Image of Marhaba Royal Salem Hotel

Marhaba Royal Salem Hotel

8 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cox
Stayed in April 2014 would not return
3 years 9 months ago
We think this is a tired hotel that needs updating - Our Electric in the room would just switch off randomly we asked for a sea view but this was not available until 24 hours after we arrived. The service in some area's were poor waiters would just walk by or bring you the wrong drinks - food on offer was luke warm. Not 4* by any means. Beach Bar was not open - The pictures on the site show you a pool with slides but these were not open. If you want anything you have to tip or you are ignored. Really did not enjoy my stay at this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Cathy
Not a four star hotel
5 years 2 months ago
I guess if we had got this holiday cheap I would probably rate it better for money, but as we paid a lot for a family of four it certainly was not worth it & feel our expectations were high because of the price we paid.

Have stayed at many 4* hotels all inclusive in various countries & this hotel was not the same standard we are used to VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Just had to make the most of what we had & put it down to a bad experience with this last minute holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jon
Hotel was just ok
5 years 7 months ago
Arrived for the first time in Tunisia Monastir airport and what a nightmare! Took about 45 minutes to get our bags, but soon on the way to the hotel and met by the porters checked in then we were allowed to get a drink and something to eat while my room was being made ready, took about 20 minutes.

Reception nice and clean as was the whole hotel. We had a nice room with good shower plenty of hot water all day long. We had 2 single beds a nice balcony and our room faced the front of the hotel, which was nice.
Food was good, only thing was some vegetables were slightly under done for my liking.
There is building work going on next to the hotel didn’t seem to bother anyone though. There are 3 pools with 1 indoor.

The hotel is situated between sosse and the port, the noddy train is 5 dinar return. Mini buses 1 dinar you have to flag these down on the main road taxis are plentiful but make sure of the price and pay before you start the trip.
Fantastic holiday
6 years 7 months ago
This was our second stay at this hotel within a couple of months. We were even allocated the same room as before! We were pleased about that.

One thing (other than the weather) which had noticably changed was the bar staff. Before there was virtually no waiter service but this time around there was- and it made a real big difference to our stay. No scrimmaging at the bar.

Food was as good as before. I like the Saturday evening meal where they put candles on the tables, lower the lights and have a live singer with an organ. Quite romantic really! We had a superb waiter who was worth his weight in gold. He really looked after us.

Before we never really used the snack bar during the day; this time we did. We missed out on a lot before. The lunch meals here we excellent and we could sit outside when the weather allowed us to! The Maure cafe was good too for a beer and shisha pipe in the evening. 5 dinar for a pipe - reasonable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
No hesitation in returning.
6 years 8 months ago
There is not a lot to add to the previous review, except that I was half-board, so did not experience A/I. The hotel is a little too far from the centre of town for me but taxis are cheap (especially if one 'negotiates') so it is not a problem. Food was excellent, with plenty of choice to suit all tastes, though it would have been nice to have more Tunisian dishes. They have still not learned how to do mashed potato however, though all the other vegetables were lovely, as was the meat. As always, the pastries and ice-cream were fantastic.

My room was spacious, with three beds, plenty of storage space and a small balcony, with no room for chairs though overlooking the sea. Bathroom was well equipped, with hairdryer and toiletries provided and a constant supply of hot water. Towels were changed daily and sheets twice a week.

Staff were lovely and very friendly. The animation team were nice lads but the entertainment left something to be desired, though the shows brought in (snake charmer, fakir show, belly-dancers etc) were quite good. It could be noisy as 'incidental' music was always loud.

As entertainment took place in the main lounge area and the rooms were above this it could be a problem if you wanted an early night. I didn't experience any of the daytime activities as I was often out.

There is more than one part to this hotel, or should I say more than one hotel in the grounds under the same name, and a new one will be opening in the next few weeks, facing the main pool with its water slides etc.

I was more than happy with my stay and would have no hesitation in returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Great
6 years 8 months ago
This was our first time in Tunisia and had nothing to compare our hotel etc. to. Also we have never been all inclusive before. Reason for going was that we wanted a break away and found a good cheap deal.

We were so pleased that we did. The hotel although a tad dated was very grand and spacious. Especially the reception and bar area. We found the food exactly to our liking. Good quality and plenty of variation. The main meat and fish options both for lunch and dinner changed daily.

At the bar I was so pleased to discover that beer was served in both pint glass jugs as we as half pint glasses. Bar could get busy at times- but hey! Free drinks all round is bound to cause that.

One pool was closed when we were there which didn't matter at all as the water was too cold to swim.

Plenty of games etc during the day if that is what you want. I liked to play French Boules on the beach whilst my wife did the archery.

Nightly entertainment was OK but not brilliant. They have two internal lifts in the main area- really nice lifts made of glass.

We never had an allocated table in the restaurant but we preferred that. The head waiter always found a nice place for us and we got to know other people doing that as well.

The beach, a small dedicated part just for the hotel was very nice and clean. We played Boules there in the mornings. Drinks and ice cream could be had as well on the beach. They were in the process of building a new snack bar on the beach which will be great when finished-- hope it is in May!!

Nice walks along the beach to either Sousse or PEK.
The gardens in the hotel grounds were being tended to when we were there and many plants being planted.

One thing I would definitely recommend when there is to have the A La Carte meal on offer once a week to all inclusive customers. It is supposed to be traditional Tunian fare and, quite frankly, we did not enjoy it. Much better choosing the Tunisian food in the buffet restaurant.
Of course we went during late March so I have no idea what it will be like when the season is in full swing.

I could go on and on. I would go back and we are this coming May.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Great hotel, friendly staff and good food
7 years 2 months ago
I was HB at the Royal Salem for two weeks and wonder if it is the same hotel as the previous reviewer visited. When I arrived at 3am I found that I had been allocated a room on the first floor rather than higher up as I'd requested by e-mail but this was sorted the following day.

My first impressions were excellent. The main reception was divided into very distinct smoking and non-smoking sections, with the first part near the bar for non-smokers, then a slight slope/steps up to the smoking area, both with ample seating. Between the two was a small dance floor. The staff were all absolutely lovely, particularly the bar staff. I made friends with another family with 4 children who were A/I and they had no problem getting as many drinks as they wanted and their children were more than happy to get their own.

The rooms were large with a very comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. There was a TV provided with a selection of channels though not too many in English. A fridge could be hired but I didn't bother so don't know how much this would have cost. There is no safe in the room but safety boxes could be hired in reception. Some people might quibble about the standard of grouting in the bathroom but I prefer to rejoice in the constant hot water, excellent shower pressure (even though the shower wouldn't attach to the wall) decent towels and shampoos, shower gel and hairdryer provided.

Tables were not allocated in the dining room, which was not a problem though it would have been nice to get the same table and waiter each mealtime. Food was much better than average and always at the right temperature. Breakfast is not the most popular meal in Tunisia but apart from the usual cereals you could have eggs boiled or fried or omelettes, plus pancakes or doughnuts freshly cooked. For dinner, soups and salads were excellent and so was most of the meat, including pork! Unusually for Tunisia there was a good selection of vegetables and deserts always included a selection of fruits and ice-creams, as well as the usual cakes.

The grounds are extensive and apart from the various pools, around which there were always plenty of sun beds, there were many little secluded areas with seats where you could sit and read a book uninterrupted.

Most of the evening entertainment took place by one of the outside pools, but there was sometimes music and dancing in the main reception area which was very enjoyable. The entertainment team were very pleasant but didn't seem to interact with the guests as much as others have done. Various activities took place during the day but as I spent most of the day out of the hotel I can't comment on that.

Having stayed in many Sousse hotels over the years I would have no hesitation in returning to the Royal Salem and will probably go back there in March.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Would not return, the staff were so rude
7 years 5 months ago
When arriving, our wrist bands for all inclusive were not available until the following morning, we were given a pass to show at the bar etc, found the bar staff on arrival extremely rude, the children aged 9 and 14 would not go to the bar for a drink because of the rude way we were treated. You had to sign a receipt every time you got a drink for the duration of the holiday; the queues for drinks were huge.
You had the same table each night in the restaurant and the waiters were very nice, one of our party had a birthday while on holiday and they decorated the table and brought a cake.

I requested by e mail a ground floor room as I have a 12 month old child, however, when we arrived we were given a room on the 3rd floor there are no lifts.
The guys who do the evening entertainment were great.

I would not go here again because compared to other all-inclusive holidays I have been on they are extremely tight on drinks, if alcohol or non alcoholic you are given you drink in small plastic cup (well your not given your drink its more or less thrown to you).

The kids enjoyed it around the pools, great slides and a nice beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Bartholomew
8 years 3 months ago
10 days at the royal Salem , the most relaxing holiday for a long time, make friends with Kias and Sam the sunbed men and you have a bed all holiday. All inclusive food was good if a little repeatitive, there was always different meats , stews and roasts to choose from, as well as pancakes, omelettes and fresh fried eggs for breakfast.

we had 2 rooms with an interconnecting door with fantastic sea views.decor is slightly dated, but hay this is Tunisia.
all staff in the hotel were polite and helpful, nothing was ever to much trouble.

go enjoy but remember Tunisia is unique, and so are the people, rest relax and suntan.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Heasman
8 years 5 months ago
What awonderfull holiday, the hotel is comfortable and clean.Staff are really friendly and go out of their way to help, please be polite to them, many nationalities are not and this is reflected in the service that they are given.Dining room appears to be a little chaotic at first but you soon get into the swing of things,Over a two week period food can seem a little repetative but its allways hot and theres plenty of it.there are four pools on the complex one indoor which is rarely used the most popular is the flume pool close to the beach this is a salt water pool.Make friends with the life guards at the pools as they will always sucure you sun beds and chat to you every day Kais at the flumes and a little elderly gent at the other one who cannot do enough for you.They do not expect tips but they are allways gratefully excepted.night life is traditional tunisian so dont expect too much just go with the chill.If you have children they will have a fantastic time as the staff will interact with them at all times.there is a bank in the hotel, a word of warning dont change money with reception staff as they are known to be fiddling people out of the coin when you convert your money with them.always get a receipt when changing money and if you have do to it at reception only change
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: