Image of Club Merriment Hotel

Club Merriment Hotel

21 of 24 hotels in Hisaronu

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Hisaronu/Ovacik, Hisaronu, Turkey

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carol Bevan
13 years ago
Just got back from the Meriment Hotel, Hisaronu Turkey and this is the FIRST HOTEL IN TURKEY THAT I WOULD NOT RECREMEND TO ANYONE. I went to this hotel with 2 other friends, when we arrived found that the rooms where very very small and 3 adults could not stay in a room that was so small so we had to pay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hays travel

Greg Hayes
13 years ago
As it states in the terms you agree to before posting, we do not accept reviews posted from the country the hotel is located in.

Please feel free to repost on your return to the UK.

Travel operator: airborn direct

Traceyk
13 years ago
I arrived at the merriment hotel at six thirty on the morning of the 29th, my holiday reservation was to start from the 28th, as i arrived the first thing i noticed was the smell, omg it was the worst smell i have ever encountered, as i approached the reception the preson manning the station was fast asleep, when he awoke he told me there was no room for me until 2 oclock in the afternoon and if i wanted to have a room sooner i would have to pay, i showed him my paperwork which he read told me i was wrong and was i drunk????? i was given somewhere to put my cases with three other people and had to wait at the bar in the same clothes as i travelled in until a room became available. when i evenually got my room i was horrified to find the showerhead didnt work, there wasnt hot water, there was no fridge or minibar, there was only one station on sat.tv. there was no curtains, the door to the balcony was broken and didnt have any screws to hold it on and the windows were bolted down, however i did have clean bedding sheets and towels which was good concidering there was mould on my bed. i ate in the outside caferterria that night as the a la carte restaurant didnt exist, the food was not what i would eat again, it was cold, overused, reheated, not what i would give to my dog as scrapes, and i am not a fussy eater but the food was ridiculas, the chips was hidden in the mayo the next day as they wouldnt provide any new food until the old food had all gone. they next area img was the pool area, the beds were broken and the ones you could sit on were already taken because there wasnt enough to go round, there was glass in the pool which was to my knowledge never cleaned, people were getting there feet cut and as the blood from these people on the outside of the pool was still there dried and not cleaned up for four days, we all told the bar staff to give us plastic cups thats if they werent mucking about on there mobiles or playing with the cd tapes or juggling to even liston, the next day at breakfast the tables were filthy with glasses, spilt drinks, rubbish, all from the previous day, with none of the staff with out a care in the world. i would of liked to had a good workout in there fitted out gym???????????? there was two bikes with no handles and a tread mill which was waterlogged and broken, i would of liked to go into the inside pool but you had to pay for this and the sauna when you book for a turkish bath from a man who wore sex things on his t shirts which to me sorry is not very professional, the evenings should of started off with a long cool drink at the bar, the flies were off putting as most of their drinks are quite sugery and there were thousands of flies, the beer pipes were never cleaned and they only swipe the glasses once in water and give them back out, i would of liked to write in the comments book but they took that out of reception and hid it, i did manage to pick up a merriment hotel leaflet which tells the public what you should get if you stay at the merriment but none of it was there. the entertainment did start at 10 everynight intil quarter to 11 which was poor and you were told to keep any noise down, you were lucky to get your last drink in after the entertainment but if the order went past 11 then they told you to pay so what the staff did was to prolong your order on the english girl alices say so to make you pay, this hotel was filthy, not managed properly in any way, it is getting sold as a holiday i couldnt wait to get home it was horrific, on the eleventh night as always when you were allowed to move after the entertainment i went to the bar ordered our drinks as ususal the staff were mucking around this took us to 1 minute after 11 to give us our last drink from our order and i was told to pay, i asked who i should complain to if i had a problem because no reps will go to this hotel and i was told they would ask the manager, the manager came over to me listened and then said get your suitcase in the morning and get out, i was one of the seventh couples to be evicted in two weeks, i wouldn never recommend this hotel to anyone iv seen hotels like this on holidays from hell but i never thought i would be a victim on my holiday as i was made to feel, but.... the town was great, the weather was hot and the surrounding hotels are great .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airborn direct

S
13 years ago
Just afew words whatever you do never stay at this hotel i have never stayed anywhere that was so disgusting unclean .
I had food poisning which could of come from a combination of things...while we was there the bar area had to many flies and the beds round the pool were broken and dirty.
I noticed glasses near accomidation area where they were left for a couple of days and the birds were leaving their droppings on them evetually they were returned to bar area..
Staff were not making any effort to work or take responsiblty for their actions..
The manager asked a number of clients to pack up and leave if they were not happy..
All in all if this was my first visit to Turkey this would of put me off the people but i am glad to say i had experinced some lovely turkish hospitalty a month before so it has not put me off just not the merriement what was merry about it!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hayes

Debbie
14 years 1 month ago
Hotel Merriment, Lovely clean hotel, staff were superb. Very helpful and cheerful.

Cleaners very good and came in every day. Traditional Turkish breakfast every day which was very good and kept us going till the evening when, after just a few minutes walk we had an endless choice of very good places to eat offering every type of food imaginable all reasonably priced.

The pool was excellent and very clean.

Would recommend to anyone and am taking family plus two small grandchildren next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Just Sunshine

Recommended
14 years 2 months ago
Under new management, a great little hotel near the main village. The new owners are trying very hard to bring it up to a new standard and wish them well.

My kids stayed here for 11 days in May and had a great time.

Staff werefriendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: kands holidays

Recommended
Nell
14 years 2 months ago
I read the reviews on the Merriment just before I left and was concerned but I have no complaints whatsover about the hotel and will be returning next year. The staff were lovely, my room was cleaned every day and the food was good. It was in a good location, near the centre but in a quiet spot.

I would recommend a visit to the Turkish Baths for a foam bath and massage, worth every penny and you feel wonderful afterwards.

I travelled alone, and felt perfectly safe, the staff looked out for me and I made a whole bunch of new friends when I was there, roll on May 2009!!

Nell
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On the Beach.com

Recommended
Kellie & Tania
14 years 2 months ago
We arrived very early and our cases were taken to our room, which was a double! But they sorted it for us no problem. Too be honest we loved it there the staff are really nice, the rooms are clean and the whole place seemed to have a good vibe about it. We would definately recommend it, so much so we are trying to go back the end of july/aug. great location with a 5 minute walk to the center of town.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
G Allen
14 years 10 months ago
We stayed in September 2007. The pool was dirty, tables at bar were never cleaned, floor round pool very dirty. Rooms basic stayed 14 days hot water twice.

My room had a sewer view and sewers smelt awful,started churning sewers at 5am in morning waking me up,breakfast was very basic boiled eggs only warm food, usual salad and cereal and bread.

Entertainment was once in 14 nights, selection of drinks was beer or beer or beer, not much choice.

Staff was reasonably friendly but not to be trusted, pool water was not cleaned while we was there you felt like a pound of lard when you got out, 2 inches of old sun cream was floating on top of pool, not enough sun beds to go round, bath mat was filthy never changed in 2 weeks, holes in bed linen, curtains hanging of tracks.

Very dissappointing I rate this less than a one star!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: youtravel

Kayli
14 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the hotel merriment in September 2007 and although the rooms were basic, were not cleaned every day and the cleaners were'nt very good it was still a nice hotel and the pool area was lovely.

The pool was clean and was cleaned every night. You also didn't need entertainment at the hotel as there was more than enough to do in Hisaronu town centre which is a couple of minutes away from the hotel.

Even though the we were a bit disappointed in the rooms we would still return to the hotel merriment as we really enjoyed our holiday there and things were starting to get a better there just before we left.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: You Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.