37 independent reviews of the Pernera Beach Hotel
Address: 17, Ifestiou Street, P.O. BOX 33005, 33005, Cyprus
Pernera Beach Hotel
Pernera Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #26 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Pernera Beach Hotel Pernera Beach Hotel is rated 3.92 out of 5 from 37 Reviews
78% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (37 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Pernera Beach Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Lovely Hotel"
Rosieluvshols stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel in August 2013
Just spent a lovely week at the Hotel Pernera. Hotel is clean and all the staff were very friendly. The food was good and varied. Never struggled to find something to eat. The animation team worked very hard but were not pushy. We had a room on the 4th floor with amazing views of the pool and sea. The pool is quite small for the amount of guests and people were reserving beds from 6.00am. However, on several occasions I saw staff come out and remove towels and belongings from beds that were not occupied at around 8.30am. The pool bar was used for the evening entertainment but there was often not enough seats for the amount of guests. Overall we had a great holiday and would recommend the hotel for its friendly and helpful staff and cleanliness.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Superb Hotel"
Martin Spanswick had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2012
1 reader found this review helpful

Linda and I stayed at the Pernera Beach Hotel from the 9th to the 23rd of Sept 2012 and what a superb stay we had. It was absolutely fantastic in all respects. Despite reading numerous positive comments on this website about this hotel our expectations were still more than exceeded during our stay. In fact I would go as far to say that it is quite difficult to put into words just how good this hotel and all its staff is. A bit like they always say a photograph can never justify how good the real thing is.

We had booked the holiday through First Choice and following a very pleasant Thomson flight from Cardiff and very efficient transfer from Larnaca airport we arrived at the hotel at about 12.15am. We were greeted by extremely friendly reception staff who gave us ...
our keys and provided us with plenty of information. We were also invited to the pool bar area for a lovely cheese and ham toasty. It was lovely after a long trip out.

The room was perfect and the view was stunning. We were on the top floor overlooking the pool and the sea. We could not have hoped for a better start to the holiday.

Up the next morning for our first breakfast and we were not disappointed. Plenty of selection of just about everything you would ever need for breakfast and a lovely seating area out side with lovely views of the pool and the sea. We already knew that we were in heaven for the next two weeks.

As I said earlier the room was lovely and it was always kept perfectly clean and tidy by our lovely and friendly housemaids. A nice good size flat screen TV was provided, along with a fridge, tea and coffee facilities, safe and very efficient air conditioning system; all provided at no extra charge.

The pool was actually a littler bit bigger than I imagined and there was always plenty of room to swim. The pool area was always kept clean and tidy and we never really had any problems getting deck chairs right next to the pool, even as late as 10 in the morning or after we returned from an excursion later in the day.
The pool bar area was brilliant with plenty of seats and was the perfect place to unwind after a hard day’s snorkelling, swimming or sightseeing. All of the pool bar staff were fantastically friendly and there was a great selection of beer, cocktails, soft drinks, ice-cream and some lovely snacks available during opening hours (10am-midnight). I was pretty certain that nothing was “watered down” and I have been drinking for a long time.

Linda and I are not big evening meal eaters; however we did use both the lunchtime and evening buffet on a few occasions and we found the food to be very nice with a great selection. Again, all of the staff were so friendly and the seating area overlooking the small bay was just beautiful, especially in the evening. I apologise that we did not use the Restaurant; however, everybody we met that had used it said it was brilliant.

The hotel has its own sort of private sea swimming area. It is not a beach but lava rocks with a man made concrete ramp that leads you safely into the water. Once in the water it is truly stunning with crystal clear views when snorkelling and fish in abundance, especially if you fed them some bread. We did snorkelling in several locations up and down the coast, but this was easily the best area and we have some amazing underwater videos. There are three really lovely sandy bay beaches within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We used all of them and they were great. I don’t know how we managed it but we never seemed to get charged for Sunloungers??

The overall location of the Hotel is perfect with a great selection of shops, bars and restaurants literally at the top of the road. The broadwalk to Protarus is a lovely walk and I highly recommend doing it both during the day and in the evening.

Linda and I have been married for thirty two years and in all that time we have had a rule that we would never go back to the same location twice. Well that rule is about to be broken. We will be returning back to the Pernera Beach Hotel next year and cannot wait. Thank you to everybody for a truly stunning, remarkable and enjoyable holiday in all respects.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"We love this quiet hotel"
Derwentrocker visited the Pernera Beach Hotel in June 2011
We love this hotel; it is in a quiet cul-de-sac at the end of a road. It is the kind of place that if you wish to be in the hustle and bustle of the resort you can be, but at the end of the evening you will be glad to know it is very very quiet, so you can sleep.

I would highly recommend paying the extra to upgrade to sea-view, the views are exceptional, otherwise it maybe a view of the car park.

The swimming pool isn't over sized but plenty of swimming space and loungers. We never had a problem at all getting a bed for the day. If you want the beach, it is virtually on the sea, so therefore 2 mins and you are there. Parasols and loungers are priced at 2.50 euro per item. There is ...
a grassed area near the pool and sea with free umbrellas and sun loungers.

The bedrooms are spacious but the TVs are really old, some have flat screens but we never and hardly any English channels on them at all.
There is a large balcony with chairs and a table to relax.
Everywhere is spacious throughout this hotel and is good for people with walking difficulties, although Cyprus in general is not good with uneven paths and unfinished roads.

There are lots of activities in the hotel with a daily programme of evens and shows at night which are fairly good.
Breakfasts are good value as other guests have said and equally nice are the dinners with a lot of choice. Although saying this, I found last year’s better, maybe because of the choice.

They offer a laundry service here and you do have to pay for safety deposit boxes about 24 euro per fortnight.

Staff are very friendly, we had no problems at all. We always had a laugh with reception staff, very courteous and attentive.

Surrounding area has a good array of food restaurants, and tour shops, I recommend Platoon for your trips, a lot cheaper than your reps and more knowledgeable. You will find this by coming out of the hotel, reach the fork in the road and it is opposite. Good bars are the Ranch near the hotel for good atmosphere, KoKos where it is 2-1 on shorts. Free Wi-Fi at the Windmills bar (when its working) and the fresh house bar and restaurant at the top of the street 5 mins from the windmills.

The fresh house is exactly that, very good prices for all budgets, exceptionally clean and tidy. Panikos and Maria welcome everyone; they are the cleanest restaurant by miles in my opinion. Very friendly, if your choice is not on the menu, Panikos will do it for you. All the family can enjoy the ambiance, including watching TV or playing pool. It is not a noisy place to eat, but tables and brollies are outside to watch the world go by and relax.

Pernera is a lot quieter than Protaras, but has a family feel to it, if you want noise at night, but to retire to your room and sleep, then this hotel and area will be right for you.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

derwentrocker visited the Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras in June 2010
We visited this hotel 30th june - 15th July 2010 in the middle of a heatwave.

We upgraded in the UK for a sea-view room and got it for all four of us. It was My mum and step-fathers honeymoon, so they received a nice bottle of champagne on arrival.

Rooms very clean and very good a/c. The view from the large balcony was well worth the extra.

We had a double bed and my mum got twin beds pushed together.

There are hairdryers in the rooms but no kettles unless you upgrade further, we took our own.

The shower had always constant hot water and bath.

Breakfast was in a separate room and had a good selection, manly cereals, fruit juices, fried breakfast, yogurts, fruit and danishes. Tea/coffee/hot choc/cappochino.

Main meals are in the restaurant over-looking the bay, all food is delicious, ranging from fish, cold ...
meats, vegetarian dishes mainly salads etc, potatoes, chips, gravy. The deserts are nice, ice creams, cakes, and hot sponges. Drinks are extra and can work out expensive.

The beach is set in a cove, shallow waters for children and water sports. On the actual beach the cost of sun beds and umbrellas are £7.50 euro per day. In the hotel grounds they are free.

There is an indoor pool, quite spacious but as it was hot, it wasnt used.

There are a good animation team who are mainly english and a kids club. Night shows are fairly good, but better in main resorts like Protaras.

Hair salons and shop are in the hotel.

All in all no complaints, but i think the hotel would benefit their guests by giving beach/swimming pool towels.

This is a 3* hotel, i think it is nearer 4* very friendly staff. Would recommend.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

m had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel in September 2008
I beleive this Hotel deserves a 4* rating never mind the 3* it gets the staff are the most helpful friendly individuals i have yet to meet and there customer service was excellent.
The hotel was really Clean...
We had a lovely room with a fridge and tea and coffie making facilties and a sea view..
The breakfast was a slight disapointment not enough choice and most of the time the food was underdone..
Evening meal was a slight improvment although would of liked to have seen more Cypriot dishes on the Menu was the usual chips and pasta for those that like them.
Beaware though of the bill for your bar drinks the waiters sometimes get confused and drinks are added to the bill when they werent purchased this happened to us three times other than that would return to this hotel and this part of cyprus...

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

T visited the Pernera Beach Hotel in September 2008
First visit to this hotel but have visited the area numerous times.Very clean and excellent staff,all really friendly.Breakfast was fine and a good choice but id been told the food was \'fantastic\'so was a little disappointed in the evenings.It was a bit of a \'mish mash\' at times and my plate resembled when im cleaning out my freezer using everything up! You cant please everyone though and it was edible and you could always find something so thats just personal taste.
We paid for a sea view in a delux room and it was worth every penny,again personal preference as you dont spend that much time in your room but we didnt regret it and would pay again.
There were daytime activities if you wanted them and it was always easy to get a sunbed.Night time entertainment wasnt much to shout about ...
in our opinion but it didnt spoil our stay.If youre a party animal then its not for you but taxis are there to take you to the nightlife so youve got the best of both worlds here.
Overall a good hotel in a great position and we have already booked to go back next year.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Walker had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2008
The hotel was fantastic and so were the staff, It was one of the best places we have visited, a must for anyone. A very clean hotel. The food was great too.
Get yourself a sea view, it was perfect.
The location was perfect and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops and bars. Hire a car a have a look around , it was the easyiest way to explore all the lovely beaches and the water park.
The entertainment was ok but preffered to go out on a night, but if you wanted to stay at the hotel it was pleasurable.
I will be definatly going back.
It was my first time in Cyprus and I really enjoyed it. Couldn\'t have picked anything better.

Tour Operator: Olympus

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

hopper had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2007
stayed for two weeks peak season always found a sunlounger whatever time we got up Breakfast is from 7 till 10 with a huge range of food on offer evening meal is 7 till 9.30 but the choice was not as good my husband only likes plain food and this was very very limited chips are only allowed for the children our argument being if you have paid for half board you should at least be able to eat something we ended up going out to eat qiute a lot.
rooms were spotless and the maid came in every day we had clean towels every other day. evening entertaiment was fine the entertainment team worked their socks off.

Tour Operator: skyhols
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

padget stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2007
My husband and i travelled out with my 15 year old son for 2 weeks and my daughter and boyfriend came over for the second week. We have visited Cyprus 8 times and love the place. It was the first time we have stayed in Penera but had a great holiday. The buses are so good only 80 cent to Protaras or Ayia nappa and taxis are always available. The hotel animation team were fantastic Guiseppe totally wooed my daughter over, they kept everyone entertained even my 15 year old son who was not bothered about going,darts , archery , pool games ping pong etc. they made us all very welcome. will definately go back

Tour Operator: hellenic voyages (sunescapes)

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Lines stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras in July 2007
We booked this only two weeks before departure, and were very pleased. The hotel and room were very clean, our room was cleaned every day, with clean towels every other day.
The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The animation team did a brilliant job, both day and night time.
Tha hotel was in an ideal spot not next to noisy bars, but within easy walking distance.
We had a briliant time and will definetly go back.

Tour Operator: Sun escapes

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Robinson visited the Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2007
We stayed at the Pernera Beach Hotel for 2 wks at the end of July. The room was lovely and we had a full sea view (we did upgrade on booking to a Deluxe twin and it was well worth it). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The animation team were very good, but weren\'t pushy if you didn\'t want to join in. We found the food very nice, although sometimes a bit repetitive. The location was great, right on the beach and with bars and restaurants close by. There was enough going on in Pernera to keep the family occupied, with Protaras close enough to take a taxi or walk along the beach.

We would definitely return to the Pernera Beach again

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Debbie Flynn stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2007
We really enjoyed staying at Pernera Beach Hotel. The main restaurant has lovely sea views. I thought the buffet food was nice - full of pasta\'s and meats/fish/potatoes (no chips in sight, so if you wanted that kind of food I think you\'d have to order seperately i.e people with kids). The cleanliness in the hotel was excellent. Another thing I was pleased about (including the cleanliness of our room which is cleaned regulary) is the the shower in our room was always warm (not always guarenteed when you go away!!)

We didn\'t really stay for the night time entertainment but the staff during the day provided entertainment which was easy to join in with or equally if you dont want to join in, the staff won\'t be pushy.

The pool is nice too.

We found the whole holiday very pleasant and will return to Cyprus sometime in the future.

Tour Operator: Thompsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

robinson had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel in September 2006
We stayed in both Pernera Beach hotel and their appartments. This was our sixth year at Pernera beach and not our last.

We found the cleanliness of both accomodations outstanding to which we could not fault.there could b a slight improvement in the food, this side of the hotel has improved over the years which is really good.

The location is perfect its nice 2 have the hotel not in the middle of the town as it separates you from the main night life and keeps u away from hearing all the bars etc, but is also nice to have jst a few minutes walk round the corner.

Its a happy medium. The hotel staff make your staff at pernera that little more bit extra special.

Even the hotel managers. It is such a pleasure for people to remember you from year ...
in and year out and take time out to talk to you.

They make you feel so welcome. We all agree that Pernera Beach hotel is the perfect holiday.

I would recommend to everbody.

Read More

Tour Operator: hellenic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

june reinholter had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2006
We stayed at this hotel in August 2006.

Was put in a standard room that was terrible,they squeezed the third bed(camp bed)in so we couldn\'t open the wardrobe door.

Had to upgrade to superior room wouldn\'t recommend standard room to anyone. Food wasn\'t that good but the terverna where you ate was on the sea front that was nice.
Pool was nice, entertainment and daytime activities not impressed.

Location quite nice. Hotel was clean. Reception staff were just ok.

I would visit this hotel again but only in a superior room, but they won\'t guarantee a proper third bed so we won\'t be going back.

Tour Operator: portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

just the 2 0v us stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras in August 2006
Lovley clean hotel, But the food was YUK ended eating out even though we paid half board, entertainment was naff. Ideal for the beach being on the doorstep. Staff were a bit on the misrable side but put it down to being over worked.

Tour Operator: portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Carol had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2006
We pre booked a \'superior\' room, this consisted of a large double bed and a single bed(a proper bed, not a camp bed). The room was spacious, bath/shower/wc and air conditioning that worked!

We paid for a safety deposit box in the room.
There is a Tv in the room but only BBC World news in english, so if you want the children to nod off watching Tv, it wont work!

Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas around the pool and garden, you cannot reserve these or the maids will take away the towels. No problems getting beds despite the hotel being full.

Convenient shop within hotel for all essentials and is actually cheaper than shops situated within a few minutes walk.

Reception staff friendly, animation team very good with the children organising waterpolo, diving comps. archery, football etc.for both adults and children at different times ...
throughout the day.

Food disapointing, ate out several times despite being half board.

Have been advised by fellow guests the older part of the hotel trooms very basic,so upgrade where posiible.
Reception staff friendly, all speak English.

Hotel located in a quiet part of Protaras, plenty of pubs/bars/steak houses within 5- mins walk. Local bus or taxi 10 mins to Protaras where very busy bars/restaurants/McDonalds etc and busy night life.

Local taxi service reasonable and reliable if venturing to other areas, Nissi beach a must.

Evening entertainment starts with a mini-disco at 8.30 for an hour then various entertainment if required.Must admit, went out most nights!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Sarah stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras in April 2006
I stayed in this hotel the first week it was open for the season, this was not explained to me by the tour operator.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was not brilliant and we only had two options in the evening for the main course. The location was fine.

On the second day of my stay I was awoken at 7.10am by workmen drilling and hammering on the floor below. This had also happened on the first day but I chose to give them the benefit of the doubt. Needless to say I complained to the reception staff and was moved to a different room.

I would recommend this hotel, it is clean and the staff are friendly. If you enjoy good food then I would give this place a miss.

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

elmoondo had a holiday at Pernera Beach Hotel in September 2005
Put in room 304 and 305 not a bit of sun on the balcony, rooms were in a time warp in much need of a makeover and modernisation.

Clean enough but thought they would have changed the towels more often. The maid didnt hoover the 14 days we were there and not very welcoming or friendly.

Bar staff well it was as if you were invisible half the time they didnt rush themselves. Food in restaurant started off ok then it never seemed to be very hot so we ate out.

Wouldnt go back unless it was revamped give me the Anastacia hotel or the Golden Coast hotel any day. Pernera beach was one of the first hotels to be built years ago and now you can tell!!!

Tour Operator: hellenic voyages
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Clare & David stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2005
We arrived at 3am local time the hotel reception was very impressive and very clean.

Our room 101 was in need of some modernisation and the carpet was threadbare & full of sand there was also a safe in our bedroom which was a cost of 10cyp for the duration of our stay, Our room was also above the bar so we could see the entertainment and the pool area although there was no sun on this side of the hotel.

We stayed half board and the food was ok it did seem to vary, Breakfast was English one day and more like German the next the same with the evening meal, although I would recommend the Thursday night cavery it was the nicest meal during our stay as we were there for 10 nights some of the evening meals ...
were slightly repetitive.

The Pool area was kept very clean although they do have a policy about the reservation of sun loungers that is NOT enforced!! During our stay we witnessed a particular large group reserving the best loungers early in the morning going on trips for the morning and returning in the afternoon to the loungers which was very unfair. We tended to go to the beach next to the hotel which was nice, we also visited Fig Tree Bay and were very disappointed as there was litter everywhere dirty nappies etc.

I found the staff in the restuarant not very friendly, although the reception staff were extremely helpful as were the maids.

Also there is a sunday market which you can arrange through the hotel the market isnt very good but its well worth going just for the excursion to Famagusta the Ghost Town and also a stop off at the view tower for tea & cakes and also the view of the ghost town which was excellent value for money 2.50cyp

The Animation Team were Rubbish !!!!


Read More

Tour Operator: Hellenic Voyages
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Wayne zabel stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel in August 2005
We were disappointed with some aspects of this hotel!
From the images we had seen on the net and in the brochures we had been expecting a swish modern hotel - what we found was a hotel that in many ways was in need of a total revamp. The hotel is one of the first built in the Pernera ares and it shows.

The public areas were OK but the bedrooms and corridors were not very nice at all. We were under the impression that 3 star accommodation in Cyprus had superior rooms to 3 star Spanish hotels, this was not the case here.

The rooms we had were small and had the decor and furnishings and run down feel of a

Tour Operator: Portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars
Share