Image of Vila Rosa Apartments

Vila Rosa Apartments

3 of 10 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
3 stars
Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portuga

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Antony
Budget price but it had everything we needed
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed in the Vila Rosa Apartments booked through Ola and we couldn’t have made a better choice, it was as cheap as chips real budget price but had everything we needed or wanted.

It had a few swimming pools some busier than others but we didn’t mind and there was a snack bar so you didn’t need to get dressed to find lunch. It’s also only a short walk to local bars, restaurants and shops.

For me the main thing was there was ALWAYS hot water, whatever time of day you wanted it.

Apartment basic but for self-catering it had equipment to cook a simple meal although we ate out most evenings and made our lunch in the apt.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Chris Morritt
8 years 11 months ago
Having read mixed reviews,my missus and i were a bit apprehensive,especially as we only paid a bargain bucket type price....what a pleasant surprise!...not sure if we were just lucky,but lote 4,room 205 was so roomy,clean and comfortable.basic self catering facilities,but we budget to eat out mostly on hols ,so not a problem for us.I guess it depends which lotte you stay in,but occasional(not every day,and not constant by any means dog barking,really didnt bother us at all),the pools were great,a little cold ,but you soon got used to it,the staff were all pleasant and friendly,and the lottes are set in a beautifully maintained gardens,with plenty of greenery about,we went at virtually the end of the season,so no entertainment to comment on.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Beachcollection.co.uk

Recommended
Sarah
9 years 1 month ago
Ive just got back from this complex and I think your enjoyment really depends on which 'lote' you are in. We were in lote 4 room 204 - not great.

To start with the positives, the grounds were spotless and well maintained and the apartment was cleaned every day apart from one in the week we were there. The main pool area was nice and the pool clean and not too busy. the staff were helpful & polite.

But, the lote we were in was terrible. You could hear everything, and I mean everything from the rooms nextdoor - toilet habits, tv viewing, night time 'activities', chairs moving.... thats when the noise wasnt being drowned out by dogs barking! On more than one night there were loud parties going on in the block. The entrance to the lote is grim too - graffiti (key scraping) on the door to the lift and its dark and generally unwelcoming. The apartment was very basic - just a 4 ring hob & toaster and theres not much space to store food. there was no air conditioning and the satelite tv was bbc1 / cbbc / cnn / sky news. The bed was 2 camp beds and te pillows were filled with what appeared to becotton balls. Funny smell in th place too.

There are at least 400 apartments, not the 100 - 200 ive seen advertised. the place consists of holiday apartments mainly owned by the Portugese, there only semed to be a few holiday lets.

We were the only thomas cook people there and on two occasions we wen to see the rep, they werent there.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Nicky
9 years 2 months ago
My partner and I came here for our 1st holiday together and had a fabulous time. The complex was immaculate, grounds were beautiful and a pleasure to be in. We were self catering but ate at the on site cafeteria a couple of times which was spot on. We stayed in a studio in the main block with a lovely pool view. Accomodation was basic but clean and pleasant enough. There is an abundance of facilities here to keep everyone happy and all in all this seemed to be an ideal holiday base, however, I agree with some of the other reviews regarding the dogs. To be honest we were'nt really bothered by them at first, we didn't hear them too much from our 'lote' but we were walking home one night and a big angry looking one had escaped from it's yard (the complex is next to a residential area) and ran towards us barking at us. My partner wasn't bothered by it but I was and would imagine if I had panicked and screamed I might have been bitten. Everynight after that we were walking right round to the other side of the complex to avoid walking past them. I do feel bad saying I would'nt return there after having such a lovely holiday but I think we got lucky with the 'lote' we were in and wouldn't risk being in some of the others. Shame really.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Davis Family
9 years 3 months ago
The Hotel was clean and the staff were really friendly the location was abit disappointing with the view that we had. We had the dogs on our view from the balcony and the block of appartments which wernt nice looking the electric gate under our room. And also had to struggle to fit a small pram in the lift with 1 person real squezze!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
We are just home to-day from the Villa Rosa after a fabulous week.All the staff there were great' very friendly and helpful.
Our appartment was b11(by the small swimming pool), it was spacious and very clean and we didn't hear any barking dogs from there , that is until yesterday when we went to reception and the main pool area, we couldn't believe the noise they made, and so thankful that our appartment was on the other side.
We will certainly return there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Joyce
9 years 10 months ago
We like the Clube VilaRosa. It was in a good position for Praia De Rocha Beach, but further than I expected, after reading previous reviews. It was across a road, down a road, under a bridge, up some steps, then up a hill. Worth it though, once arriving. It was wide, full of caves to explore, and beautiful soft almost white sand. I swam in the sea in October, was cold at first, but soon got used to it. The staff at Vilarosa were very friendly and helpful, every one of them!! Didn't like the dogs barking though during the day. Couldn't get a proper siesta in the bedroom for that! There was a pool right outside our balcony window, a small one, but very handy. Also, orange tree in the garden, lots of little cats to feed. The gardens were beautiful, full of lavender, and other plants I don't know the names of. It was very handy for the motorway, just up the road, and we walked into Portimao from there, about 1/2 an hours walk. You definitely need your insect repellent if sitting outside. The restaurant was great, all you can eat from a delicious buffet for 9.60 euros. The waiters were friendly and helpful, and I loved the Sicilian Lemonade made by Roberto, the head waiter. He as very friendly, and we felt at home as soon as we arrived, very hungry!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: RCI

Recommended
Miss Young
9 years 11 months ago
Vila Rosa could not have been a better choice of apartments for us. I have been in a couple of others in Praia da Rocha and none quite as nice. The apartment itself was fine, basic although it had a electric kettle and an iron which was good. It was more the grounds of the place I was so happy with. There was a large pool area which was lovely but I thought was a bit busy so we stayed around the third quieter pool area which was beautiful. It was right outside our room and had its own bar, snacks and toilets. There were a few grass areas which was great for my 8year old boy to play about on.

The food that was available was lovely. The main bar did your normal pizzas, toasties, chips etc for a reasonable price. The hotels restaurant was fantastic. It was an buffet for 6.50euros at lunch and 9.50 in the evenings. Plenty of options for all the family.

The only one complaint I had was probably with the company I booked through. It had advertised a children's club and turns out they no longer have one. I my case it was fine as my little boy ended up in the pool all day.

We are definitely going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Shirley Podmore
10 years 10 months ago
On arrival we were booked into Lot 4 room 104 away from the dogs but could still hear them continiously - what a mess this was - the showerhead was full on muck - the casing over the bathroom mirror was broken and wires were open to the elements - the light bulb must have been 10watt cause you couldn't see beyond your hand - the view from the balcony was piece of waste land.

Complained to the management as no rep available at the time of booking in - they stated I would have to wait till 4.30pm before could speak to hotel management for possible move as hotel fully booked up - it was now 1.30pm - they approached me again at 2pm and moved us to another room which I found out belonged to the hotel in another block overlooking quiet pool with all the mod cons and a magnificent view.

Sofa bed in the living room and 1 bedroom with single beds - mod kitchen with microwave, toaster and oven
Nice decor and well presented.

This compensated for the first room as if we had had to stay there it would have spoilt our holiday.

Didnt expect a palace for the price we paid however expected cleanliness and safety.

Thomas Cook need to update some of their accomodation in this hotel.

The complex itself was good and the kids club even though ended part way through the week due to end of season was enjoyed by my 7 year old son.

The pools were clean and due to season you each had a sunbed to use.

The pools were cold however once in felt ok
Would definitely visit this complex again however only if we could have a hotel apartment as these were far superior than the Thomas Cook block.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 10 months ago
Just a few tips for those who have been here. If you book direct with VilaRosa you will probably get an apartment that is in the timeshare block. The accomodation here is much better and much quieter. The tineshare people now rent out the ones that are not sold and they are a real catch.

We stayed here last in 2007 and had Apt A-02 which is a two bedroom with nice lounge with patio doors to the small garden, nice bathroom and decent kitchen. The main bedroom also had doors to the garden and it was a real suntrap in the afternoon. It was also near the smaller and much quieter pool which had it's own 'Tropical Bar'.

VilaRosa itself is well kept and the staff are superb - all of them! It's a short walk (1/2 mile) to the beach and we didn't have a problem with the hill altough I could understand the elderly, those with kids and the infirmed having a problem with it.

The beach is one of the best I have been to and that includes Fiji, Australia, Florida and Thailand, as it not only has great sand but has a great walkway which goes all the way to the new marina (built around 2005 I think) and has bars and restaurants every few hundred yards. The surf can be pretty good as well if you like a wave or two:)

Portimao is great for taking the missus shopping and there are some nice little places to eat and drink. We tended to walk it in around 20-30 mins once we knew the best way to go.

All in all a great place to holiday - especially if you get an apartment in the timeshare section of the complex.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum