Image of Vila Gale Ampalius Hotel

Vila Gale Ampalius Hotel

4 of 12 hotels in Vilamoura

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
4 stars
Avenida da Marina Lote 2A, 8125-401, Portugal
An impressive, modern hotel situated on the golden sands of Vilamoura\'s beach.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Liz & Jay
10 years 9 months ago
The hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach and a few minutes walk from the marina. The rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful. We went for the half board option. The food was nice. Breakfast had an excellent choice from cooked food to continental. The dinners were OK too, nothing exciting but plenty to choose from. We would definately go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sue & John
11 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from a 3 night short break at this hotel. We were given a room with a balcony although the receptionist made a point of telling us she had given us it as if it was a treat.

The rooms was clean and comfortable with BBC1 BBC2 an extra English channel that had CBBE's on during the day and sometimes BBC4 or an english film on - also the usual skynews BBC World etc. Minibar was not too expensive but we only used it to keep our supermarket bought juice etc.

Breakfast was ok nothing special very very slow toaster you could eat your cereals and then go back and the toast will be just dropping down into the tray. Only good thing was that they served it from 6am until 10.30am which is great if you have to leave the hotel early for a pickup or sleep a little later.

We returned one afternoon at about 3.40pm and our room had not been madeup I phoned reception and they said that rooms could be done anytime during the day upto 5pm which is a bit much if you have been out for the day and just want to have a rest before going back out

Entertainment was very low key this time of year with traditional dancing one night and a keyboard player and guitarist singing in the bar/lounge.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Marie Graham
11 years 6 months ago
On arriving at the hotel we were very dissapointed that our room had no balcony. I told a lady receptionist that I was surprised there was no balcony in a 4 star hotel and would it be possible to change, she said it was quite usual in any 4 star hotel and no chance of a move. 2 days later after asking a male receptionist we got a change, but were told to request a balcony in future. Many of our party had the same problem, apparently if you don't request you don't get one. I would also make sure I had a high floor. The funny side of this saga is after we got our balcony it rained for the rest of our holiday and we didn't get a chance to use it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: private

Recommended
Matt & Elaine Crow
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and it was again fantastic (its our second visit but our first honeymoon).

We had room 631 which was massive with a great bathroom, good bed and just the best sea view. The room was also well cleaned every day.

We agree with what a previous writer has said about the casino as we had a room on the end last time and yes it can be a bit noisy at the weekend, but our room this time was in the middle and nice and quiet.

I must admit breakfast can get a bit busy but there is always a good selection and plenty of food. We ate out everynight the marina is 5 mins away and has plenty of great restraunts (but dont expect bargain basement).

The hotel is right on the beach but has good pools as well.

All in all a terrific hotel and we will be back soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Maxine
11 years 8 months ago
This was a very clean & friendly hotel situated across from the beach.

The only problem with the location of this hotel is that it's next door to a casino, and you can hear the music from their nightclub until 7am!!

If you book this hotel I would suggest you request rooms that are in the middle of the hotel. You still get the lovely sea-views but no noise.

It wouldn't put me off going again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Julie Mock
11 years 8 months ago
I took my two children on a well deserved holiday to Vilamoura last August. I had been to Vilamoura with my childrens father (my ex husband) in 1993 and always wanted to go back to stay at the Ampalius. What a let down...

We had upgraded to a junior suite which I felt was very small considering hotels I have previously stayed in. The shower left a flood every time we used it.

The hotel pool staff were useless and seemed to have a problem with single parents. My son fell over a broken umberella stand and sliced his leg... The hotel staff just wanted us away from the pool and offered us no real assistance.

Be very wary as we came back from a trip to the Zoo Marine and put our things in our room before going to the pool. When we got back someone had used their E111 card and got into our room. It was in our electric slot and our lights and tv were on. The hotel manager just said that the cleaners use them to get into the rooms to clean them but its illegal to use someonelses official health card and it's frightening to think anyone can get into your room.
I would not recommened this hotel to a single parent or a family.

I would certainly go back to Vilamoura as I love the place but I would recommened the Olympus aparthotel. I would never step foot in the Ampalius and would certainly never book with Thomas Cook as there rep was useless. She gave out nothing but false information and was of no use, that was when you could find her...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jacquie
11 years 10 months ago
What more can I say I would recommend to any one of any age the whole place is fab. Would go back every year this was our second time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Sharon Hanson
11 years 11 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for a week bed and breakfast. Room was very spacious, very clean and quite modern. Beds were comfy. They gave you plenty of pillows and covers if you wanted them. Room had a very nice bathroom, air conditioning (ours kept running with water. It did get mended after three times of complaining.)

Breakfast was a bit of a nightmare if you went down after 9am. Really badly organised, every one fighting to get to coffee machine and toaster, plenty of choice, although I didn't rate the hot food. Slimy eggs horrible greasy bacon.

Hotel was in great location right on the beach. Hotel staff were very nice and pleasant.

Can't rate the entertainment as went out every night.

Overall a very nice hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended
Fish
12 years 7 months ago
Went for honeymoon with our 15 month old son and definitely feel we picked the right hotel, perfect location beutiful hotel and superb staff. We will definitely go back to the Ampalius one day.

We chose the flexidine which was a great idea as the hotel food was superb but there are also some beautiful restaurants on the marina.

We didn't meet anyone with anything bad to say about the hotel although I admit the entertainment seem the be aimed at older people and the pool was a bit cold.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Hayley
12 years 8 months ago
This hotel is perfect for couples families and singles, it is about a minutes walk to the beach and five mins to the marina.

The staff could not do enough for you.

The entertainment was ok but we preferred to go out at night.

I would definitely come back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum