Image of Capo Bay Hotel

Capo Bay Hotel

10 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 42 reviews
4 stars
Iasonos P.O.Box 33115Protaras 2, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Centrally Located on Fig Tree Bay in the heart of Protaras surrounded by Shops, Banks, Restaurants, Bars and Night Spots.

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    27
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
One of the best in Cyprus!
2 months ago
We stayed here in a junior suite from May 1-11th. This is the first time to Cyprus but the area we stayed in was beautiful right smack bang on the front of Fig tree Bay. Everything that you could need from the area is within the bay and you can see why Fig Tree Bay Beach has been voted one of the best in the Med.

The hotel is modern and has some fantastic art. The Thomas Cook rep said to us on the bus, your hotel is class so you know your onto a winner.

The hotel has three good restaurants, Koi which is sushi and japanese, Mamas which is Med and local Cypriot food and finally it has Cucina which is Italian. Long and short the food was fabulous in all of them. Not a and word to say. They are that good. We went half board which was enough. You can't go allinclduvie and to be honest that is the only downside to the review. You need to buy drinks there and they are expensive but considering everything you are getting for HB or FB, it's a nonsense point.

The pool is big nice and clean. Pool bar is great and the whole thing is child friendly. They just needed some music around the pool to complete the place. There is plenty of sun loungers so that is not a worry. Also, if you do tell reception they will reserve a specific sun lounger for the duration of your whole stay which is the first time I have ever experienced this. It was very impressive.

We are out a few times and that was also nice, the Molti restaurant is very nice and also there is a nice Meze restaurant (With Greek symbols after its name - sorry forgot the name). We did go to an Italian that was part of the Sun Beach hotel and that was not very good. Very amateurish - for example they had no olives!!!

The staff at the hotel are nothing short of exceptional. All of them and there is a even an onsite doctor that we ended up needing for our little boy.

We went at the start of May and weather was fabulous, it was not too hot but at the same time very warm. The last few days were super hot so I think that end of May it will be scorching. Anyone that has small children I think that the start of May is the best time as the weather is bearable and not a lot of risk of the small ones getting burnt.

The Thomas cook flight and transfer was good, we had no issues and everything went very well and in good time. I would not bother with ordering a meal on the plane unless you had children as the meal was not all that and we thought apart from our little boy it was a waste of money. With regards the trips I would highly recommend a trip to see Famagusta - also there is the Black Pearl ship that goes past the bay each day and that looked absolutely brilliant. We never heard any bad reviews from the boat trips.

Finally, get your Euros out there - everywhere had better rates than here in the UK.

Fantastic hotel and would highly recommend - it really is a very nice place to go.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hot Holidays

Hotel tip: Get a normal room as opposed to a superior as they are not worth the extraz

Recommended
Tony1209
Simply stunning!
3 months ago
We checked in and were immediately upgraded to a family suite poolside - this is amazing if you have children (and will understand when you stay).

The hotel itself: was immensely clean, and everything that you need was in easy reach either via the lift situated near the reception desk or ramps and footpaths around the resort. There was a hair salon, clothes shops and a mini mart inside the grounds of the hotel, spa with HEATED INDOOR swimming pool, gym, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The kids loved the indoor pool as we were staying at the hotel in April and the weather wasn't as warm as it is in the hight of summer. There are a number of outdoor pools and a kids club available where there are always plenty of members of staff running the club so it is very very safe. The hotel was located right next to fig tree bay and the beach had amazing clear white sand and all within a stone throw from the beach. Restaurants on the beach and which are not part of the hotel were OK but the hotel had amazing restaurants and could not be beaten in our opinion. We dined at the mamas restaurant and the food was great and very friendly staff. The staff on reception were very accommodating in every aspect while we was there.

The Room: had all the basic room facilities, a very comfortable big Bed, Bathroom with jets and rain shower (free toiletries provided everyday which is also a bonus), bath towels and dressing gowns, slippers, Hair dryer, Satellite flat screen TV, Free Wireless internet, Mini bar, Safe deposit box, Tea and coffee making facilities. The room was very spacious and we could not find fault to it.

The staff: were extremely polite helpful and friendly, they made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast: WAS AMAZING! So much selection full English, waffles, selection of breads and pastries, cheese and meat deli, olives, omelette bar, nuts and seeds, fruit and yogurt, jams and honey, cereal and porridge, water, juice, coffee, teas, just absolutely amazing.

We cannot find a fault with this hotel and its staff, it was an amazing holiday and we would recommend this to any family that is wanting to go. The location is amazing and if you want to visit Cyprus we cannot find a better way than spending the trip at this hotel. Just ensure that if you have a toddler you try and get a ground level room so that it is easier than having to go up the lift all the time with a buggy etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ann
Pure heaven
6 years 1 month ago
This year I thought me and my husband deserved a bit of a treat, so I booked the Capo Bay. Bit nervous before going, didn't know what to expect. All I can say is pure heaven. The staff where so polite and helpful across the board, from the cleaners, porters and reception staff. The staff behind the pool bar quickly get to know the regulars and are very chatty and friendly.

The whole place is so clean and tidy. Location wise, we didn't leave the resort all week. We went for a chill out week, and that's what we got. The beach is right on your doorstep, views amazing, food and drink 10/10. Admittedly the drinks in Guru are above average, but you do get amazing surroundings and atmosphere. The music here in our opinion was better than entertainment at the Bitter Lemons bar but that is just our opinion. Will be going back next year, but with another holiday company.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years ago
Wow! What an amazing place! I recommend it to anyone wanting a fantastic place to stay, great food, great beach and lots of fun on your doorstep.

Truly enjoyed our holiday. The hotel is immaculate and is perfectly located. The rooms are unbelievable. I know most spend time on beach etc and think they'll go in just to sleep but the hotel rooms (incl bathrooms with the high tech showers) are just fantastic. Perfect for a romantic getaway.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie
8 years ago
just come back from the beautiful capo bay. it has just finished a revamp and may i say it is loveley. very modern bright and spacious. free fruit wine and water was waiting for us in our well air conditioned room, which was need with temps of 40 plus. really clean rooms, which i must say was done every day.the breakfast was served from 6.30 to 10.30 so for anyone who had had a late night this was great, with a wonderful choice of food and the views over fig tree bay in the morning are breath taking.really large pool and kids pool and jaccuzzi.fantastic lady runs the very safe kids club.having your sunbeds reserved for you et the begging of your holiday is the best thing ever. drinks and food a bit pricey but what do you expect from a high class hotel like this. you can take drinks down to the pool area no problem.not much entertainment in the hotel at night but plenty right on the doorstep.i would reccomend this hotel to anyone. make sure you make use of the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi as these are all free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kate Courtney
8 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Capo Bay and got married, and what can i say, all in all it was a fantastic holiday. The hotel has recently been refurbished, its very contemporary looking, and even though the rooms were perfectly fine i understand they will be refurbished during winter 08 ready for summer 09.
On arrival our room had flowers, champagne, basket of fruit and chocolate cake, along with a congratulations card for our wedding, which was really lovely. During the holiday we had numerous bottles of champagne and little notes left in our room saying "congratulations" and "hope you're enjoying your stay with us" type of cards, which i thought was a lovely touch. On our wedding day they even delivered a wrapped wedding gift to our room. I would recommend if you are getting married an afternoon wedding, so that the midday heat has passed, ours was 3pm, followed by a meal at the hotel for our 11 guests.
The wedding ran smoothly, first choice arranged our flowers and photography, the hotel sorted out the reception meals. All in all it took about 3 appointments of 30 minutes each with first choice and the hotel to decide upon finishing touches etc, and then they took it from there for us. The meals for our reception were fantastic, the portions were huge and tasted fantastic, and the service was second to none. There was also a complimentary champagne breakfast and candlelit dinner for 2 included if you get married there, to be taken any day you wish. Again the food was fantastic, and the service was second to none.

One thing to point out is that if you get married at their outdoor venue in the hotel grounds, they charge 345 euros for its use if there are under 15 guests. Quite steep given that you are only up there for 10 minutes. Also if you would like your wedding dress steamed the hotel can do this for 50 euros. They kindly hung my dress in their laundry area for a week before the wedding in the hope that the creases would fall out before the wedding day, but unfortunately they didnt all come out, so i had to allow them to steam it. They did a great job, but i did think that this service should have been free, or for a small fee given the money we had already paid for the holiday and reception etc.
Another excellent feature to the hotel is that there are 2 big pools, one for adults only. We were there mid August, and the adults pool was really quiet, and if any children under 18 go in there, a pool attendant immediately gets them out and gives the parents a telling off. When u pick a sunbed you want, the pool attendant will put a reserves mark on it detailing your room number so that it is then yours for your whole holiday. A few times we got to the pool and people were on our loungers, but on politely asking them to get off them they did, which was great. Beach towels are also given to you on arrival, which you can change daily for clean ones.
On speaking to a first choice rep they told us that during May and September they do about 12 weddings each day, pretty much a conveyor belt, so if this doesnt suit you i wouldnt recommend these months. On my wedding day there was 1 other bride, but as the hotel has such large grounds, their reception was the other side of the hotel, so we didnt cross paths. However on other days that we were at the hotel, i did notice some days there were up to 3 weddings in one afternoon, and guests from each weddings at the same bar, which isnt ideal in my opinion. I guess its pot luck as to how many weddings they do each day.For price guide, i paid 80 euros for my bouquet, 60 euros for bridesmaid flowers, and 7 euros for each buttonhole. photographer was 600 euros for photo album of 36, and another 285 euros for the remaining photos (about 200 of them) on cd. Photography was fantastic by the way. The hotel is right on the beach and right by the strip, but is not noisy. This was my 3rd trip to protaras, i love the place, love the people, and cant wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Samantha Crellin
8 years 11 months ago
I went in 2007 to look at the capo bay hotel to check it out for my wedding,it was so nice and clean the staff was good to,so we came home and told all our family and frends that we are going to this hotel to get marriad,so we went to book it with first choice,we only did it with first choice as a holiday then a frend told us about Aphrodite weddings in cyprus,so we had a look on there web page and there i was booking my wedding with them,they was just fantastic.they rang to say if you needed us any time just ring the office or they left us a mobile to ring,they sent us emails all the time telling us how everything is going,they never left us in the dark,so when we got to the hotel on the 10th aug 08 the staff was fantasic all rooms good and clean,and on the morning of the 11th aug 08 we was met by one of the team from Aphrodite weddings they ran thew everything with us and then me being the bride i new they was no point in worrying so i sat back and enjoyed my holiday at copo bay hotel,all of the time we was there the girls was asking us can they do anthing for us which was so nice of them,if anybody is looking at getting married in cyprus go and check the capo bay hotel out in protaras and take a look at Aphrodite weddings to, they made my wedding so special. we are going back to the capo bay hotel next year for our first anniversary on the 19/8/09.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
we got married at the capo bay on the 4/10/07 couldnt ask for better everything was perfect.

we had a free upgrade to a better bigger room nothing special rooms need to be updated and decorated.
the balcony is tiny the standard rooms had huge balconies.

the pooln area is lovely and the allocated sunbeds is great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Steve
9 years 11 months ago
We started our holiday at the end of July and through into August, I don't know how typical this year was, but I wouldn't go back during these months. The temperature was officially quoted as 44C some days, I've heard from a couple of sources they downplay the real temp!?. It was uncomfortable most of the time, humidity was very high.

The hotel itself is very good; clean, well situated, good facilities, great layout and mostly kid-friendly. There also must be about a quarter of a million pounds worth of Koi carp in a huge pond network that runs through part of the pool and bar areas which are stunning to look at.

There is a beautiful outside terrace attached to the main restuarant, but, obviously without aircon, it was frankly too unbearable to eat in, we only did so once.

The poolside sunlounger reservation scheme is a really good idea, with clean beach towels provided for each person every day, although as often as not we strolled down onto the beach (2 mins), where sunloungers and parasols are
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked myself

Recommended
The Randalls
9 years 11 months ago
We were married at the capo bay on 4th september.we had a fantastic time.the hotel is perfectly situated right on the beach with fantastic views over the bay.
the rooms are very clean and all you need is there.
breakfast is buffet style with a good choice from bacon&egg to fruits&salads.(all very fresh)
the staff are excellent,nothing is to much trouble,they were all very friendly and we were on first name terms with lots of them.
our wedding day was brilliant,the setting was fab with the terrace overlooking the pool&sea.the food was neverending(it just kept coming)the service excellent.
i cannot praise this hotel enough,for us it was perfect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.