Image of Arizona Apartments

Arizona Apartments

36 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 44 reviews
1 star
AutovĂ­a Las Palmas-Puerto Rico, 35139, Spain
Set on a hillside close to the resort centre, these apartments offer a great holiday base for both couples and families. Puerto Rico beach, with its choice of watersports is within easy reach, as are local shops, bars and restaurants.

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dave And Jayne
13 years 11 months ago
We booked 6 weeks before to the Arizona Apartments and paid under
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Clare
14 years ago
We visited the Arizona in October as a group of 10 people ranging in ages from 3 to 53 and can honestly say we all had an excellent time.

The hotel is built on a hillside with the reception at the top (which we never visited too many steps up) ask for a low room near the pool!!

The pool was excellent and poolside bar served lovely cheap food and happy hour drinks. Staff were lovely in the poolside bar too!!

The apartment was large and spacious but we did see a few cockroachs so we got a spray from the supermarket to spray round the door when we went out which seemed to work and I would recomend.

The only problem we had was we hired a fan for the room and when we returned it the man wouldn't give us our deposit back because we had lost the reciept although they know it was theres as it had a big aziona sticker on the box.

The Arizona is in an excellent location near the nightlife and at the bottom of the hill so not far to walk after a nightout.

We all enjoyed it that much that we have recently booked again for the arizona for October 05 and cant wait!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sii
14 years 1 month ago
We booked a late deal to gran canaria. a place we had not visited before. All we knew was the resort and a little about our hotel.

When we arrived we were thoughly pleased with our accomodation. We had one of the apartments at the top of the complex. It was like having your own holiday home, set on split levels. Bedrooms on top, kitchen, lounge and a large vernatda down stairs. We were also supried by two toilets.

Our apartment was very clean. Only saw one roach the whole two weeks. We had a maid everyday apart from Sunday. Which was nice but a pain sometimes because she came quiet early!

We didn't spend much time by the pool as the beach was near enough, but it seemed very busy with all the sun beds going by 9am. And no germans in sight.

The bar was very good, for both drinks and food. we spent a few drunked nights there before hitttng the clubs, a sit was open till midnight.

I would recomend this complex to anyone. It was a brilliant holiday for us. so much so we are returning this year (2005) with a bigger group.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sal
14 years 2 months ago
the apartment very spacious and very clean.the kitchen equipped well,microwave,toaster,frigefreezer,kettel and plenty of space.fair size pool,be eary for sun beds,pool cleaned and tested daily.poolbar menu very reasonable and food exellent.staff helpful and very friendly.noise from nearby bars could be heard at night but not enough to disturb your sleep.in my opinion would be an ideal place to stay in puerto rico.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Carlee Smith
14 years 2 months ago
When we arrived at Arizona Apartments there was only one person in the reception area which was very small. It took us about 20 minutes to find our apartment as nobody helped us. We were greeted by 2 cockroaches, one in the downstairs toilet and one on the bedroom wall. The apartment was very basic but clean. You had to insert coins into the television to watch it.

The swimming pool was very very small and not very deep, Ideal for younger children. If you plan on getting a sunbed I suggest you get up early.

They don't have any evening entertainment. They have a small bar by the pool but it shuts early. The breakfasts were quite nice, no complaints there but it is self service.

The one problem which I found very annoying was the loud music from the town centre, It went on until about 5 in the morning, so I suggest you take ear plugs or go to bed when the music stops.

The location is ideal, the beach in 5-10 minutes walk away and the shops are about 3 minutes away. There are loads of cats about, they are all very friendly and you tend to get them creeping around your apartment wanting food.

We went on holiday for 2 weeks and ended up buying an apartment in Anfi Del mar about 10 minutes away as the cockroaches, poor pool and noise really put us off, we only stayed there a week....a week to long!

It would be a great place for students or young party goers, but for families I think there are nicer places!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

O Sullivans
14 years 2 months ago
This was our first family holiday to Puerto Rico, we had been there before just the 2 of us. Arizona had been recommended to us by Tour operator for a Family holiday. We had an 11 month old in a buggy so the fact that the lifts - yes both of them - were broken for 6 out of the 10 days we were there was ridiculous.

The apartment was nice and spacious and there were plenty of towels, loo rolls etc.

We had no cockroaches, but we did have bugs of the human kind. On our 10th night my husband woke up to find a man climbing in our second floor window - this as we found out was not the first or last break in while we were there. There were 18 break ins in 10 nights. We were lucky they got nothing, but it still ruined our holidays. The attitude of the staff after we were broken into was awful, they didn't care, they offered us another apartment within arizona, but what was the difference? Our Rep wasn't much better, her attitude was its August and everywhere is booked out. We managed to find somewhere ourselves tho(eventhough everywherewas booked out!!!!!).

We moved to the montebello apartments that have 24 hr Security. I would highly receommend them!!!

I would NOT recommend Arizona apartments to anybody, but especially not to families. Unless they get Security the break-ins will continue to happen and if you stay there it could happen to you!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunway

John
14 years 3 months ago
Apartments are set on number of levels and lot of steps from top to bottom. There is a lift but it broke down three times in seven days. The pool and the surrounding area is very small and cramped given the size of the complex and was noisy. We went to the public pool, near the beach, instead.
The apartments themselves are very good. You get a large patio area. Downstairs is a living area and a reasonably equiped kitchen area, with a toilet and drying area out the back. Upstairs are two bed rooms and the main bathroom.
The apartments are clean with a regular maid service. There are some cockroaches about but no more than you would expect
The main shopping centre with resturants and bars is about five minutes walk away (down more steps) so it can be noisy at night.
Road outside also seemed busy in early morning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Katherine
14 years 3 months ago
We arrived at Arizona apartments about 10 at night, quite a few of us got off the bus and found no-one at the reception. The reception was tiny and not at all pleasant or welcoming. We had to find our own way to our rooms and had to trail down loads of stairs as the lift was broken.

When we finally got into our room it was very basic but we were positive as we only had to sleep there. The first time I went to the toilet I was greeted by a cockroach much to my surprise! There were two more under my bed.

The room was on two levels, an upstairs and downstairs, not very big but it was livable. Two single beds were in one room and a double in the other (two single beds put together). Extremely hot in the night, no fans or air conditioning which I think should have been included because it was very hot and you couldn't open the windows because of the noise.

The apartments were very close to the town centre, the night life went on until about 4.30 in the morning, constant banging of music. Not very good with a child, Luckily I had ear plugs! But not even those drowned out the sound! At times the noise was unbearable. There were a number of break ins while we were there, and sometimes our door wouldn't even lock! We had an outside area where we could store our suitcases, it was filthy and open so we didn't risk leaving them there. There was a TV which was broken but you could put money in the slot to watch it but as ours was broken we couldn't, but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV anyways! as we can do that at home.

The lift was broken for the whole time we were there, so we had to trail down all the stairs to get to the pool or town into the town.

The pool was a very poor size, I would call it a puddle more than a swimming pool, also very shallow, for people who enjoy swimming, you couldn't really swim in it as there was know deep area. It was always over crowded and there were never any sun beds available, the sun doesn't hit the pool until about 12 o clock. Very small area, with a snack bar, quite expensive considering the accommodation is rubbish!

There was no entertainment what so ever, the bar was open till 10 at night and hardly anyone was there! They had a pool table up on top of a roof but half the balls were missing.

As the swimming pool isn't exactly that exciting, I recommend if your ever unlucky enough to stay at Arizona apartments you go into the centre, there is a local swimming pool, it's large and has deep and shallow areas for everyones enjoyment.

Arizona apartments was awful, I can deal with basic but this as beyond that. I don't recommend it to families at all. Perhaps youngsters who go out all night and sleep all day as its very basic but for families I can think of better places!

I would not go there nor would I recommend it, I can definitely say I wont be returning, it was so bad we brought an apart at Anfi del Mar, which is pure luxury!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Kel
14 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the Arizona Apartments which were very clean and in good condition. Had to ensure that laid towel on sunbeds at the pool by 9am to get a space for the day. Beach was a short walk away. Commercial center was full of people trying to sell u watches and braid ur hair! I'd recommend Cafe Central and Squires as places to eat as they have good friendly service. They were also english and did everything they could to ensure you were happy!
We experienced our fair share of cockroaches, they managed to get everywhere! found best way to deal with them was to hit them with a shoe! just watch out because we didn't know they flew at you! But overall it was a great holiday and would highly recommend it to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Bratz
14 years 4 months ago
When we got to the hotel the receptionists are very helpful.

The rooms are really good and big it was like being in at your very own house.

The location was brillant because you were next to everything like across the road was all the clubs and bars if you kept walking up the road one way it was the little water park and if you walked the other way it was the beach but you could hear only a little bit but not anough to wake you up.

The hotel staff were very kind to my daughter and were funny to them and Sally was a very good entertainer and 3 days before we left Sally left because it was someone elses turn to be the entertainer.

The best bit of the hotel was that no one could get out without a key and no one could get in without a key so you felt very safe and you would know your kids were ok.

Tip: When you go watch out for the stray cats and the cockroches.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum