Image of Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments

Golden Star Beach Hotel Apartments

5 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
Protaras Bowland, Protara, Protaras 5313, Cyprus

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 1 month ago
The rating speak for themselves. I would recommend this to anyone. The staff are extremely pleasant, professional and hard workers. The food is excellent. Close to the centre, but far enough away not to hear noise.

A really good place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Morse
8 years 10 months ago
We booked this holiday in Cyprus for a chill out.... It lived up to our expectations in every way....
We went self catering as we feel we like this type of holiday where you can feel free to do as you please.... Although these appartments could do with updating, they were very clean and cleaning staff very friendly especially Emily our particular cleaner.... sheets and towels were changed every other day and on the whole we have nothing but praise for the cleanliness of the Golden Star Apartments Hotel... The hotel staff in reception were also very polite and helpful...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Richard/joan Howard
8 years 10 months ago
hotel very nice/clean, staff pleasant, hotel situated in idylic surroundings, lovely pool/terrace for sun bathing, 2 minutes from lovely beach, smashing restaurant, we ate there every night, the food/staff were first class, shop,s/super market were all minutes away, every thing was first class, would deffinetly go to same hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Lindsay Stewart
9 years ago
We are just back from staying here. The apartments are great, we had a good sized room with a roof terrace which was fabulous. The hotel staff were really friendly and spoke really good English. The only area which was disappointing was the pool area. The pool is too small for the size of hotel and the pool is surrounded by this blue non slip mat which gets extremly dirty. I would go back to this hotel again in the future but I would use the pool at the sister hotel or go to the beach which is 2 seconds away.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Taylor Family
9 years ago
Arrived at Golden Star in early hours of the morning after a very long journey (made longer by the airport transfer bus breaking down !). Check in was quick, no problems & can confirm air con is free, just ask at reception and they will ensure its turned on in your room.

The rooms at the Golden Star are extremely basic and very dated. Tiles and surfaces are chipped and stained, so even when cleaned, do not look especially clean unfortunately. This does not make for a very good first impression, frankly the apartment just looked dirty, bed sheets although had been changed (I think), were stained and there was sand all over the floor. So a bit disappointing after a long journey. But the apartments are reasonable value for money, if you can over look the dated appearance, after all you do just sleep in there really. But if an immaculate apartment if your thing, then avoid the Golden Star !

The pool area is quite small for the size of the apartment, and again shows the age of this apartment block. As mentioned in other reports there is a supposedly "non slip" blue matting around the pool which is very slippery and gets horribly dirty and slimy. Certainly makes you think twice about sitting on it at the edge of the pool to dip your toes in. But there is plenty of sun loungers, even in peak season and no need to get up at the crack of dawn to bag one. There is a grassed area next to the pool which has sun loungers which you can use and the beach is just beyond that. The beach near the Golden Star is not very clean either we found, and the sea is quite rocky so be careful of that with kids. Might be worth investigating other beaches in the area which we were told are much much better.

The Golden Star supermarket is just outside the apartments and has everything you will need at reasonable prices, which is very handy, and the staff are very helpful and polite.

If you have a late night flight it is possible to pay to keep your room until 6pm which is handy, ours cost 20CYP, but made our last day less stressful. Believe there are also courtesy rooms, but we did not need to enquire about these.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Niraj Madlani
9 years 1 month ago
This hotel is faboulous, it has great entertainment, it's in a great location, the staff are friendly, and the rooms are clean too! What more would you want?!
The air conditioning was free which is excellent. The staff were very helpful and spoke fabolous English.
There was also two courtesy rooms that you could book on your day of departure when you vacate your room at 12:00pm, so you can have a bath and freshen up.
The hotel also does currency exchange which is ideal.
The pool was very nice and clean, and the atmosphere was very calm and relaxing. The bar is across the road aswell as the local supermarket.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and i will certainly be going back to this hotel next year!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gail
9 years 1 month ago
After arriving quite late we found the check in very quick, first impressions of room was ok, the air con in bedroom was fab and was free!! lovely views from room, did feel that the rooms was in need of a make over but how long do you spend in them in such a lovely resort. pool was quite small but always managed to get loungers even if you did nt want to get up at the crack of dawn! you had the choice of pool, grass lounge area or beach, location of hotel was great. very clean beds changed twice in the week and towels every other day. room check out was at 12 noon you can ask to keep on your room but we found courtesy room ok.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Janet Brooks
9 years 2 months ago
The Golden Star apartments are situated right on the beach and near the end of the long street of shops/bars/restaurants so you can have a nice walk passed all of these and choose where to eat/drink each night. It is situated down a quiet street (next to the Rising Sun pub) so you don't get much noise from the aforementioned bars.

The staff were lovely and very helpful and spoke excellent English. The reception was open 24 hours a day and exchanged money. They have 2 courtsey rooms which you can book if you need to shower after vacating your room at 12 on your day of departure. This worked very well for us.

The air conditioning was FREE this year which was fantastic. Bear in mind, it's only available in the bedroom of the apartments but it's well worth asking for it to be switched on as it was very cooling.

We stayed in room 404 which has 2 balaconies. One small one off the living area and one huge one off the bedroom (leading to the fire escape).

The room was basic but had everything that was needed for the few hours a day we spent in it. Our toilet seat lid broke and once I reported it, a handyman came to fix it a few hours later (my husband had already managed to fix it himself).

The pool area is lovely and it was easy to get a sunbed. Our 3 year old daughter loved playing in both the children's pool and the bigger pool. There was no noisy entertainment so there was a peaceful and friendly atmosphere.

The bar staff and waiters were very friendly and the food was lovely (we had one evening meal there plus breakfast every morning).

I HIGHLY recommend the Golden Star and we are seriously thinking of booking again for next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Thomas Tyrie
9 years 2 months ago
Arrived in the room there was a strong smell of urine and the room.

We switched the lights on and the bed sheets had not been changed from the last holiday makers. We went to the reception but they were rude and said we cant do nothing this time of night as it was 1:00 in the morning. They said sleep in the bed that had not been changed we simply just did not do this then they said you can sleep outside the reception for the night. But there was no refund we went to see the REP they moved us to a 5 STAR HOTEL to make up for the inconvienience.

The hotel we got moved to was the Atlantica hotel Limmasol, the hotel was extremely clean no even a spec of dust anywere to be seen plenty of towels A/C was free so was the TV would reccomend the atlantica hotel to anyone who likes good food and entertainment prefect for families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
10 years ago
Myself, hubby and 2 girls (12 and 9) stayed here for a fortnight at the start of the school holidays. We checked in late in the night but found the rooms to be spacious with 2 single beds in the bedroom and 2 sofa beds in the living area. It wasn't until the next day that we noticed that the sheets and a pillow case on my bed were dirty, covered in blood. I mentioned it the next morning and they were changed straight away and they couldn't apologise enough. No more problems after that.

Plenty of towels for the four of us and these were changed every other day. A/C in the bedroom was
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: