Image of Marhaba Salem Hotel

Marhaba Salem Hotel

1 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 34 reviews
3 stars

34 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    21
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Olga
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed in Salem Hotel for 1 uke.

Cleanliness was really good. Nice lady cleaned our room, allways smiling.

I have to say special thanks to night security (tall, dark man), he use to bring some flowers on our terrasse. I will remember it. I wish i could get his name and send him some regards in person.

But another security, he work in day time, he was always outside the window, really uncomfortable. He was sitting there, looking, sending kisses. I hade to keep my child inside and could not leave her play outside alone while i was at the room.

Food was ok, but was difficult to find some suitable food for child. And there are not a food shops near hotel. So if she did not eat supper at the hotel, because she did not like it, there are was not opportunity to get some food for her later at the evening. Thats why we usually was eating outside the hotel in restaurants. Better when hotel has food shop near by and small kitchens in hotelrooms.

Location is good, sea shore near by, close to sentrum.

Hotel staff is greit. Only wish that in the restaurant could be different system of serving people. Every morning we were confuse where to sit. Some people hade "all inclusive" and they hade their stady places. The rest of us could not choose where to sit. But the most uncomfortable was that when you are allready sitting at the table, the staff, who working there, tells you to moove to another table. Happend to us 3 times during 6 days. Feels uncomfortable, like you are sitting at somebody elses place and have to moove. Confuse where to sit. So again we went to restaurant outside the hotel. Also you have to pay the one price for dinner, for eksempel, and eat as much as you can. There were a lot of food to choose from: hot meals, fruits, is cream, salads... problem is when you are not that hungry and take only some fruits, we shoul be able to pay only for fruits and not for whole dinner. Another reason to take a taxi to restaurant outside the hotel and pay actually for what you are eating :)

Entertainment is the best. I think this hotel is really good for kids. My child was happy, waiting for kids disco every night. I wish i could get a chance to order the CD with kids disco songs. My mistake not to buy it there at the hotel. I totally forgot while we were there, and now we really miss all the songs we get use to during out vocation. Is it possible to order this CD on internett???

Tatoo for kids at the hairdresser - system of prices is difficult to understand. I speak english, norwegian, sweedish, danish, russian. I could hear like people have to pay different prices for the same service. We all are tourists and should not be treated differend. My friend get tatoo for the same price as my child, but the size of tatoo is different, and not that complicated. So if you shy to discuss prices with local people, you are in trouble, because the first price you get is actually like a double price of normal. Its a pitty. I dont like to discuss prices, so i overpaid for everything.
Remember only one guy from shop in hotel, he sold me some things for good price, he is honest and talk to people. He was nice. But another one who is working there use to give you 3 times higher price then actuall one. So be carefull. Go to supermarked outside the hotel at first and check the prices there, so you will know when people will try to trick you on money :)

Best regards to all of you. Hope changings will be for the best.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: detur

Recommended
Sharon Hart
8 years 9 months ago
This was our first trip abroad and we loved it. The hotel Maharba Salem is lovely, mosaic tiles everywhere. The rooms were very clean, linen and towels changed daily. The cleaner was great, took laundry off the verander and folded it up, she was always smiling. We tipped her a Dinar a day and she was very gratefull.
The bar and restaurant staff were excellent, we had tables 52 and 53 as there were 9 of us. Abdul and Jallell were our waiters and they were fantastic, nothing was a bother for them. We tipped them 1 Dinar a day each and they could not do enough for all of us. We had breakfast and dinner everyday for 14 days and they gave us ice cream every night. The inclusive people did not get ice cream as they did not give tips. The food was lovely, plenty of variety and lots of it, a 3 course buffet every night,the beef they put on was melt in the mouth, all that was missing was a Yorkshire pudding.
Entertainment was okay as it was winter, the snake charmer was excellent, he put the cobra round my neck, it was wierd. The strong man was great, even had eyeshadow on and eye liner, what a man.Watch out for Dr Love, a flower seller who comes into the hotel at night. He came over to us and started wrapping flowers around all the mens heads, then made them into bunches to give to the ladies in our group, then charged us 8 Dinar
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jacqueline
8 years 11 months ago
We have been visiting this hotel for 6 yrs now in summer so after our fantastic August holiday we decided we would go for Xmas and New Year and as usual it was brilliant.

Only thing a little differant was day time entertainment as there was non as most people just wanted to relax which is OK for the adults but not the kids but having said that my 5yr old grandson had a fantastic time but the 16 ,18 not as easily pleased.

Xmas eve and New Years Galas were fantastic and was enjoyed by all and will be doing it again this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
M.t. Boden
9 years 2 months ago
we have been to salam 4 or five times. the staff are great, animation team fab.beach very clean,waiters very pleasent never tried to rip us off.rooms always clean,room maids helpful and always smiling.last time we were there there was a bad storm,very large hailstones. hotel was flooded, everyone including slim the manager worked hard to clear the place up.we have been to 4 other hotels in tunisia the salam beats them all.we are hoping to go again this year 2010
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Steve,Heather And Family
9 years 4 months ago
This is the second year we have visited the salem and once again we had a fantastic holiday.
All the Hotel staff and life gaurds are extremly freindly and helpful and are a credit to their hotel and country.
The only thing that we found irritating was the rudeness and bad manners of some of the european and eastern european guests,at times it was realy quite shocking,que jumping and bargeing in seemed to be standered practice for them.But dont let that put you off, you will have a brilliant time if you take the time and join in all there is to do.Zou Zou and the animatiou team work very hard and they put on some entertaining shows.
A must do is the araibian night,there is a snake charmer, strong man, belly dancers and all the food and wine you can consume all for 20 dinars.
A lot of fun is to be had if you go into the markets of sousse or pek.Learn to haggle and you should get some good bargins,dont let yourself get intimidated by their tactics and dont pay more than a third of the asking price,if they refuse to meet your final offer just walk away and that usually closes the deal.
We had such a great time that we are probably going to book again for a third time.
Give it a try and you won't be disappointed


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Carl & Kerry
10 years ago
staff.....rude, all they want is tip tip tip. and you dont tip them...they dont serve you. they take THEIR COMMISION out of the money you change, as well as the hotel commision.....never ever again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medhotels

Kelly
10 years 2 months ago
Just returned from 1 weeks hol, both of us enjoyed it immensely, cannot fault the hotel, resort, people or country in any way, on the contrary, any expectations we had (bearing in mind it was our first visit to Tunisia), were more than exceeded. Our room was lovely, big, clean well equipped, comfortable, biggest bed we've ever slept in (bigger than kingsize), lovely sea view even though we did not "tick the box" tp pay the additional charge for this.

Food was fantastic, catered for every taste imaginable. Omelettes and crepes cooked to order (filling of choice)for breakfast, many choices of fresh hot and cold at dinner time, all beautifully presented.

Staff, in the main, very friendly and helpful, our waitress (Miriam) was lovely and gave us tips on local info etc. Bottle of good local wine at the table only 10 dinar-
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Heather Steven And Family
10 years 4 months ago
absolutly fantastic, all the staff went out of their way to make you feel special and welcome.rooms were cleaned and bed linen changed every day, they even folded the washing from the balcony.
meals were culturly varied and coped for even the fussiest tastes, because you had the same table and same waiters for the duration it felt comfortable, they were also a good source of information for trips out.
warning the tunisian people have a wonderful but warped sence of humour and love to torment and wind up, i got so much fun at watching some people get really wound up before they realised this.
so good and relaxing we came home and booked for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
We booked our holiday with Thomas Cook 3 months before our departure date which was the 3rd June, so they knew well in advance that I was a disabled person with walking difficulties and the hotel was supposedly checked out to see if it was suitable of course they said it was, but has soon has we arrived it obviously wasn't. Ther

e was steps into the hotel and has I have a small mobility scooter and struggle with steps we encountered our first problem after the porter carried my scooter up the steps we phoned Thomas Cook right away but nothing could be done it took 5 days to move us to a hotel that was suitable.

The hotel kenz, which was far better, the food in the salem was very basic hardly varied and never hot the staff very friendly and helpful.

Due to my circumstances the cleanliness OK.

Hotel entertainment all right for children not adults very boring.

So overall I can't recommend this hotel especially if you are disabled with all the steps and uneven crazy pathing everywhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Anne
10 years 6 months ago
We booked this holiday late as a 'chill out and recover' after a tough year. This complex consists of three different hotels and we stayed at the 4* Royal Salem. Initially we booked on half board but upgraded to all inclusive on arrival for 21 Dinar (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: