Image of Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel

Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel

26 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 56 reviews
5 stars
Protara, Paralimni, Cyprus

56 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    19
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Turner
Friendly staff, nice rooms, poor food and entertainment.
4 years 6 months ago
This is a very honest report about this hotel we have just returned from. We came back starving, the food was awful. The breakfast was cold, the evening meal we could not eat, it was the same food over and over again. It was full of herbs and spices, the salads were terrible.

We had building works on both sides of the hotel. There was no entertainment except the bingo man doing half hour of bingo for a bottle of wine every night. We do not recommend going to Cyprus until April because Protaras was like a ghost town with nothing open.

Now on the good points the staff were all polite. We had a nice room, the location was very good but would never go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Emma
Lovely staff and food, would recommend
5 years 3 months ago
The hotel was kept very clean at all times which was lovely. The food was constantly great, something for everyone. The hotel is on the beach front which was great, so we could dip in and out of the sea at leisure without having to sit on the beach all day.

The hotel staff were lovely. They were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were half board which meant we got slightly better drinks than those on all inclusive. The hotel drinks/food however were very expensive and we often went up to the main street to get rolls for lunch which were much cheaper.

The entertainment team made our holiday and would always take time out to have a chat. They even took us out in the evenings after work to show us around. We would definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gezza
Will definately be back
5 years 4 months ago
Stayed All Inclusive here. Found hotel to be of very good standard; communal areas always spotless, rooms nice and clean.

Food was good. Some people moan about repetitiveness of food but if you eat out all the restaurants served same menu day in, day out so variation same as hotel really!

Hotel in excellent location next to beach. Found all the staff very good, polite and courteous.

Evening entertainment was very, very low key so if you want lively you need to go to main strip but that's only few yards away.

Standard of drinks on All Inclusive was very good; some cocktails are available and measures of spirits in all drinks a decent size.

Will definitely recommend this one and will re-visit take the 'other half' next time!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Doris Thomas
Superb
6 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Hotel Constantinos the Great in Protaras this year (2010) with our friends to celebrate both our Golden Weddings after having stayed there for the first time last year. Staying on an All Inclusive basis suits us best and the food was first class.

The hotel is superb. Location could not be bettered, right on the beach. The rooms are large with air conditioning and lovely balconies overlooking the beautiful blue sea. The staff are kind and considerate and always seemed happy to help you.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a nice quiet holiday but also within easy reach of the main street of bars and restaurants, shops etc for those who wish to have a change of scenery.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs L Larvin
7 years 3 months ago
travelled on the 14th june09. first time in cyprus to celebrate silver wedding. always wanted to come here and was not disappointed in any way. stayed at the constantinoe the great hotel in protaras.couldnt
fault hotel. we stayed for 1 week half board weather excellent food excellent hotel
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs L Larvin
7 years 3 months ago
travelled on the 14th june09. first time in cyprus to celebrate silver wedding. always wanted to come here and was not disappointed in any way. stayed at the constantinoe the great hotel in protaras.couldnt
fault hotel. we stayed for 1 week half board weather excellent food excellent hotel location right on beach
and not far away from main strip. maid service superb only thing drinks alot more expensive than outside thats why alot of guests were al inclusive.wouldnty= hesitate to go back even though it was not cheap for to get there.there again you pay for good quality and thats what we got.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Podmores
8 years 2 months ago
We had read several bad reports before going on holiday to this hotel and was very apprenhensive - we have just arrived back from one of the best hotel holidays we have had - the hotel was immaculate, room cleaned and beds made up every day - the staff were really friendly and tried very hard to please everyone - reception staff were most helpful with all queries and when we needed more towels due to not enough being left by the maid they were brought up to our room instantly. The daytime kids club was great for our 8 yr old son and even though he is very shy he joined in most of the games etc though he didnt want to join the night time entertainment for the children - the only negative points I would like to mention are 1. Not enough choice of food for children for the evening meal 2. There should be a kids club itinary so that you know if they need to be wearing shoes or sunhat etc for that session and 3. There are no pool depth markings
The entertainment at night in the hotel was very basic but watchable if you were all inclusive and the main stretch was busy but not that busy you could not get any seats to watch the constant shows available - if you like drag try the Sphinx or watch the comedy hypnotist
The hotel is directly on the beach and there were ample sunbeds to go around - though you may have had to go searching for the odd one that was not together but we never ever had no sunbed - lots around the pool area were taken up at the crack of dawn however they have them scattered around the gardens and the beach
The pool was always clean and they have a gardner that comes around every evening to tidy up and staff are constantly clearing any rubbish dropped on the floor
The only thing to watch out for is the weekend influx of locals on Sat/ Sun they come to their apartments and villas and bombade the hotel pool and beach though it is only for 2 days - at the time of leaving they were installing a barrier at the entrance of the hotel
The restuarant for evening meal was very impressive and the staff could not be more attentive to our needs - they all had a friendly face and always had a smile for you no matter whether it was 6.45am or 9.30pm in the evening and they had worked all day
We hired a car for 4 days at a local hire firm up the road and found that to travel across the island to Nicosia and Paphos took approx 3hrs to get there
The weather was extremely hot approx 40 degrees in the sun and 33 in the shade - you needed alot of suncream and watch the time of day if you had small children
We definately will come back to Cyprus again to Protaras and stay at this hotel because we really enjoyed it and the location it excellent
Ignore the bad reports - we had no probs at all and would recommend this hotel to any of our family and friends
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
We stayed here at the end of July 2008, the hotel and location is very impressive.

Hotel was clean and tidy, they had a lady coming and checking the standard of the cleaning each day.

I like everyone else read all the comments about this hotel before I went and ok it may not be a 5* to uk standards but do you really need a trouser press?

The rooms are a little small if like us you are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. We were prepared for this as we had read all the reviews, as you don't spend that much time in your hotel it did not concern us that much.

Food was plentyfull and always a lot of choice, even for fussy eaters. We had our wedding reception here which was a dream come true. Petros the resturant manager was FANTASTIC, I could not say enough about him he was great.

Childrens enterainment was great my daughter had her 5th birthday whilst we where there and they organised her a birthday party, Big Lou was fantastic with the kids as where Sammy and Angie.

The only negative for us was the aircon in the resturant was a little poor, when you check out you cannot then use the all inclusive, if you have an evening flight and check out at 12 you cannot then eat or get drinks. So delay in checking out until the last minute.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rab And Angie
8 years 3 months ago
we went to this hotel on june the 8th for 2 weeks and we had our weg at this hotel, which was superb, the staff were fantastic in particular a restaurant manager called petros whos manner was ou of this world the most helpful polite man i have ever spoke to we would definately return to this hotel again , the kids loved the kids club and entertainment staff, lewis, angie, gemma and sammy who worked their butts off to entertain people they were very good and all the kids their loved them , maybe a little more choice on the food part but overall it was great and gregory the chef makes a great omlette in the morning
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
hotel room was overlooking the beach a great location,room was quite large with 2 twin beds put together,maid service was poor room not cleaned very well,maid forgot most days to replenish the tea/coffee,and on one occasion did not empty the toilet bin (as you know in cyprus paper does not go down toilet but in the bin) not good after a hot day.we found the food quite good but could get boring if you were spending more than a week there.most of the entertainment at night was as you would expect a cheap hotel act to be.the serving staff were friendly and were always asking you if you wanted another drink which was good as we were on all inclusive.I would only rate this hotel a 4 star at best for the service but 5 star for the enterance lobby impresive to say the least
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: