Image of Thalassa Apartments

Thalassa Apartments

7 of 13 hotels in Santa Susanna

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
2 stars
Passeig MarĂ­tim, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Situated within the Hotel Tahiti Playa complex and sharing all the facilities, the Thalassa Apartments offer bright, comfortable, self catering accommodation. There are two swimming pools and sun terraces, located in the adjoining Hotel Tahiti Playa.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Harrison
9 years 1 month ago
I was quietly concerned that i may have booked badly having read the other reviews, but was really pleased with the apartment. It was clean , spacious, loads of room to put clothing away. The fittings in the kitchen were basic but adequate. We were there a week, only got clean towels once, twice would have been nice but we managed fine. The hotel complex was available but we only used the pool and that was superb has to be the best pool in santa susanna. location was great practically on the beach with sea views from the apartment. Strongly advise a visit to the Ship pub right next door, friendly and welcoming, they do good food all day and in the evenings entertain you with quizzes and games, Karan and Ross were there every evening serving drinks with a big welcome and a smile.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone going self catering to this part of Spain
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: jet 2

Recommended
Gemma
9 years 1 month ago
A fantastic family holiday in a great beach front location, towels changed every 3rd day & no maid service which we liked. Staff were very friendly & helpful & prompt to help when needed. A lovely place to stay & as a family we are going bcak net year & some friends are joining us!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independatly

Recommended
Mjadzelics Family
9 years 8 months ago
We as a family much enjoyed staying in the Thalassa apartments. We have been to Santa Susanna 3 times and all of these times we have stayed in these apartments. We went self-catering as we don't like having to be up and eating at a specific time. The rooms were always set out to a high standard and had everything we needed. The service at the reception was amazing, they dealt with any problems we had and any enquiries that we had too. It is situated in a great part of Santa Susanna; the beach, which is where we spend most of our time when on holiday! The ship pub, directly next to the apartments were fantastic! The owners and staff were very welcoming and was always up for a laugh.. plus, their food was great! The Eurika pub down near Malgrat de mar was alsogreat! Food was fantastic! We would gladly recommend these apartments to anyone who was looking for a cheap, nice and relaxing holiday!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Ferris

Recommended
Mjadzelics Family
9 years 8 months ago
We as a family much enjoyed staying in the Thalassa apartments. We have been to Santa Susanna 3 times and all of these times we have stayed in these apartments. We went self-catering as we don't like having to be up and eating at a specific time. The rooms were always set out to a high standard and had everything we needed. The service at the reception was amazing, they dealt with any problems we had and any enquiries that we had too. It is situated in a great part of Santa Susanna; the beach, which is where we spend most of our time when on holiday! We would gladly recommend these apartments to anyone who was looking for a cheap, nice and relaxing holiday!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Ferris

Recommended
Karen Ogborn
9 years 10 months ago
the appartments were basic but clean,great location right on the beach with a great veiw of the sea and the promanade, the staff were very friendly, in perticular wendy at reception, she spoke very good english,whichwas a reat help. the entertainment was dissapointing as it was aimed at german,french and dutch, so we did't understand what was going on a lot of the time, but saying that we had a great holidy and would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris coach holidys

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
on arrival at thalassa we were pleasantly surprised, after reading some of the comments on this site we were secretly dreading this holiday, however the building was well presented , tidy and in a prime location with entrance straight onto the beach,and the use of arguably the best pool in the area . The rooms were basic but clean and very spacious ,linen change once weekly towel change thrice ,although it does say twice maybe we were lucky, staff were very pleasant and a big thankyou to wendy and azra the receptionists who always had time for you and were very helpful,this resorts entertainment seems to be based on our european cousins tastes with nothing at all for the under 18s, it was hard to keep the kids happy all the time. I can however recomend the ship for an evenings entertainment, no groups or bands just jo public on the karaoke ,quizzes and bingo this the kids loved and a special big thankyou to Gilly and Becks who make every visit to the ship a good laugh and an enjoyable night
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ferris

Recommended
Mrs King
10 years 10 months ago
i was very dissappointed with this apartments it was not clean at all , we had no kettle or toaster and when we booked this aprtment we were told it was a
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ferris

Daniel
12 years 11 months ago
Just got back today from Thalassa Apts in Santa Sussanna Costa Brava, apartments are very very basic with no kettle, toaster and just 2 hobs and a sink. mini fridge/freezer to use! The apartments were not the best place we have been and the entertainment in the hotel Tahiti Playa (Thalassa Apts share with) is catered more for foreign customers ie, Germans, French and Spanish. This resort and the whole of Santa Sussanna is a German/Spanish holidaymakers resort. The kids made no friends as they obviously couldnt...the German guests are very ignorant and are up at 5:30am every morning laying towels on sun beds!
Overall the stay in Santa Sussanna was ok but very boring.

in the apartments you get clean bedding once a week where you must make your beds yourselves, clean towels every 3 days and 4 rolls of toilet roll once during your stay then after that you have to buy your own from the local Supermercat! Maids do not clean your room but for us was not a problem as the kids like to lie in so maids are not knocking them up.

There is a bar situated underneath the apartments called The Ship...this bar has english grub, english entertainment and TV inc. Sky Sports, BBC1,2, ITV1 etc. Staff in The Ship are very helpful and polite i wouldnt call it one of the best pubs in town but we was there at the end of the night before we went to bed.

I would recommend the "English Strip" in Santa Susanna which is a street full of English bars and pubs serving english food etc. at low prices, we especially recommend Legends...very kind and helpful staff and also the Eureka pub. To find the english strip if you walk to a bar called Nemo on the same side as the Thalassa Apts then use that subway tunnel to cross the other side and follow the road upto the Hotel Monte Playa and on your left hand side right on the corner is a shoe shop and down that street is the english strip! with pubs including Rovers Return, Legends, Robin Hood, The Black Bull all very good places!

I also recommend one of the Chinese Restaurants further up the road all the way to the top and it is up a side street near the largest Pharmacy it is 5euros for a 3 course meal and a drink although they do rush u in and out but is nice food! also the restaurant Vista Mar is very nice!



The Hotel Tahita Playa is shared with Thalassa Apartments therefore Hotel Tahiti Playa's pool area bar area is used by both Tahiti and Thalassa guests, on arrival you will receive a red band you must wear at all times as hotel security is very high, also you must pay up front on Check In a total amount of 70euros deposit for any serious breakages at the end of your holiday and on departure you will receive that back although on your last day you dont really need 70euros jangling around. Henna Tattoos are not permitted as they could stain sheets as indicated in files loacated in reception and any stained sheets are paid for on departure.

Going out at night can be a pain, returning back to Thalassa Apartments is even worse, Reception doors are closed at 9pm so you must walk all the way round through the Tahiti Playa Hotel as reception in Thalassa is only open 8am-3:30pm security close these doors so that unfamiliar people are wandering and the Tahiti staff are very observative.



Overall our stay in Costa Brava was enjoyable and all staff at Tahiti and Thalassa are very kind and helpful!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holiday

Recommended
Caroline Willocks
13 years 10 months ago
These apartments read amazing in the brochure - right on the beach, shared pool (with Hotel Tahiti Playa) but with plenty room for everyone. What a laugh! The hotel is mainly Dutch, German, French and Italian - you have to enter the apartments through the Hotel at night and on one such occasion we actually saw people putting towels on the sunbeds at 1.30 in the morning.

There is also a train line running between the apartments and promenade ( you have the beach, hotel + apartments - railway line then promenade) You use an underpass to get from one to the other(you are dropped off at the promenade and have to go under the underpass with your case but the Europeans are dropped off at the door according to the rep this is how the management want it).If you have small children you have to be very careful as the train line is not fenced off.

In the welcome pack there is a sheet telling you the rooms will be cleaned 3 times a week, towels every day and sheets twice if you are there for 2 weeks. How very
wrong you must clean the rooms yourself (this includes buying your own toilet paper)I asked the reception 3 tiems for clean towels, 3 days into the holiday and finally ended up phoning Direct Travel in the resort and within 10 minutes we had clean towels. The maid rang the bell one day and handed clean sheets to my husband - he though she was away to get the cart for the dirty ones - how wrong could we have been - we had to change the beds ourselves and leave the dirty sheets outside for the maids (and I use the term very lightly) to collect them whenever.
When I approached the rep with the welcome pack cheet he stated he knew nothing about this and that was end of story.

You have only 2 rings in the room and the pots wee not very clean so really we only had soup and sandwiches in the afternoon and eat out every night.

The apartment are located between Santa Susanna and Malgret de Mar where we spent most of our evenings as it is slightly busier.

The hotel staff we felt treated the British rather poorer than they treated the European holiday makers but everyone who was in the Thalassa felt this way and are all very unhappy about it.

Entertainment in the hotel was Singers one night, Magiian another, Mr Tahita Playa etc your usual hotel entertainment.

I would maybe try these apartments again but the standards would have to be raised very much.

I felt that I do housework all year round and that this should have been a break not a continuation.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Clare G
15 years 3 months ago
My family have just returned (july 2003) from the Thalassa Apts. This is our second time going to these apts. The apts were basic and clean, no problems if you need extra clean towels or bedding . Linda the receptionist is always very accomodating.
She was able to advise us train times and info regarding Barcelona, which we did for 5 euros return. Well worth a visit.

The Thalassa Apts share the facilties with the Tahiti Playa, the dining room was certainly not geared to the british taste, but this did not bother my family at all. There are several good cafe/restaurants to choose from. The Indian and Mexican are well worth a visit. as well as Casa Nova.

I do have to mention that i would not advise anyone
to waste their money going to the 'Mission Impossible' night with Direct Hoildays, a complete waste of 35 euros/each for a poor meal and even worse entertainment.

Overall we had a terrific hoilday in Santa Susanna and certainly will consider holidaying there again.

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum