Image of Algarve Casino Hotel

Algarve Casino Hotel

2 of 10 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
5 stars
Av. Tomás Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, 8500-802 Portimão, Portugal
With a location right on the beachfront, the Hotel Algarve Casino boasts impressive views of the sea and as its name suggests its very own casino.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ray And Carol
10 years 2 months ago
Hotel in excellent position, staff friendly and helpful, lovely and clean if dated

Bathroom was plenty big enough with complementary bath robes

Sea view room is a must, pool areas very good with plenty of sunbeds, no music around the pool which made a pleasant change, very relaxing

The casino show quite good not enough people in audience to do it justice 10 euros with complementary drink of you choice. The casino itself do not get busy until after 1am

Steps lead down from the hotel to the lovely beach

When we come back will only use this hotel definitely a 5 star hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Gary ,sue, Chris &mandy
10 years 5 months ago
Lovely clean, well run hotel. Excellent views.

Staff made us feel like royalty they were all very friendly and could not do enough for us.

The only complaint was the background music played throughout the hotel. It was awful, it is played all day every day.

Would go back to this hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelrepublic

Recommended
11 years ago
When we first arrived at the Algarve Casino we were very impressed, the reception area of the hotel is very modern but the rooms are VERY dated and not at all as they are shown on the website. I went to reception to ask if we could change rooms and explained why and the staff were totally unhelpful and quite rude, 1 in particular! The main areas of the hotel, pool areas are lovely and definitely worth the 5 stars though, there are loads of sunbeds and the hotel provide towels for your use (at the pool or on the beach, of which there is a private access to).

The breakfast in the hotel was lovely, a good selection and we ordered room service a few times and that was lovely too.

There isnt a fridge or kettle in the rooms, i know it's a hotel but any hotels we've stayed in before have at least had this, you're actually not supposed to take any food or drinks not purchased from the hotel, into your room, which if you are staying for 2 weeks, is unreasonable. There is a minibar, which as expected is quite expensive.

If staying at this hotel, you should definitely book a seaview room, the beach on PDR is gorgeous.

The casino is ok, we went on a sturday night, expecting it to be busy but there were less than 10 people in there so not much of an atmosphere. You need your passports to get in and there's a 5euro charge pp as well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
John Strachan
11 years 1 month ago
Excellent hotel right on the beach. Very clean and totally faultless overall. Rooms were cleaned before lunch-time each day and sea view was amazing. Pool was large and very quiet even though sunloungers were always busy...but not too busy. Kids pool was slightly away from main pool so lots of quiet if you need it. Great restaurant / snack bar which we had lunch in most days. Very reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. Hotel also gives you clean beach towels, free of charge, each day. No exchange cost on euro travellers cheques. Many native Portugese use this hotel but good mix of Scottish / English / Irish / German / American etc. It kind of felt like you were in the 'Hilton' of Portugal. Most def the best Hotel in Rocha. We had family staying in 4star Jupiter and although that was clean, the difference was very noticable. Top hotel. We will certainly stay no where else when we return to the Algarve.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Tracy And Michael Tomlinson
11 years 2 months ago
2 Adults and 2 teenage girls, the hotel was perfect, the rooms very clean, i did feel sorry for the maid having to clean the girls room as it was a bomb site. All the staff very helpful and always said hello. The pool area was so peaceful as the childrens pool was slightly away from the main pool. The beach was to die for and the view from the balcony was amazing. The road outside could be a little noisy with people but i soon got used to it. I will certainly be going back again as i have never had such a relaxing holiday. You must have a massage in the hotel spa, the man that does the massage has the most relaxing hands!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: late deals

Recommended
James Cameron
11 years 9 months ago
The room was rather dated but clean. As a 5***** hotel could have done with tea/coffee makeing facilities in room.

Had a sea view room (brilliant sunsets)over looking fab beach.I was on the first floor and patio doors would not lock, there was a roof below which could be used to enter room through said doors.

Air conditioning unit not working and very dated.

The staff could not do enough for you which made for a pleasant stay.

Would only use this hotel again if stuck for somewhere else to stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Andy
11 years 11 months ago
Excellent hotel

Recommend requesting seaview room - worth every penny

Visited in September, weather still great, plenty of sun-beds etc for everyone. Really helpful staff.

Would recommend to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Recommended
Carol
12 years 5 months ago
Superb hotel although a little dated, was immaculate.

Staff brilliant

Going again this April
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Recommended
C Brown
13 years 1 month ago
This hotel is in a fantastic location, just a few steps and you are on one of the best beaches I have ever seen.
We were lucky to have a large room with a huge balcony in the "Annex" part of the hotel. Its only four floors but if you can get on the 3rd or 4th floor in the centre area, you wake up to brilliant views of the beach, sea and to the left the bustle of the marina.
The food was excellent, the restuarant run by a highly professional maitre'd, although he did look a bit fiercesome ( my son was rather scared !)he was friendly and helpful.
As the casino formed much of the entertainment, apart from that poor pianist who played to nobody most nights.
My only gripe is that the resort of Praia de Rocha needs lots of upgrading and investment. We would not go back for that reason but would return again and again to the hotel and that beach .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Recommended
The Scotts
13 years 8 months ago
The family stayed in Hotel Casino Algarve, the party ranged in age from 2 to 93! We all had an excellent time and could not fault the hotel or staff. They were always pleased to provide high chairs and hot milk and granny was treated like a queen!! Rooms were beautiful and the maids done an excellent job and were always smiling when you bumped into them. Reception staff were also always helpful and the gala dinner we attended on Hogmanay was excellent! Food and drink flowed all night and was topped by a spectacular fireworks display on the beach at Midnight.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum