Image of Tivoli Marinotel Hotel

Tivoli Marinotel Hotel

3 of 12 hotels in Vilamoura

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
5 stars
Apartado 65, 8125-901 Marina Vilamoura, Portugal

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
William A Jacks
9 years 10 months ago
This is truly 5* all the way. We tried not to expect too much and we were not diappointed in any way from the wonderful welcome at Reception to our Room and to everything else which this wonderful hotel has to offer.

the Pool area is spacious and well maintained. Even when there are a lot of people around, you do not get the feeling of being crowded. The staff are always around and very helpful.

The breakfast has a very good choice and again, was nevery particularly crowded. Having an omelette cooked was the quickest I have known in any hotel.

Our room had been recently refurbished and was a delight. It overlooked the pool, beach and sea, but we would have been just as pleased to overlook the marina.

The price of food and drink is what you would expect in a 5* hotel but all beautifully served and presented. All the staff we met were friendly and efficient and I feel I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone

I cannot wait to go back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sovereign

Recommended
Maguire Family
9 years 11 months ago
Just got back from this fabulous hotel and can't wait to go again.

First of all, for a 5* hotel, it didn't have the WOW factor so in my opinion, more like a 4*. However, all areas of the hotel were exceptionally clean.

We had interconnecting rooms on the 9th floor overlooking the marina. The only let down was that the furniture and decor was a bit old fashioned, but we heard whilst there that rooms are being refurbished floor by floor. Bathrooms are spacious with double sinks. Towels and bathrobes provided. As is shampoo, shower gel, soap etc. Wardrobes had plenty of hanging space and drawers and lots of hangers - which makes a change! Maid service twice a day so no complaints on that. Don't buy from the mini bar though - bottle of lager cost 3.60 euros, the same lager can be bought at the supermarket for 57 cents.

Breakfast was fantastic. Never had a problem getting a table, no matter how busy it was. The food choice is excellent. There's cereal, fruit, yoghurts, bread, croissants, full english, toast and much more. The chef makes omelettes to order which were lovely. Tea, coffee, juice, bucks fizz, hot chocolate all available freely.

Pool area was very clean with plenty of sunbeds. No matter what time of day we went to the pool, there were always free beds. Towels for sunbeds are provided so no need to take your own. Waiter service around the pool too which we used quite frequently!

Staff extremely friendly and helpful and speak very good english.

Location of this hotel is superb. The marina on one side with shops, bars and restaurants. A beautiful beach on the other. We ate out every evening and always enjoyed what we had. Can recommend Colombo Restaurant, a short stroll away from the marina, up near the casino. Food and service here excellent. Also Tai Tai, the chinese place was good. The marina does get quite lively at night, but that was ok with us. Didn't see any entertainment at the hotel.

The weather was disappointing as we had cloud and wind most mornings but the sun would pop out for a short time in the afternoon. It did get quite chilly at night. Also take a trip to Zoomarine. We took our boys who went in the Dolphin Interaction Programme. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Overall, we had a great time here and will definitely be returning in the near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Gerry
10 years 4 months ago
we always take a Christmas/New Year Break. This hotel came highly recommended.
We arrived just before New Year. Service seemed good. However, we were on half board and it turned out several restaurants were closed (though we were not advised in advance. Each evening we turned up at restaurants to find that we were directed elsewhere. We ere also offered a very restricted menu.
On New years Eve we had a paid a supplement of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cresta

AC
11 years 7 months ago
As Kirstie and Phil would say .....Location, Location, Location!!! This is what you're paying for. The ability to walk out of the hotel and be confronted by the fabulous marina and the restaurants and bars on your doorstep.

I agree with a previous report, that this is not a 5* hotel, but a good 4*. The reception area gave a clue. It didn't WOW us when we arrived. It was a nice hotel but its definately ready for a refurb.

The staff are pleasant and attentive, but I do like to see waitors round the pool and there was a distinct lack of them! Pool bar was always open and served cold drinks, but call me pampered - I like to have my drinks served to me!! I am on holiday after all.

Breakfast time was busy and it was sometimes difficult to get a table. Food was typical hotel fare and nothing special - although there was always plenty. Its been a long time since I was served tea and coffee at the table - you normally get your own pot!!!

But.....don't let me put you off. The holiday was nice and relaxing and we had no compliants. Everything was clean and staff were polite. It did grow on us as the week past.

The access to the restaurants outside was fantastic as I don't like hunting for somewhere to eat. Someone recommended Il Lampura (think thats the name) - yes, nice - best one in the Marina. Avoid the very contemporary looking chinese (about 4 restaurant from the hotel) - it looks better than it is!!! Beef and Chicken tasted the same!!!!

All in all, an enjoyable week, although if I'm honest, probably won't rush back!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Classic Holidays

Recommended
Patricia
12 years 5 months ago
Booked this hotel through find rooms and flights easyjet. Myself and eldest daughter needed e wee break from belfast weather......we were not disappointed.

1 Easyjet departed on time and arrived early.
2.Taxi outside faro airport to hotel 20 mins and 25 euro.
3.Arrived at hotel 10.00am - reception pulled out all stops to ensure I got a room immediatley (ie a sea view room to boot)
4.Room super-white fluffy towels/white robes/air con etc.
5 Went off for a walk - relaxed immediately.

