Image of Ona Brava Aqua Hotel

Ona Brava Aqua Hotel

2 of 13 hotels in Santa Susanna

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
Avinguda del Mar, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
A spacious and modern complex situated in a quieter area of the resort. This hotel has something for everyone, whether you just want to relax or take advantage of the many sporting facilities available. The hotel os just a short stroll from Santa Susanna.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years ago
Just returned from 1 week at this hotel and I must say that after reading the good reports we were disappointed with the hotel. We regularly stay at 4* hotels so are used to what they have to offer. The food let the hotel down terribly. We are by no means fussy eaters, and the first couple of days the food was ok, but then just seemed extremely repetative, little choice and just plain boring!
My second complaint about the hotel is the activities were almost non existant, I suppose this could be put down to it being the end of season, but the hotel was busy and it is half term for a lot of UK schoolkids. Also, the indoor pool charged 8 euros for a days use which wasn't mentioned in the hotel description when we booked.
The evening entertainment was ok, kids mini disco at 9pm, then a show at 10pm, one night a magic show and another was a Brazil dance troupe.
On the plus side, we had a lovely room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool with a sea view. It was also on 2 mins walk to the train station which was very handy.
I think this hotel is more suited for the over 60's, particularly at this time of year, maybe things are different in the summer.
We wouldn't return to this hotel as there just wasn't enough going on to keep my 14yr old son occupied. I think though that there was a mini club during the day for 4-10yr olds.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Jon
10 years 2 months ago
As you can see if you scroll down, I have stayed at this hotel before and I would recommend it to anyone. It is excellent. Our room was spotlessly cleaned. I know this because one day I went up to the room when they were cleaning. The food is outstanding. The food choices are excellent too! The location (opposite beach and train station) is excellent. Also the quieter end of resort. Don't come here if you like it to be rowdy! The staff are superb. The restaurant manager even remembered me from 2 years ago! How about that? I have given 5 for entertaiment, but truthfully I think hotel entertainment is usually rubbish and best avoided!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Siesta

Recommended
Andrew Cairns
10 years 6 months ago
We booked this hotel on the recommendations of the users on this website. As I regularly check it before booking' I thought it would only be fair to submit my own review. The hotel was very modern (built 2001) and one of the cleanest I have been in. The room was spacious with a fridge that cost about 2 euros per day to rent. There were a number of Spanish pensioners staying also as they get a free holiday from their Government every year, but they were no problem and very polite. The food was very good and of a high quality, with also a number of Spanish dishes, mainly pork to cater for the locals. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Hotels

Recommended
Suzanne Lees
11 years 2 months ago
We had a fantastic holiday this year at this hotel. The hotel is spotless rooms cleaned everyday.The food was lovely and the location of the hotel couldnt be better. Lovely stalls set out at night and brilliant Tuesday market right outside hotel.The entertainment team were brilliant and the kids loved it. The pool area is fantastic and safe for the kids to play. We had a trip to Barcelona football ground which we really enjoyed caught the train across the road from the hotel and trams once arrived in Barcelona. The train took an hour and lots of people to ask which tram to get when got off. Would definately recommend this hotel something for everyone in Santa Susanna.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Check in seemed to take ages but we eventually found our pleasant room.The air con was very welcome and worked fine but when you left the room and took your card key all the power shut down.This also affected the fridge we paid for but reception will give you a spare card to keep it running if you ask.Very good sound insulation in the room.As in most Spanish hotels the cleanliness was exceptional with towels changed daily.The food was OK,but not the best we have had in four star hotels.Mealtimes were a frantic affair with the buffet being cleared away on the dot of closing time.On our last morning the milk in the jugs was'off'Very few UK holidaymakers there-mostly Spanish and Dutch which meant there was no yobbish behaviour!The location was very handy with the train station accross the road.A trip to Calella is only two stops down the line.Buy your ticket from the circular builing at the end of the platform and make sure you validate it in the machine outside.The staff in general were good especially the girls doing the kids entertainment.Nice outdoor pool with separate kids pool.Sunbeds are 1 euro a day in high season.Bar prices are a bit steep but as the entertainment is included at night you can't grumble!There is a mini market at the front of the hotel selling reasonably priced drinks and snacks.The entertainment tended to vary.The kids loved the Parrot show but were bored with the flamenco ballet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Under own steam

Recommended
LYNNE
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed here this May, going back September.

Booked on-line without help of any agency.

Very clean and friendly, lots of sunbeds, food great, pool great, everything you need close by although not in centre of resort which suited us fine.

Every night lots of stalls selling local products, right outside hotel.

Highly recommended
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY HOLIDAY

Recommended
Tim Payne
12 years 2 months ago
This is the first time that we have stayed at this hotel. We would thoroughly recommend it. It is a very modern hotel with excellent facilities.

Rooms are large with everything that you would expect. Great pool - loads of sunloungers.

The only complaint we have is that the food was not hot enough although the choice was excellent. Would stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jon
12 years 6 months ago
This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to. The holiday break was cheap, but you felt like you were the most important guest they'd ever had. Exactly how it should be!

Definitely would go again. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Siesta

Recommended
Andy
12 years 10 months ago
Our holiday was booked through Festive Getaways and we chose the Onabrava due to its location and the fact it was a four star hotel.

Santa Susanna is a resort on the Costa Brava, about an hour from Barcelona. The hotel is about 5 minutes away from a beautiful sandy beach.

From the minute we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The hotel check in was fast and efficient and the staff well organised and pleasant. The hotel was spotless and the rooms spacious and well equipped.

You are advised to pay for a safety deposit box as the management will not take responsibility for personal possessions and money left in your room.

The hotel has a good sized outdoor swimming pool but also benefits from a games room, indoor pool, gym, sauna and night time entertainment. On the down side the gym and indoor pool are charged for at the rate of 6 euros a day.

Where the hotel really excels is with its cuisine. Our holiday was a Christmas Festive break and the Christmas dinner was excellent and skilfully presented.

Generally meals take the form of a buffet service but the choice and scale of the food offered was truly amazing. All drinks ( and that includes water ) must be paid for separately at main dinner times but this seems to be standard practice in most hotels in Spain.

Bar prices and the prices of the vending machines in the hotel are in line with those locally. In many cases the hotel was actually cheaper. The tours which were not organised by the hotel, were expensive for what was on offer.

The most popular tourist destinations nearby are Barcelona, Mountserrat and Girona although the nearby seaside resort of Blanes is certainly worth a visit.

The train service is excellent and very close to the hotel. A return trip to Barcelona is only 7 euros. Public transport in Spain is cheap, clean and efficient.

This is a very good hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Festive Getaways

Recommended
Vikki And Neil
12 years 11 months ago
Lovely hotel and very clean, food was great although did cater more for the germans, we went in november so there were plenty of sunbeds available. Entertainment was very poor, we would probably go again but its definetly not a place for kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holiday nights

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum