Image of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Tej Marhaba Hotel

16 of 21 hotels in Sousse

3 out of 5 from 52 reviews
4 stars
This hotel with its grand interior and exotic feel, is set within decorative gardens a short walk from the sandy beach. Situated in a lively area of Sousse with great onsite facilities, this is a good choice for couples and groups of friends.

52 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 5 months ago
We booked an 11 day holiday to this hotel three days before departure after having to cancel a Thailand holiday because of the troubles there.
We were a little concerned as to what we would find, as on reading some mixed reports on some internet sites, we were unsure what to expect
On arrival we were handed registration cards at the desk and told to go and sit down and fill them in. On completion of this we returned to the desk and handed it the forms, expecting our room keys, only to be told again to go and sit down. after about a further 10 minutes waiting I returned to the desk and demanded our room key, which was grudgingly given, a bad start, but in fact the reception staff were the only fly in the ointment, they continued to be unhelpfull at all times, and despite having a 11.00pm pick up on our departure, nobody apart from ourselves, was able to get a 6.00pm late check out( which had to be paid for) The hotel was not full and it was only with the help of the rep. that we managed to get one on health grounds. It was all to much bother for the receplion staff They were the worst I've come across for many years
From then on, all was well, the room was large spotlessly clean,recently redecorated, the maid service was first class
The quality, choice, and variety of food at breakfast and dinner was first class, anyone complaining about this must be very fussy indeed. The staff were very friendly.
The large freeform pool and the surrounding grass areas meant there was ample space and sunbeds were freely available.
The entertainment staff worked very hard, we did'nt bother with their evening efforts, but there appeared to be something on every evening.
There was a very cosmopolitan feel about the hotel with many French and German guests.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would definatley consider returning to this hotel in the future
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Sylvie Bee
7 years 10 months ago
The Tej is like dropping in on old friends. It is clean and the staff are friendly and will do anything possible to help you.

The food is good, especially the way the vegetables are cooked. If you're looking for thwe full English you'll be sorely disappointed in which case, why not go to Blackpool?

the sheets and towels are changed daily and the maids are helpful, friendly and honest as indeed are all the staff. Food is buffet style which means you can take as much or as little as you wish.

Don't forget to leave a tip for your waiter and maid, they don't earn very much and work very hard.
Don't haggle too much in the shops, the money they earn in summer has to carry them through winter.
Don't be afraid to haggle, it's a way of life to the Tunisians.
Tunisians hve a great sense of humour and like the English because, they say, we are very polite. When the shopkeepers say "ggod morning" return the greeting but keep on walking. Don't fall for the "Excuse me, can I ask a questionn? How mch cost that in England?" keep walking!

Have fun! I always do!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thoms cook

Recommended
Sylvie Bee
7 years 10 months ago
The Tej is like dropping in on old friends. It is clean and the staff are friendly and will do anything possible to help you.

The food is good, especially the way the vegetables are cooked. If you're looking for thwe full English you'll be sorely disappointed in which case, why not go to Blackpool?

the sheets and towels are changed daily and the maids are helpful, friendly and honest as indeed are all the staff. Food is buffet style which means you can take as much or as little as you wish.

Don't forget to leave a tip for your waiter and maid, they don't earn very much and work very hard.
Don't haggle too much in the shops, the money they earn in summer has to carry them through winter.
Don't be afraid to haggle, it's a way of life to the Tunisians.
Tunisians hve a great sense of humour and like the English because, they say, we are very polite. When the shopkeepers say "ggod morning" return the greeting but keep on walking. Don't fall for the "Excuse me, can I ask a questionn? How mch cost that in England?" keep walking!

Have fun! I always do!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thoms cook

Recommended
8 years ago
I was very anxious about staying in this hotel, as I had read a number of mixed reviews. The hotel is not a four star, as advertised. In my view, it is a three star. The carpets in the bedrooms are stained, and there is a strong urine smell in the toilet, that I noticed on the first day. However, I kept the lid down most of the time, and it was fine.

The rooms were cleaned every day, and the maids made some lovely designs with the blankets and my pajamas. There was a large selection of food for breakfast and dinner. I am not a fussy eater, but don't eat red meat. There was lots of chicken and fish every night, with pasta dishes. There were also varied selections of dessert. They were repetitive but delicious.

I think the Tej is in a good location, and you can either walk into Sousse, or take a cab which will take less than ten minutes.

The staff were always happy to help, and pleasant.

The down side is that the Tej is not situated on the beach, but it is in a good location, and I think the staff are great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Siobhan
8 years 4 months ago
excellent hotel. rooms cleaned daily,staff more than friendly.food very good,though like any other 2 week stay, starts to repeat itself.the location of the hotel was good.taxis can be found day and night outside front door.entertainment team are really nice lads,and try hard, to accomodate all ages, from old to young.would difinitely recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Fincher
8 years 6 months ago
This would only be classed as a 3 star hotel in Spain.
However,the food was quite good,plenty of choice.The rooms were ok if a bit dated.Reception was all marble and glass,very impressive,until you went into the toilets there.Disgusting!Better toilets in the little snack bars in Sousse.
Don't believe the picture you see in the holiday books.The sea view (for which we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

**freak**
9 years 11 months ago
The Tej, 4 star - yeah it is, but its a 4 star North african hotel, so bare that in mind - it is not the same as 4 star here in the UK, but it is a high standard when compared to other hotels in Tunisia.

The half board option was good- we had no problems with the seection at all - in fact totally to the contrary, the food was excellant.

Buffet style, breakfast and dinner, and yes there are doughnuts for breakfast, but not every day.

You have eggs - scrambled, boiled ( 3mins and 5) fried, salad is always around, yogurt, juice, tons of bread options, croissants, sausages, tomatoes, omelettes, cereals, juices - in fact always tons of options.

Dinner - I had something different every day - and given that I am a real picky eater ( I hate fish, pasta, cheese and tomatoes ) thats no mean feat.

Kebabs, Fries, Potatoes, Salad, Chicken, Stew, and loads more.

Like others have said on here, if you get Ali as your waiter you are onto a winner - and he is the only guy called Ali working as a waiter - I know as I asked him - he is the one with the glasses - and you could not ask for a more helpful, friendly nice guy.

Location - really good - walking distance of stuff, just down to the beach.

In respect of the entertainment - we did not really get into any of it - we wanted a quiet holiday, just the 2 of us, and thats what we got, but it did look a little bit "dated" bingo, boules, best couple!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Pjc
10 years ago
i went with my son who is 30 they tried to put us in a double bed!!. food was very poor breakfast not worth getting up for this is not 3 star or even 2 star for food.the bar staff and all staff first class vbut took us nearly 3 hours to get our room
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Caz
10 years 1 month ago
this hotel looks lovely but needs a face lift as i found it to be quite old fashioned although the hotel reception area is clean the toilets were very dirty and without toilet paper soap and hand towel's i have walking difficulties and found there slopes too steep and had to use the steps it was difficult to get around our room was
basic and although they say shower in there brochure
you have to step into a bath which is very high the food
is alright if you like eating the same thing every day there entertainment was very poor on a couple occasions
it rained there was nothing to do a few board games
would have been good i think this hotel needs to recruit
new entertainment staff and think up new ideas to entertain holiday makers during the day not just the evening would i return no.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Mkwife
10 years 5 months ago
Tej Marhaba is a fantastic hotel. It has its own shopping centre (quite expensive though), Rose and Crown pub
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: