Image of Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Vila Gale Marina Hotel

8 of 12 hotels in Vilamoura

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Avenida da Marina Lote 2A, 8125-401, Portugal
Close to the beach and stylish marina, the Vila Gale Marina is a popular choice.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lisa
9 years ago
I had read several reviews and could not make up my mind if I was looking forward to this holiday or not!

I sent several emails to request a high floor as I had read these gave the best views. Finally, the day before we departed I received an email to say they had received my emails and could not promise a room on a high floor.
On arrival we were given a room on the 5th floor and were told that this was the highest floor that was large enough to accommodate the extra bed (for our 13 year old daughter). I do not know if this is true, our room was called a 'junior suite' and I assumed they were on all floors.
When we got to our room the extra bed (a fold up camp bed with a very thin mattress) was placed in the hallway of the room - opposite the bathroom door. Our daughter hated this as she felt like she was sleeping in the corridor! And for this we paid full price for her!
We moved the rugs around, moved all of the furniture and managed to squeeze the bed into the space next to our bed and the balcony doors. I found this hard to believe this was a 'junior suite'.
Once the rugs and furniture was moved there was bits of dirt and dust everywhere. We called down to reception, told them what we had done (which was fine with them) and requested a cleaner. The cleaner came up straight away and cleaned the dirt on the floor and the places that had been dusted around.
I know a lot of people have written that the hotel is ever so clean, but I must be so fussy, as the chambermaid, although a lovely lady, only dusted around things and wiped a sponge around the sink every day. If the light caught some of the dressing table you could see dust lines. Which I eventually cleaned. One day when I was on the balcony, she managed to 'make' the beds and clean the room and bathroom in less than 2 minutes.
The bathroom had an awful smell to it which seemed to be coming from the extractor fan.
We had to ask for more hangers twice as we were given 6 hangers for three of us. Eventually, we managed to get an extra 12 which is reasonable for the amount of clothes 3 people need for two weeks. In addition to the hanging space, there were 3 slim drawers. Not enough storage for 3.

The common areas of the hotel were spotless, as was the pool area.

As I do not sleep in late, there was no problem for me to go down to the pool at 7am and place towels on the sunbeds, I had a nice chat with the pool cleaner each morning! By 8.30am most of the 'good' beds are taken. This comes as a shock when you first arrive. They have notices up everywhere to tell you not to reserve beds, but everyone does.

The pool has shade in each area every day. You worked around it. The area we liked was in shade until 11.30 each morning and that was good for us as we liked to read in the shade after breakfast.

We went B&B. There are so many restaurants in Vilamoura, you should not tie yourself down to hotel food when lots of restaurants are so close by. The breakfast room is quite large but some queues still form if get down at 9.30 or later. Breakfast is available until 10.30 which is fantastic if you like a late morning.
Breakfast is a lovely buffet, offering everything you could wish for. Dirty plates are removed immediately.

The staff are friendly and I cannot imagine why people would say they are rude.

We had lunch just once by the pool area which was a disaster as they got my daughter's order wrong the first time, the second time the chicken was raw, third time was ok but took a further 20 minutes - we decided a simple toasted sandwich in the marina for future lunches would be easier.

The drinks in the hotel were very expensive. I expected this.

The hotel is in a perfect location. The beach is close by as is the marina, which is gorgeous.

I will definitely be going to Vilamoura again, but will go to another hotel as this did not feel like a true 4 star hotel to me. A very good 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Theresa
10 years ago
The Hotel was in a great location, just 2 minutes walk to the Marina and about 5 minutes to the beach. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were done every day. We stayed on a half board basis. Most people staying at this hotel were on B&B so every morning was quite busy, but in the evenings there were probably only about 50 people in the restaurant and the food was really good. It was piping hot, fresh and there was plenty of options. The only thing we were'nt impressed with was the entertainment. Not enough by far during the day and the evening.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Adam Lievesley
10 years 6 months ago
Golfers Paradise.
Have stayed her on several ocasions and is just the job. Rooms are clean and well presented and all overlook the pool / marina. Outdoor pool will certainly wake you up - well cold, but has a little indoor pool that is heated for all you wimps like me.
Breakfast is basic but fills the gap if you are shoting off out early for a round of golf. Nice informal atmosphere in the lobby with liile bar and ample spread out seating.
Two minute walk to all the restaurants and bars that the mrina has to offer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self Booked

Recommended
Paul
10 years 10 months ago
the vila gale marina was spotless, beds were made and towels were changed everyday. we were up early every morning so the restaurant was always quiet and there was always plenty (although the sausages were hot dogs and the bacon very fatty.) that is my only complaint. all in all an excellent base for golfers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunseekers

Recommended
Penny Shaw
12 years 1 month ago
Situated within 100 metres of the marina, the location of this hotel cannot be faulted! The rooms although basic are clean and offer views of the port and the staff offer typical portuguese friendliness.

The food however offered in this hotel was not at the same standard as the above. In a 4 star hotel, I would have expected a wider choice of food with better presentation of it. Unfortunately, breakfast time was like a cattle market with even tea and coffee having to be self service - not a great start to the day when even the coffee machines didn't work and food was not replenished regularly.

The pool area was equally competitive with all sunbeds being covered with towels by 7am every morning! The better option was to hit the beach.

Had I paid for a 2/3 star holiday, I would not have minded the above so much - unfortunately however, I left this hotel feeling slightly conned. Perhaps the grading of this hotel should be lowered.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

C.c.
13 years 1 month ago
We went to the Algarve for the first time and stayed at Vila Gale Marina. We could not fault the hotel itself, however, the evening entertainment was dire.

But the hotel was spotless, and facilities were excellent. There was an in-door pool which was quiet at all times, a Turkish bath (steam room), Jacuzzi, gym, and games room.

The outdoor pool area did get busy during the day, but if you couldn't get a sun-lounger, you could sit at the table and chairs set out just by the pool area.

Breakfasts were really good, wide variety of food, and always hot and items were replenished constantly.

We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel - it was fabulous.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lily
13 years 3 months ago
+ Hotel entrance up steep slope, not ideal for people in wheelchairs etc.
+ Mini fridges can be hired when you book in, cost 2.5 euros per day.
+ No kettles in rooms.
+ Entertainment was poor.
+ Breakfast selection was good, but dining room busy at times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TUI

Tony Lyons
13 years 5 months ago
Vila Gale Marina is well situated in Vilamoura, close to the Marina & beach. Hotel is 'horse-shoe' shaped and our romms were at the 'back of the horse-shoe'overlooking the swimming pool and with good views of the Marina.

Rooms were spacious with good -sized balconies and spotlessly clean. Maid service every day - clean towels & bedding etc. Downside of rooms ... poorly lit, no fridge(mini-bar), TV Channels limited,no tea/coffee making facilities.

Room service excellent though, and staff very helpfull and courteous. Food at the hotel was very good, buffet breakfast, and evening meals are either buffet or 'a la carte' good value.

Indoor pool small and very warm(caps compulsory)outdoor pool good size and freezing, Will probably get warmer into the season. We would certainly use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None, booked direct

Recommended
Brown
13 years 10 months ago
Cannot fault the hotel, apart from the lack of entertainment - which seems to be lacking in the whole of Vilamoura.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: private

Recommended
Adrian
14 years 2 months ago
This hotel was great. The beds are nice with proper sheets that are not sandy, hard and smelly like you usually get in hotels. The staff here are very nice and speak english well. The food is nice, but you do get bored with it after two weeks. didn't stay to watch the evenings shows much, the couple that I did see were more for kids. I would recomend this hotel to families and couples for a low relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum