Image of Polycarpia Hotel

Polycarpia Hotel

46 of 49 hotels in Protaras

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
Leoforos Protara - Kavo Gkreko 259, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
The Polycarpia is a modern and friendly hotel, with a good choice of facilities and activities. It is ideal for families, couples and singles.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dennis
Needs updating badly
5 years 9 months ago
Arrived at the Polycarpia at 00.30, first impressions not to bad. We were told the number of apartment and merrily wandered off to find it when we arrived at the apartments we instantly knew they wouldn't be good. We were on the second floor, no lifts and my Mother is 71 with 1 Lung so not good, when we opened the door to the apartment the smell was not good. When we looked around we knew that we would not be staying, we couldn't sleep on the beds, the smell was horrendous, we couldn't have a shower as it was so dirty in the bathroom.

When we ventured into the dining room for breakfast things didn't get any better, the food was lukewarm. We finally got moved the next day to the Tsokkos Gardens Apartments, absolutely wonderful, how they can class the two hotels the same standards I am really confused. The staff at the Polycarpia were very nice and really helped us get moved. We were not the only people who moved from the Polycarpia it really needs updating and bringing up to standard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Teeny
Do not rate this hotel
5 years 9 months ago
On arrival at hotel it seemed nice. Room also seemed nice until you went into the toilet. I'm afraid the toilets need a total makeover asap.

The food at the hotel was terrible. We were booked half board which was a waste of money as we only ate there twice - the food was so bad.

The location of the hotel is ok. Only staff prepared to help us were the entertainer and bar staff.

The entertainment was not very good, in fact when we were there the girl was told to shut down the karaoke early as it was annoying the neighbours in the villas.

We would not go back to this hotel and do not rate it as a 4 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Polycarpia Hotel
Still as awful as the last reviews!
5 years 10 months ago
I wish I had read the reviews before booking this hotel. We started out as self-catering but paid £280 after 8 days to upgrade to all inclusive to move out of apartments and into hotel due to noise.
Some people were walking straight out of apartments due to them being dirty and having ants nests in them.

The air con is free in the hotel but 5 euro's a day in the apartments which soon adds up. When we first arrived the balcony door would not lock and I was never comfortable with the security in the apartment, the door was not very sturdy.

We paid the money to upgrade even though fellow guests were saying how poor the food was and it was. Most days it resembled tasteless slop, with the exception of the snack bar, where the food was ok. The hotel staff and hotel rep refused to believe the comments made by guests, saying each individual is different and no-one else is complaining. I find that hard to believe after talking to various people around the pool area.

The entertainment was not very varied and the whole complex is in need of an upgrade. Looking at the reviews now, this is what was said this time last year but it appears that nothing has changed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kendall
5 years 11 months ago
We have just returnrd from a great week at the polycarpia hotel protaras. from the time we arrived Staff could not have been more helpful Christine greeted us and she as if we minded helping her as she was training a new lady! Dashia in the dining room and all the staff were very welcoming and did everything they could to help you and make your stay the best.
The Entertainment Staff had to work really hard as there where not many people there they did really what the people asked. They stood on the door of the dining room ebery evening asking if you where alright if they could help in anyway.The Room was above average compared with other hotels we have stayed at the cleanliness could not be faulted The Cleaner well done.I am impressed!!!! Yes the holel could do with the bathrooms updating but that is the only thing really WEll Done to all the Staff there for making our stay like home!!!!! and Martin the rep for Olympic
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jim & Kate
6 years 8 months ago
My wife and have just returned from this Hotel and found it to be the worst Hotel we could have chosen. Barring a lovely English lady on reception called Christine who did everything in her power (and beyond) to help resolve any problems and the entertainment duo called Neil and Charlotte who did their devoted utmost with what limited resources they had to work with to amuse and entertain their guests. Top Marks to them.
Regarding the Hotel reads as follows: The so called food was disgusting on a daily basis and extremely basic roughly consisting of day before leftovers and repetitive, the so called carvery presented twice weekly was either Processed Ham or (tough dry) Turkey and the so called Chef thought this was a great presentation, this was followed with a choice of two various flavoured sponge slices or a knob of ice cream or OH! yes a apple. If you wish to ignore these comments and go ahead then there is always the lunchtime menu at the pool bar which is better but stops at 5pm. This is the first so called 4 Star I have ever stayed in that has Tin Porto Loos at the pool area Yes! Porto Loos. The bar area was adequate but sombre and it was suffering from a overflowing sewer drain causing a bit of a stench in certain areas. The hotel rooms were average with ridiculous air conditioning which was useless and the s/c apartments are a category B standard and not 4 star
(so I was told by the hotel)and basic which have seen better days. Only english speaking channel on tv was BBC World News.
We would never ever consider this Hotel again no matter what the cost, the only good thing that come out of it was we met some very nice people. I would rename this hotel to the Polycrapia and would advise anyone thinking of going to seriously think again !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Linda Atkinson
6 years 8 months ago
Just got back from the hotel polycarpia this is rated as a four star hotel and should be rated a three star. The hotel itself was nice the staff were lovely and willing to help wherever possible, entertainment could be better, ok if you like bingo everynight for half an hour or so but after that you were left with the entertainment two who worked there heart out to try to keep people entertained but when your there for two weeks it gets a bit boring night after night the food was terrable the presentation of it was nothing and that was enough to put you off one night was oriental and the only thing oriental was fried rice, "sprouts with you chinese food" not from my chinese take away. I would never go again or reccomend anyone else go. The area wasn,t very good a few bars jotted around with quizzes etc. No go for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Finne
6 years 8 months ago
The hotel pool and surroundings were ok but the food was cold and we could not eat it. Even the Fried Eggs in the morning were cold. The Snacks some were ok but mostly it came to you cold. The bar drinks would be better if the lemonade etc from the pump was actually of good quality we felt that the iffy belly we had was either the drinks or the cold food. The Maid that cleaned our room was brilliant. But that was the only good thing about it. Finished up going out a few nights for a decent meal and one night we went into dinner and their was a power cut. Needless to say we could not see the food and turned around and went out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
J.mccarthy
6 years 10 months ago
we stayed all inclusive in the apartment block. the hotel was spotlessly clean and the apartment was well equiped, with microwave, kettle, fridge, hob and television. we found the food to be excellent with a wide choice available. the hotel is located 5 minutes from the seafront, which is beautiful. the livelier town of protaras is a 20 minute walk away. the staff are truly wonderful, the most helpful and genuinely friendly people you could wish to meet. the entertainment was geared toward a family audience which suited us. we would not hesitate to visit the polycarpia again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Prescott
7 years ago
just come back from this hotel and found it very good their was a good food selection to cater for every ones needs, we found the hotel and rooms very clean and had a great room with splendid views looking over the pool/sea, we found the hotel staff very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them especially the lovely woman on the reception (Christine) having read some of the other reviews i was i bit sceptical but would definitely have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and i would go back to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D Hughes
7 years 9 months ago
We are 2 families of four and stayed in the apartments. Was very impressed with the room sizes and also the cleanliness of the apartments. We were cleaned every day and sheets were changed more times than stated in brochure.
The location is excellent with only a 7 min walk to Pernera which has many excellent restaurants. Sizzlers and Kerternas being among our favourites.
The entertainers were very good especially Daniel who unfortunately had to urgently return to the UK during our stay.
This is about our fifth time in Pernera and would definately return hopefully next year.
Staff are very friendly and welcoming.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: