Image of Tour Khalef

Tour Khalef

7 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 75 reviews
4 stars

75 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    34
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great for families
4 years 2 months ago
Having been to this hotel 5 times before we were wondering if maybe we should have booked somewhere else. Well OK we did book somewhere else but my partner suffers with mobility problems and we needed the security of knowing where we were going.

We arrived at 3am quickly filled in the forms and found out we were in the quiet room we requested but down about 3 flight of stairs and through 2 blocks of the building, OK its 3am its 24 degrees and we were shattered.

On entering the hotel and turning left you have Reception if you are based this side of the hotel I saw that this side has been completely repainted and re carpeted they have updated the curtains and bedding since we were there 4 years ago as well. I'm not sure on the right side as we didn't go looking over there neither did we go up to the top floors but the floors I looked at had been repainted re carpeted and looked clean and tidy.

Seeing Fethi at the Welcome meeting was a pleasant surprise as we knew him from previous trips and was much fun for him to keep pointing us out to the new people to Tunisia to try to get them to see that the hotel is good towards the end of the welcome meeting another 2 families joined who were also had been to the hotel a few times.

The Thomson rep Fethi has been there for 6 years, he knows everything you need to know nothing is too much hassle for him be it your beds to hard you need more pillows you want a room change, or you want help knowing where things are outside the hotel.

We went up to Reception and they had keys for several rooms for us to look at the only problem being was that there would be some noise up to 11pm, but at least we wasn't near the Bora Bora club other people have mentioned.

Over the two weeks I think we heard the noise only a few times but can't really say we stopped in our room every night, but those nights we were there we can say it was not a nightly noise we were based in room 3062. It's not a sun facing room or a pool facing room.

The food was great I found food to eat whenever we went down to the buffet type dining room 1 thing I will stress though DO and I do mean this DO get those nice looking cakes/puddings straight after you have gotten you main meal not after you have eaten it after you have gotten it. Otherwise there will be none left as some certain nationalities will takes plate after plate after plate and they just leave it on the table uneaten. So if you want the nice looking cake especially if you're on the later evening meal time then make sure you get your cakes. We didn't have much of the alcoholic drinks but they have Draft Beer, Red White and Rose Wine, several spirits, cocktails, Orange, Lemon,, Strawberry juices, Coke, Diet Coke, Fanta soft drinks and water both Still and Fizzy. There are Several Teas but I think other hot drinks were only available at breakfast time I might be wrong as I never really paid much attention to these.

There is also a pay bar you can use that has a wider range of spirits, Pure fruit juices and cocktails but these are not included on your all inclusive wrist bands.

We just had two great weeks in 24-32 Degree Heat which was an extended Summer Fethi Said and we were very grateful for. I think the All Inclusive needs a little work, as there's no late night snacks but that's not the hotel's fault. I would return tomorrow if I could.

If you need a chemist while at the Tour Khalef come out of the hotel go left walk to the 2nd white entrance gate turn right walk past the taxis just past the small shop there's the Thomson sign and there's a Chemist in there who speak very good English and are not expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Hotel tip: Largest Rooms are in the newly refurbished rooms around the low 2000's. If you have mobility problems let reception know they will try to get you a room close to the bars/reception and no stairs to climb.

Recommended
Vicki Smith
Stunning
6 years 2 months ago
We stayed at Tour Khalef in Sousse, Tunisia all inclusive.
The hotel was clean with friendly staff and maids. The maids made pretty shapes with towels and left us a red rose. We were chased for a tip by them near the end of our stay though.

No drinks facilities in rooms though, which as annoying.
Food was plentiful and fantastic variety. Lovely fried eggs at breakfast with good continental selection and pool cafe did things like chips, breads, soups and salads. Plenty of ice-cream and chocolate pancakes for the kids.

Pool was clean and lovely surroundings and right by the stunning beach. Beware of anyone asking if you’re English on the beach outside the hotel complex. Ignore them and they won't hassle you. If locals put a doughnut/toy camel/whatever in your hand, hand it back as they will expect payment. Again, do not let airport staff push your cases or they will get cross if you don’t tip.

The waiters can't do enough for you, bit false though as eventually gave us a wide berth with our rowdy kids and lack of tips.
Kids club was good and on for around 2 hours a day with competent staff. The entertainment was from the 80's and loved by the kids and at times was hilarious for the adults.
Really short guy, forget his name was genuine and sincere and taught us archery and amazing with the kids. Also, fantastic resident photographer who will help you pose and will make you look like a star with Photoshop if required. And all for 4 Dina, about 2 quid.

A stunning resort with sun, sea and the perfect place for a relaxing break with even the most lively kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
It would be nearly perfect if there were no Russians there, or at least not such a great number of them. They were emitting strange animal sounds all nights, did not respect any lines at the restaurant etc. (The other little downer was the reception desk - the staff seemed a little sluggish).
Otherwise, the hotel and esp. the surrounding were wonderful with the great "romantic" park,coziness, nearness of the beach and and the same time of downtown Sousse. However, the next time I will ask first if there will be any Russians there at the same time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TUI

Recommended
Eve
8 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Tour Khalif complex beginning of August 2009 on a late booking costing
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Shellie
8 years 4 months ago
After reading the reviews on here i wondered where the hell we were going. On Arrival i was very impressed. If you want a rexlaxing holiday this is the place. There was work still going on but didnt interfere with us at all. The staff are very friendly in the hotel. i would reccommend this hotel for children the kids club looked great. The trips you can do are great aswell. all in all the holiday was great and i would definatley vist this hotel again. One more thing it is very hot.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Ball
9 years 3 months ago
Just got back from tunisa,spent two weeks there the weather was great,the hotel is really nice and the staff are really friendly,everything is kept clean and tidy,my children went to the kids club and really enjoyed it,there was a disco on the night for the children,and entertainment as well,bingo and dancing.the food at the hotel was good,but there are alot of russians,and they seem to push in and take all the food,the staff had opened the snack bar by the pool just for the english to eat.We found this very good as you can sit out side.i have been to this hotel in 2oo4 not alot has changed and i would go back again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Sharon
9 years 3 months ago
2 weeks all inclusive, not the lovely holiday we expected mainly due to the noise from the Hotel being built IN THE HOTEL GROUNDS NEXT TO THE POOL.
The tour operater neglected to mention this when we booked or during the following 8 months, although the building work has been going on for most of 2008.
In short. the Hotel is noisy, the pool is noisy, the sound of the banging and hammering sometimes, carry right down to the beach and affect the Marhaba Beach as well.The food is run of the mill, you have to fight the russians for it.The Pool Dining Room is opened for the English, but the food choice is very limited.The Beach and Beach Bar are fine but it seems to close at 5 p.m.So does the Pool Bar.

The animation team are extremely good,but limited.
The activities seem to take place regularly.
Take your own Golf Ball, Tennis courts always empty but you will be told thay are fully booked ( or was that because we had our own equipment). The squash courts are closed.
Both Disco's are a bit seedy and suffer a dubious clientele.
If you want to spend 20 minutes in a queue everytime you want a drink (of any kind) go A.I. if not go half board (which will mean you can wander between all the Hotels on the complex and cherry pick the best on offer).
Staff seemed fine unless you had a compliant then they didnt speak your language.
Hotel hygiene, seemed good in public areas, service areas however left a lot to be desired.Carpets in the Halls are absoultely dire.
Rooms were kept clean, air condition unit dripped through the ceiling and created it's own puddle.
No hairdriers in rooms, 30 dinar deposit to hire a remote for the tv.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Trev
9 years 4 months ago
Just got back from a weeks stay at tour khalef with the wife and 2 kids.

Hotel was clean ( not so sure its 4 star though, more like a 3) and most of the staff were pretty friendly especially the maids who went out of their way to arange my daughters pyjamas in fan shapes and making swans out of the hotel towels. This was a nice touch that amused the kids.

The swimming pool was also clean and always a waiter near by to bring drinks out to your table for a small tip. The beach was just a 2 minute walk from the pool and was also pretty clean although not the clear seas you get in places like the carribean so snorkling was a waste of time.

The evening entertainment was ok and funny at times, which included kids disco, bingo, shows arranged by the hotel animation team etc...

The weather whilst we were there was very sunny and hot, in the 40`s for the first couple of days before cooling slightly as the week went on. No complaints there!!

The 2 main things that ruined our stay at tour khalef which were also echoed by many of the other english there was the very poor food and the rude russians.

The food was amonst the worst ive had to eat on foreign soil, a fair selection but it was still hard finding anything that was worth eating. Breakfast was not even worth getting up for and evening meal was only slightly better.

The best place to eat the evening meal was by the snack bar at the pool as this where most of the english holiday makers sat and the atmosphere was much better than in the main restaurant.

The main restaurant was heaving with russians which easily out numbered the english, russians must be the rudest people ive ever met in my life. You find out after a couple of days that you are just wasting your time with them as they dont hold doors for you and when you hold the door for them they just walk through with out so much as a smile or a thankyou in russian.

The nearby resort of port el kantaoui seemed a much nicer resort in the whole with a bigger selection of bars and restaurants which works out about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Marlar
9 years 5 months ago
This was our second visit to the Tour Khalef. (Aug 2004 was the last time) There is some building work in progress with the planned spa opening in Dec 08. The noise is bearable and didn't detract from our holiday.

However the Russians with their ignorance of queing in the restaurant was much to be desired.
We did see one who took the whole bowl of apricots and just walked out of the restaurant leaving us with nothing!!!! The choice of food was limited but there was enough for us as we are not picky eaters. The desserts were delicious.
For Thomson clients the staff opened the cafe by the pool for the Brits only so we could avoid the Russians if we chose.

All the staff were just as helpful as on our previous visit as long as you tipped them the odd dinar. The entertainment team were great, Chico, Anya, Nino and the others worked really hard.

The chamber maids were great, please tip them, they are the hardest workers with the least pay.
The Thomson rep, Fheti was very immformative and full of tips ( he's very amusing too)

All in all we had a great holiday, and yes we will go back but not for a few years.

We did the Zulu experience, Pirate trip (not great)
Aqua Palace (Not huge but enjoyable) and the camel caravan which was great.
Just one downside everytime you had your photo taken it would cost 2-4 dinars which does add up at the end of your excursions.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Sally
9 years 6 months ago

My wife and I stayed in the Tour Khalif for two weeks at the beginning of May 2008.

We have been to this hotel a number of times before and each time we have enjoyed our holiday.

Building work going on, expected to be completed at the end of 2008, building a leisure centre, we did not experience any noise, they have closed one block adjacement to the building work for refurbishment.

Evening entertainment has certainly improved, now held outside on the terrace, the entertainment team work very hard to ensure everyone has a good time.

Rooms are large, spacious with a large ensuite bathroom, daily maid service keeps the rooms clean,
no problems with the lifts.

There are a number of steps around the complex, which could be a problem if you have walking difficulties.

Excellent swimming pool including a childrens pool and play area, beyond this is the wonderful beach complete with beach bar.

We went all inclusive which we found worked out cheaper in the long run, thats just with food
and coffees, not counting ice creams and drinks etc.

Good restaurant with improved self service areas and display cooking, you have allocated tables for the length of your stay which can cause a problem at times.

Food acceptable bearing in mind the number catered for, nice salad bar, excellent fresh pasta cooked whilst you wait, plenty of fruit.

Staff could not do enough but expected a good tip prior to you leaving.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday if you get on with the Russians!!!!!!




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: