Image of HTop Royal Sun Hotel

HTop Royal Sun Hotel

9 of 13 hotels in Santa Susanna

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Paseo Marítimo S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
The Top Royal Sun Hotel occupies a prime beach-front location on a quiet and select part of the Santa Susana promenade and is just 41 km from Girona Airport and 68 km from Barcelona. With a spacious reception and 217 comfortable guestrooms.

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jimd-f
Food needs improvement but good hotel
7 years 9 months ago
I'm just back from a week at this hotel. We were put in this hotel after it was decided to close our original hotel, with us not finding out until we tried to check in to the Planamar.

This hotel is situated right on the beach, with the railway line running between the hotel and the resort. Access is via an underpass. Walking time to train station is 15 minutes to SS and 30 minutes to Malgrat. There is a local bus service that runs between the stations, and also a noddy train that goes round the resorts. It is worth getting the SS noddy train up into the surrounding hills just for the scenery.

There are a few pubs in the surrounding area, the swan almost next door and others on the other side of the railway. The best in the immediate area is the drunken duck, which has a great atmosphere and does some super food. It is well worth a visit, just up the road beside burger king.

On arrival, at around 10am we were advised that we could not check in until 12.00. We were advised to lock our cases in the TV room which we did, but on return at 12.00 the room was open for anyone to enter. Fortunately our cases were intact.

Reception staff were very efficient and helpful. There are internet pcs in the foyer (chargeable) and a tv lounge.

Our rooms were very clean. The TV (with BBC1/ITV), toilet and a/c all worked fine. Hairdryer in the rooms.

The rooms and hotel in general were all kept very clean, with maids working all hours. The manager was prominent and approachable and any problems except getting more bar staff appeared to be dealt with promptly. One of the best features of this hotel is the patio which is right on the beach, but unfortunately the patio bar was closed.

The food was the usual variety for an AI hotel, ie. main meals had fish, pasta and a couple of meat dishes. This week was pork week; it seemed that every lunchtime and evening the choice was pork. The salad selection was blatantly leftovers mixed with pasta or rice. Most of the meat and fish dishes were cooked with veg and used very cheap cuts of meat. Breakfast was the usual cold meats/cheese and fruit, with cooked items like bacon, beans, tomatoes (everyday), occasionally frankfurters, chips, fried bread and on one occasion pork stew from the previous nights dinner menu.

You could not fault the actual cooking the standard was very good, but the very boney/fatty meat was not really very good. The breakfast coffee is still lousy, but if you choose cortado that probably is the least offensive. It is also worth paying for a coffee at the bar as that is much better quality than the free stuff.

The bar was fine with the usual daily cocktail and varying measure sizes of the vodka depending on who served you and the staff were very friendly and treated us very well. The only problem is the limit of 1 drink per card, and the reluctance of the management to have more than 1 barman working at a time.

Entertainment was ok with the usual mix of singers and dance shows.

I know that the star rating has nothing to do with food quality, rather having to do with the facilities available, and this was evident here; the quality of the food being no better, and some days worse, than in their 3* hotels.

I thought this was a good break in a clean hotel, and for the money paid it was good value, but the food does need improving.

Would I go back, not voluntarily for me, as it is in the wrong location for what I want from my holiday.
Would I recommend it to others, yes. It is a good hotel, in a great location, for a beach holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Barker
7 years 11 months ago
We paid £300 per head during school holiday time, this included the flight, hotel and meals and drinks. This hotel is now known as Royal Sun Suites and is not to be confused with the royal sun owned by the same chain which is four star and on beach front. The Hotel is a good 3 star the food was well prepared and plenty of it. It was hot and although lacking in the wow factor very adequate. Drinks were free with the exception of cocktails. Ice pops free but icecream out of meal times was extra. Snacks were available but the three meals a day were more than enough for us. You are able to visit any other H Top Hotel for free drinks and you can pre book free coach and lunch at any other H top.

The rooms were clean and had daily towel change and maid service, beds made etc. Staff were very friendly on the whole. Pool is small and on roof there is smaller toddler pool but we were lucky to get one or two sun loungers which was ok because kids were in the pool anyway. Pool was ideal for us because of size we could see kids at all times.

The entertainment we saw was ok. There is a kids club which we used twice. Colouring and making paper aeroplanes. Five minutes from beach. Less noisier than the hotels on the main strip.

Good three star hotel worth every penny we paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SUN4YOU

Recommended
Ell
8 years 2 months ago
The hotel is clean and tidy, the bed and room was cleaned every day. There is a television in the room with three English channels, there is a hairdryer for your use in the bathroom and the room we were in had a fridge, which was good.
The food was very nice and the cakes were very very tempting, but did lack a little sugar. The restaurant staff are friendly, as are the bar staff.
The downfall to this time of year is the unpredictable weather, but did have three clear, not a cloud in the sky days. The main snack bar is not open at this time of year so the only snacks available are sandwiches and crisps.
The entertainment was what you expect for an all inclusive hotel, bingo, quiz and games. The foya to the hotel has a television and if you ask the receptionist nicely they will but on the football for you to watch.
They is a night club underground just over the road from the hotel, which i think i heard people leaving from only twice during my one week stay. The shops and cafes are only a short walk away from the hotel. You can also use you hotel AI card in other HTOP hotels, for drinks only, if you want to eat there you have to book with the reception the day before, to reserve your place. The free bus to others hotels is not on at this time of year, only starts in May, but there are two within walking distance of the royal sun for you to try out.
the cocktails are nice, but be careful as you do not feel the affect of them till you wake up in the morning.
it is a good place to go at this time of year for a cheap break and some sunshine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcost

Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
read reviews before but wasn't to bothered as some people moan about everything. was me, my husband and 11 year old son. we were all inclusive. the food was really really awful, was a smell of sewage just as you go into restaurant, not much choice, didn't really fill you up. none of us are fussy eaters. at brekfast i see mould on the bread on more than 1 occasion. we ate out 3 out of 7 nights. room was fine but didn't have kettle so went and brought one but this didn't bother us. bed not very comfy but hey your on holiday, rooms were clean and of a good size. entertainment ok. kids club good
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sun 4 u

Bob Bailey
9 years 2 months ago
The location has already been written about but I will say it is in a prime location, on the beach, with no roads to cross. Many guests were taking their AI drinks with them onto the beach !

It is an older hotel but has been well looked after and spotlessly maintained. It is not up to 4* standard regarding the amenities and food but a good 3* My wife is a fussy eater but found something to eat at every meal time.

Do not go with expectations of a modern Spanish 4* and you will be happy, as long as the price is right. There are bargains to be had with daily flights into Girona and transfers easily found via the Internet. Be aware prices do vary. We paid under
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Independently

Recommended
B
9 years 3 months ago
Quite an average *** hotel for Spain, the good thing was that it was right on the beach, that is if your a beach person, the food was OK, lots of Pork and Pork offshoots, hotel was clean, plenty of cleaning going on,enternmaint was really diabolical, the one night they did have a Kareoke,(which was half decent)but he said his equipment broke down,and finished, just putting long CD tracks on, but we noticed it was working perfectly well the next morning, his English needs to be improved dramatically before Brits can understand him, have been to this resort before at the "Santa Susanha Resort" and had a far better time there, so, really, would not use this hotel again, unless it was a really, really good bargain.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine

Eileen Calder
9 years 3 months ago
The Royal Sun is well located in Santa Susanna right on the beach, near to shops and 10 mins away from the station - which will take you by train for around six euro return to Barcelona. (That is the place to try genuine Catalunyan and Spanish cuisine. -which you will not get at the Royal Sun) However considering the ridiculously low prices we are paying there is not much to complain about regarding the food.(although many people seem to love to do it)There was always something edible, some things really nice but it does become rather boring if you are there for two weeks. (If you need HOT not warm tea or coffee bring a kettle with you)

The hotel was clean but dated, the pool lovely and the beach was great (had the weather been better) All Inclusive at the RS you will only ever get one drink at a time per card - despite the fact it is four star - and every other HTop Hotel we visted would give you two, including the nearby Planamar in Malgrat and the Santa Susana - be aware that the free bus is not on until April - this is not always made clear on the holiday companies web-sites. However you can travel comfortably on foot to the 2 other HTop Hotels in Santa Susana and Malgrat or by train to Pineda de Mar, Callela and Lloret. You must book in advance the day before for lunch and snacks and you cannot get dinner in the other hotels or drinks after 7.00pm despite what the brochures or websites may tell you. The alcohol is locally produced but just as potent and almost the same as the real thing. The staff were fine -polite if you were polite to them - not fluent in English, but why should they be ? You are a guest in THEIR country. Cyril on the reception desk is exceptionally helpful and pleasant - as is the main waiter in the bar in the restaurant - he is also fluent in about five languages. The rest of the bar staff did their jobs, but some never smiled despite repeated attempts by guests to be friendly and putting Euros in their Tip Box - I would not like to see them when their patience is tried by rowdy stag parties or football teams or at the height of the season:( Sports fans need to know that they do not have sports channels so you have to go out of the hotel to see Ireland beating Wales at Rugby or Northern Ireland beating Poland in the World Cup qualifying match!)
There is no WiFi and HTop Hotel computers do not recognise memory sticks.
The entertainment was not much to write home about but I imagine it will improve as the season gets busier - It was better than nothing and your holiday is what you make it. I would return to this hotel again if we got as good a deal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2CanTravel

Recommended
Steve
9 years 4 months ago
just come back from a 2 day break at this hotel me and 3 mates,this has to be the worst all inclusive hotel ive ever stayed in for watered down drinks the larger was weak the vodka must have been of the most low budget they could get there hands on dont think the cocktails had any alcohol at all in them everybody was saying the same,the hotel was pretty clean bedrooms was ok soft bed heater t.v with a couple of english channels,the food was the usual all in standard cold and hot buffet always something to eat,the hotel location is right on the beach spot on the hotel staff were good the bloke on reseptsion was helpful this time of year the entertainment at night is a quiz then disco good fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpha rooms

Morrison Family
9 years 7 months ago
hotel bang on beach very nice hotel cant fault it in anyway a lot of old and bold but no probs kids entertainer marit very good will be back resort was just about closed but it was end of nov but still warm as the saying goes you get what you pay for we got more or less what was expected and happy with it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
hotel was lovely and clean. staff friendly. there was a school trip at the hotel ,they go there every october and they were very well behave a credit to welshpool high school .the food was alright but not alot of choice for children .entertainment was good on some nights . the location of the hotel was good .the is a good supermarket up the road
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medilnland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum