31 independent reviews of the Paschalia Hotel
Address: Protaras Bowland, Protara, Protaras, Cyprus
Paschalia Hotel
Paschalia Hotel Location
Ranked #45 of 50 hotels in Protaras


3/5
Paschalia Hotel Paschalia Hotel is rated 3.35 out of 5 from 31 Reviews
71% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (31 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Paschalia Hotel Reviews

1/5
1
"Diabolical!"
mary stayed at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2010
This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I went with my husband and two children had a family room. We were booked on half board. First impression awful welcoming from a Russian receptionist, room was absolutely awful, it was clean but the bedding was stained and the bed must have been there from 1970's so lumpy you could not sleep.

There was an awful smell in the reception area which led to the dining area smelt like sick.
The food was diabolical same food every day and not at all edible, cold potatoes, half cooked fish and some sort of stew with no flavour.

There was no entertainment at all; the staff looked overworked and very moody. The pool was too deep for children, no animation. We ...
got back one night to find that both lifts were out of order and had to climb 4 flights of step to get to the fourth floor which was were the family rooms were. We ended up checking out a day earlier than planned as we could not take it anymore.

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone best to keep away really diabolical, it is in severe need of renovation, new helpful smiling staff and a chef that can present a good buffet. Would never go there again even if it was the last resort.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

keith & lyn stayed at Paschalia Hotel in June 2010
this is without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, IF YOU ARE ENGLISH AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS , my wife & i have never complained about a hotel in 22 years of travel , but this place really is that bad. here are the facts;-
SAME FOOD every day
FULL of russians ( if you think germans are rude wait till you meet this jovial lot !)
NO entertainment whatsoever
bloodstained pillow , crumbs in bed , filthy stained ceiling tiles , etc , etc ,
shame really because it has potential to be a really good hotel.the ONLY reason i have been so harsh on this place is to warn off potential victims of the hotel from hell

Tour Operator: hays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

andrea visited the Paschalia Hotel in June 2010
We stayed all inc for 10 nights , must be the worst holiday I have ever been on.cucumber boiled ham and cheese for breakfast, had bacon once , fried eggs on toast every day.same evening meal every day chicken and lamb bones with cold boiled potatoes.The overall cleanliness of hotel was quite good, rooms cleaned every day. Pool area very nice and clean . Hotel full of russians, if you think germans are bad wait til you get with this greedy mob. queued for 2 hours for food only to find they had taken everything. Mountains of watermelon consumed by the russians, must never have seen it before. The location was quite good , 10 mins from beach,if you could call it a beach.The hotel staff in the bar and mess hall were in tears and crying every day, some ...
had to work 18 hours a day , very short staffed.No smiling , laughter or banter with staff, and the russians never laugh anyway,atmosphere was terrible. All the brits just ganged up together to make the best of it.
Please if you have booked into this hotel , change your booking now!!! Just got home this morning and we are absolutely shattered from the stress of mealtimes.Do not go there , it was not an holiday but a nightmare I kid you not. You have been warned.

Read More

Tour Operator: hotels4u
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

Emma stayed at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2008
Iv just got back from hotel and it was awful.Me and my boyfriend ended up staying in a villa the last week of our holiday.The hall smelt of sick and so did the rooms.we never got clean towels and always had to ask.Dirty soap was left in the room when we got there.
Food was always cold for breakfast.had to wait about to use the toaster.Lift was broke and had to carry 2 suitcases up and down the stairs.
Aircon in the room was rubbish and didnt work well.
Over all i wouldnt go back however the maids was friendly lol


Tour Operator: Carl longmate
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Emma visited the Paschalia Hotel, Protaras in August 2008
We have just returned from a week and really enjoyed our stay. There was a sick smell in the corridor, but that was due to another holiday-maker allowing her teenage daughter to drink too many cocktails on their last night, and whilst they went back to the UK with hangovers, we were all left to suffer the smell! The maids did try their best to remove the smell, but once sick gets into a carpet, it\'s pretty hard to remove. The food was nice, our room was always cleaned to a high standard with fresh soap on our arrival and our towels were changed at least twice during the week! The pool area was kept clean and tidy. At the end of the day, this is a 3* hotel by Cypriot/Greek standards, so if people ...
expect a lot, they should perhaps look for at least a 4* rating.

Read More

Tour Operator: Med Hotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Victoria visited the Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2008
My family and I have been going to the Paschalia Hotel since August 2005. Each year we have stayed on a bed and breakfast board and found it very convenient. There is a full range of continental choices for breakfast. Toast, Cereals, cold meats, English breakfast etc. All food is cooked fresh. There are also facilities to make tea, coffee and cold drinks. Occasionally, we had lunch which you could order at the windmill taverna. They have a range of meals to offer, including sandwiches, salads etc. Each night dinner is themed, EG Italian, Greek. Both breakfast and lunch are served as a buffet and you can eat as much as you like.
The Hotel is kept as clean as can be. The maids work extremely hard, cleaning the corridors and making the beds and cleaning the room everyday. There is a large pool with a smaller children

Tour Operator: On the beach

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Steven had a holiday at Paschalia Hotel in June 2008
Stayed at the Pashalia for one week B&B. Overall pleased with what I got for the amount I paid,

Tour Operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

0/5
0

darren rippon stayed at Paschalia Hotel in June 2008
i am leaving this review because i have just been in touch with the manager at the paschalia to book for next year and have been told that it wont reopen again after this season as it has been sold to a development company

Tour Operator: on the beach

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating


5/5
5

Paul & Marie stayed at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2007
hotel was very clean,with daily maid service. Rooms of adequate size with air conditionong,balcony with good views. The hotel was situated within walking distance of Penerra and Protaras centre. We stayed bed & breakfast only but there was adequate variety of food at this time of day. Food was always well presented, chilled where needed and kept hot when required.We did dine in the hotel a couple of times during our stay and again the evening meal was good,plenty of variety to cater for most tastes. The hotel staff were very friendly and approachable, nothing seemed too much trouble and were always willing to help. Entertainment was average, better some nights than others. Pool area was lovely, pool cleaned daily, beautiful gardens, kids kept entertained by fantastic kids reps, plenty of sunbeds for everyone and pool bar nicely shaded with ...
very friendly staff.
We would definately stay at the Paschalia hotel again

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

becky had a holiday at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras in May 2007
Stayed in this hotel on the 1st week of opening and the first time the hotel did all inclusive.

Had a fantastic time!!! There were only 19 guests for the 1st week which was good as everyone got to know each other.

I am a really fussy eater and food was good we always found something to eat.

Hotel staff really friendly especially lisa, michelle & andreas.

Would definately go back here again!!!

Tour Operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

dean and charlotte stayed at Paschalia Hotel in September 2006
We arrived at Larnaca airport on the 3rd September planning to stay at Penera beach hotel. However, the company had over booked and put us at the Paschalia hotel.

When we arrived, it is fair to say that we were more than disappointed with the hotel. The corridors were decorated with grey walls and grey carpet and were very narrow. The room itself was very small, with the bathroom door banging into the bath when it was opened, and in need of some new decor. Towels and bedding were changed twice a week unless we wanted to pay for extra.

The pool and grass area was very nice with plenty of sunbeds.

As we went half board, we used the restaurant for both breakfast and our evening meal. Breakfast was reasonable, but the same every morning.

The evening meals were poor, ...
there was not much selection especially for children.

The location of the hotel was quite good as we were centered between Penerna and Protarus.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Daytime and evening entertainment was poor, we did not spend one evening at the hotel to watch the entertainment as it was not very appealing to young couples.

Read More

Tour Operator: hellenic voyages
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

richards visited the Paschalia Hotel in September 2006
We stayed at this hotel for two weeks its our third time in Cyprus but the first and last at this hotel!!

The location was great as we had been before we knew our way round we had the best of both worlds with Protaras and Peneara close by.

We got to the hotel in the early hours the recepetion staff was moody and not very welcoming. We got to our room and there was no kettle no fridge we couldn't believe it we looked at the paperwork when we woke to find there weve very strict rules on kettles, hair strightners etc.

It was bed n breakfast so we tried breakfast it was stone cold at 08.00am. We went on a trip one morning so went for breakfast at 07.00 and it was still cold we didn't ...
bother again. So we bought a kettle and hid it in the suitcase as we couldn't even keep water as there was no fridge.

Do yourselves a favor avoid this hotel its to strict and the staff were dead grumpy !!!

Read More

Tour Operator: thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

a hobday visited the Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2006
We rate this hotel as one of the best we have ever been to, we do not have anything bad to say about it.

The food was excellent with a varied choice and even a separate choice for children. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly.

There was plenty of sunbeds & space with a lovely grassy area. The pool was lovely with a separate children's pool. The children's club was brilliant & my children really enjoyed it.

The rooms were very clean and maids visited everyday.

The location was great because you had easy access to both pernera & protaras itself, both within easy walking distances.

We didn\'t really stay in the hotel for the entertainment much but the two shows we did see were good. We would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

r foster visited the Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2005
We stayed bed@breakfast and the food was superb, 2 nights we even went for the evening meal and it was the best food I have ever tasted. We only wish we had been half board, 3 course meal for seven pound.

The hotel itself was very clean, the maids were everywhere all day, however our rooms bathroom wasn't the cleanest, a lot of old limescale around the taps.

Location is 15 minutes walk from Protaras but a bus stop just round the corner and really cheap. A little beach just a 5 min walk away but very rocky there. Shops and a few bars onl 2 or 3 min walk away too.

The staff were all very friendly, maids, hotel receptionists, bar and restaurant staff all lovely.

This hotel lacks entertainment, although there was something on every night it wasn't good so we used ...
the town more.

If I went back to Protaras I would use this hotel again but probably won't be going to Protaras just yet as I don't like visiting the same places so soon.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Ryan Meechan had a holiday at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras in September 2005
I am 14, and I went to the Paschalia hotel between the 15th of September and the 2nd of October.

The moment i arrived at the hotel i was impressed by the reception. Nearly all of the staff there speak fluent English.

I was impressed by the pool probably the best I've swam in. The entertainer Lisa worked all week entertaining everyone all by herself and still made it fun for everyone who stayed there. Lisa was one of the reasons I liked the hotel she was a real laugh and I would go again because of her.

Andras the barman was a very nice and wise man. Everyone likes him because he was just a likeable guy really and if you went you would love both him and Lisa.

This hotel is definitely one of the best I've stayed in and I would go again.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

kirsty stayed at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras in September 2005
My mum and I enjoyed a great week in this hotel. We went for a relaxing break and this was certainly what we got!

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds - it has 1 large pool and 1 small children\'s pool - surrounded by plenty of grassed areas for sunbathing. We found unreserved sunbeds at any time of the day.

The hotel was clean and tidy and our room was cleaned well every day.

The food was varied and of good quality. The menu was displayed and ran on a 2 week rota basis so you knew what to expect! Tuesday night is BBQ night where they BBQ-ed and served dinner outside which was really lovely.

There were 2 beautiful beaches near the hotel - 1 about 5 mins walk and the other 15 mins. Don't be fooled by the 1st beach ...
you reach when you walk to the end of the main road - which is awful! - you need to walk left or right to find the nice ones.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - especially the bar staff. The entertainment staff were good and there was a varied program.

All in all I would recommend this hotel and we will certainly return. I would say it is most ideally suited to young families or couples wanting a quiet holiday.

We did go at the end of the season so it may be busier in July/August.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Mr Saunders stayed at Paschalia Hotel in August 2005
This was our first visit to Cyprus. booking only a week prior. We had booked alocation on arrival in one of three named venues, 2 were supposedly 4 star and the other 3 star plus.

We arrived at 0300hrs and were allocated room 133, which was grubby to say the least. We complained immediately to the 24hr Thompson line. They were no help what so ever and virtually said it was nothing to do with them and was a verbal contract between us and the travel agent.

The furniture in the rooms was originaaly Grey, but was covered with a Brownish film (I actually cleaned an area on a drawer facia with a peice of toilet tissue soap and water, it cam back to its original colour) The following day we once again complained to Thompson via the ...
rep at the welcome meeting. She said that there was little she could do as the resort was full, however she did get us a new room (211) This at least had a seaveiw. It was still relatively grubby with the same Brownish film covering the furniture.

As we were staying on a B & B basis I can only comment on breakfast. This was very limited with the same options every day : Bacon, Fried or Scrambled Eggs, Beans, Grilled Tomatoes and Fried Potatoes. There were also a choice of two cold meats and two cheeses. There were three different cerials or fruit Melon or Orange. Three different Fruit Juices Tea or Coffee.

The loction of the hotel wasn\'t bad, 10 mins from the beech and bars and 20 mins from the main strip of Protaras. We found the local bars and resteraunts to be better than in the main town.

The staff were polite.

Entertainment was very poor.

Having said all the above, I truely believe this hotel has potential. The pool area and gardens are spacious and with some effort could be made much more attractive. The hotel itself could be given a dam good clean. A better choice of food would also go a long way. The poolside bar prices are expensive, if they were more inline with the local bars with watchable entertainment more people would stay to watch.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

KKN2003 stayed at Paschalia Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2005
We stayed in the Paschalia last week of June to first week of July. This was our first visit to Cyprus and we would give it a thumbs up!!

The hotel is situated towards the Pernera end of the resort of Protaras and this was a god-send as it was well out of the way of the bustling Protaras strip. No flashing lights or loud singers up here.

The hotel itself was excellent and the staff were really friendly, especially the maid who changed our room everyday.

The restaurant downstairs was nice too, but as we only went B&B we only ate there twice. Breakfasts were ok but same things every morning although there was a bit of variety. George and his staff were very helpful though.

Michelle and Kelly the Thomson Reps were also helpful too, but my hat ...
went off to Nathalie and Lisa the Kids reps, although our daughter was only 2 and too young for the clubs, they were absolutely brilliant with her and were excellent at there jobs.

Entertainment was ok, Bingo/Quiz Night a couple times, A magician, The Rep Night and a Solo Singer.

The only downside to the hotel was the you weren

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Scots family had a holiday at Paschalia Hotel in May 2005
Stayed in hotel Paschalia for second time but couldn,t believe how much it had went downhill in the last year. Stayed bed and breakfast which was okay, food wasn,t very hot. We went to bbq night which was great and food was hot and well worth the money. Rooms were not cleaned properly, bedding was not changed as it was supposed to be, maids not very friendly but the rest of the hotel staff were great.

We had to ask for clean towels on a couple of occassions as they forgot to change them.On our last day maids were waiting outside our room from 10.20am for us to vacate it when checkout isn't until 12noon.

Entertainment was ok but it was only a weekly programme. Thomson rep was no good when it came to dealing with complaint. On the plus side the kids reps were excellent.

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Emma visited the Paschalia Hotel, Protaras in May 2005
Stayed bed & breakfast at the Paschalia Hotel in Protaras but possibly nearer to Pernera.

It was roughly a ten minute walk into the centre of Protaras but taxis were cheap or there was a bus stop close by. The Standard of this hotel was excellent, all areas were extremely clean.

Rooms were basic but well looked after by the excellent house keeping. Never actually made it to breakfast but ate at the pool bar a couple of times and the food there was good.

Didn\'t travel with any children but the kids reps were excellent and all the children in the resort seemed to really enjoy all the activities and entertainment that was organised for them.

Pool area and gardens were lovely and loads of free sunbeds!

Tour Operator: skytours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share