6. Sleep fine - breakfast outstanding/clean hot etc

.....................................................

I tend to eat heathy food - the Marina is a bit unheathy - burgers/chips pizza and pasta. Reccomendations

A. Il lamparo (for dinner)blue and glass withe a tiger statue - a bit pricey but worth it.

B Delifrance for lunch(on the upper floor on marina) - clean - people who make food different from people who take change plastic gloves worn.

C. Be adventurous and take a cab to Caravela in Quarteira 4 miles away. A fish restaurant - spectacular and cheap - the portugese eat here.

D. Did eat at some other restaurants but wouldn't recommend.




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
12 years 10 months ago
I have just come back from an amazing holiday at the Tivoli Marinotel in Vilamoura. This hotel certainly lives up to it's 5* rating. The rooms are clean, spacious and all have fabulous views of either the marina or the seafront.

We were on the 8th floor and had a sea view room - I could have sat on the balcony watching the view for the whole two weeks!! The staff at the Tivoli Marinotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a number of bars and 3 restaurants, all of which had excellent service and wonderful food. Be sure to have dinner at least once in the Sirius Grill, overlooking the marina!

The hotel also has a large pool area, with landscaped gardens opening onto it's own private stretch of the beach. There is a seperate kiddie's pool and playground, so it's also child friendly. The only slight criticism I can make is that the hotel hosts a lot of conferences and sometimes they can take over a little bit, e.g. one of the restaurants was closed for a few nights for a business function.

All in all though, it was a wonderful place to stay and I will definitely be returning in the future!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Gary Bloyce
12 years 10 months ago
Thoroughly enjoyed a 1 week stay at this hotel. It must have the best location of any hotel in Vilamoura, right next to the marina witn good choice of restaurants etc.

Good sized room with facilities you would expect from a 5* hotel. Note - rooms overlooking the marina have great views but are North facing so are always in shade and may be too cool to sit out on. We started with a marina view but switched to sea facing.

Hotel is very clean, good facilities, pool etc. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Only complaint was the hot buffet at breakfast. We have had better at cheap B & B's. They have a chef to cook eggs on deamnd but expect a 10 minute wait! This was our only gripe.
Try the excellent Van Goph restuarant at Maritenda - about 10 mins by car. Get the hotel to reserve you a window seat for stunning views along the coast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Sandra Massey
13 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a two week stay at the Tivoli Marinhotel. We had a very relaxing enjoyable holiday.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished.

The rooms are very comfortable, even providing bathrobes and slippers as well as the usual bathroom 'freebies'. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in the room, although there is no milk provided - only coffee creamer.

There is some entertainment provided on most evenings, this varies in standard - but is often of a 'local' flavour.

As far as food is concerned breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice on the buffet, and a chef was on duty for crepes, omlettes and freshly fried eggs. The snack menu is not extensive, but everything we tried was very good and well presented. We used room service for dinner one evening and found it to be of a very acceptable quality, well presented, and arrived well within the time they stated.

On a slightly more restrained note - please remember that this hotel is not just a holiday hotel, it is an international conference centre as well. In real terms this means that often certain entrances are closed and you may have an unexpected walk to another entrance, and that the public areas are often very busy. One could also feel slightly out of place in your chinos and brightly coloured shirt when all around you are in their business suits!

I have only one minor critical remark to make about this otherwise excellent hotel and that is the very erratic timing of the room maids. They can arrive at any time between 9.00am and 4.30pm. On one day we had to ring up to remind them after arriving back at 4.30 and finding our beds not made.

I will certainly be returning again as this hotel and resort (out of season) provides the ideal opportunity for a complete 'chill out'.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sovereign

Recommended
David
13 years 7 months ago
We went for a relaxing week away and the hotel generally was excellent.

I would like to point out however that this hotel is a 4* and NOT a 5* as is reported in some web sites.

My big problem was the noise in the room at night. We had a good room on the 6th floor but from 9.30 until midnight the room shook with the noise from the bar below us. I did complain and was offered a room on the 2nd floor but I fail to see how this is acceptable in a hotel of this standard. I wanted a rest and did not consider it fair to have to move from a great room just so I could sleep at night.

I will next time stay in another hotel and visit the diving centre as a separate traveller.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Steve
13 years 10 months ago
We have been to the Marinotel 3 times in total. We first went in late May 2000 and we stayed in a double room which was very clean and of ample size.

On the other 2 visits (2003 & 2004) to the marinotel we stayed in a junior suite which was well worth the extra money considering we had 2 children. The suite offers a separate bedroom and a lounge area. On all 3 visits we were given sea views which is IMO is worth paying for. (Although we didn't pay).

The hotel staff were fantastic with the kids and they even remembered their names when we returned. When our kids were babies, the staff was more than happy to warm food and milk etc.

The grounds of the hotel are secure which was reassuring to know that your kids can't get out.
Pool side food is limited in its variety although no complaints with its standard.
Breakfast was very nice and again it was of very good standard.

If you are staying there with children then you cannot go in the bar with them, so you have to sit outside in the lounge area.

The entertainment laid on of an evening was very poor and it was the same group of local entertainers on each of our visits.

The marina is very laid back and we have not had a bad meal in any of the restaurants that are around there.

On the whole, it is a fantastic relaxing hotel as long as there is not a conference going on whilst you are there. (Check this before you book)

Would we go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum