8 independent reviews of the Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Address: Protara, Paralimni, Cyprus
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #43 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Silver Sands Beach Hotel is rated 3.5 out of 5 from 8 Reviews
88% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (8 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 5 stars

Silver Sands Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

phil had a holiday at Silver Sands Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2010
Stayed here for one week AI

Food wise, breakfast a varies selection, with alternating, days of cooked omelet or pancakes whilst you wait.

Lunch a bit odd for AI, no buffet, you order off a the massive bar menu, fresh cooked meals, and large too, not what you want for a light lunch snack in 100F, but good food,

Dinner , buffet sytle, ate out most nights, but when we ate in, it was pretty decent, catered a bit towards russian tastes im guessing.

staff were pretty friendly, especialy the bar staff, only took them one day to remember my room number and my order ( pint of carlsberg )

Rooms cleaned daily, only issue we had, was on returning from the pool at 6pm ish, we found they had removed the old headboards and draws from our room and refited new ones? A ...
bit odd refurbing the hotel rooms whilst you stay there.

A slight downside the locals use the hotel pool area and bar at the weekend, as others have mentioned, making it very busy sat/sun, and carparking is a nightmare then too.

As for location, its pretty central to the main strip, and on the beach, spot on IMO.


Also note, tho I couldn\'t find this anywhere, but the reception and pool bar, both have free Wifi, just ask for the Wep key ( password etc ) bonus!

I had to book the hotel just under 8 weeks before staying due to work, and cost me

Read More

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Hugh Smith stayed at Silver Sands Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2009
stayed here july 2009 for 2 weeks rooms basic but very clean we were on first floor overlooking the building work taking place about 50 metres away this posed no problem whatsoever no noise to talk about great location and excellent pool area usual problems with towels on sunbeds at early hours of morning the weekend brings in the local cypriots who park outside the hotel and it is very busy saturday and sunday we both enjoyed our stay so much so we are already booked again to return 11th july 2010 for 2 weeks as long as you dont expect a 5 star hotel for the price you pay you will have a good time and not much to moan about.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Colin & Vera had a holiday at Silver Sands Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2008
This hotel has changed wonderfully since last year. Rooms,reception,poolside and sunbeds etc so much better. Staff very good, reception staff could not be better. (No great noise or dust from building site next door).

Tour Operator: thomas cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

colin and vera had a holiday at Silver Sands Beach Hotel in September 2007
have just spent 2 weeks at this hotel,our only grumble would be that the room allocated reeked of cigarettes,the furnishings were badly in need of refurbishment however the hotel was in a superb location, the staff were always helpful. the food for breakfast was plentiful and selection was good. for a small refundable deposit beach towels were supplied by the hotel which was an added bonus. we hope that it will be refurbished as we would like to return. the cleaner for our room did a good job trying to f
eshen it up. may we suggest smoking only on the balcony not within the room.

Tour Operator: thomas cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian+Karen stayed at Silver Sands Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2007
On arriving at Silver Sands we could not have been more pleased with the location-right on the beach and ideal for all the bars,shops,etc.
Rooms clean but fairly basic,there is a daily charge for safe/mini fridge.Balcony view is wonderful.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Food at breakfast was fine with a good selection and eaten outdoors looking out to sea.
Very little entertainment that we could see but you could use neighbouring hotels.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.


Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mandy stayed at Silver Sands Beach Hotel in September 2006
We have just returned back from Protaras again for the
3rd year running, this time we stayed in the Silver sands hotel.

What can I say fantastic location right on the beach, the staff are lovely.

We stayed here on bed and breakfast as having been to Protaras many times we like to eat out.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Rose visited the Silver Sands Beach Hotel, Protaras in July 2006
This was our first visit to Cyprus and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staying at the Silver Sands Hotel which is in a great location, on the beach and close to shops,bars and restaurants did have it\'s downfalls.

We paid an extra

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

loran had a holiday at Silver Sands Beach Hotel, Protaras in October 2005
Silver sands is in a fabulous location right in the heart of Protaras. It is set on the beach and our room had amazing views of this.

There are rooms available that look directly onto the beach and pool area at the very front of the hotel although these would cost extra but probably worth it.

As we travelled in October we did not use the pool as the water was too cold but a few kids were playing in there.

The hotel room was clean with comfortable beds and clean linen and the maids came most days. The bathroom was clean too and fresh towels were supplied throughout the week. You needed to pay for fridge hire if you wanted it. It was about one Cypriot pound per night...they give you a key at reception which opens ...
it. However it barely fits a big bottle of pop in it! The balconies are just big enough for two people, they have two plastic chairs and a table. I think some balconies may have been in the shade later on in the day but as ours was more near the front it was ok.
The hotel reception staff seem helpful enough we didn't really need to ask them much but when we went about the fridge they were nice to talk to.

There is a bar in the reception area which would be nice if you want a quiet drink...also a good place to meet friends.

I'm not sure about entertainment in the hotel as we went out every night. I did see a poster in the lift about some kind of show and i know theres a stage area near the pool.

We stayed at this hotel on half board, although we never actually planned to eat here as the hotel was cheaper than self catering! We did try the breakfast on the first day and another day when we went on a trip and was up about 6:30am. There seemed to be plenty of choice with toast cereals croissants fresh fruit yogurt and cooked breakfast. Also juices tea and coffee. We preferred to eat out though as the full English breakfast at island affair up the road is lovely! We also tried dinner on the first night just out of curiosity...we hated it! There was hardly any choice...soup that looked like tinted water. Then it was either pasta, meat and veg or chicken nuggets. We tried the pasta and it was really mushy and spicy. The desserts looked nice. I don't know if there wasn't much choice with it being October or if its like this all the time. I imagine you would be disappointed and children would be struggling. Having been to Protaras the year before we knew we wanted to eat out anyway so for us this was not a problem as we\'d taken enough money for that.

Also I must mention you feel like you are an animal in a zoo being fed because the staff watch over you all the time which is a bit annoying. As soon as you put your fork down they come over and take your plate away. Probably to make you feel like you cant go back for more!

All in all the hotel is nice if you are looking for somewhere thats in the middle of everything, clean and friendly. I would go back here if the price was the same as self catering.

Hope this helps!

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice airways

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars
Share