Image of Jupiter Hotel

Jupiter Hotel

5 of 10 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Av. Tomaz CabreiraPraia da Rocha, 8500-802 Portimão, Portugal

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Everything was close by
6 years 8 months ago
After a 2 and a half hour transfer to the hotel we were happy to find a large clean, cool reception area, where we were very efficiently checked in and directed to the lifts. A porter took our cases up separately.

We booked and got a side sea view room, and from the 2nd floor could see the sea and beach to our right , and the cruise port and river to our left.

The room was spotlessly clean, and everything worked efficiently. Basic toiletries provided- shower gel, soap, shower cap, and these were replenished daily. The hairdryer in the bathroom was quite efficient. We had to go back to reception to find out about the safe- 30 euros for lock and key, 20 of these refundable on checking out. We only heard late night noises on one occasion; the resort was pretty quiet after midnight.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast, but the hot food wasn't of the best quality, and never hot enough. The fresh fruit, and homemade bread with honey was a nice alternative though.

We ate in the hotel 2 evenings. Not a lot of choice of main dishes, again these were lukewarm, but the soup was tasty and hot, and the dessert section had plenty of delicious choices.

The hotel owns the next door Hotel Rocha, so the pool area, restaurant and bar are shared with guests from that hotel. In the evenings it gets very busy on the hotel terrace, especially from about 10.30pm. The same duo play and sing (in Portuguese) every night, and attract a lot of spectators and Portuguese people who love to dance. It created a very nice atmosphere, but a change would have been welcome for one night.

The staff were mainly friendly, helpful and efficient throughout the hotel.

We thought the hotel was in a great situation, which was the main reason we had booked it. Everything you could want was within 50 yards. There are several steps up from the beach, think I counted 30.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ann
Not impressed
6 years 11 months ago
Hotel reception very clinical and cold a bit like the staff especially the reception staff, only nice members of staff were the maids they were very friendly.

Paid for a side sea view room cost nearly 100 euros extra for it, got room 711 .You have to hang half your body over the balcony ( not very safe to do on the 7th floor) to get a view of the sea what a waste of money.

Only ate breakfast at the hotel that was bad enough, it was the same every morning tinned mushrooms, powdered scrambled egg, half cooked fried egg, mini frankfurters, beans and tomatoes, tinned fruit and cereal. The coffee was the only good thing about breakfast with a great choice from the beverage machine.

Just as well there was a lovely beach because at the hotel pool there were only about 50 sun loungers most of them were broken and as the hotel had a capacity of over 300 guests it was very hard to lie by the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Great holiday and would go back
7 years 7 months ago
Arrived on the Saturday, after a 2 hour coach transfer from Faro. Checked in only to be told our room wouldn't be ready for another 30 minutes. Was a little bit annoyed about this, as it was 2:35p.m.! However couldn't be bothered arguing the toss as we had been on the go since 1 in the morning. Got to the room and was really surprised at how clean it was, compared to other hotel rooms we have stayed in. Another plus was the LCD TV. The mattresses on the beds were surprisingly firm. Which suited us perfectly. Also the beds were a reasonable size for singles.

Breakfast was not too bad. As other people pointed out the sausages are mini hotdogs, so unless you like them stay away. The bacon was streaky and well cooked, mushrooms perfect, scrambled and fried eggs were cooked.

Didn't try the pool as we don't lay by the pool all day when there is a beautiful beach just across the road and down 3 million [or so it seems on the way back] steps away. However we did notice that the other residents, Brits, Irish, Germans did put towels on the sun loungers and disappear for hours, and no one on the hotel staff seemed to care.

The Maids, do a brilliant job. Our towels were changed every day. Sheets changed every other day. On one of the days we didn't need the room serviced, so just asked for fresh towels. No problem to the maid.

As we were in one of the rooms without a balcony, we were very surprised at the amount of noise on the first night. At the back of the hotel is a night club, that stays open till 3 a.m. and it is very loud. Especially if you leave the windows open. Simple answer close window put air conditioning on. Other noise mainly consisted of the plumbing. It seemed that if someone flushed the toilet anywhere in the hotel, you could hear it.

As others have written, the entertainment consists of 2 guys. One with a guitar, and one on the Synthesiser. Both are good, and for the main age group [over 50's] that is in the hotel it was ideal. Quite a few of the people who were in the bar whilst they were on, were up and dancing. We weren't one of the couples, as I have 2 left feet.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Jupiter. We don't think it's a 4 star though.

Would we stay again? YES. However I would prefer a room at the front of the hotel, so that at night we could sit on the balcony, and watch the world go by. If that wasn't available we would still go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stuart Mcfarlane
7 years 9 months ago
We were delayed for 3 hours due to fueling problems when we eventually got there it was a further 1 and a half hour drive to the Jupiter! Staff were friendly but someone stole 2 pairs of my diesel boxer shorts 2 days in so was pretty mad about that. Also we found the food terrible we had to eat out for the 6 nights the fresh rolls and hams and cheeses were nice for breakfast but the hot dog sausages were swimming in brine and the eggs were not cooked! I stayed at the casino hotel 2 minutes up the road last year and it is years ahead of this one and not much dearer.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Michael
9 years 8 months ago
just back from 5 days in the algrave what a great hotel clean fab location the staff were very helpful in everyway entertainment every nite by the pool some great salsa dancing didnt try the food cause too many reataurants and bars.for a nice relaxing break i would def go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Hotel Jupiter is a four star hotel located ideally roughky in the middle of the main strip of Praia Da Rocha. The rooms, pool area, reception, restaurant & all other areas were very clean.

The choice of breakfast was excellent. It was buffet style & you had a choice of bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, scrambled eggs, cereals, hot milk, cold milk, four types of bread & rolls, juices (not fresh), coffee, cappucino, various teas, fresh fruits & tinned fruits.

Our room was a fair size, had a safe (paid locally), mini-bar & the bathroom was very clean. The decor was good & air conditioning is free.

All the staff we spoke to were friendly & helpfull. The hotel had entertainment every evening. It has its own restaurant & gym. The pool side was clean & sun beds were available.

If I returned to Praia Da Rocha I would stay here again specially for the price I paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Karen Willis
9 years 10 months ago
Just arrived home from a fab trip to Algarve. We chose this hotel because of its closeness to the beach and bars. We were not disappointed! The hotel is beautiful - very clean, opposite the gorgeous beach and right and the end of the 'strip'. We paid extra whilst booking for a front sea view. And what a view!! The room was spacious, with a big balcony overlooking the pool. Air conidioning is very powerful, quiet and FREE!! There was plenty of wardrobe space and a light airy bathroom with shower. We used to mini bar for a fridge, although the drinks inside were very reasonably priced (1.5euros for a soft drink, beer, water). We paid 10 euros to use to safety deposit box which is inside the wardrobe. The pool was kept very clean, and we never had trouble securing a sun lounger. We only got up for breakfast once - we are later morning eaters, and it was very nice - plenty of choice. We will definately be going here again!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Paul
10 years 7 months ago
Arrived early saturday morning, although we did not get the rooms booked(Side Sea View)we were happy with and accepted the rooms we were given.
Just after unpacking the hotel manager came up to our rooms (3) and said we could change the next day (almost insisted)to just across the corridor which we did the next day.
The rooms were recently decorated and clean and tidy, cleaned every day, the buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from.
The reception staff were very helpful with everything
and the bar staff although they did not understand us every time were friendly enough.
The road in front of the hotel is now pedestrianised,which makes it a lot quieter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Recommended
Mountford
10 years 11 months ago
Although the roadworks outside the hotel were unwelcome (we were advised by travel company 2 weeks before travelling but still went anyway) they were due to be finished on 31/May 2007.

The ideal location for the beach overided the road works plus the hotel staff were brilliant the hotel entertainment left a lot to be desired and the swimming pool did not cater for children or youngsters,also sun beds were in short supply it was always clean and tidy.

Internet access was a shortcoming for a modern hotel, yet phone services were excellant,rooms were airy and bright the sea view(extra cost)were to die for well worth the extra.

Will certainly be able to recommend this hotel and will be returning in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum