Image of Sunrise Beach Hotel

Sunrise Beach Hotel

10 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
4 stars
Protara, Larnaca 5296, Cyprus
Situated in the centre of Protaras, on one of the most beautiful and safe beaches of Cyprus.

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
David And Christine
6 years 3 months ago
the hotel was very clean and the rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels if you wanted them.the breakast had a good selection,only ate in the restaurant twice the food was good and the service was good, got married in the hotel the staff were great and our wedding food was fabulous,the location of the hotel was good just off the main stripe,the hotel staff were freindly and the entertainment was ok but did not see much of it as we always went up to the stripe.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 4 months ago
There are two good hotels in Protaras
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alan
6 years 11 months ago
Hi all just back from this hotel , We stayed here 3 years ago how things can change , before I start the problem is not with the front staff .Arrived and got our room key on the first floor no.138 went in the room and put lights on, well the room was dirty the walls were covered with dirty markes the bathroom floor was dirty and hair in the bath, tv remote not working and 2 lights faulty went on and off making a fizzing, opened the curtins and the view was a dirty flat roof , Went to reception to complain they had no more rooms and they sent someone up to fix faults the next day we left for the sunbeds were out all day and when we got back the room was spotless and the walls had been painted tv fixed and the faulty lights were still faulty ,At night their was a very loud disco at the next hotel which goes on till 2am EVERY night, The lifts are a waist of time we used the stairs and they were filthy the last landing their was food spilled on the stairs and it was their all week ,The food was average the same all week and look warm,Hold on to your plates they have a compitition to see how quick they can swipe them from you you have to tell them you are not finished with them,And what is the story with the fridges 25 euros for a week a rip off , They cannot understand why the bars are empty in the hotel its the price of drinks , The last time we were here we had a nice room and all was well thats how we went back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Hall Family
7 years 1 month ago
Yet another great stay at the sunrise beach hotel,this was our third vist in the last 3 years.
we went in main school holidays,hotel was very busy but it was still very tidy.
staff as usual were very friendly and helpful.
rooms aren't the biggest but were cleaned every day.
the sunbed allocation system is great.
the food and drink prices are dear but they always are in hotels,there is plenty of great pubs and resturants in the resort that are alot cheaper, so used these instead.
i would recommend this hotel to anyone,great hotel,great location.
can't wait to return again in aug 2010.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs S Morrison
7 years 2 months ago
i have stayed at the sunrise beach for three yrs we found this year it was not as good as previos yrs ,round the pool is tiles and i said prevous yrs they were dangerous ,this yr i fell ,there is no point repoting it to the staff it goes unnoticed ,the breakfast even though there is everything there gets quite boring its always the same ,the electricity keept going off one day we got no tea ,coffee ,you put do not disturb on the door but the maids do disturb you , a small bottle of water on the pooldie bar costs 1euro 70cents ,i think for the price it costs to stay at the hotel and its a 4 star hotel it was expensive to what you got there was the jaccuie in the pool not working ,in the brochure it says it as three lifts but if you are staying there a first time you wouldnt know were the third lift is ,and you could only get your cases in and yourself ,the lifts especally on a morning to go for breakfast were terrable ,i could see a difference from previous years i was quite dissapointed with the staff i never told them i had hurt myself when i slipped on the tiles when i came out of the pool because they dont acknoledge it just send a bottle of wine to your room i had to spend the next day in bed ,but the hotel is in an idylec place no doubt about that but still dissapointed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Paul
7 years 11 months ago
wonderful stay here loved every minute of it,fantastic postion of hotel looking onto beautiful white sand and clear water that goes on for ever.
this hotel is spotless clean and very modern ,the hotel room is a bit small but immaculate clean every day,the breakfast was of high standard all that you want healthy or not which i preferred good all english every morning.
the staff where brilliant very plesent, t he entertainer was funny and a charmer with the ladies quite funny to see when he took them to aqua aerobics every day.they have a pool rep which gave you your beds and parasol booked all week with clean towels so you dont have to rush down to get beds exellent idea.
we never went to the entertainment as it was very expensive to drink in the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years ago
The Sunrise Beach was recommended to us and we were not disapointed, we had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to go back.
The staff cannot do enough for you and Neo the Matrie'D runs a very tight ship
Rooms were adequate and cleaned every day but the fridge was a bit pricy.
Allocation of sun beds was fantastic and the position of the hotel to the beach is superb.
the animation team of Andy and Timi worked very hard and made our stay very enjoyable.
The nightly entertainment varied from singers, a magic show, performing parrots but there was also a lot of other bars on the strip for more entertainment if you required it.
There are plenty of shops and bars in the area for you to peruse and water sports aplenty.
We will be going back next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Geraint & Jo Jenkins
8 years 1 month ago
Just returned from our third stay and have already booked for next year!! Excellent location,staff & beach.Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Sun bed allocation on arrival excellant idea just see the attendant & choose your location. What more can I say other than heaven on earth!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John
8 years 4 months ago
An excellent hotel, one of the best on the island, great location, but ....

A big but.

Sunrise Beach Hotel has a well deserved reputation, but this year standards had slipped.

Over the winter at least a million euros must have been spent, but this seems to have led to cost-cutting elsewhere.

New bathrooms in many rooms. New glass on balconies, but leads to loss of privacy. Nice duvets on beds but boiling hot. Looks nice, nice and cosy for English winter but not ideal for hot Cyprus summer.

Excellent breakfast, very good choice. But, every morning bacon was burnt, fruit juice watered down.

Dinner. Dinner was a big let down. Poor service, food not very good. Better value and better meals to eat out. Try No One Restaurant nearby or try Nicolas Tavern. Dinner poor value for 20.5 euros.

Seriously understaffed. Staff not had a day off in a month.

Staff are very very good, very friendly, very helpful. Very nice animators.

Rooms always very clean.

Lot of noise from adjacent Ilyada Hotel. Some building noise from nearby Silver Sands whilst work is carried out.

Too many weddings. Mass production weddings, sometimes as many as a three a day! A big nuisance to other guests.

Very expensive to use internet - 3.5 euros for half an hour!!!!

It takes a long time to build up a good reputation. Sunrise is still a very good hotel, but they have let standards slip and need to refocuss their attention on their core business, which is quality food, good service.

Regular guests said standards had slipped, new guests said they would think twice before coming again.

But still better than other hotels, especially those in Tsokkos group.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire
8 years 4 months ago
The Sunrise Beach Hotel was very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. Towels were changed as often as you needed clean ones. Our room was cleaned on a regular basis to a high standard. Downside....air con broke but was repaired quickly. Leak from ceiling in bathroom again repaired quickly and efficiently. Breakfasts were varied and although we are vegetarians there was still plenty of choice although no veggie bacon or sausages but as we have said plenty of non meaty choices. Fruit juice was watered down!! Waiters very over efficient by taking your plates away virtually as soon as you finished eating which became rather annoying. Expensive internet charges, 3.50 euros for 1/2 hour. Expensive pot of tea for 2, 6.00 euros. In the grill bar, still using old menu in cypriot pounds so remember to more or less double it in costs. Safety deposit box in room again expensive now 27 euros for two weeks. Even though went end of May got very busy around the pool. Sun loungers already allocated which was good idea. Hotel is situated virtually on beach, lovely beach but again at weekends locals invade so very busy so best to avoid at weekends. Lovely safe swimming from beach.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: