Image of Sabinal Hotel Hesperia

Sabinal Hotel Hesperia

2 of 12 hotels in Roquetas de Mar

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
Roulette Roquetas de Mar 4, Plaza de la ConstituciĆ³n, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain
The Hotel Sabinal, now extended by the addition of a new wing, has a superb beachside location, enhanced by the main shopping street being just around the corner.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Beadman
Brilliant location and friendly staff
8 years 1 month ago
We visited in June 2010 on a half board basis. We found the hotel to be clean and the room cleaned every day. We found the food good always hot with a very good selection of different dishes to suit all tastes. The evening carvery was also good with good quantities of food available.

The location is brilliant right on the beach. However the gravel beach was not to our taste. The pool though was and we enjoyed many hours just laying around the pool.
We found the staff were helpful and very friendly, the restaurant staff were great.
Although the entrainment was for the Spanish nonetheless we enjoyed watching the dancing. There was a magic show which even though in Spanish we both found hugely entertaining.

We would visit this hotel again and recommend to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mary Riley
8 years 9 months ago
We have stayed in this hotel many times and keep going back. The staff are all very friendly and work hard to keep it very clean.
The food does vary very much from day to day but there are always excellent salads and fish. They do tend to cater for the British and there is always something for even the most picky.
The location is wonderful especially for those with limited mobility as it is very flat in all direction.
June and July are the Spanish holiday and the hotel is very full of young Spanish families. May and September are more comfortable as it is not so hot and busy.
Overall I think that it is a good choice. The entertainment in the hotel is mainly for those who love to dance but there are many varied bars in close vacinity and Cafe Boulavard is especially good for the evening with a friendly live duo.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 11 months ago
Hotel was full of spanish people on holiday. We felt everything was aimed at them. All the entertainment was in spanish, the waiters served the spanish first, even though we had been waiting ages for a drink. There werent enough sun beds and then when you finally got a sun bed you wished you hadnt as the whole place was swarming with flies. Never seen so many and never had this problem in all the years we have been travelling abroad. The food was the same each day and by the end of the week you knew exactly what was going to be on the menu without looking. I had a sickness bug, I am sure from something I had eaten, again never had this problem in any other hotel we have stayed in. I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone. The only plus point was it was right by the beach, thank goodness, as we were able to spend most of our time on the beach, getting away from the hotel! We found the spanish at this resort, rude and unhelpful and we wouldnt go there again. This was not a 4 star hotel, more like a lower grade 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Keith&carol
9 years ago
the hotel was very clean, the rooms were also very clean with the widest single beds i ever sleeped in maids do a good job cleaning well done girls.
pool area not as clean, plenty of sun beds around the pool& grassed area but you must be down early 7ish thats the time us brits were down.
food was again good with ample to choice from one would never go hungery.
the hotel is in a prime spot wright on the beach
close to shops, bars,tapas bars
recp/staff very good.restraunt/ staff were very good.they lined up every evening to wecome into the restraunt.
we did not see to much of the entertainment.
yes but only for a week 2 weeks is to long.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Green
9 years 8 months ago
This is the first time we have visited the Sabinal Hesperia.The only complaint we have was the food. We had proper bacon 2 mornings the rest of the time it was like some sort of rolled pressed meat we noticed that 2 evenings the carvery had the same sort of meat! Also we got pork a lot of the time,one night it was a large leg of pork on the carvery,which looked nice until we noticed that it was'nt cooked thoroughly,it actually had the blood running and I don't mean just a bit!Apart from that the hotel was clean and the staff friendly.Plenty of sunbeds etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jet 2 thomas cook

Jones
9 years 10 months ago
The sabinal is a friendly hotel resort with lots to do for children e.g darts,waterpolo, table tennis and football. Also there is a games area. The food at the hotel is briliant with lots of choice for every taste you would want.

The sabinal is only a few meaters away from the beach.On the beach there is lots to do e.g banna boat ,swiming out to the float,hiring pedlows and wave riding.
Over the road there is a all day 2 for 1 drinks bar called the colosimmo. Also You can watch the english football there. There is a fair just out side the front door with lots of rides and thrills.

The must do trip is the jeep safari with Patrick
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Steve & Lor
9 years 11 months ago
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are cleaned every day.

The food is about the best we have had for a long time (and we go abroad 2/3 times a year), I am a very fussy eater and still I could find something nice to eat every evening, I cannot comment on breakfast too much as I only have a bowl of muesli wherever I am.

Hotel location is very good, there are some shops very close by or if you want to venture further then the bus stop is also near the hotel.

The majority of the staff are pleasant and helpful (there was only the odd off-ish one but then again you will find that in any business).
In the main bar they had a Happy Hour 5-6 and 8-9 but they only still kept two staff on and they always struggled with the demand.

Across the road from the front of the hotel is the Collisimo (spl)pub and they seemed to serve 2 drinks for the price of 1 most of the day and quicker !

Entertainment is in Spanish only and mainly consists of someone playing keyboard and a singer for people to dance too, for us it made us feel more like we were in Spain than it does when the entertainment is all English speaking.

At the time we were there (1 - 12 July) they have a lot of Spanish taking their vacations at the hotel, I think because it was around the festival time in that area.

The temperature was around 34c and yes there are flies about but I'd say it's no worse than Tunisia.

A lot of the sunbeds are in need of replacing but the hotel management are aware of that. The sunbeds on the beach are chargeable 3.50 Euro per day or 21 Euro for the week, they do put really thick comfy mattresses on them and they are extremely comfortable, plus there are'nt as many flies on the beach !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Clarke
10 years ago
Plates in the dining room were never warm, food was repetetive. Got a little fed up with rice pudding and creme caramel.

Dress code was not adhered to although shown on restaurant door. Shorts and tee shirts are not suitable for dinner.

Flies in the grounds were a big nuisance, but you can buy fly swats from the local store.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Kate
10 years 9 months ago
Breakfast was ok, had better but would not be put off going again. evening meal was suberb, tasty, hot, varied. entertainment was ok, it was the last week then they were finishing for the season. very clean everywhere. Staff friendly.

Only thing I did find I went with my 2 year old and breakfast opened at 8am and dinner was 7pm which is abit late when you have young ones or your starving!!!

Location is good, I found the resort in 3 parts and this hotel is in the middle, but it is a nice walk to either end and its only 10mins if that on the beachfront.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jet2/medhotels

Recommended
Evans
11 years ago
Our first time to the area and we were very pleased with the accomodation. More sunbeds available than any hotel we have previously stayed at and no need to get up early to bag a place.

Food was very good although the breakfast was very much the same every day.

The rooms were cleaned to a high standard in fact the overall accomodation was very high.

On the downside the entertainment was very poor and lacked variety.

Excursions were good especially the trip to Granada to visit the Alhambra Palace. We would have liked to have visited Jerez and also had the opportunity to see a Flamenco Show.

Overall it was a good resort for a restful break
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum