Image of Monaco Bungalow Apartments

Monaco Bungalow Apartments

54 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
2 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain
The Monaco Apartments are great for families looking to be in quiet but central location, within walking distance of the amenities in Puerto Rico. The nearest sandy beach is 1km away and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Canarian sunshine and

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
12 years 2 months ago
Dreadful is the only word I can describe.

I was dubious about going in the first place after reading the reviews but as 12 of us were going, I though it would be ok. How wrong I was.

After we all managed the steps with the cases, we arrived at our apartment and as soon as the door opened there were several cockroaches. (The fella in reception was very helpful and gave us some spray). My brother sprained his ankle on the way down. The next day, my uncle tripped up the steps and ripped his toe to the bone and had to have 6 stitches.

The noise boomed till 3.30 am (am used to noise and never been a fuss pot, but only had 2 nights sleep during the week there). There were a few rough people who came home swearing and fighting on regular nights. On the last night, my dad's apartment was broken into. The security was bad and the latches were loose. The steps (hundreds of them) are uneven too.

We all holidayed in Playa del Ingles last year and loved it but gave Puerto Rico a go this year. Amadores Beach is great though. It ended with nearly all of us falling out with one another and going our separate ways.

A very sad end to a holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Cant Family
12 years 3 months ago
The Monaco is a 2 star accommodation so don't expect anything more. Having said that it is basic value for money.

The maids cleaned the apartments every other day and bedding was changed weekly.

The Monaco was in a good location down numerous steps but you just got a taxi back which are cheap.

Pool bar food simple but good.

The staff are really friendly and helpful but the rep is a waste of time.

No entertainment at Monaco but main centre only few minutes away.

There are a lot of steps around Monaco but it is same all around Puerto Rico.

The shop sells lots of things and is only a little dearer than in supermarket.

if you don't like cockroaches buy some spray and spray in front of all downstairs doors and that will kill them as soon as they enter apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Family
12 years 4 months ago
The rooms are very large, 2 bedrooms 1 with balcony upstairs along with bathroom/shower and a large room downstairs with patio area/kitchenette and bathroom/shower. The apartment was very clean, cleaned every other day and bed linen changed once a week.

Security seemed fine, all locks worked and I never heard of anyone who got broke into while we were there.

Saw a few cockroaches in the downstairs bathroom (maybe 5 or 6 over the course of the holiday) but they soon succumb to being hit over the head with your shoe! If anything, the apartments are probably due a lick of paint, but we didn't come on holiday to sit inside complaining about the rooms! We washed, slept and stored our clothes there which made them more than adequate.

All staff were very friendly, the entertainment was basically the pool, which was clean and busy.

The on-site shop and snack bar were reasonable compared to bars and shops in town. It is ideally located for town, some noise can be heard up until the clubs close at 3ish but its not excessive and once your asleep, it doesn't wake you up.

There are many steps here but I think there must be in all of Puerto Rico, all the apartments are built on the side of the volcano's, so that's not the fault of the Monaco
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Kathryn 34 Richard 33 Katy 15 Molly 6 And Hodgy 16
12 years 4 months ago
Booked this holiday on impulse then started reading reviews. I can tell you we were worried arrived to find a lady telling us what a dump it was.

We went into the place and found it to be a 2 bedroom house which was very tired looking in need of loads of tlc back door didn't lock lots of mould paint and plaster falling off, lights that didnt work, plug sockets away from the walls, a broken bathroom window. Then night fell at around 11 the music was turned up until 3am and was deafening, only way to describe it was putting our beds in middle of a nightclub this was every night.

Rep saw him once when I went to ask him to remove all the towels that had been put on the sunloungers the night before.

There were 32 sunlounges in a complex of 90 apartments 3 or more people in every apartment it was a race every morning to get them. If your looking in brochures at pictures of the pool area be warned it isn't the same pool !!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Chris
12 years 6 months ago
The apartments were very run down.

There were two bathrooms one downstairs which smelled of sewage and had a family of cockroaches in so we did not use it, up stairs there was mould on the cieling all around the shower. Two bedrooms. Downstairs lounge and kitchen area very basic.

The trees had bark falling off them every where which in my opinion is very dangerous where chidren are.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Angela
12 years 6 months ago
The apartments were shabby, with light switches hanging of walls.

There were cockroaches in every room,we asked to be moved to another room and were immediatly moved but the second room had even more cockroaches.

They were in the door frames on the ceilings even in the bedrooms. I have been to Puerto Rico on many occasions and never seen so many in one place. I felt the staff were not taking me seriously when I complained about them.

The apartments were in a good location but really needed work done to them.

The pool and pool area were fine and the food in the bar was also fine.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holiday

Tim
13 years 3 months ago
I wanted 2 weeks of stress free sunshine and that's exactly what I got!

After being allocated the hotel and read previous reviews on the internet I saw nothing to concern me. I traveled alone, no kids or wheelchairs, so the steps weren't a problem. I'm not scared of insects, I've not met one yet that's bigger than me!

The apartment was huge and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rep. was there if needed.

The pool was neat and tidy and the shop perfectly adequate for the needs of most.

The shopping centre is 3 minutes walk away for anything else you might need and provides all the entertainment you could wish for. There is a fantastic range of restaurants and you really are spoilt for choice.

The 2 beaches are lovely and clean and tidy, I wasn't bothered by pushy salesmen at all in the entire fortnight.

I enjoyed my walk to and from Amadores beach, about 45 minutes each way. There was always plenty to see on the way.

The restaurants and shops at both beaches are lovely, clean and tidy and some of the fresh fish dishes are excellent value.

Some people may be bothered by the noise from the clubs in the shopping centre at night, I read the reviews and took some earplugs - wasn't disturbed in the slightest.

Yes, I hired a safety deposit box. Although security didn't bother me I didn't want to be carrying documents or large amounts of cash around for the entire 2 weeks - who would?

I enjoyed my holiday, I think there are other hotels in the resort you could go to that would give you the same problems with steps etc. but that's the nature of the resort and its geography, and it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Robert
13 years 4 months ago
We arrived at the apartments in August 2004. The Steps were a hassle as you had to carry your luggage to your apartment.

The room was very clean and was cleaned every other day.The bedding was also changed once a week. The security wasn't bad either. The apartments were spacious on the ground floor there was a kitchen and a lounge area including a t.v and a down stairs toilet including a shower. Up stairs was the bedrooms and the main bathroom. The main bedroom had a balcany area. There was a patio area as well which was lovely.

We didnt have a problem with the cockroaches inside the apartment but we found a few outside on the patio and also on the steps around the complex.

The pool area was lovely in the morning but soon got crowded in the afternoon. There weren't enough sun beds you had to get a sun bed really early. Although the pool was nice it was not big enough for the size of the complex. There was a snack bar by the pool for any refreshments during the day. There was a small shop on the complex for any essentials needed.

Althgough the apartment didnt have any entertainment it was only a five minuite walk from the resort area which included bars,reastaraunts and shops. I really enjoyed the holiday because it was good for all age ranges and would recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
France
13 years 5 months ago
I went on holiday with a group of my friends. At first i was abit apprehensive, especially reading the review about the security but my holiday was a success, i really enjoyed it. The only problems we came across were cockroaches! but they don't do any harm, they just look horrible. The cats weren't a problem. The stairs are hard work, but you need some exercise on your holiday.

The apartment is in a great location as it is between the europa shopping centre and the shopping centre at the bottom. Very nice walk when you go to the top, i suggest you take a camera.There is no entertainment at the Monaco but there is plenty in Puerto Rico.

The staff are very friendly and help you out if you have any problems

Get a safety deposit box when you arrive! It put my mind at rest the whole holiday. It's worth it!
There is a mini market, abit pricey, but it saves you carrying 5 litres of water back to your apartment.

The pool is fantastic, but the sunbeds get taken really early!
I hope you have a really good holiday like i did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Judith
13 years 5 months ago
The apartments were very basic although well equipt for a self catering holiday.Cockroaches were a bit of a problem.Just try not to use your downstairs toilet that is where they seemed to get in.Very hilly no good for elderly at all or anyone with small children.Over all had quite a good holiday.Get a safety deposit box although we had no problems with a break in.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: