Image of Nicholas Park Hotel

Nicholas Park Hotel

12 of 24 hotels in Hisaronu

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
3 stars
Hisaronu Mahallesi, 48300 Ölüdeniz, Turkey
Situated just a short stroll up from the resort centre with stunning views of the surrounding mountains, this property boasts a lively, up-beat, holiday atmosphere. There is a great range of facilities on offer, including waterslides and a children's playground.

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Weatherhead
Poor rooms, but we were moved
12 years ago
6 adults (3 couples) stayed at the St Nicholas Park Hotel Hisaronu for 2 weeks on an All inclusive basis.
This Review is my personal review and others in my party may write a separate account.

On arrival like so many other reviews we too were given very poor rooms, smelling of damp, one bedroom was more like a cave with no windows. We stood firm and although we were originally told all the rooms were taken we eventually were given different rooms which were much better. Room 513 overlooked the pool area and was subject to the bar area music until around midnight most nights. Rooms 704 and 706 were the newest rooms in the complex built partly under the swimming pool area but gave fantastic views of Babadag Mountain and the small resort of Olu Deniz far below in the valley .Our room was cleaned each day to a satisfactory level.

The cleanliness of the Dining area was very good, the staff were watched over by a Restaurant Manager and the staff were on hand to clear away plates, dishes etc quite quickly once a meal was eaten. There is a problem with wasps around the food but the dining area is very open plan so little can be done apart from remove food stuff as quick as possible,

The Restaurant is a Buffet style Service
Breakfast was basic ,two types of cereal, some days a chef was on hand to cook omelettes, a toaster was available each day, obviously being a Muslim Country there was nothing made from Ham available, there was an area of local pastries also each day and other Basic Turkish Breakfast foods.

Lunch/Evening Dinner ,There appeared to be lots of choice for these meals but after a few days it struck home that Chicken was the main meat on the menu and this continued throughout the two week stay with possibly 4-5 meals out of 26 which were in fact chicken free, There was also soup available for starters. Chips were also evident almost every meal along with rice. There was lots of salads but once again it became obvious the same food was on the menu day after day, The sweet course was usually of Turkish nature so do not expect Ice Cream, Apple pie and Custard etc.

White wine and Red wine, water and Orange juice Tea and Coffee were all available in the dining room too all free due to the All Inclusive nature of the Hotel
The St Nicholas Park Hotel is around ten minutes walk from the main Hisaronu resort. High up in the Mountains looking down into Olu Deniz,Each day while sunbathing you can watch Hang Gliders leap from Babadag Mountain and watch them slowly descend to the beach area below. The roads and pathways into the main bar/shopping area are very poor and almost muck tracks in places so ladies beware in your high heels.

The Hotel staff were a mixed bunch, as mentioned earlier the Restaurant workers were great, the Reception staff did their best for you and were looked over by Alim who seemed to be in charge of room moving etc,which occured daily it seems,

The Bar staff were 4-5 young Turkish men who on our first week were fine for serving drinks but simply played loud(very loud) bumping techno music all day despite requests for other types of music. great for a young holiday maker but the average age of guests must have been around the 40-50 mark. Also there did not seem to be anybody in charge of them.

One member of the bar staff was sacked after getting too familiar with some lady holiday makers .It was obvious words had been said to them all as the music was much better the second week and of a sound level where you could talk and not need to shout.

The Entertainment was almost nil and if something did happen it was usually around 10.30pm or later. We were aware of this having read other reviews so being Quiz lovers we actually took some Quizzes and put on our own entertainment around 9.30pm .As we recall in the two weeks we saw A Robotic dance show, Michael Jackson tribute dancer, Salsa Dancers, Belly Dancer(anybody spot a theme) The bar music we understood should finish at midnight but some nights it went on until 1.00pm.

The all inclusive drinks package allowed you free consumption of local produced wines, spirits and beer, but other imported brands of drinks such as Malibu etc had to be paid for, the free drinks are available from 10.00am -11.00pm
The swimming pools were kept very clean, there was a shallow children’s play pool, a large swimming pool and also set apart from these pools was a bigger children’s pool which included two free slides.

Two pool tables and very surprisingly a full size Snooker table was available free of charge too.

There is a Turkish Bath/Sauna/Massage facility within the Hotel and Carlos walks round drumming up business, we enjoyed a great two hours pampering.
Our Rep was Karen who tried to deal with any problems or questions with a smile. There did not appear to be another English member of staff to approach other than the Reps, although the Big Boss Kerim was around some days if you wanted to talk with him direct.

On a final note we have been told the whole complex will be bulldozed at the end of the 2010 season and a new complex rebuilt on the same site.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Morag Nelson
12 years 1 month ago
Hotel room had to be changed on arrival. Small damp musty room with no view. Straight to reception. Ended up with appartment. Not ideal with grown up daughters but at least it was clean. Pool side not clean. Old food left under sun beds. A smell of raw sewage could be smelt for 2 days over pool area. Then the wasps came out. Swarms over plates of uncleared plates. A least five to a plate. Ordered a coke from bar. Watched as the barman pushed the wasps away from tap. At least 20 feeding on tap. Did not drink coke. No fridges for salad, fruit or sweet in restaurant. Plates covered with wasps. Had to fight them of our plates of cooked meal, as we would not eat the rest. Food very basic and as cheap as they could get away with. Chicken, rice and chips most nights. No extras like sauces, rolls etc. Bats were flying in area trying to eat the wasps. We all had the turkey trots after 2 days.Reports from guests daily of more people coming down with it. No entertainment for the first few days. Then asked to pay 25tl per person to see a show! We ended up eating out of the hotel and only drinking bottled water. We ended up with a bill of a £1000. We wanted to go all inclusive to cut the bill! A poor poor hotel. Thomas Cook should take it of there books. I had to ask for a from to put in a official complaint. Asking for my money back. Would not wish this holiday on my worst enemy!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Frances
13 years 1 month ago
Stayed here 6th-20th July.Our room(516)on top floor had uninterrupted views of the pool & mountains-enjoyed early mornings on the balcony watching the para-gliders on their first jump of the day. Although we were b&b our room had s/c facilities-cups,plates,cutlery,kettle,sink,small hotplate &fridge. All this & free aircon & room safe too! The cleaners kept everything spotless,even decorated our bed with flowers. Towels & bedding were changed regularly.Breakfast(8-10am) was the usual continental buffet,but you could pay extra for the full english etc. Pool bar did fab lunch time menu,evening meals were very good-well cooked & presented,extensive menu & price on par with the village. The waiters were very attentive,BUT never in your face.Swimming pools & surrounding areas were very clean & well maintained. Early July & there were plenty sun beds, but yes some people did feel the need to reserve them at silly o`clock! The walk to the village wasn`t too bad,taxis during daytime were 8TL. Small torch for nighttime comes in handy-if only to see the wild boar that frequently walk thro` the carpark to the forest. All together it added up to a good relaxing holiday in clean,friendly & pleasant surroundings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Joanne Grimshaw
13 years 2 months ago
Stayed at St Nicks Park. The location was superb with great views of the mountains and Oluz Deniz bay. It was a good walk up to the hotel but you get used to this and a free dolmus ride is provided twice daily to and from their own private beach at Oluz Deniz.

The facilities on site were good, we didn't find the local shop too expensive and the restaurant is superb value for money - we ate there most evenings, the food is great with a varied choice and all the waiters very friendly and helpful. They especially make a fuss of children and can't do enough for them.

The pool area is very nice, there are 3 pools including a paddling pool for children and there were always enough beds tho we did notice during our second week that people had started "bagging" sunbeds with their towels but mostly this wasn't a problem. The bar staff all work very long hours and are very friendly and provide good entertainment during the evening, and they try to involve everyone in this. There is a BBQ night once a week and shows,a quiz and a karaoke on most of the other nights. You can buy snacks from the pool bar during the day tho the breakfasts were so good that this tended to last us till evening!

Cleanliness is very good, the pool is cleaned each evening and the apartments are very clean and have free air-conditioning and safes. The layout of the hotel is lovely with lots of greenery and plants. This was our second time in this area of Turkey and we would definitely stay at this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
13 years 11 months ago
The St Nicholas park is a great hotel we went self catering and had a spacious 1 bed apartment wich came equiped with a free safe wich you have to pay for in every other hotel!!! there was also a kettle & toaster and a hairdryer in the bathroom I though this was great because everywhere else I have been I have to hire all these things.

We arrived late-ish and were hungry so we decided to eat at the hotel restaraunt and the food was tasty and cheap and the restaurant was very nice and overlooks the swimming pool so it was a good first impression.

The maids make up your room everyday and empty the bins and they even washed our cups for us! and they also provide tea towels aswell again like no other hotel I've stayed in before and they left us a clean set of bath & hand towels everyday that smelt so nice. The hotel also has a turkish bath wich we used and it was excellent & very relaxing :) As for the location it's nice and peaceful about a 10 minute walk down a foresty road wich is dark but we managed no problem. This was my first visit to turkey and I am wanting to go back next year and stay in this hotel as you dont get much better for such a good price.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: scottravel

Recommended
13 years 11 months ago
The St Nicholas park is a great hotel we went self catering and had a spacious 1 bed apartment wich came equiped with a free safe wich you have to pay for in every other hotel!!! there was also a kettle & toaster and a hairdryer in the bathroom I though this was great because everywhere else I have been I have to hire all these things.

We arrived late-ish and were hungry so we decided to eat at the hotel restaraunt and the food was tasty and cheap and the restaurant was very nice and overlooks the swimming pool so it was a good first impression.

The maids make up your room everyday and empty the bins and they even washed our cups for us! and they also provide tea towels aswell again like no other hotel I've stayed in before and they left us a clean set of bath & hand towels everyday that smelt so nice. The hotel also has a turkish bath wich we used and it was excellent & very relaxing :) As for the location it's nice and peaceful about a 10 minute walk down a foresty road wich is dark but we managed no problem. This was my first visit to turkey and I am wanting to go back next year and stay in this hotel as you dont get much better for such a good price.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: scottravel

Recommended
Sharon
14 years 2 months ago
Talassimos hotel in Hisaronou, rooms very small but the cleaners are great. Pool area is lovely, staff very strict about you even bringing ina bottle of water, they want you to pay double and buy from them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Jane
14 years 2 months ago
Well had another good holiday here, there was 17 of us in all, the kids really enjoyed themselves, this is bout 5th time weve stayed here & we are going back next year.

Restaurant staff were fantastic, it was my sons 18th whilst we were there, they gave him a great birthday.

It was stange at the pool bar cause some of the old staff had not returned, but we still had a laugh with Ali, Billy & Slyvesta( lazy boy as we call him )it was really hot never been at this time of year before, highest was 48 lowest 37/39.

Rooms are spotlessly clean, the maids work reallt hard, thank you St Nicholas for another good holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
16 years ago
Its a lovely hotel in a not bad location, i.e. The hill up to the hotel. Staff were friendly but the hotel would of been better if they did entertainment in the day and played music.

The hotel is very mixed English/Dutch/Turks. Very clean place from the gardens to the toliets no problems there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Martin Osborne
16 years ago
Hotel is very good and so is the location.

We went to St Nicks last year with some friends who said this was ok AND IT WAS!!!

The rooms are basic but clean, the pool side area is superb!

Drink and food are very good and cheap.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Pool is excellent and views are superb!

When you go down to the town you can not really go wrong, all the eating places are v/good and the people do all they can to ensure that you have a good meal/evening. A good tip is do not have a starter with your meal as most meals are served with the local bread with dips which is georgeous!!

Please do the boat trips and jeep safari as they are good value and excellent fun! One more tip is that when you book haggle!! EVEN IN A SMALL PARTY YOU CAN SAVE MONEY!

Going back to the hotel snacks are very good and offer good value, drinks are not expensive and it was nice to be able to eat and drink at the hotel you are staying in!

One small minus is that the balconies are small but as the pool is so good this is not so much a moan as a comment.

We have booked for this year with a group of friends and can't wait!

If you book this hotel you can not go to far wrong! TRUST ME!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.