Image of Royal Beach Hotel

Royal Beach Hotel

12 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 45 reviews
3 stars

45 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Deteriorated badly
4 years 8 months ago
It saddens me to report how badly this hotel has deteriorated since I was last there three years ago.

Let me put on record that I am a regular visitor to Sousse, have stayed at many of its hotels and do not expect 5* luxury at 3* prices but the Royal Beach is now barely a 2* hotel. It still has its fantastic situation directly on the beach, there is free Wi-Fi and a TV in the rooms, which have comfortable beds and are kept clean with sheets and towels changed regularly but that is all it has going for it now.

The problems stem from the top, the two brothers who own the hotel and sit in reception most of the time but are not interested in sorting out problems. Indeed when I told one of them that I was not happy I was asked to keep my opinions to myself. Bad mistake for him to say that to me I’m afraid, so I simply said I had no intention of doing so but would never return and would put my report on line.

Starting with the rooms. Pleasantly decorated in dusty pink and cream, picked out in gold but the curtains were not hanging on the hooks properly so sagged badly. The rain came under the door/window leaving pools on the floor and I was on the third floor. There was a TV high on the wall which you had to lie on the bed to actually see and the only chair in the room was a plastic garden-type one. My bathroom door did not even shut, let alone lock, so I was forced to put the ‘Do Not Disturb’ notice on my door if I wanted to have a shower uninterrupted by the maid.

There were hardly any guests, in fact never more than about 30, most of whom seemed to stay out of the hotel as much as possible. With these numbers I do not expect them to provide an extensive menu but all the more reason to ensure that what there was would be good and the service efficient. Breakfasts are never a strong point in Tunisia and at least the tea was decent but there were never any saucers. I insisted on being given one and had to ask every single morning (bar one when a cup and saucer was actually on my table). There was a toaster but the sliced bread beside it was rock hard so I never bothered with it. Normal Tunisian bread is usually wonderful but was often stale There was no jams or yoghurts. Spam, cold cauliflower and limp salads were available for those who wanted them, failing which it was eggs, sometimes hard boiled and sometimes fried. The margarine was marked as ‘butter’ on the counter so I bought butter at the local supermarket and the waiter put it in the fridge and brought it out for me every morning. That is until a couple of days before I went home when it did not appear. I asked for it and he simply disappeared into the kitchen and didn’t come out. The receptionist later told me that it had been thrown away but that evening the waiter told me I would have butter the next day and sure enough half a new pack of butter was on my table. It had obviously registered that I would be leaving the next day and he wanted to make sure he got a tip.

Soup was cold (though the waiter re-heated mine in the microwave on a couple of occasions) and the only meat was marked as pork and actually had a picture of a pig above it but the colour and texture seemed to belie its origin. Potatoes could be fairly good but other vegetables were either cauliflower or broccoli, both either under or over-cooked, and spinach in a sauce which was invariably cold. Deserts were usually oranges, unset blancmange or biscuits (often rock hard) though we actually had strawberries on two evenings.

Despite having a sign saying ‘Change’ in Reception this was always unavailable. I asked to change £20 and was told ‘no money’. I asked if they would have it later and received a shrug and ‘perhaps’. The barman told me later that he could have changed it for me easily but I didn’t bother again.

Many hotels in Sousse are now closed, probably never to re-open, and I very much doubt the Royal Beach will be around much longer unless it gets new owners who actually have their eye on the ball. I feel very sorry for some of the staff, including the lovely lady house-keeper who I know from previous visits.

Believe me it saddens me to write this report as I love Sousse and its people and long for them to prosper after their revolution but whilst there are hotels like this and the people who own it people will go elsewhere.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Mixed Chick
Amazing
7 years 5 months ago
I stayed on Royal Beach for one week, with all inclusive. I really enjoined my stay here. The staff and animation team was so sweet, there happened a lot and there was very beautiful. I will always remember it, and I would love to come back again. The cleaning lady on the hotel was very sweet, and did her job great.

The room was a great size to, and there was a great working air condition, and enough lockers to all your stuff, if you like to pack it out.

There were a lot of different food on the hotel and it was very tasty. The only thing I can say is that I would like that some of it was a little more spicy.
The staff is great. The cleaning lady and all in the bar and in the restaurant. The animation team was wonderful to, so sweet and helpful.
They did a lot of great entertainment, both dance, beach volleyball, aqua aerobic and shows at the evenings.
Some nights there did also come other people to do the entertainment.
There was not long to the Medina from the hotel, only a few kilometres. And the city is amazing so nice and a live, like more southern country and African city’s are.

There is beautiful in Tunisia!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 7 months ago
This was my second visit to the hotel and both the food and entertainment have improved since last year. The hotel now has a contract with a Danish tour operator and there were quite a lot of Danes staying.
My room (130)was quite adequate with the first double bed I've ever had in Tunisia which was very comfortable. Space was rather limited with a small wardrobe, divided half hanging and a single shelf in the other half, plus the usual top shelf for spare pillows etc. Apart from that, plus one chair and a shelf/dressing table and two bedside tables and a TV on the wall there was no other furniture. The small balcony caught the sun in the mornings and had a table and two chairs.

They have got a new chef since last time and it certainly shows, though mashed potatoes seem an unknown concept to her (she tried!!). There was far more choice than previously though I usually stuck to the beef or lamb which was very tender. Most food was at the correct temperature though the soup could be somewhat bland. There were all the usual little cakes and some quite impressive deserts - big bowls of strawberries and oranges were delicious. The tea in the morning was lovely which made a change.

There were only two lads doing the entertainment which was therefore rather limited but they were lovely and did their best (comedy shows are not their forte though). The children all loved them and joined in their part of the evening enthusiastically. We also had a belly dancer one evening and a fakir show another night.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha Rooms

Recommended
8 years 3 months ago
Royal Beach Hotel first impressions excellent had room 230,lovel view rooms are basic but clean staff friendly and obliging we were half board but were not allowed a drink with our evening meal we had to buy one,and the meals were quite good my wife enjoyed every one of them I was ill for a number of days but nothing to do with the food too much sun and I had the misfortune of trying Bhouka which upset my stomach,beaches are beautiful and very clean a couple of things to remember you have to pay for your sunbeds at the hotel 2 dinar or on the beach 2 dinar bothhave to be paid separately,you are not allowed to take drink into the hotel so make sure it is not seen and you do not get a drink with your evening meal you have to pay for it you can pay to go A/I FOR 20/25 dinar per day if you want.
Geovil
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Recommended
Dawn Ward
9 years 1 month ago
What a dissapointment, both my sisters and there families came to this hotel, three years ago and were impressed enough to recomend, for ten days out of fourteen i was ill due to something i ate, and the rest of my party were ill too during and after the holiday, the hotel was ok ( the reception) in my room i pulled the beds apart to find poo all down the side, sheets never got changed in the 2 weeks we were there, even though i kept taking them off and the maid still put them back on the bed. Two members of my party found cockroaches crawling over the bread and around a chicken dish, also found around the pool and in the bedroom. My daughter cut her foot and her hand on new depth plates, that had been fitted on the edge of the outside pool, even after been told it took the hotel three days before they filled around the signs. The food was dire, ate out at the saloon bar (thank god for the saloon bar 10/10 ) the staff were very friendly Jo with his frendly smile, walet great with the kids, sammy great night waiter, who likes to finish your game of pool off, Out of fourteen nights we had 4 nights of entertainment, which must be improved i come away to enjoy myself after saving hard all year and i was so glad to get home, this has put me off tunisia for life hated it, will never return, When i got back home passed on my tummy bug to my partner, who didnt come on holiday with me, he has now been ill for over a week, so as he is on sick this holiday has turned out to be very expensive, next year back to fun fill, clean turkey............
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

9 years 2 months ago
My first time at this hotel but I would certainly go there again. I would have given the staff 10 stars if possible as they were all absolutely lovely. Special mention of Samir, Mohammed,Yousef and Walid. I don't mind tipping but at this hotel you almost had to chase them to give a tip as they always brought your change or sorted out any problems and never 'hovered'.

The rooms were very basic and not all had a balcony or sea view but the beds were very comfortable. A fridge would have been nice and could be hired but it didn't seem worthwhile just to keep a bottle of water cold.

As mentioned elsewhere, it can be noisy in the evenings in many of the rooms as they are set round an atrium where the entertainment takes place but it is usually finished by midnight or sometimes earlier. There are two smallish pools, one indoor and the other outdoor but as the hotel gate leads directly on to the beach not many people were using them. The 'animator' lads were sweet but didn't actually put on proper shows though they played music and young Wallid danced enthusiastically with any female from 2 to over 70. There was a 'fakir show' one evening a week and a belly dancer who put on a short display.

Food was often disappointing though it was always at the right temperature. Breakfasts were fairly dire as is often the case and the evening meal was rather 'hit and miss'- good hot soup, lovely couscous and pasta, far too many chips and much of the meat mainly bone. The dessert was always grapes, melon and unset blancmange of indeterminate flavour with no sign of icecream or the usual little cakes in the two weeks I was there. The manager is fairly new and was telling me that he is working on improving things, particularly the food. I do hope he succeeds.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha Rooms

Recommended
Ali G
9 years 3 months ago
Hotel location good, staff friendly. Rooms basic, cleaning could be better, noisy in evenings due to design of hotel. Pools clean but only open from 10am - 5pm daily! Private beach dirty and 2 dinar per bed per day (unless your a young female!) The restaurant/kitchen is a health hazard, as we, and many others found out to our peril - my wife suffered food poisoning for 5 days - only cleared up by antibiotics and presciption medication - rep seemed aware of 'problems' We have been to Tunisia 4 times previously and love the resort/country & people - just made a big mistake with booking this hotel - needs major management changes and major refurbishment not only to kitchen/restuarant but overall.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

10 years 2 months ago
Hotel right on beach fantastic views worth paying extra for sea views. Food ok got better 2nd week no catering for british clients but we managed at least chips on every night.Staff were fantastic nothing too much bother all spoke good English. Entertainment was fine Drag night very good, bingo etc not everyones taste but Neno tried very hard better when busy. Rooms were basic no fridge had to hire one,rooms cleaned every day Hotel could do with a really good clean not enough staff to do this stairs etc. Swimming pools clean outdoor and indoor,snack bar food good lovely hand made pizzas. My grandaughters holiday was complete when hotel cat had 5 kittens. Would visit this hotel again for staff and location alone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Maria O'callaghan
10 years 2 months ago
after reading reports was terrified of going on my holiday, however it was a pleasent surprise. We would go back again , the hotel was clean, we had a maid in every day and were given clean towels every day, the food was good, the choice was excellent, there was something for everyone, our rep was very good and visited the hotel nearly every day, he also ate in the restaurant which shows the food was not as bad as previously reported, we had one smaal problem with the young security guard who demanded to search our bags to check if we were taking drinking water into the hotel, i was told by a senior member of staff that he was not allowed to do this and not to let him do it again. The location was excellent, it was an all round good value for money holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Sophie
10 years 4 months ago
A friend and I stayed at this hotel for one week. The staff were very friendly and were always happy to help. The food was awful, fresh onions for breaksast have never took my fancy. Dinner was not any better. In the evenings we were bored as we didn't enjoy going out, locals called us names when walking passed.We spent our evening in the hotel bar, the staff were good fun. Will not be retuening to this hotel or to the country.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: