Image of Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel

Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel

5 of 12 hotels in Vilamoura

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Tivoli Lote H5, 8125-410, Portugal
This charming hotel with its upmarket appeal and high standards is a good choice for couples and families. It is well situated on the edge of the Vilamoura marina with its beach, shops, bars and restaurants.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
WJ M
8 years ago
second year we have returned to this hotel, and again it was wonderful, great location, very clean, relaxing and with helpfull staff. The only reason we will be booking a different hotel for next year is that all our favourite places to eat and go out are in the Olympus Hotel building, so no distance to get to bed!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Hodson
9 years 8 months ago
We do not accept reviews posted from the country the hotel is in.

Travel operator: self book

Recommended
Hallsy
10 years 6 months ago
though staff were a little silent, we'll take that as language barrier! Food was ok, location was superb though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the superior suites overlooking the marina. The suite itself was beautifully laid out, extremely spacious, although the kitchen area would have benefited from having an electric socket as there was a toaster there, although no kettle.

The balcony was fantastic, great to just spend the afternoon in the hot tub. We were on the top floor and a couple of the afternoons it did get a bit too windy to lie on the sun loungers.

We were there on a bed and breakfast basis, not a huge selection in the cooked buffet, cereals were very poor, and were not UK name brands, got a bit boring after a couple of weeks but the orange juice, breads and pastries were always very good.

Entertainment in the evening was OK if you were just wanted background music so that you could just chat.

The staff were excellent, could not do enough to help and their English was very good.

We do agree with a previous posting, there is not enough leaflets in the reception area of what is available around the area, but again the reception staff were always happy to advise.

We would definitely go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Helen
10 years 8 months ago
The hotel rooms were cleaned every day. Any extra bedding requested was in the room the next day.
Only had breakfast, which had plenty of choice except for the eggs - it was always scrambled. Fresh fruit juice was lovely.
The hotel is well located for the shops bars and beach.
Hotel staff very helpful when asked for local information re buses, ordering taxis.
Would have been useful if more information was on the desk for you to read so you did'nt have to ask all the time. ie when local markets were on.
Use of internet was free and we used this to find information.
Entertainment was the same man each night on an organ, ok for background music when he did'nt sing, not very good if you didn't want to go out, but this didn't affect us as we went out every night to eat.

As usual you had to put your towels for the sunbeds by the pool, probably by 9am at the latest. Some people were iritated by this and when they complained the lifeguard did walk round to try and find any spare ones.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Angie
10 years 11 months ago
Cannot fault this hotel on its cleanliness or location, the food could be improved but when you are catering en-mass its difficult. Staff were very polite but the entertainment was minimal, but with so many other places to go it was not a problem. We would return as its a good central base.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
Young
12 years 10 months ago
Good Hotel, Good Location.
Fully Recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Palmair/Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years 11 months ago
The hotel has a good location,close to the Marina but not front line.

The staff were all very helpful and seemed well trained and the managers were always on hand.

The rooms were fine, like most hotels the beds were on the hard side, but that is not unusual, they have a balcony that can fit a table and two chairs (just).

We were on a b+b basis, there is plenty of fresh fruit and cereals plus English breakfast although they have scrambled eggs and if you want fried or boiled you have to ask for them.

The biggest gripe here is for any sun worshippers, there is a very limited amount of sunbeds and the hotel sunbathing area is very small with a number of trees that obstruct sunbathing, we were here in early May when the hotel is far from full and we had problems getting a decent spot, so it must be mayhem in the height of summer.

Overall the hotel had more plusses than minusses and I would give it 7 out of 10, but I've also stayed at the Tivoli Marinotel which is next door and that is far better in every department.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
Rachael
13 years ago
We stayed at the Dom Pedro Marina. On arrival we were told that we would be upgraded to a suite, a good start to the holiday.

Staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was buffet style, and there was excellent choice, especially if you are vegetarian, there was plenty of choice, my husband opted for full cooked breakfast, whilst I opted for a fruit breakfast most mornings, very nice.

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the hotel one bit, it was shining, maid service was daily, and they did a really thorough job.

Entertainment personally was dire! but I guess its down to personal taste, I
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Pippa
14 years 3 months ago
A fantastic hotel in a great area - so close to the marina. Rooms are wonderful - we booked a sea view room and ended up with a suite. Wonderful view to the sea and the balcony got the sun all day. Good entertainment - just a pianist/singer - quite laid back. Intending to return next Jan!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum