30 independent reviews of the Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Protara, Larnaca 5296, Cyprus
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #14 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Sunrise Beach Hotel Sunrise Beach Hotel is rated 4.1 out of 5 from 30 Reviews
90% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (30 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Sunrise Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

david and christine had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel in June 2010
the hotel was very clean and the rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels if you wanted them.the breakast had a good selection,only ate in the restaurant twice the food was good and the service was good, got married in the hotel the staff were great and our wedding food was fabulous,the location of the hotel was good just off the main stripe,the hotel staff were freindly and the entertainment was ok but did not see much of it as we always went up to the stripe.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Keith had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in May 2010
There are two good hotels in Protaras

Tour Operator: individual traveller

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

alan had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2009
1 reader found this review helpful

Hi all just back from this hotel , We stayed here 3 years ago how things can change , before I start the problem is not with the front staff .Arrived and got our room key on the first floor no.138 went in the room and put lights on, well the room was dirty the walls were covered with dirty markes the bathroom floor was dirty and hair in the bath, tv remote not working and 2 lights faulty went on and off making a fizzing, opened the curtins and the view was a dirty flat roof , Went to reception to complain they had no more rooms and they sent someone up to fix faults the next day we left for the sunbeds were out all day and when we got back the room was spotless ...
and the walls had been painted tv fixed and the faulty lights were still faulty ,At night their was a very loud disco at the next hotel which goes on till 2am EVERY night, The lifts are a waist of time we used the stairs and they were filthy the last landing their was food spilled on the stairs and it was their all week ,The food was average the same all week and look warm,Hold on to your plates they have a compitition to see how quick they can swipe them from you you have to tell them you are not finished with them,And what is the story with the fridges 25 euros for a week a rip off , They cannot understand why the bars are empty in the hotel its the price of drinks , The last time we were here we had a nice room and all was well thats how we went back

Read More

Tour Operator: thompsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

hall family had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2009
Yet another great stay at the sunrise beach hotel,this was our third vist in the last 3 years.
we went in main school holidays,hotel was very busy but it was still very tidy.
staff as usual were very friendly and helpful.
rooms aren\'t the biggest but were cleaned every day.
the sunbed allocation system is great.
the food and drink prices are dear but they always are in hotels,there is plenty of great pubs and resturants in the resort that are alot cheaper, so used these instead.
i would recommend this hotel to anyone,great hotel,great location.
can\'t wait to return again in aug 2010.


Tour Operator: oylimpic holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

mrs s morrison stayed at Sunrise Beach Hotel in July 2009
i have stayed at the sunrise beach for three yrs we found this year it was not as good as previos yrs ,round the pool is tiles and i said prevous yrs they were dangerous ,this yr i fell ,there is no point repoting it to the staff it goes unnoticed ,the breakfast even though there is everything there gets quite boring its always the same ,the electricity keept going off one day we got no tea ,coffee ,you put do not disturb on the door but the maids do disturb you , a small bottle of water on the pooldie bar costs 1euro 70cents ,i think for the price it costs to stay at the hotel and its a 4 star hotel it was expensive to what you got there was the jaccuie in the pool not working ,in ...
the brochure it says it as three lifts but if you are staying there a first time you wouldnt know were the third lift is ,and you could only get your cases in and yourself ,the lifts especally on a morning to go for breakfast were terrable ,i could see a difference from previous years i was quite dissapointed with the staff i never told them i had hurt myself when i slipped on the tiles when i came out of the pool because they dont acknoledge it just send a bottle of wine to your room i had to spend the next day in bed ,but the hotel is in an idylec place no doubt about that but still dissapointed

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

paul stayed at Sunrise Beach Hotel in October 2008
wonderful stay here loved every minute of it,fantastic postion of hotel looking onto beautiful white sand and clear water that goes on for ever.
this hotel is spotless clean and very modern ,the hotel room is a bit small but immaculate clean every day,the breakfast was of high standard all that you want healthy or not which i preferred good all english every morning.
the staff where brilliant very plesent, t he entertainer was funny and a charmer with the ladies quite funny to see when he took them to aqua aerobics every day.they have a pool rep which gave you your beds and parasol booked all week with clean towels so you dont have to rush down to get beds exellent idea.
we never went to the entertainment as it was very expensive to drink in the hotel

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

steve & Lindsay had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2008
The Sunrise Beach was recommended to us and we were not disapointed, we had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to go back.
The staff cannot do enough for you and Neo the Matrie\'D runs a very tight ship
Rooms were adequate and cleaned every day but the fridge was a bit pricy.
Allocation of sun beds was fantastic and the position of the hotel to the beach is superb.
the animation team of Andy and Timi worked very hard and made our stay very enjoyable.
The nightly entertainment varied from singers, a magic show, performing parrots but there was also a lot of other bars on the strip for more entertainment if you required it.
There are plenty of shops and bars in the area for you to peruse and water sports aplenty.
We will be going back next year

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Geraint & Jo Jenkins visited the Sunrise Beach Hotel in August 2008
Just returned from our third stay and have already booked for next year!! Excellent location,staff & beach.Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Sun bed allocation on arrival excellant idea just see the attendant & choose your location. What more can I say other than heaven on earth!!!

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

John visited the Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2008
An excellent hotel, one of the best on the island, great location, but ....

A big but.

Sunrise Beach Hotel has a well deserved reputation, but this year standards had slipped.

Over the winter at least a million euros must have been spent, but this seems to have led to cost-cutting elsewhere.

New bathrooms in many rooms. New glass on balconies, but leads to loss of privacy. Nice duvets on beds but boiling hot. Looks nice, nice and cosy for English winter but not ideal for hot Cyprus summer.

Excellent breakfast, very good choice. But, every morning bacon was burnt, fruit juice watered down.

Dinner. Dinner was a big let down. Poor service, food not very good. Better value and better meals to eat out. Try No One Restaurant nearby or try Nicolas Tavern. Dinner poor value for 20.5 euros.

Seriously understaffed. Staff not had a day ...
off in a month.

Staff are very very good, very friendly, very helpful. Very nice animators.

Rooms always very clean.

Lot of noise from adjacent Ilyada Hotel. Some building noise from nearby Silver Sands whilst work is carried out.

Too many weddings. Mass production weddings, sometimes as many as a three a day! A big nuisance to other guests.

Very expensive to use internet - 3.5 euros for half an hour!!!!

It takes a long time to build up a good reputation. Sunrise is still a very good hotel, but they have let standards slip and need to refocuss their attention on their core business, which is quality food, good service.

Regular guests said standards had slipped, new guests said they would think twice before coming again.

But still better than other hotels, especially those in Tsokkos group.




Read More

Tour Operator: -

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Claire stayed at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2008
The Sunrise Beach Hotel was very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. Towels were changed as often as you needed clean ones. Our room was cleaned on a regular basis to a high standard. Downside....air con broke but was repaired quickly. Leak from ceiling in bathroom again repaired quickly and efficiently. Breakfasts were varied and although we are vegetarians there was still plenty of choice although no veggie bacon or sausages but as we have said plenty of non meaty choices. Fruit juice was watered down!! Waiters very over efficient by taking your plates away virtually as soon as you finished eating which became rather annoying. Expensive internet charges, 3.50 euros for 1/2 hour. Expensive pot of tea for 2, 6.00 euros. In the grill bar, still using old menu in cypriot pounds so remember to more or less double it ...
in costs. Safety deposit box in room again expensive now 27 euros for two weeks. Even though went end of May got very busy around the pool. Sun loungers already allocated which was good idea. Hotel is situated virtually on beach, lovely beach but again at weekends locals invade so very busy so best to avoid at weekends. Lovely safe swimming from beach.


Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

JaimeC stayed at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2007
The Sunrise Beach hotel got good reviews on various sites on the net and we booked it on those reviews, we were not let down.

I had emailed ahead to ask for a room on the top floor near the beach end, we ended up in room 517 with a super king size bed! It was great and so comfy compared to the normal 2 beds you would get on holiday. We had a lovely view over looking Ilida Beach hotel and the beach/sea (SSV room), as well as part of the \'strip\' looking to the right. Balcony was spacious with chairs and a table.

The room itself was spacious enough, bathroom was very nice and bright, bath with powerful shower, toilet, bidet and sink. Towels changed daily if required.

Big enough wardrobe with lots of hangers, quite ...
a few drawers for clothes as well.

TV had a few english speaking channels, ours broke and it was replaced with one call to reception. You can hire the fridge empty for cyp

Read More

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

C. Howard visited the Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in June 2007
This was our third visit in a row to the Sunrise beach and the best holiday we have had here.

The hotel has always been good but this year the entertainment team (andy and christina) were the best we have had.

The breakfasts are excellent with lots of choice and the a la carte menu in the restaurant is also good. the main reasons we choose this hotel are; 1. the reserved sunbed system which is fantastic, no getting up early to put towels down, no bickering with other guests about who sits where. you see the pool attendant pick your sunbeds, put your room number on and they are yours for your whole holiday unless you want to move when some become free(some people just have to sit 2mm from the pool).2. The size of the family rooms.They are ...
really large and have a double bed and two proper beds for the children which is quite rare. 3. The location.

The hotel is central to everthing and is on the beach.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Valerie Johnson had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel in June 2007
This was my first visit to Cyprus and I could not fault the hotel in any way. I only ate breakfast there and did not really use the entertainment as I preferred to explore the bars and restaurants in the town but all seemed really good and well organized.

Liked the pre allocated sun beds and the fact that beach towels are supplied. My room was large and the aircon worked perfectly which was necessary with temps in the 40s.

Everything was spotlessly clean. I spoke to one couple who have been going to the hotel for 18 years and still see some of the same staff who were there the first year they went. Says it all really.

I will definitely return.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ellie Townsend stayed at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in July 2006
Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Sunrise in 2006 we had a great time! Didn't really eat in the hotel as we would eat out as didn't cost much then.

The location was great, right on the beach you couldn't ask for anything else. Hotel staff were great as well.

The entertainment we can't answer anything on that as we went out most nights.

We are going back to the Sunrise next year and we have been told that they have changed things??

Also we are thinking about booking a room with the sea view. It's a lot more money than the other rooms!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

charlotte and luke stayed at Sunrise Beach Hotel in June 2006
My husband and I visited this hotel in June and we really enjoyed it is a four star and although the reception area is lovely the rooms I would say are a three star. The beach was lovely right next to the hotel. The hotel is right on the main strip which is handy. Sun bed allocation was a great idea so no fighting over beds. We didn

Tour Operator: libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lisa visited the Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2006
This is a beautiful hotel with a daily maid service. our room had a sea view over looking the amazing beach. The hotel staff could\'nt have been more friendly especially the waiters and the entertainment girls.

We went half board and found the food very nice especially the breakfasts which had everything you could ask for inluding a chef who cooked waffles and pancakes as you waited. Evening meals are 4 courses and theamed nights.

The allocation of sun beds for the duration of your stay is an excellent idea it means no getting up early to find a bed. Although the pool area can be busy the pool itself is always fairy quiet.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Joy had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in June 2006
The hotel is ideally situated on the beach.

The gadens and pool area are large. I would recommend you have your sun bed (which you put your room number on and is yours for the duration of your stay) around the gardens - there is so much room.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The buffet breakfast first class.

Word of warning do not pay to turn your fridge on it works out at about

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Lee Hodgson visited the Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in May 2006

Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice.

Location is ideal with beach at front of hotel and the main street of Protaras behind.

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Entertainment was good on an evening. However did feel a little pressured into joining in with the games on the daytime.

Also thought the allocation of sunbeds for the duration of your holiday was a good idea.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

M A Latham had a holiday at Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in October 2005
We travelled with Cyplon to the Sunrise Beach hotel to get married in October.

What a fantastic hotel and travel company. The hotel was superb as were the stafff who made our stay enjoyable. The reception they put on after the wedding was excellent. Will we go back again..... you bet. We will go back Easter and also on our anniversary. The allocation of sunbeds is a great idea.. no need to get up early.

The views are amazing and if you fell off the sunbed you would land on the beach.

Entertainment at the hotel is basic but the night life on the main street is great, pop into the Zodiac bar if you want a friendly atmosphere.

Tour Operator: Cyplon

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Barry and Carol visited the Sunrise Beach Hotel, Protaras in September 2005
This hotel was fantastic everything we had hoped it would be and excellent choice for location, food and cleanliness. We went in late September the weather was great and not many noisey kids about. Unfortunately Barry was taken ill but the staff were terrfic [ we had to stay and extra week and they could not have been more helpful and friendly].
We would thoroughly recommended this hotel and will go back again and again.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share