). The location of the hotel is superb. 10 mins walk to 'The Strip' with load bars and restaurant and 15 mins walk to 'Old Town Albufeira' with its more traditional bars and restaurants. The pool is really good, waterfall and all. Do what the Germans do and put your towels on the sun beds before going for breakfast. Food was okay. Staff were friendly but more English guests would improve their knowledge of the English language.

Travel operator: Airtours

Mickwillie48
16 years 1 month ago
Not what we expected, we were put in an Annexe up a hill away from the main hotel which according to the brochure led you to beleive you were staying in the hotel. We were on an all inclusive deal so you had to use the main hotel for your facilities, so when it rained you got wet through. The hotel caters mainly for German guests. They seem to get preferentual treatment. They did not cater for vegetarians as we found out for we had two with us, if they didn't like chips it was tough. Location is superb . If you wish a holiday in this hotel do not go with Cosmos , they do not have rooms in the main hotel . Had a really good time in Alberferia. will definately go again but not with Cosmos. Mick Lincoln

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum