29 independent reviews of the Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments
Address: Protaras Bowland, Protara, Protaras 5313, Cyprus
Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments
Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments Location
Ranked #5 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments is rated 4.41 out of 5 from 29 Reviews
93% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (29 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 5 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments Reviews

4/5
4

Dave had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2008
The rating speak for themselves. I would recommend this to anyone. The staff are extremely pleasant, professional and hard workers. The food is excellent. Close to the centre, but far enough away not to hear noise.

A really good place.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Mrs Morse had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2007
We booked this holiday in Cyprus for a chill out.... It lived up to our expectations in every way....
We went self catering as we feel we like this type of holiday where you can feel free to do as you please.... Although these appartments could do with updating, they were very clean and cleaning staff very friendly especially Emily our particular cleaner.... sheets and towels were changed every other day and on the whole we have nothing but praise for the cleanliness of the Golden Star Apartments Hotel... The hotel staff in reception were also very polite and helpful...

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

richard/joan howard stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2007
hotel very nice/clean, staff pleasant, hotel situated in idylic surroundings, lovely pool/terrace for sun bathing, 2 minutes from lovely beach, smashing restaurant, we ate there every night, the food/staff were first class, shop,s/super market were all minutes away, every thing was first class, would deffinetly go to same hotel again.

Tour Operator: xl

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Lindsay Stewart stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in August 2007
We are just back from staying here. The apartments are great, we had a good sized room with a roof terrace which was fabulous. The hotel staff were really friendly and spoke really good English. The only area which was disappointing was the pool area. The pool is too small for the size of hotel and the pool is surrounded by this blue non slip mat which gets extremly dirty. I would go back to this hotel again in the future but I would use the pool at the sister hotel or go to the beach which is 2 seconds away.

Tour Operator: Hayes Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Taylor Family stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments in August 2007
Arrived at Golden Star in early hours of the morning after a very long journey (made longer by the airport transfer bus breaking down !). Check in was quick, no problems & can confirm air con is free, just ask at reception and they will ensure its turned on in your room.

The rooms at the Golden Star are extremely basic and very dated. Tiles and surfaces are chipped and stained, so even when cleaned, do not look especially clean unfortunately. This does not make for a very good first impression, frankly the apartment just looked dirty, bed sheets although had been changed (I think), were stained and there was sand all over the floor. So a bit disappointing after a long journey. But the apartments are reasonable value for money, if you can over look the dated appearance, after ...
all you do just sleep in there really. But if an immaculate apartment if your thing, then avoid the Golden Star !

The pool area is quite small for the size of the apartment, and again shows the age of this apartment block. As mentioned in other reports there is a supposedly \"non slip\" blue matting around the pool which is very slippery and gets horribly dirty and slimy. Certainly makes you think twice about sitting on it at the edge of the pool to dip your toes in. But there is plenty of sun loungers, even in peak season and no need to get up at the crack of dawn to bag one. There is a grassed area next to the pool which has sun loungers which you can use and the beach is just beyond that. The beach near the Golden Star is not very clean either we found, and the sea is quite rocky so be careful of that with kids. Might be worth investigating other beaches in the area which we were told are much much better.

The Golden Star supermarket is just outside the apartments and has everything you will need at reasonable prices, which is very handy, and the staff are very helpful and polite.

If you have a late night flight it is possible to pay to keep your room until 6pm which is handy, ours cost 20CYP, but made our last day less stressful. Believe there are also courtesy rooms, but we did not need to enquire about these.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Niraj Madlani stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments in July 2007
This hotel is faboulous, it has great entertainment, it\'s in a great location, the staff are friendly, and the rooms are clean too! What more would you want?!
The air conditioning was free which is excellent. The staff were very helpful and spoke fabolous English.
There was also two courtesy rooms that you could book on your day of departure when you vacate your room at 12:00pm, so you can have a bath and freshen up.
The hotel also does currency exchange which is ideal.
The pool was very nice and clean, and the atmosphere was very calm and relaxing. The bar is across the road aswell as the local supermarket.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and i will certainly be going back to this hotel next year!

Tour Operator: MyTravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Gail stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in July 2007
After arriving quite late we found the check in very quick, first impressions of room was ok, the air con in bedroom was fab and was free!! lovely views from room, did feel that the rooms was in need of a make over but how long do you spend in them in such a lovely resort. pool was quite small but always managed to get loungers even if you did nt want to get up at the crack of dawn! you had the choice of pool, grass lounge area or beach, location of hotel was great. very clean beds changed twice in the week and towels every other day. room check out was at 12 noon you can ask to keep on your room but we found courtesy room ok.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Janet Brooks visited the Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2007
The Golden Star apartments are situated right on the beach and near the end of the long street of shops/bars/restaurants so you can have a nice walk passed all of these and choose where to eat/drink each night. It is situated down a quiet street (next to the Rising Sun pub) so you don\'t get much noise from the aforementioned bars.

The staff were lovely and very helpful and spoke excellent English. The reception was open 24 hours a day and exchanged money. They have 2 courtsey rooms which you can book if you need to shower after vacating your room at 12 on your day of departure. This worked very well for us.

The air conditioning was FREE this year which was fantastic. Bear in mind, it\'s only available in the bedroom of the apartments but ...
it\'s well worth asking for it to be switched on as it was very cooling.

We stayed in room 404 which has 2 balaconies. One small one off the living area and one huge one off the bedroom (leading to the fire escape).

The room was basic but had everything that was needed for the few hours a day we spent in it. Our toilet seat lid broke and once I reported it, a handyman came to fix it a few hours later (my husband had already managed to fix it himself).

The pool area is lovely and it was easy to get a sunbed. Our 3 year old daughter loved playing in both the children\'s pool and the bigger pool. There was no noisy entertainment so there was a peaceful and friendly atmosphere.

The bar staff and waiters were very friendly and the food was lovely (we had one evening meal there plus breakfast every morning).

I HIGHLY recommend the Golden Star and we are seriously thinking of booking again for next year.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

Thomas Tyrie stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2007
Arrived in the room there was a strong smell of urine and the room.

We switched the lights on and the bed sheets had not been changed from the last holiday makers. We went to the reception but they were rude and said we cant do nothing this time of night as it was 1:00 in the morning. They said sleep in the bed that had not been changed we simply just did not do this then they said you can sleep outside the reception for the night. But there was no refund we went to see the REP they moved us to a 5 STAR HOTEL to make up for the inconvienience.

The hotel we got moved to was the Atlantica hotel Limmasol, the hotel was extremely clean no even a spec of dust anywere to be seen plenty ...
of towels A/C was free so was the TV would reccomend the atlantica hotel to anyone who likes good food and entertainment prefect for families.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtiurs/ My Travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

Gill Rees had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in August 2006
Myself, hubby and 2 girls (12 and 9) stayed here for a fortnight at the start of the school holidays. We checked in late in the night but found the rooms to be spacious with 2 single beds in the bedroom and 2 sofa beds in the living area. It wasn\'t until the next day that we noticed that the sheets and a pillow case on my bed were dirty, covered in blood. I mentioned it the next morning and they were changed straight away and they couldn\'t apologise enough. No more problems after that.

Plenty of towels for the four of us and these were changed every other day. A/C in the bedroom was

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

sara visited the Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in July 2006
Goldern Star apartments were really lovely, perfectly situated on beautiful fig tree bay. We had sea views. Bonus! The room was very spacious and kept clean daily by thr maids. My only fault was the tiled floor. Our feet got dirty walking on them. They could have been mopped more often.

We heard great views on the Yianna Marie restaurant although we didnt eat there due to us meeting friends in the town every night.

Entertainment, again good reviews but never drank there.

Overall, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. No hesitations with going back.

Tour Operator: airtous

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Becci Crook stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in June 2006
The hotel is in a perfect location, in a,little road just off of the main strip. A 2 minute walk gets you to the heart of the resort and the numerous restaurants and bars. It is right on the beach which is superb for sunbathing and swimming in the sea. It cost 1.25 CYP per sun lounger and you can also hire an umbrella for a similar price. We preferred the beach, much more peaceful and less kids!

The pool at the Golden Star was ok, to be honest we never stayed by it as we didn\'t want to be surrounded by screaming children. Instead we went over to the Rising Star pool a couple of times. There are simply loads of sun loungers and we chose those on the patch of grass between the pool and the beach, then you ...
can get the best of both worlds and cool off in either the pool or the sea-perfect!

The Rising Sun pub was lovely and relaxed, with entertainment going on right up till 1am. The pub stays open for as long as you stay drinking!

The Yianna Marie restaurant was superb - we ate there 5 days out of the 7 which is something I don\'t usually do but the other places in the resort just didn\'t match up! The garlic mushrooms were the best starter for me and being vegetarian I like the Cyprus salad. The portions were huge! I couldn\'t get through them so if you have a small appetite like me stick to just a main or go for something light! The asparagus princess was yummy too. My partner liked the lamb kleftiko best and tzatsiki for starter. Try to taste the Cyprus specialities if you can.
The other restaurants we tried were the Astoria which was good, the manager sits by the doorway and pounces on all the passers by-he\'s hilarious! And the Olympic, or Olympus which was also good.

All in all this is the perfect base for couples and also families. I can imagine it being chaos in the school hols, there were still loads of kids about and we went at the start of June!

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

rachel had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments in April 2006
This Hotel is in a great location and offers a great base for your holiday in protaras.

The room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Including TV, fridge, Cooker, Toaster, Kettle and everyhting else you would want. There wasn\'t much noise from adjacent rooms either.

The supermarket and resteraunt were both great, although the rising sun pub was a bit of a let down, it felt a bit like a Butlins pub!

If you stay here, do go and try the pool at the Rising Star, its lovely, and you\'re very welcome there. The Golden Star pool is basic but OK. Saying that, when you\'re so close to beach you might as well just go there.

I would definatley stay here again.

Tour Operator: going places

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Elaine Gee and Family had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments in September 2005
This was our first visit to Cyprus. We stayed in the Golden Star for one week, we used the facilities most days at the sister hotel the rising star,although the apartments in the golden star are older they was very clean. The staff were very nice and friendly. If you want to be able to sleep at night then choose the golden star, they are quieter than the rising star but you can use both facilites, so you have the best of both. we enjoyed our holiday so much that we have booked to go back to the golden star next year.

Tour Operator: My travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Betty Farmer stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in September 2005
There was 6 of us who are all over 60 stayed at the golden star, we have been returning year after year for the last 10 years, dont listen to negative comments this place is fantastic, it is suitable for all age ranges families etc.

We will only eat in the the hotels restaraunt the yianna marie, staff are friendly nothing is too much, the manager leo is great and will even teach you a little greek! this year they have introduced much to our delight an italian menu as well as the la carte, which is great I would reccomend the deserts off the italian menu.

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jenny had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2005
After reading the reviews I thought I would post one, I have been to both the Golden Star and Rising Star and yes the golden star is older however it has been recently refurbished and is due to undergo more work in Winter 05/06, I personaly prefer the golden star, it has more charm and character, I feel the staff play a large part with them being so friendly and helpful at all times this is a reason the hotel has so many repeat guests.

It is like a little resort in its self as you have both the hotels, supermarket,pub, restaraunt and beach kiosk, the standard and service in all are great, as are the prices and also quality.

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Smith visited the Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments in August 2005
This hotel, although rather dated had everything you require for a self catering holiday.

We went with 2 other families, 6 adults and 5 children in total ranging from ages of 7 to 14.

Our rooms were cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis (apart from I think, 1 day a week). The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough for us, any requests were dealt with immediately even the evening Porter was lovely.

Breakfast only cost about

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Adrian and family stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2005
Had a fantastic time at the Golden Star hotel, on arrival the reception staff were very helpful and polite.

The restaurant, in our opinion was the best in the Protaras resort,the waiting staff were very friendly and courteous, nothing was to much trouble, and they also enjoyed some friendly banter. The bar prices never varied and a printed receipt was presented at each order of food or drinks, and unlike Spanish resorts a tip never appeared to be expected.

The only disappointment was the cleanliness of the bathroom, toilet appeared to have remnants of other tourists waste from the last ten years, ( don\'t usually make a habbit of checking this thoroughly, but it was visible from the bath)the rim looked disgusting.
However this aside I would return again next year.

On the down side I was not at all impressed with the sister ...
hotel the Rising Star, first visit to their bar the staff tried to help themselves to a

Read More

Tour Operator: Mytravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Bowers had a holiday at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments in April 2005
The appartments were sufficient/nice, tv was great to watch when resting, fridge, kettle, toaster and oven.

Maybe not enough storage space in one bed appartment for family of four but it was ok. The sofa beds were great, actually felt big enough to sleep on. The staff were 1st class. The rep for airtours was very busy all the time but tried her best to help you (Jenny).

The location is fabulous. Next to grass area, beach and supermarket which stocks everything like Morrisons! The sister appartments, the Rising star has a lovely pool area which we used most days. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go around.

There were three young entertainers who were there to help you enjoy your time around the pool,in the Rising Sun pub and the Golden Star appartments. They did killer pool, darts, ...
water polo, Peter Kays Amarillo around the pool if you were daft enough! They did bingo in the pub and loads of other nightly entertainment that you would want.
Outside entertainers were also put on for your enjoyment.

The complex is called the Yianna Marie Complex and we would highly recommend a visit to these. The Golden Star is 18yrs old and the Rising Star is brand new. If you can get the Rising Star, the accommodation will be better but we will still say that the Golden Star was great value for money.

The beach is the best ever. Go in front of the sunrise beach hotel and you will find the most wonderful beach view. The sea at this location is the best ever. absolutely clear. HAVE A GREAT HOLIDAY - WE DID!

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

pat corbally stayed at Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments, Protaras in October 2004
I stayed in the Golden Star Beach studios with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. We had a brilliant 2 weeks holiday. Any quieries or requests were dealt with by e mail before we got there and every effort was made to accomodate the requests.

We will definitely go to these apartments again.

Staff very friendly, phone calls to the UK very cheap from the apartment\'s, good little supermarket just out side.

Tour Operator: mytravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share