Image of Tropical Sol Apartments

Tropical Sol Apartments

17 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
4 stars
Rua Natalia Correia, 11, Areias de S. Joao, 8200-285 Albufeira, Portugal

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Andrew
Excellent pool area
6 years 4 months ago
Good points:
Friendly staff;
Buffet breakfast for 5 euros;
Clean pool;
Excellent pool bar with good food and drinks at very reasonable prices - cheaper than outside complex.

Room for improvement:
Cleaning - apartment was spotless on arrival, cleaned daily and towels changed however could be more thorough eg. one day mopped half the floor.

Apartment size not made clear - not all studios are same design or size as pictures. Rooms 0014 along to 0010 are very small compared to the others and dark

Beds - Uncomfortable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
The Tropical Sol apartments are good value,clean and comfortable,The one bedroom apartments have a reasonably sized bedroom with twin beds, a dressing table and built in wardrobe and although a little dated are OK. the kitchen is small but adequate with all the equipment needed, electric kettle,microwave,two ring electric hob, however it is unsuitable for cooking anything other than basic meals as there is no oven.The lounge is very spacious with two armchairs,sofa(which converts to two single beds)dining table and four chairs. There is a television which gets BBC1,BBC2,ITV1 and a couple of news channels.The bathroom has a four piece suite and a shower over the bath, towels are plentiful and changed often.there is a hairdryer and there were also complimentary soap,shampoo and shower gel on arrival. All apartments face the pool which is large.there are plenty of sunbeds (so no need to reserve with towels at the crack of dawn)and a poolside snack bar which serves a good selection of food however be prepared for a long wait, our breakfast took a good 45 minutes to arrive even though it wasnt very busy. the location of the apartments is pretty good, a 15 minute walk to the strip with all its bars, passing several restaurants on the way. There is a good bakery and a couple of decent suprmarkets nearby.This was our second visit to the Tropical Sol and there have been a few changes since last year, there is no longer a courtesy bus to the old town(Taxi costs approx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Booked independently

Recommended
Wendy Bridgens
9 years ago
We have just returned from these apartments and they are fantastic for families.We stayed in a one bed apartment overlooking the pool.The apartment itself has everything you need to self cater.The only thing I think could do with changing is the sofa bed in the lounge.If there were four then one person would be almost on the floor but we were a party of three so we were ok.The rep Claire is lovely and the young lady on reception was lvely too.The location is great only about 10 mins to strip and there is a courtsey bus to old town twice a day.
I would return again and recomend these apartments to others in the future.
Wendy
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Angela O'Driscoll
9 years 3 months ago
Excellent apartments, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, very spacious living room 2 good sized bedrooms 1 bathroom, shower over the bath and 1 shower room. All rooms were very spacious. Rooms are cleaned every day except Sunday with towels changed, bedding changed twice during the 2 week stay. Apartment is just a short 5 min work to middle of the strip, though there are a number of shortcuts that lead towards the bottom/beach end of the strip. Most rooms have a decent sized balcony but would highly recommend asking for a pool side apartment as these had there own sunbeds, unfortunaely we didnt have this, but only a minor point. Would highly recommend these apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
DONNA O DOHERTY
9 years 4 months ago
We were supposed to stay in the sister hotel brisa sol but were changed at the last minute. Fab apts spotless, sunloungers on the terrace like sofas. had an apt that led straight to the pool.Poolbar food fine. entertainment only on a sun night. karaoke style.marco in bar couldnt be more helpful. large beer 2 euro, magners or gin and tonic 3 euros. had 10 days never saw a cloud, last 4 cloudy and wet.Reception helpful. Tv had bbc & itv.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: AIRTOURS

Recommended
Cizzy
10 years 10 months ago
we loved it here,the 2bedded apa
rtment was massive,2 bathrooms,very clean and a good pool view on the 1st floor.didnt find the reception staff all that friendly but the couple in the hotel bar were very friendly.brits abroad will love it here cos you get gmtv on the tv!!!!
The snack bar was brill for a bite to eat and the lady who owned it was lovely and food was great for lunch.
The pool was clean and an ace diving board, gardens cleaned every eve and washed down in the morning.
Position was great for us as it was a lovely 20min walk to the old town/square.
we were not keen on the strip(10min walk)however, we loved to eat in liza's resturant and to say ello to mr.popcorn man.for a family of 4 go for the 2bedroomed apartment,3 x air con units,needed it as not a cloud in the sky all week-we loved it and will go back again to these good quailty apartments
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Flying Penguins
11 years 1 month ago
On the GOOD side, spotlessly clean rooms, maid service 6 times a week, good location, near enough to the strip but far enough away to be potentially peaceful, great pool bar service and food and drink, nice grounds and swimming pool, great bakery around the corner for fresh bread and cakes. On the BAD side, all sunbeds reserved by 7:30am, only 102 for 76 rooms, some families reserving 10 at a time and not arriving until lunchtime, other occasions saw 4 reserved and not used until 4:30 and another 4 not used at all, apparently external guests are allowed to come in as well
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Linda Johnson
11 years 3 months ago

Hotel is really lovely and clean.

We had a studio. All studios are on the ground floor and they all look over the pool the apartments overlook the pool as well. The studios are really big, lovely patio area with table and4 chairs + 2 sun loungers with mattresses. We didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel city

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
This Hotel is clean and staff very friendly apartment are a good size and very spacious, rooms are cleaned daily, and the hotel is only 5 mins walk to the strip.

The only problem was that there was three apartments broken into while guests slept in their beds, and had personal belongings stolen as well as their passports. Hotel security is very poor and no guards patrol at night which is unbelievable considering the resort is in the grip of a crimewave. We slept with the lights on at night and put furnishings up against the doors to ensure our own safety as the hotel would not up its security by putting security guards on at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

The Mastertons
12 years 1 month ago
We were very impressed with our hotel, the rooms were very spacious and we had a balcony overlooking the pool. We were on the first floor but luckily had nobody above us either. We were in room 101 which we did find to be quite noisy at night but we soon got used to that and it was never a problem. We had not intended to eat in the apartment so did not pay any attention to the utensils provided but were very impressed with the welcome pack that appeared after a few hours, unfortunately we discovered this on our return from the supermarket with our own essentials anyway!!! The rooms were cleaned out every day and the beds made up for us which was a welcome sight after coming back after a long day at the beach, clean towels every day if needed too.

We never stayed in the hotel to make use of their entertainment at night so cannot comment on that.

The hotel staff were very polite and friendly, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.

The location was perfect to walk to the strip each night and we ate out every night, our favourite restaurant was the Grill Room or Grill House, even though you had to wait a while (sometimes up to an hour and a half) for your meal to come as it is prepared fresh as you order, we found it well worth the wait. On my birthday, and our last day of the holiday, we went there and the chef produced a bottle of champagne for us on the house which was a very nice touch and just ended the holiday nicely.....!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum