Image of Quinta da Bellavista Apartments

Quinta da Bellavista Apartments

54 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Rua do Estadio 4, 8200-127 Albufeira, Portugal

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rachel Robson
10 years 7 months ago
Well, like Jodie from Burnley, we too have been visiting these apartments for 15 years this year and we have just booked again for May of this year. We first visited in 1994, when I was 10 and we made firm, life long friends. When I come here, I feel like I'm at home. You can choose whether you want to visit the Old Town or the Strip as it's pretty much equal distance either way. Entertainment is provided four times a week in the height of the Summer Season and maid service is regular, Sunday is their only day off. Because we know these apartments so well, I can also say that Martin from Birmimgham has unfortunately reviewed the wrong accomodation, he infact has reviewed the "Bellavista Avenida" which is down the road opposite the supermarket, Pingo Doce. They have rooms overlooking the pool and they also have a cafe, none of which apply to Quinta da Bellavista as all their rooms are across the road from the pool and reception area. ( We know this as we had to stay there once as Quinta were fully booked!!!!!)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jodie
10 years 9 months ago
i've been comming to this hotel since i was 5.i'm now 16 and we have been every year sometimes 3/4 times a year.the cleanliness has always been excellend and i don't know any other place that has the service 6 days a week.the location is great as it is directly in the middle so you can decide where you would like to go each night.the staff were the reason we kept comming back and now they are all like family to us and we have been to their houses and vice-versa.now i have a family abroad which are these.they are all lovely kind and the most hospitable people you will ever meet.the entertainment was always great when i was younger but the real entertainment for me are the staff as they are so funny.i will keep comming here until..well who knows!and i have even been offered a job there for the summer next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
The staff were lovely the owner was fantastic always making you laugh. The cleaners came in most days.

The holiday rep claire was great.

As far as we were concerned it was a great hoilday couldn't find a fault at all, just a short walk to catch the noddy train to the main strip, we would go to this hotel again very friendly people.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mark Rees
11 years 9 months ago
Great holiday friendly staff nice pool loads of free sun loungers cleaners nearly every day.

Not the ritz,but great value and clean. The old town is really nice great restaurants beach and chilled bars the strip is the opposite,loud bright ,crazy karaoke ,noisy,loads of cheap places to eat. Discos great night out if you want it you,ll love it.

Try the boat trips and the safari excellent day out. Splash park 4 the kids is very good. Farnels in the strip excellent steak and pepper sauce and pint for 10 euros.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Bren
12 years 6 months ago
When I booked this holiday with Thomsons, and I requested a ground floor as I am disabled.However, when my son and I arrived we were put on the fourth floor!!!!! I told the Thomsons rep there was no way I could climb the stairs, (as there was no lift), but he demanded 50 euros to move me to a ground floor or 500 euros to move me to another hotel.

I told him that I had already paid for my holiday and that I should not have to pay anymore and that I could not afford to pay that anyway, as I was a single parent on a budget. He was totally uncaring and showed total disregard for my illnesses and disability. I told him I had severe asthma and chronic bronchitis, a split pelvis and rheumatism and had only had an hysterectomy 9 weeks earlier, but he could not care less, and said I would have to struggle up the stairs until Thursday, (we arrived on Saturday.)

The room was a total shambles - if you have booked for this hotel DO NOT GO ON THE FOURTH FLOOR- YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!! We had one filthy itchy blanket with no sheets,one pillow with no pillow case, and slept on a kind of sofa. The room was freezing and we were kept awake all night with cars zooming up and down the road. The cooker didn't work and the fridge had a hole in the top and was very rusty!!!!

We had to keep complaining- to which we got weird smirks!! Thus going up and down the stairs and ending up breathless and in agony!!! I phoned the 24 hour hot line, who said I should be moved, but I was made to wait until Thursday.

The pool is very small, and there is just a very little reception and no entertainment room to speak of really. We sat there one night and kept getting kids bouncing balls and running round us because there is nowhere for them to run around, so we did not go again.

It is about 20-30 mins walk to the 'Strip' and 15 mins walk to the old town.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Gail Gibb
12 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from the Quinta da Bellavista and would not return again the staff except 2 the british guy and one of the bar men were very rude and not at all helpful.

The rooms were basic but clean however we had to buy our own loo rolls as they never provided enough. The maids never gave enough time to answer the door before they barged into the room if we apporached the owner we were met with hands in the air and " i don't want to know".
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

CDNP
13 years 6 months ago
We stayed in a self catering studio apartment just opposite the reception which you had to cross a busy road to get to.

The apartment was very basic and could have been more updated as the furniture and appliances were very old.

The beds were in the main entrance as you opened the door, so the noise from every door in the building could be heard and would sometimes shake the building. The walls were not very soundproof.

The location was good as it was 15 minutes away from the New Town and 10 minutes from the Old Town which was great for both.

The staff were very friendly, kind and relaxed with all of the guests. They spoke good english and were always welcoming.

Entertainment was okay, not the best but as above, the staff were very nice in the entertainment they gave.

I wouldn't visit this again as the slamming of doors constantly through the night is too much.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mike
13 years 7 months ago
Contrary to Martins comments we found the apartment great. The staff were entertaining, fiendly, helpful and spoke excellent english. The room was clean spacious and well facilitated.

The location is ideal. The Quinta is located between the old and new towns and is out of the hussle and bustle so is quiet at night. We got this holiday cheap off eBay and couldnt have asked for more.

If you want a simple but spot on self catering appartment then this is the one for you. A+++++++++++

We would go back, Thanks to all the staff...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TUI

Recommended
Aaaaaa
13 years 8 months ago
We have stayed at these apartments on more than 1 occassion...apartments are located on the oppostie side of the road to the pool and bar area.

What can I say, all the staff are great and the 2 co-owners are so friendly and helpful.. and the bar staff as well.. they make everbody feel welcome and try to get everybody involved...

The local bar next door is really good to drink in BT can get a bit noisy at weekend with the locals...

I will keep coming back here for as long as I feel the need....its just great..

You get what you pay for .. a basic self catering holdiay with no frills!!! If you want 5 star luxury go somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Martin
13 years 11 months ago
We booked a "deal of of the day" featured on Thomas Cook TV. Under 600 for the 3 of us.

On arriving the weather was awful, raining and cold. However, we were pleased to be located on a ground floor facing the pool, a result...or so i thought.. We did not have beds, we had to sleep on sofa beds. my bed was close to the door so i could hear every car that passed the apartments and then i was awoke each morning by the cleaner having a fight with the security door at 6 am without fail.

My lad was taken by the cats that hung around the balcony and fed them each time i turned my back, this stopped when on about the third day a ginger cat attacked him, scratched and broke his skin on his arm (I think that cat knew I had bad intentions for him as he stayed away after that).

To attempt to make the most of the holiday we mixed with other people in the apartments who were friendly.Numerous times I attempted to make conversation with the Portuguese chap who owned the apartments only to be blanked or grunted at on several occassions. The only time he cheered up was when his friends/relatives came over one lunch time to celebrate Porto reaching the Champions League final, needless to say that when this happened the holiday makers staying in the apartments were ignored when they required serving.

I was glad to be getting home as I was beginning to wonder what It would be like to throttle the owner... To cap it all off my partner took ill on the plane home and i took ill a day later.. we were both diagnosed with Salmonella poisoning, mainly caused i am told by food being cooked while doors are open (anyone who's stayed here knows that happens) I did attempt to appoint a solicitor on my return only to be told that in view that i only paid 600 pound any compensation would be minimal.

The area directly outside the hotel,the supermarket car park, was frequented by drug users who were shooting up openly,they also slept on the steps outside the supermarket. The actual old town of Albufeira was beautiful and the section along fishermans beach was very scenic. The Algarve can be quite stunning...but do yourself a favour...give this place a miss.

<font color=blue>EDIT: Martin ... unless you have spoken to a solicitor specialising in travel law, you may like to seek further advice.

Holiday-Truth.com has teamed up with Ros Fernihough, a highly experienced travel law solicitor, to provide the best information and advice available on holiday related problems. If you would like help or assistance with the problems which you have raised, Ros may be contacted directly during office hours on 01922 621114 for free impartial holiday advice.

Holiday-Truth.com does not receive any payment for referrals made to solicitors.

Regards
HT Review Team</font>
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum