56 independent reviews of the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Protara, Paralimni, Cyprus
Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel
Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #25 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is rated 3.98 out of 5 from 56 Reviews
77% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (56 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Friendly staff, nice rooms, poor food and entertainment."
turner had a holiday at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in March 2012
This is a very honest report about this hotel we have just returned from. We came back starving, the food was awful. The breakfast was cold, the evening meal we could not eat, it was the same food over and over again. It was full of herbs and spices, the salads were terrible.

We had building works on both sides of the hotel. There was no entertainment except the bingo man doing half hour of bingo for a bottle of wine every night. We do not recommend going to Cyprus until April because Protaras was like a ghost town with nothing open.

Now on the good points the staff were all polite. We had a nice room, the location was very good but would never go back.

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Lovely staff and food, would recommend"
Emma stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2011
The hotel was kept very clean at all times which was lovely. The food was constantly great, something for everyone. The hotel is on the beach front which was great, so we could dip in and out of the sea at leisure without having to sit on the beach all day.

The hotel staff were lovely. They were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were half board which meant we got slightly better drinks than those on all inclusive. The hotel drinks/food however were very expensive and we often went up to the main street to get rolls for lunch which were much cheaper.

The entertainment team made our holiday and would always take time out to have a chat. They even took us out in the evenings after work ...
to show us around. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Will definately be back"
Gezza visited the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in June 2011
Stayed All Inclusive here. Found hotel to be of very good standard; communal areas always spotless, rooms nice and clean.

Food was good. Some people moan about repetitiveness of food but if you eat out all the restaurants served same menu day in, day out so variation same as hotel really!

Hotel in excellent location next to beach. Found all the staff very good, polite and courteous.

Evening entertainment was very, very low key so if you want lively you need to go to main strip but that's only few yards away.

Standard of drinks on All Inclusive was very good; some cocktails are available and measures of spirits in all drinks a decent size.

Will definitely recommend this one and will re-visit take the 'other half' next time!

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Superb"
Doris Thomas had a holiday at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2010
We stayed at the Hotel Constantinos the Great in Protaras this year (2010) with our friends to celebrate both our Golden Weddings after having stayed there for the first time last year. Staying on an All Inclusive basis suits us best and the food was first class.

The hotel is superb. Location could not be bettered, right on the beach. The rooms are large with air conditioning and lovely balconies overlooking the beautiful blue sea. The staff are kind and considerate and always seemed happy to help you.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a nice quiet holiday but also within easy reach of the main street of bars and restaurants, shops etc for those who wish to have a change of scenery.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

mrs l larvin had a holiday at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel in June 2009
travelled on the 14th june09. first time in cyprus to celebrate silver wedding. always wanted to come here and was not disappointed in any way. stayed at the constantinoe the great hotel in protaras.couldnt
fault hotel. we stayed for 1 week half board weather excellent food excellent hotel

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

mrs l larvin visited the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2009
travelled on the 14th june09. first time in cyprus to celebrate silver wedding. always wanted to come here and was not disappointed in any way. stayed at the constantinoe the great hotel in protaras.couldnt
fault hotel. we stayed for 1 week half board weather excellent food excellent hotel location right on beach
and not far away from main strip. maid service superb only thing drinks alot more expensive than outside thats why alot of guests were al inclusive.wouldnty= hesitate to go back even though it was not cheap for to get there.there again you pay for good quality and thats what we got.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Podmores stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2008
We had read several bad reports before going on holiday to this hotel and was very apprenhensive - we have just arrived back from one of the best hotel holidays we have had - the hotel was immaculate, room cleaned and beds made up every day - the staff were really friendly and tried very hard to please everyone - reception staff were most helpful with all queries and when we needed more towels due to not enough being left by the maid they were brought up to our room instantly. The daytime kids club was great for our 8 yr old son and even though he is very shy he joined in most of the games etc though he didnt want to join the night time entertainment for the children - the only negative points I would like to ...
mention are 1. Not enough choice of food for children for the evening meal 2. There should be a kids club itinary so that you know if they need to be wearing shoes or sunhat etc for that session and 3. There are no pool depth markings
The entertainment at night in the hotel was very basic but watchable if you were all inclusive and the main stretch was busy but not that busy you could not get any seats to watch the constant shows available - if you like drag try the Sphinx or watch the comedy hypnotist
The hotel is directly on the beach and there were ample sunbeds to go around - though you may have had to go searching for the odd one that was not together but we never ever had no sunbed - lots around the pool area were taken up at the crack of dawn however they have them scattered around the gardens and the beach
The pool was always clean and they have a gardner that comes around every evening to tidy up and staff are constantly clearing any rubbish dropped on the floor
The only thing to watch out for is the weekend influx of locals on Sat/ Sun they come to their apartments and villas and bombade the hotel pool and beach though it is only for 2 days - at the time of leaving they were installing a barrier at the entrance of the hotel
The restuarant for evening meal was very impressive and the staff could not be more attentive to our needs - they all had a friendly face and always had a smile for you no matter whether it was 6.45am or 9.30pm in the evening and they had worked all day
We hired a car for 4 days at a local hire firm up the road and found that to travel across the island to Nicosia and Paphos took approx 3hrs to get there
The weather was extremely hot approx 40 degrees in the sun and 33 in the shade - you needed alot of suncream and watch the time of day if you had small children
We definately will come back to Cyprus again to Protaras and stay at this hotel because we really enjoyed it and the location it excellent
Ignore the bad reports - we had no probs at all and would recommend this hotel to any of our family and friends

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Mrs Twena had a holiday at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2008
We stayed here at the end of July 2008, the hotel and location is very impressive.

Hotel was clean and tidy, they had a lady coming and checking the standard of the cleaning each day.

I like everyone else read all the comments about this hotel before I went and ok it may not be a 5* to uk standards but do you really need a trouser press?

The rooms are a little small if like us you are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. We were prepared for this as we had read all the reviews, as you don\'t spend that much time in your hotel it did not concern us that much.

Food was plentyfull and always a lot of choice, even for fussy eaters. We had our wedding reception here which was a dream come true. Petros ...
the resturant manager was FANTASTIC, I could not say enough about him he was great.

Childrens enterainment was great my daughter had her 5th birthday whilst we where there and they organised her a birthday party, Big Lou was fantastic with the kids as where Sammy and Angie.

The only negative for us was the aircon in the resturant was a little poor, when you check out you cannot then use the all inclusive, if you have an evening flight and check out at 12 you cannot then eat or get drinks. So delay in checking out until the last minute.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

rab and angie visited the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in June 2008
we went to this hotel on june the 8th for 2 weeks and we had our weg at this hotel, which was superb, the staff were fantastic in particular a restaurant manager called petros whos manner was ou of this world the most helpful polite man i have ever spoke to we would definately return to this hotel again , the kids loved the kids club and entertainment staff, lewis, angie, gemma and sammy who worked their butts off to entertain people they were very good and all the kids their loved them , maybe a little more choice on the food part but overall it was great and gregory the chef makes a great omlette in the morning

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

dave twose stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in March 2008
hotel room was overlooking the beach a great location,room was quite large with 2 twin beds put together,maid service was poor room not cleaned very well,maid forgot most days to replenish the tea/coffee,and on one occasion did not empty the toilet bin (as you know in cyprus paper does not go down toilet but in the bin) not good after a hot day.we found the food quite good but could get boring if you were spending more than a week there.most of the entertainment at night was as you would expect a cheap hotel act to be.the serving staff were friendly and were always asking you if you wanted another drink which was good as we were on all inclusive.I would only rate this hotel a 4 star at best for the service but 5 star for the enterance lobby impresive to say the least

Tour Operator: travel republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Nick stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel in October 2007
Travelled to this hotel with high expectations after good reports from other family members who had stayed here. Enjoyed the location with easy access to the beach and shops/bars. Breakfast was the usual sausages eggs bacon beans toms, although did enjoy the omelettes and pancakes which were made to order. Decent selection at lunch times and evening meals. My only real problem was with the serving staff who were at times arrogant and lazy to the point where our party stopped waiting for them to serve us drinks and went straight to the bar ourselves. It seems that nearly all of the staff are being replaced by eastern european workers with little or no customer service skills. I think this will turn alot of Holiday Makers away from this Hotel.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Brian and Anna visited the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2007
We arrived expecting 5* treatment which at best turned out to be 3*

Trying to get a drink from the waiters was like waiting to die of old age ..... in the end we gave up most nights and went direct to the bar ourselves (a stark contrast to the local bars who ask you if you would like another drink before you have reached the bottom of your glass)

The food was awful and we decided if we ever came back to this hotel (which is never going to happen) then we would bring our own hack-saw to cut the meat, vegetables and potatoes.
The best food was from the snack bar near the pool which had a good snack menu and the tuna pitta breads were lovely but we found out that because we were all inclusive we could not ...
order these between 12 noon and 3pm because then we would have to pay !!!

The beds were made every day and there were fresh towels each day but the rooms and in particular the balcony area was never cleaned, a thick layer of dust lay on the railings on the balcony which I had to clean myself just to be able to hang the wet towels/washing on.

The location of this hotel is excellent, smack on the beach and a 2 minute walk to the shops, bars etc. but if you were unlucky enough to have a room above the service road then expect to be woken up very early every morning by the dustbin lorries, laundry lorries, grass cutting etc.

We gave up after a week and moved to the Vrissiana next door which was a much more modern hotel and the food was even edible !

Having said this Protaras was lovely, very lively with loads of bars and restaurants and we would return to this resort again but would go self catering as the choice of eating places is in abundance.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

John & Maxine stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2007
Double booking at this Hotel at the moment is rife, so don\'t expect a room when you get there. Tsokkos who run the hotel are trying to fill the hotel next door so you will be offered an all inclusive deal. We stayed at Tsokkos\' Vrissiana Hotel next door for one night and then made a fuss until we got a room at the Constantinos.

The Constantinos is at best a middle of the road 4* hotel and is looking tired with wallpaper hanging off walls on some floors.

Food is nothing special and waiting staff too keen to clear your plates away. One night our table, including drinks, was cleared and we had only got up to get our desert.

Excellent location on beach.

Entertainment always started late in the evening.



Tour Operator: MedHotels
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Neil stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel in September 2007
We stayed half board but if we stayed again bed and breakfast would be our choice, Evening meals were not good, Breakfast was better at the Odessa in which we have stayed three times.

We had the choice of being moved on Full board to the vrissiana, with hindsight a move we should have made, Rooms are good but are not cleaned well. The staff lack motivation and training, what should be five stars is at best a good three.

Cracks are appearing in Mr & Mrs Tsokkos flagship hotel, some are real cracks too! Mr Tsokkos turned up twice at dinner and it was noticeable that he had a positive affect on his staff.

At other times you feel that you don\'t exist, If we stayed again I will take some blue tack, That will stop them whipping the ...
plates away. As Cyprus hotels go it is one of the better ones, but keep your expectations low and you will STILL be disappointed.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kerri visited the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2007
No complaints whatsoever. The hotel was bright and clean, and far supassed our expectations. The food, although repetative, was always varied and tasted good. The location was superb, really really brilliant, booking blind in this case worked wonders for us, right on the beach, perfect!
The staff were sparse, however, when we needed them due to a drama we had, they were outstanding, and deserve great thanks for all they done for us!!
The entertainment was a bit hit and miss, but we went as a huge group, and there was so much going around that it didn\'t matter. However, there was a different show on each night, and over the two weeks, we didn\'t see any repeats which you\'d normally expect.

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

lisaeugene stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in August 2007
Travel date: 27/07/07

Tour Operator: NA

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

John Neesham stayed at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in August 2007
This hotel was a great let down and should not be advertised as a 5 star.
Fistly the good points:
The beach location was excellent allowing you to either enjoy the pool or the sea from one grassed location.
The quality of the food was good.
The bad points were:
The air conditioning in both the restaurant and the bars was woefully inadequate.
The cleanliness of the hotel was hit and miss. Cup marks on the surfaces of the room, sand on the floor etc were there for the two week duration despite complaints.
On a weekend the locals are encouraged to use the hotel facilities which even at already peak holiday season, easily tripled the head count. This meant sun loungers and external food tables not available for paying guests. We even had trouble with local teenagers using the pool and using threatening ...
behaviour to the holidaying teenagers.
The entertaining at night was a joke with at times less than 10 persons watching.
During dinner the service in the restraunt is bordering on the obsessive with plates being removed whilst you are still eating your last mouthful, this is in stark contrast to the service you receive whilst waiting for a drink in the bar.
Overall we made the most of the holiday and the other residents were all very friendly, however I cannot reiterate enough, don\'t expect a 5 star hotel, realistically it borders between 3 star + and 4 star.

Read More

Tour Operator: Argo
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

1/5
1

Mark Foster visited the Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in August 2007
Hell on Earth!
This hotel should be down-graded to at best 3 star.
If you want a holiday in the Middle of Blackpool then go here. Outside of our window was a 100 Foot fairground ride, below our window was a sceptic tank which was emptied every other day at 6.30 am. Opposite our window was another Hotel which had noisy music blaring away until after 1am every night
The Hotel Air Conditioning is useless, if you are on the top floor prepare to scorch, warm air rises and because the floors do not have working Air Con it gets very Hot. The room Air Con does not cope with the heat which passes around the door frame.
The Room itself was clean and well furnished but very small, 3 people sharing without adequate storage space for clothes meant we lived out of our ...
suitcases for 2 weeks. The beds where rock hard and had plastic sheets on which made you sweat and crackled ever time you turned over.
The bathroom was ok but could do with refurbishment. The tiles were dirty and cracked. And all of the room doors slam shut, so if you want a bit of piece and quiet during the day, forget it. The maids slam every door all day long.
Breakfast was fine if you like a fry up every morning, you had to queue for at least 15 minutes for a pancake or omelette and the coffee was terrible. We took to making our own using instant coffee as the coffee machines where useless. 3 Toasters for 1000 people is definitely not enough.
The Grounds are too small and if you are lucky or early enough to get a sun bed expect to be surrounded by people who are not staying in the Hotel and using the sun beds free of charge. We also saw Bar Staff serving children with alcohol in exchange for a small fee. Most evenings we had to avoid drunken teenagers hanging around the outside bar.
The Pool is too small for the size of the hotel and it was very dirty, the drainage gulleys around the edge are all broken and there are holes you can trap your feet in. We even saw local teenagers using the pool jumping from the Bridge over the pool and one morning saw a staff member fetching broken wood and nails out of the pool.
The beach however is excellent and a great way to escape the noise from the Hotel.
The Hotel is not very clean and there was quite a lot of damage which was caused by some of the guests, like ripped wallpaper, damaged light switches, burnt seats and the Carpet in the Dining Room had lifted in several places causing people to trip and spill food.
The Evening meals where atrocious, the choice of food was very limited and not well thought out, and became very repetitive. We noticed that some of the meals resembled left over food from breakfast i.e. cold bacon salads, cold boiled egg salads, and cold sausage salads. And the desserts are left on a table for people to cough and sneeze over instead of being under cover and the Ice Cream is not changed daily and we saw kids dipping dirty fingers in and hair floating on top of the vanilla ice cream.
The waiting staff are obsessive at dinner with plates being removed whilst you are still eating your last mouthful, and we found we where being rushed to leave which makes sense when you have a full hotel with a very inadequate dining room.
The entertainment throughout the day is appalling and at night it was a joke.
Overall this Holiday has spoiled our love of Cyprus, and we would never venture to Protarus again. The description in the first choice brochure says

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Angela had a holiday at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in August 2007
This was our 2nd time at the constantinos the great and we were very surprised at the change in the hotel. The only meal of the day that we could all actually eat was breakfast. We couldn\'t bear to eat dinner so we would swap it for lunch which became unbearable also. Many a times my plate was taken before I had even finshed my meal.

The rooms were cleaned daily but not to the standard of a 5 star hotel.

The hotel staff were nice and friendly.

The entertainment during the day was Ok around the pool and my son did enjoy the water polo but would have preferred a game for the children rather than the adults all the time. Would not go back to this hotel again.

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

phill had a holiday at Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel, Protaras in August 2007
The all inclusive package changed during our 1st week with no warning, which meant we couldnt eat pitta bread sandwiches between 12-3pm otherwise wed have to pay for them, bearing in mind this was the only food at this hotel that was half decent!!!
staff far too eager to remove your plates infact our teenage daughters made jokes saying they looked like sharks about to circle their next feed.
food diabolical, although we were all-inclusive our kids went to mcdonalds often!!
room very average, but hotel should be downgraded to a 3 star without doubt. a complete rip-off and we spent less money the previous year going to Jamaica.

Tour Operator: going places
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars
Share