24 independent reviews of the Polycarpia Hotel
Address: Leoforos Protara - Kavo Gkreko 259, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Polycarpia Hotel
Polycarpia Hotel Location
Ranked #44 of 50 hotels in Protaras


3/5
Polycarpia Hotel Polycarpia Hotel is rated 3.38 out of 5 from 24 Reviews
58% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (24 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Polycarpia Hotel Reviews

2/5
2
"Needs updating badly"
Dennis visited the Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2010
Arrived at the Polycarpia at 00.30, first impressions not to bad. We were told the number of apartment and merrily wandered off to find it when we arrived at the apartments we instantly knew they wouldn't be good. We were on the second floor, no lifts and my Mother is 71 with 1 Lung so not good, when we opened the door to the apartment the smell was not good. When we looked around we knew that we would not be staying, we couldn't sleep on the beds, the smell was horrendous, we couldn't have a shower as it was so dirty in the bathroom.

When we ventured into the dining room for breakfast things didn't get any better, the food was lukewarm. We finally got moved the next day to the Tsokkos Gardens Apartments, absolutely wonderful, how they can ...
class the two hotels the same standards I am really confused. The staff at the Polycarpia were very nice and really helped us get moved. We were not the only people who moved from the Polycarpia it really needs updating and bringing up to standard.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2
"Do not rate this hotel"
teeny visited the Polycarpia Hotel in September 2010
On arrival at hotel it seemed nice. Room also seemed nice until you went into the toilet. I'm afraid the toilets need a total makeover asap.

The food at the hotel was terrible. We were booked half board which was a waste of money as we only ate there twice - the food was so bad.

The location of the hotel is ok. Only staff prepared to help us were the entertainer and bar staff.

The entertainment was not very good, in fact when we were there the girl was told to shut down the karaoke early as it was annoying the neighbours in the villas.

We would not go back to this hotel and do not rate it as a 4 star.

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2
"Still as awful as the last reviews! "
Polycarpia Hotel stayed at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2010
I wish I had read the reviews before booking this hotel. We started out as self-catering but paid 280 after 8 days to upgrade to all inclusive to move out of apartments and into hotel due to noise.
Some people were walking straight out of apartments due to them being dirty and having ants nests in them.

The air con is free in the hotel but 5 euro's a day in the apartments which soon adds up. When we first arrived the balcony door would not lock and I was never comfortable with the security in the apartment, the door was not very sturdy.

We paid the money to upgrade even though fellow guests were saying how poor the food was and it was. Most days it resembled tasteless slop, with the exception of the ...
snack bar, where the food was ok. The hotel staff and hotel rep refused to believe the comments made by guests, saying each individual is different and no-one else is complaining. I find that hard to believe after talking to various people around the pool area.

The entertainment was not very varied and the whole complex is in need of an upgrade. Looking at the reviews now, this is what was said this time last year but it appears that nothing has changed.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Kendall visited the Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2010
We have just returnrd from a great week at the polycarpia hotel protaras. from the time we arrived Staff could not have been more helpful Christine greeted us and she as if we minded helping her as she was training a new lady! Dashia in the dining room and all the staff were very welcoming and did everything they could to help you and make your stay the best.
The Entertainment Staff had to work really hard as there where not many people there they did really what the people asked. They stood on the door of the dining room ebery evening asking if you where alright if they could help in anyway.The Room was above average compared with other hotels we have stayed at the cleanliness could not be faulted The Cleaner well done.I am impressed!!!! Yes the holel could ...
do with the bathrooms updating but that is the only thing really WEll Done to all the Staff there for making our stay like home!!!!! and Martin the rep for Olympic

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Jim & Kate had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2009
My wife and have just returned from this Hotel and found it to be the worst Hotel we could have chosen. Barring a lovely English lady on reception called Christine who did everything in her power (and beyond) to help resolve any problems and the entertainment duo called Neil and Charlotte who did their devoted utmost with what limited resources they had to work with to amuse and entertain their guests. Top Marks to them.
Regarding the Hotel reads as follows: The so called food was disgusting on a daily basis and extremely basic roughly consisting of day before leftovers and repetitive, the so called carvery presented twice weekly was either Processed Ham or (tough dry) Turkey and the so called Chef thought this was a great presentation, this was followed with a choice of two various flavoured sponge slices or ...
a knob of ice cream or OH! yes a apple. If you wish to ignore these comments and go ahead then there is always the lunchtime menu at the pool bar which is better but stops at 5pm. This is the first so called 4 Star I have ever stayed in that has Tin Porto Loos at the pool area Yes! Porto Loos. The bar area was adequate but sombre and it was suffering from a overflowing sewer drain causing a bit of a stench in certain areas. The hotel rooms were average with ridiculous air conditioning which was useless and the s/c apartments are a category B standard and not 4 star
(so I was told by the hotel)and basic which have seen better days. Only english speaking channel on tv was BBC World News.
We would never ever consider this Hotel again no matter what the cost, the only good thing that come out of it was we met some very nice people. I would rename this hotel to the Polycrapia and would advise anyone thinking of going to seriously think again !

Read More

Tour Operator: Haystravel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

linda atkinson stayed at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2009
Just got back from the hotel polycarpia this is rated as a four star hotel and should be rated a three star. The hotel itself was nice the staff were lovely and willing to help wherever possible, entertainment could be better, ok if you like bingo everynight for half an hour or so but after that you were left with the entertainment two who worked there heart out to try to keep people entertained but when your there for two weeks it gets a bit boring night after night the food was terrable the presentation of it was nothing and that was enough to put you off one night was oriental and the only thing oriental was fried rice, \"sprouts with you chinese food\" not from my chinese take away. I would never go again or reccomend anyone ...
else go. The area wasn,t very good a few bars jotted around with quizzes etc. No go for us.

Read More

Tour Operator: olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Finne stayed at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2009
The hotel pool and surroundings were ok but the food was cold and we could not eat it. Even the Fried Eggs in the morning were cold. The Snacks some were ok but mostly it came to you cold. The bar drinks would be better if the lemonade etc from the pump was actually of good quality we felt that the iffy belly we had was either the drinks or the cold food. The Maid that cleaned our room was brilliant. But that was the only good thing about it. Finished up going out a few nights for a decent meal and one night we went into dinner and their was a power cut. Needless to say we could not see the food and turned around and went out.

Tour Operator: Cyprus Airways
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

j.mccarthy had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel in July 2009
we stayed all inclusive in the apartment block. the hotel was spotlessly clean and the apartment was well equiped, with microwave, kettle, fridge, hob and television. we found the food to be excellent with a wide choice available. the hotel is located 5 minutes from the seafront, which is beautiful. the livelier town of protaras is a 20 minute walk away. the staff are truly wonderful, the most helpful and genuinely friendly people you could wish to meet. the entertainment was geared toward a family audience which suited us. we would not hesitate to visit the polycarpia again.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Prescott had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel in May 2009
just come back from this hotel and found it very good their was a good food selection to cater for every ones needs, we found the hotel and rooms very clean and had a great room with splendid views looking over the pool/sea, we found the hotel staff very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them especially the lovely woman on the reception (Christine) having read some of the other reviews i was i bit sceptical but would definitely have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and i would go back to this hotel in the future.

Tour Operator: self booked

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

D Hughes visited the Polycarpia Hotel in August 2008
We are 2 families of four and stayed in the apartments. Was very impressed with the room sizes and also the cleanliness of the apartments. We were cleaned every day and sheets were changed more times than stated in brochure.
The location is excellent with only a 7 min walk to Pernera which has many excellent restaurants. Sizzlers and Kerternas being among our favourites.
The entertainers were very good especially Daniel who unfortunately had to urgently return to the UK during our stay.
This is about our fifth time in Pernera and would definately return hopefully next year.
Staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

nb had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel in July 2008
Originally, booked 1 bed apt on arrival found apts to be very small, bathroom also v very small, not what we were expecting from a 4* complex. Spoke to manager he agreed to move us to hotel room which was slightly better, we were happy enough.

Breakfast and snack menu during day was v very good at poolside bar ...however main meal in evening what can I say v v poor, no kids menu on show but available if you ask, dress code for rest does say no shorts for men although for women it seemed anything goes.

We felt after holidaying in cyprus for 15 years this hotel was trying to be a four * but will never make it.

Staff at poolside bar the one and only dasha were fantastic and danny le rue the kids entertainer was absolutely brilliant ...
with the kids. {wee ireland mb loved it thanks danny }

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

shearer visited the Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2007
Couldn\'t fault the hotel and staff. Yanni (think thats spelt right) was very helpful and always available to speak to guests.

Rooms were very clean and bedding and towels changed daily. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. Excellent pool area with plenty of sunbeds. The entertainment was great.

We had two 15 year old boys with us and they were never bored. Didn\'t lose any weight with Milli\'s areobics (sorry Milli) but had such a laugh and I still have the scars from the adult water polo!! Milli and Simon put on a great show. Milli has a fab voice- she is one to watch!!

Supermarket across the road, small beach 5 mins walk and plenty tavernas minutes away.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Readman had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras in July 2007
I initally booked to stay at the Marlita Beach but I was appalled at the way it has become run down so we asked to be moved to the Poly.
The food is not great but it is ok. Staff are all brilliant.
Cleaned everyday, very good cleaners.
We walked around to the Ranch Bar, round the corner from waterloo. Panni and Dagmar are excellent hosts nothing too much of a problem. My husband suffered tooth ache Dagmar arranged an appointment with the dentist in Paralimni.
The Barley Mow is a good english bar with Steve and Carrie.
Going back asap

Tour Operator: mytravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

chris visited the Polycarpia Hotel in July 2007
We had originally been booked into the Anastasia Apartments for our holiday, but on arrival at Larnaca were told that this was fully booked and we would now be in the Polycarpia Apartments. Bit unhappy when we arrived, but soon got into the swing of things. The manager Yanni was absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were fantastic. Food not too bad and had a children\'s menu which was a godsend with very fussy kids!!! Three pools which is very good, lots of sunbeds so never had to get up early to get one!!! The entertainment staff kept the kids amused most of the day to allow us adults to chill out. Evening Entertainment was brill, Milli and Simon were great with the kids. Kids Disco and cash bingo every ...
night, with some sort of show afterward. We would all love to go back there and would recommend this for a fun family holiday. Glad we didn\'t go to the Anastasia which looked very crowded

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

dave ,kerry and kids visited the Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras in June 2007
Cant fault this hotel at all just returned after 1 week and will be going back as soon as.

The staff are excellent the place is brill my kids had the best holiday in ages.

The entertainment staff were excellent the water polo was ace.

Food was excellent. Its about 20 mins walk into the main town lovely walk cant wait to go back.

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

kevin had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel in June 2006
Stayed at the polycarpia stayed in room 122 to be honest the hotel and apartments are not bad the only down side was a lot of building work going on around the complex all very close to two of the pools causing a lot of dust and noise, had to take our towels to the laundry twice.

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jamie had a holiday at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2005
Just returned from Polycarpia Apartments and had a great time. Was there for a wedding and there were about 20 of us staying in various hotels and apartments.

Stayed in a studio (no. 121) and wasn't really expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Very spacious and very clean. Bathroom and balcony were a bit small but these weren't a problem.

3 pools are available to use and the big one was empty all day long which was great.

You can use the facilities of the hotel which include gym and sauna.

The only down side I would say would be the noise at night. The entertainment in the hotel and the nearby bars would keep going until the early hours, so if you fancied an early night, it was impossible to sleep. But would definitely go back again.

Tour Operator: aispro

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Laura Birch visited the Polycarpia Hotel in September 2005
We didn\'t always eat in the hotel even though we were half board because we wanted to try a few restaurants in Protaras, but if we were made to eat in the hotel restaurant every night we wouldn\'t have minded at all. The food was lovely with plenty to choose from.

The hotel staff were really friendly and polite.

The hotel room was very clean and beds were made etc every day. The Hotel decor could be updated but the main thing is that it is clean.

There was a 2 minute walk into Pernera which had a few restaurants and bars. This was ideal when we didn\'t want to travel far on a night. Visit Spectrum bar otherwise known as Pigys Bar in Pernera. The owner has a huge but cute bull dog and they ...
were really friendly. There was a 20 minute walk to Protaras and we went to Fig Tree Bay for the most of the holiday.

We didn\'t stay for much of the Hotel Entertainment as we prefer to wander. We watched a Hypnotist one night and had a couple of games of Bingo. There was about 50 people there on a night. It was OK.

I would visit this hotel again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

mandy visited the Polycarpia Hotel in August 2005
When we arrived in our apartment I was really disappointed to see after a long day traveling, it was small, dark and not very clean. We went to put on the air conditioning but it didn

Tour Operator: aspro
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Ian trace and Ben stayed at Polycarpia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2005
Before we went to this hotel on a self catering basis we were a bit nervous because we had read some of the bad reviews before hand about the state of the rooms. When we got there we had a pleasant surprise we found our apartment room no 113 was clean and tidy and not old fashioned has somebody else had put. the air conditioning was free in the bedroom which was ample for the whole apartment so you did not require the unit in the living area which you did have to pay for.

I can not comment about the hotel food as we never eat there and the same for the night entertainment.

We found the staff very helpful.

I really can not see what some people had complained about these apartments are standard apartments with everything you ...
need for your stay, our apartment was cleaned everyday. The one thing that let the apartments down a bit was the balcony which could have been given more attention, but that's only a minor moan.

Don't let other people of these apartments they are picking flies.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars
Share