Image of Puerto Azul Aparthotel

Puerto Azul Aparthotel

21 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 67 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 13, 35130 Gran Canaria, Spain

67 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul
5 years 9 months ago
Been to Gran Canaria 6 times before usually stay at Colina Mar. This was the first time at this hotel, and it was lovely. It had the best pool area I have seen, but there was no shade. The room’s basic and cleaned every day, location in between Europa centre and town, taxi was around 4 euros to town.

The entertainment at the hotel was pretty bad. There was a parrot show with snakes and some local singers. Plus bar shuts at 11pm.

The food was the worst ever I have ever encountered, we were all inclusive. The snacks were disgusting and cold. The restaurant itself was ok, but the breakfast was really bad. The bar staff are always grumpy never give you glass tumblers even at night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
B Smith
Highly recommended
6 years 9 months ago
This was our second visit this year and it was even better than the first, a fantastic sea view apartment, the food was varied and of excellent standard, the staff are so friendly and helpful.

Entertainment all day for children and a superb selection from the snack bar. Evening entertainment is also very good. We were all inclusive, however if you are self-catering you have the option for 12 euros per apartment per day to have full use of the snack bar. There was also specials on some days ie chinese, BBQ, Paella, free for all inclusive and for self-catering it was 3 euros which included a drink.

The Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The hotel has a great internet and WIFI area, ATM. to save having to go to banks.

There is a fabulous swimming pool and if you want peace and quiet there is a fantastic area for adults only with great sun beds and Jacuzzi's overlooking the sea.

The location is ideal 5 minutes to Europa centre and 10 minute walk to main shopping centre, or 3euros in a taxi.

I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cameron
9 years 2 months ago
Its fine if your working on a low cost basis, The food is ok but not so so good. The staff are nice if your nice to them. The pool area is ok. The drinks are not watered down well the vodka anyway as you can see the staff opening the bottles but can say so about the lager or beers as i only a vodka drinker. Give it a go if your on a low cost basis and im sure you will not be disapointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tompson

Recommended
K Burge
9 years 2 months ago
went for a week last minute booking. The hotel is large with large appartments and balcony. We had a sea view and it didn't dissapoint. The food was awful with hot food gone cold 2mins after resteraunt opening so go self catering. If you eat salad with cold meats and continental breakfast in the morning you are ok but hot food is repetative uninviting slop! They have tennis court, all purpouse sports court and a large minigolf area ( which is willfully delapitated and so empty all the time)The entertainment was dire and the kids club was a joke with the early evening being music.....so they could dance to! The kids entertainment staff had the total attention of the kids but the hotel didn't provide the toolsfor them to entertain the kids but they did show them lots of attention which the kids liked. The pool is large and loads of sunbeds. The appartments were cleaned 5 days out of seven with fresh towels and bedding. The staff were friendly and the bar staff were attentive. I would consider going back because of the location and pool but in my view it should be full instead of catching late bookers and holidaymakers who have been moved there after overbooking at the hotel they were supposed to be in. Better food, a lick of paint and some decent entertainment for the kids would solve the problem but they don't seem interested in making the improvements.Adults can and should go to the numerous bars, clubs etc in the shopping centre but for familieswith young kids good,varied kids entertainment is a must in my view.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: onthebeach

Muir
9 years 5 months ago
For the first week there 13 of us [3 were only there for a week] and although we were not altogether once you got used to the layout it was easy to go to each other's apartments.
We were all inclusive and just for the kids ice-creams and juice it was worth it.By the second week though the food seemed to go downhill so we ate out a couple of nights.The 1 thing we were not happy about was the choice of snacks available [burgers, toasties, hotdog or chips and if you did not want to eat in the dining room you have to wait until 3 o'clock for a snack as the snack bar shuts between 12.30 and 3pm].
We found the all the staff to be friendly especially the kids entertainers.[ The hotel was not very busy but the staff encouraged all the children to take part].For us we found the night entertainment ok.
We would stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Dee
9 years 11 months ago
had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would definetly go again
rooms were cleaned 6 of 7 days there were no cockroaches or other horrible creatures lurking around

food was very nice with 3 themed nights throughout the week only complaint was having to wait 15 mins on the toast for breakfast

hotel is a 5 mins walk up to europa center and a good walk down to the comercial center taxis were cheap so always got taxi back up the hill

staff were excellent especially at the poolside bar my 2 year old son took a shine to one of the barmen and followed him behind the bar to help which they didnt mind at all and gave him free ice lollys

the room was extremly spacious with a huge balcony which overlooked the beach very child friendly place

the pool was very clean not very hot but i have been in colder pools than this whilst in gran canaria

didnt really spend much time in the hotel in the evening only 1 night but entertainment seemed to be ok on that one night

i would definetly recommend this hotel to everyone and i will hopefully be going back there again soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext

Recommended
Gillian
10 years ago
I was very dissapointed with this hotel, our room was in the dungeons, with a slight sea view in between two buildings.

The room was very shabby with torn curtains and plug points hanging from the walls.

The staff were very rude and although we complained nothing was ever done.

We were staying on an all inclusive basis but didn't eat after the first day, as the food was repititious and unappetising.

We tried to eat a burger at the pool bar but found it inedible, they use different burgers for the all in guests, the paying guests get the edible burgers.

Although it says in the brochure that you can have snacks from the pool bar, in actual fact you are only allowed 4 items of food from the extensive menu, these are burgers, chips cheese and ham sandwich and cheeseburgers.

The worst thing about this hotel was the staff and drinks in the bar, if you are an all in guest you will not get served until all the paying guests are served and then your drink will come in a plastic glass.

The wine comes out of cartons, you are not allowed cocktails and the irish coffees come in different sizes, large for paying guests and small for all in guests.

The bar staff snigger amongst themselves, they have no respect for the guests but are not reprimanded about their behaviour.

The entertainment in the hotel is very poor and most people tend to go elsewhere on an evening.

The swimming pool which was supposed to be heated was freezing and when I complained was told that it was heated to their climate.

All in all this hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in and totally spoilt my holiday and my Christmas.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Lindsay Stockdale
10 years 3 months ago
I have just returned from a week all inclusive from this hotel and i must say it wasnt as bad as i first thought it would be.

I travelled with my boyfriend and another couple. When we arrived at the hotel we were room number 1208 and they were 4213. No where near each other!! We asked to be closer and they moved out friends to room 1207. Perfect!!

Room: They are HUGE!! We paid to be all inclusive so normally only get a bathroom and bedroom. We got a kitchenette, lounge, massive balcony, bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were very clean and not a sign of a cockroach. People in previous reviews moaned about towels not getting changed everyday, well if they change their towles everyday at home then they need to get a life. Every other day is fine.

Pool: Absolutley loved it. Always spare sun beds and weather was fab. They played music which was nice and had activities going on like water aerobics and waterpolo.

Food: Not very nice at all im afraid. We ate out most of the time. Chips were always on the menu and they looked like the only cooked things there. Even the sweetcorn was frozen!!

Entertainment: Well what entertainment? There wasnt any. Luckily we went there for a bit of a lash up holiday so we werent interested in it but the kids must of been bored. They did play bingo 1 night and had a parrott show another night.

All in all i think if you want to loose some weight then go to the hotel as you wont eat anything and be swimming all day in the lovely pool. It really is a 50/50 hotel. I will be returning to Puerto Rico but not Puerto Azul.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Bradley
10 years 4 months ago
We arrived during the night and chose to take a taxi to the hotel, rather than wait for the coach. On arrival the reception staff were quite helpful, giving clear directions to the room.
However, 2 children, 2 adults and 4 suitcases later, we had to run the gaunlet of cups, glasses, food waste and overflowing bins at 5am.
The first day began with all four of us sat on chairs by the bar, as at 9am not one single sunbad was left!
The following 6 days resulted in my husband having to set an alarm clock to keep a sunbed!! At 7.45am there were no more than 4 beds left!! We chatted to many other guests who had been up at 6am!! Just to keep a parasol!!
As we were all inclusive we thought we had paid for most of the food and drink..however, 5 nights having to eat out as the food was so awful is not our idea of all inclusive!! The staff in the restuarant were very pleasant and friendly, just the food which was awful.
There was no day entertainment apart from football or volleyball and this was age exclusive, so my 5 year old could not join in. There was no day time activities for small children apart from colouring!
Our final day resulted in our suitcases being damaged in the luggage room. The once friendly (ish) reception staff just shrugged their shoulders and said "So what". Great customer service. Not.
We will not be visiting this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Clarke
11 years 8 months ago
We arrived at 11pm to the hotel after paying 45 euros in a taxi from the airport! The staff were excellent and gave us our keys etc we stayed in room 1708 which was superb and the view was the best!

The cleaner came most days, didnt see one cockroach!! everthing was perfect, nice spacious balacony and could want for anything!!

The room has two single beds and a sofa so if taking 2 children you will need to ask for another bed at reception, we waiting for 2 mins whilst another bed arrived!

I thought this hotel was great, the chemist was only a five minite walk away (up the hill) and a taxi will cost 3 euros to the centre!! Or you can take the steps !!

Don't try doing the steps back up, we tried and vowed never again!! 700 steps I think is it!! Great restaurant called El Torro in the centre!! Spot on!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: A1 Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: